AstroCard review: the fee schedule decides whether it works for you

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

AstroCard is a card number attached to your AstroPay wallet balance, not a bank account. You load or convert money, the card spends it, and the thing you most need to check before signing up is not the free virtual card — it is the purchase fee, which runs from 2.5% to 4% depending on which country issued your card. That number decides whether the card is a convenience or a tax on every transaction.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
AstroCard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.3 / 10, and the middle of the road is the point

AstroCard scores 5.3 out of 10. That is not a rounding of a strong product down to a decent one, and it is not a weak product dressed up. It is a genuinely useful thing built on top of a set of numbers and disclosures that leave me unwilling to recommend it as a primary card, and reasonably willing to recommend it as a second one.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Ten countries in the selector — Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay — and terms that vary by country and verification level
Cost 3 / 10 Virtual card free; physical card USD 5 in Argentina and Brazil; international purchase fee 2.5% (Brazil, Colombia, Mexico), 3.5% (Argentina LOCAL), 4% (Argentina GLOBAL); ATM 1.5%
Top-up options 4 / 10 The card spends the AstroPay wallet balance; USDT conversion is toggled in the app; coins and networks for depositing are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Starting data points to AstroPay Global (IOM) Limited; issuer and licences unnamed; Trustpilot 4.0 with 9,657 reviews and 22% one-star; complaints about frozen funds and bot-only support
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual AstroCard (Mastercard) and AstroCard Global (Visa), physical card in Argentina and Brazil, Apple Pay and Google Pay, 1.5% cash at ATM
Total 5.3 / 10

Who this suits: someone who already keeps a balance in AstroPay, lives in one of those ten countries, and wants a card number for subscriptions, travel spending or online payments without opening another bank relationship. The card’s own audience is AstroPay wallet users in the Americas, the UK, Spain and Denmark, and that is exactly the shape of person it works for.

Who it does not suit: anyone whose main problem is that a bank will not give them a card, and anyone who expects bank-grade recourse when a payment goes wrong. This is a programme run by a company whose issuing bank and licences the card’s public pages do not name. That is not by itself proof of anything — plenty of legitimate programmes run exactly that way — but it means you cannot check what stands behind the card from the card’s own pages. If your priority is a bank that answers the phone, this is the wrong shape of product.

The 8/10 for everyday use is the highest mark on the card and I want to be honest about why: it is not a measure of trust, it is a measure of convenience. Two card networks, a free virtual card in minutes, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and cash withdrawal where you need it. That is a good daily experience. The 3/10 for cost is the lowest mark, and it is the one that decides whether you should bother.

Who gets issued an AstroCard

The official card page’s country selector lists Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay. That is the whole published list as of the pages I read.

Three things about that list matter more than the list itself.

First, the selector is not the same as an eligibility promise. The card says terms depend on country and on your verification level, which means two people on the same street in the same city can get different cards, different limits, and different fee treatments. In Argentina the card comes in two variants — LOCAL and GLOBAL — and they are priced very differently (see the fees section).

Second, the span of the list is odd in a way that tells you something about who it is built for: four South American countries plus Uruguay, then Canada, Australia, the US, the UK, and three EU states that happen to be the ones where an e-money licence in one of them can be used to serve the others. That looks like a wallet product that grew out of one region and then took whatever licence or partner let it expand into the next.

Third, being in the selector does not mean you will get a physical card. Physical issuance is documented for Argentina and Brazil. Everywhere else you get the virtual card.

The card’s own page says “No paperwork, no waiting, no branches.” I want to flag what that phrase does and does not tell you. It does tell you there is no branch to visit — there is no branch. It does not tell you that no verification happens. It says the opposite of nothing about your identity documents. And the card states elsewhere that benefits and limits vary by account verification level, which means there is a verification level, which means there are levels to it. What documents, what thresholds and what limits attach to which level: not stated on the pages I read.

One more thing about country rules that is easy to miss. The card is for residents of those countries. It is not a travel card for someone who merely wants to spend abroad from elsewhere, and country restrictions apply on both sides of the transaction: you can only be onboarded where you live, and the fee you pay depends on which country’s card you got.

Getting the card: the two variants and the physical-card question

There are two virtual cards:

The Visa one is the Global variant, which in Argentina is the more expensive card (4% on every purchase, against 3.5% on the LOCAL card). The card currency for each country: not stated.

The physical card is where the published information contradicts itself, so let me show you the contradiction rather than smooth it over. The card page presents the physical card as “coming soon” — in Spanish text — yet the help centre carries a physical-card issuance fee article for Argentina and Brazil. So one page says not yet, and another page says here is the fee. In practice: if you are in Argentina or Brazil, a physical card appears to be orderable at USD 5, and that fee covers production and shipping. Everywhere else, treat it as unavailable.

That USD 5 is non-refundable once the card is created and shipped. That wording matters. If you enter the wrong address, the card goes anyway and the money is gone.

Two things the card does not publish: delivery time and replacement cost. If your card is stolen and you need a second one, you have no published number to plan around — that is a support conversation, and support is where complaints concentrate (see risks).

On activation: the card says activation happens inside the AstroPay app, in the AstroCard section, instantly once the steps are done. What those steps are — verification, first top-up, a tap — is not stated. This is the ordinary version of an ordinary flow and it is fine; I mention it only because “no paperwork” sets a wrong expectation about how much the app will ask of you.

There are two tiers, Standard and Infinite, and the difference is worth knowing because some of the fee pain below simply disappears if you are on the paid one. Infinite includes the Global AstroCard, a better FX rate with a smaller spread, 3 free IBAN EUR transfers per 30 days then 2.50 EUR each, 4.75% annual cashback on the USD balance against 3.1% for standard users, the free physical card, priority support, and x4 AstroPoints per card purchase. It is billed recurring and cancel anytime in the app. The subscription price itself is not stated — it is shown in the app — so I cannot tell you whether the cashback or the fee savings outweigh it. That is the single largest gap in this card’s published pricing.

Fees: the number that decides everything

Let me put the whole schedule in front of you at once, because the fee is structural — it applies to the transaction, not to a side service.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a AstroCard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Virtual card issuance Free
Physical card issuance (Argentina, Brazil) USD 5, non-refundable once created and shipped
Physical card, Infinite tier Free
Purchase fee, local purchases No fee
Purchase fee, international — Argentina GLOBAL card 4%
Purchase fee, international — Argentina LOCAL card 3.5%
Purchase fee, international — Brazil, Colombia, Mexico 2.5%
Cash withdrawal (ATM) 1.5% each, in Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico; applies to withdrawals in any country
Crypto conversion “Prevailing exchange rate at point of sale” (starting data); Infinite gets a better rate converting pesos or USDT to dollars, no figure published
Free ATM allowance Not stated
Infinite subscription price Not stated (shown in app)
Daily, weekly, monthly limits Not published; shown in the app per verification level and country

Two mechanics behind the table decide whether the fee bites you.

What counts as “international”. The card divides your purchase into local or international by the merchant’s country, not by yours. If you are in Argentina paying a shop down the road, that is local and uncharged. If you are in Argentina and buy something from a merchant registered abroad, the card charges you — and here the variant matters: the GLOBAL card charges 4% on every purchase, local and international, while the LOCAL card charges 3.5% on international purchases only. So on the GLOBAL card, the fee is not a travel surcharge. It is the price of the card.

The Brazil change. The Brazil card purchase fee was announced 30 July 2026 and took effect 1 September 2026, at 2.5% on international purchases. I flag it because it is the only fee change I found with dates attached, and because it tells you something about how these fees move: they go up, and they are announced a month ahead rather than buried. That is better than it could have been.

Now three everyday payments, so you can feel it rather than read it.

A coffee at a local café in Buenos Aires. On the LOCAL card, no fee. On the GLOBAL card, 4%. Same coffee, same shop, same morning — a difference of roughly 4% of a small number, which nobody notices once, and which is the reason to pick your variant deliberately rather than by accident.

A €40 subscription billed by an Irish company while you live in Spain. 40 euros at 3.5% to 4% is 1.40 to 1.60 euros, per billing. Annually that is a subscription costing you over 17 euros more than its sticker price. If you have three such subscriptions, you are paying a visible annual toll for the convenience of one card number.

Withdrawing 200 dollars in cash in Mexico from a Brazilian card. 1.5%, so 3 dollars, on top of whatever the ATM operator charges you. There is no stated free allowance, so I cannot tell you whether there is a threshold below which it is cheaper to pay by card — and if you are in a place where card is not accepted, there is no alternative to the 1.5%.

And then the crypto-specific edge. When you pay, the card converts from your balance at the “prevailing exchange rate at point of sale”. The rate at that moment, on that day, is the rate you get. On Infinite, converting pesos or USDT to dollars gets a better rate — again, with no figure. This is where a paid tier is most obviously worth it, and also where you are asked to trust a number the card does not print.

Limits: the amounts are not published. The app shows daily, weekly and monthly limits, they vary by verification level and country, and declines can be caused by hitting a per-transaction or daily limit rather than by anything the merchant did. You cannot raise them yourself — the card says AstroCard limits cannot be manually increased in the app, and that you may request an increase with a stated reason and amount, approval not guaranteed.

Top up: the part the card explains least

The card spends the AstroPay wallet balance. You opt in, through the app, to convert a USDT balance into the transaction currency (starting data). So the mechanic is: crypto in the wallet, converted to fiat, and the card draws down that fiat balance. This is the prepaid model, which is the important structural fact — the card cannot overdraw because it spends only what is loaded, and it cannot spend past what you have converted.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up AstroCard starts with a transfer to the right network

What is not published is the part you would need most before your first deposit: which coins and which networks you can deposit on. Not stated on the pages I read. This is not a pedantic gap. Sending a stablecoin on the wrong network is one of the few ways in this whole business where money genuinely disappears — transfers are typically irreversible, and the network cannot undo a payment to a wrong address or a network the provider does not support. Recovery, if it is even possible, goes through support.

There is a specific trap here worth knowing even though the card does not document it: USDC over TRC20 is not a native option. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. USDT on Tron is a different story — Tether issues USDT on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche, and Tron fees are paid by burning TRX through internal bandwidth and energy resources. Stablecoin networks are numerous and they do not all carry all tokens.

So the practical order of operations is: confirm in the app which token and which network your deposit uses, check that a network fee is available, send, and only then try the card. Not the other way round. Network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card.

Withdrawing from the card is not stated. The card’s own public pages do not tell me how, or whether, you get money off the AstroPay wallet balance back to a bank or on-chain destination. That is a serious gap for anyone considering this as a way to hold funds rather than spend them, and I would not fill it with optimism. A user report on Trustpilot says some users cannot find a withdrawal option at all.

Paying with it day to day

This is the card’s best section, and it is best for a simple reason: the mechanics of spending a card are well-trodden ground.

Where it can still disappoint, and none of this is the card’s fault:

What can go wrong

I want to separate two things here: what the card’s own pages tell me, and what users report. Both matter, and they are not the same kind of evidence.

On the company behind it. Starting data points to AP Global Corporation LLP / AstroPay Global (IOM) Limited, with USDT services through AP Digital (IOM) Limited. I did not re-verify this on the pages I read. The issuing bank and licences are not stated. That is the single most important gap in this review, and it is the one to resolve yourself before you put meaningful money behind it: which institution holds the card programme, and under what licence.

On complaints. AstroPay’s Trustpilot profile, read on 21 October 2026, shows 4.0 “Great” from 9,657 reviews, 227 of them in the last 12 months, with 22% one-star. Reviews from April to October 2026 mention:

I found no official incidents to match these. Reports are reports, and a 4.0 average across 9,657 reviews is not a picture of a company in collapse. But the pattern is specific enough to act on: if your complaint will be “my money is stuck and support is a bot”, you should assume it is a plausible outcome here, and size your balance accordingly.

On support generally. There is a help centre. Infinite has priority support — which tells you what standard support is like, and is another reason to look hard at what Infinite costs.

On regulation around you. This matters more for some readers than the card itself:

On your identity. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk, with ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end it — which is exactly why accounts get frozen pending documents. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems validate proof-of-address documents. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address.

None of that is a trick to get around. It is context for why a card that advertises no paperwork can still freeze your balance: the freeze may be compliance, not judgement.

On custody, if you keep crypto in the wallet behind the card. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted private key; anyone who has it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery. Custodial platforms have a real record: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Self-custody removes the counterparty risk and hands you sole responsibility for key loss and for phishing.

On the category’s tail risks. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa said in November 2022 that it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure, reported by a single secondary source and unconfirmed, ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026.

On taxes — flag it, do not assume. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, dollars or other digital assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the transaction date. If you fund card payments from crypto, each payment may be a separate disposal. That is a general statement of a US rule, not tax advice for your situation, and your circumstances may be different.

On stablecoins themselves. They aim to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but despite the name they are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. If a card’s balance rides on USDT, that risk sits underneath your spending.

What to take instead

None of these is a recommendation for you in particular — you know your country and your situation better than I do. This is a set of comparisons so you can see what the alternatives actually commit to.

AstroCard Whop Cards Stella UniFi Card
Score 5.3 / 10 5.2 / 10 6.5 / 10 4.7 / 10
Card Mastercard or Visa, virtual; physical in Argentina, Brazil Visa; virtual/physical and currency not stated Virtual and physical VISA Prepaid Debit Visa, issued by Lead Bank; USD
Who 10 countries listed 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses Countries not stated; US and European users routed through affiliates Not confirmed from official pages
Fees 2.5%–4% international purchase, 1.5% ATM “No extra fees”; no amounts listed Not stated officially Not stated
Funding AstroPay wallet balance, USDT conversion Whop balance; stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet Crypto deposit tops the card automatically ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI; USDC wallet
Rewards 4.75% annual cashback on USD balance (Infinite) 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber No cashback stated; Earn is a separate yield “3% rewards on balances” in the listing

Four notes on that table, because the shape of each alternative matters more than the numbers.

Whop Cards are the narrowest. They are a US product: consumers in 31 states, businesses in 41, with unsupported consumer countries including Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam; unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. Whether eligibility rests on citizenship or residence: not stated. Its funding model is also different in kind — a pending balance becomes usable as soon as a payment arrives, while standard withdrawals use settled funds — and the “backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet” detail is starting data, not a page on the site.

Stella is the strongest of the four on score and the vaguest on disclosure: countries not stated, fees not stated officially (the terms point to a user agreement and the app), and terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes. What it does commit to is clear — virtual and physical VISA working at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”, and a custodial in-app wallet where a crypto deposit automatically tops up the card. If you are in the US or Europe, note that it routes you through affiliates.

UniFi Card is the one I would check first for a different reason: it is a prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, a named bank. The app supports Apple Pay, the balance is USDC-based, and funding runs through ACH, wire, SEPA and SPEI. The caveats are real — fees are “may apply, see the UniFi website”, the country list is not confirmed from official pages (the App Store listing mentions send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone, and release notes mentioning Colombia, Brazil via PIX and the UK), and coins and networks beyond USDC are not stated on the listing. But “which bank issued this” having an answer is worth something.

The honest summary of this section: if your priority is a named issuer, UniFi answers it. If your priority is Europe and a custodial wallet that tops the card automatically, Stella is the best-scoring of the four. If you are in the US and want cashback at specific merchants, Whop is competitive with AstroCard and publishes no fee amounts. And AstroCard’s own niche — an established crypto wallet with a card bolted on — is the one it serves most directly.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend AstroCard to you if all four of these are true:

  1. You already use AstroPay as a wallet, and your money is already there. The card’s value is that it spends a balance you hold.
  2. You live in one of the ten listed countries, and you know which variant you are getting — LOCAL or GLOBAL, 3.5% or 4%.
  3. You mostly spend locally, or internationally in low-value increments, where a 2.5–4% fee is a rounding error against the convenience.
  4. You can check the issuer and licence yourself — in the ESMA register if you are in the EU, in your national regulator’s records if you are elsewhere — and you are content with what you find.

And I would tell you to think twice if any of these are true instead:

The single most useful thing you can do before deciding: open the app, look at the Infinite subscription price and the limits shown for your verification level in your country, and compare that price against what the purchase fee would cost you over a year. Nobody outside the app can do that calculation for you, which is exactly why I have not pretended to.

Frequently asked questions

What is AstroCard?

AstroCard is a payment card that spends the balance in your AstroPay wallet. You get a virtual Mastercard called AstroCard or a virtual Visa called AstroCard Global, and a physical card in Argentina and Brazil. It behaves like a prepaid card: crypto is converted into fiat balance, and the card draws down that balance, so it cannot overdraw.

Is AstroCard a bank?

No. It is a card programme attached to a crypto wallet, and the card’s own pages do not name the issuing bank or the licences behind it. The company data I started from points to AP Global Corporation LLP / AstroPay Global (IOM) Limited, with USDT services through AP Digital (IOM) Limited, but I did not re-verify that on the pages I read. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves — they license issuers.

Who owns AstroCard?

The starting company data names AP Global Corporation LLP / AstroPay Global (IOM) Limited, with USDT services via AP Digital (IOM) Limited. None of that was re-verified against the pages I read, and the issuing bank and licences are not stated anywhere on those pages. Treat the ownership chain as something to confirm yourself rather than something established here.

Which countries can I use AstroCard in?

The official selector lists ten: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Spain, the United Kingdom, the United States and Uruguay. Terms depend on your country and verification level. Note that the country is where you are onboarded, not a list of where you can travel — and the fee depends on which country’s card you hold.

Does getting AstroCard require KYC?

The card says “No paperwork, no waiting, no branches”, which tells you there is no branch, not that no verification happens. It also states that benefits and limits vary by account verification level, which implies a level exists. The specific documents, thresholds and per-level limits are not stated on the pages I read, and users report verification upload problems.

How much does AstroCard cost?

The virtual card is free. A physical card in Argentina or Brazil costs USD 5, non-refundable once created and shipped, and is free on the Infinite tier. The real cost is transactional: international purchases are charged 2.5% in Brazil, Colombia and Mexico, 3.5% on the Argentina LOCAL card, and 4% on every purchase on the Argentina GLOBAL card. ATM withdrawals are 1.5%.

How do I top up AstroCard?

You fund the AstroPay wallet and let the card spend that balance; USDT conversion is toggled in the app. What the pages do not disclose is which coins and which networks you can deposit on, and that gap is worth closing in the app before you send anything. Network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not the card, and transfers are typically irreversible.

Is AstroCard safe?

Safety here means custody and support, not card mechanics. AstroPay’s Trustpilot profile reads 4.0 from 9,657 reviews with 22% one-star, and 2026 reviews mention frozen or delayed funds, bot-only support, account lockouts and virtual card declines. I found no official incidents matching these. Whether customer funds are safeguarded by segregation or insurance is not stated.

Can I use AstroCard with Apple Pay and Google Pay?

Yes — the card page tells you to add your AstroCard to either. The device stores a tokenised card number in its Secure Element rather than on the provider’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time code. You can also freeze or freeze-adjacent the card from the AstroCard section of the app, and 3-D Secure prompts arrive as push notifications.

Is AstroCard worth it?

Worth it as a second card for someone already holding an AstroPay balance who spends mostly locally or in small amounts abroad. Not worth it as your primary card if your spending is international, if you need to withdraw, or if you are trying to solve a problem with banks in the first place. Before deciding, check the Infinite subscription price and your personal limits inside the app — the annual fee-versus-fee-savings calculation cannot be done from outside it.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team