A Hong Kong Visa card you load with crypto — strong on price, thin on disclosure

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

PokePay is a Visa payment card that you load with cryptocurrency and then spend like an ordinary card, mostly aimed at people who already hold stablecoins and want everyday payments out of them. On the numbers it publishes, it is unusually cheap: no monthly fee, no annual fee, and 0% on cross-border transactions. That is what pulls it up the list. What holds it back is everything the site does not say — the issuing bank is not named, the card currency is not stated, the cash-withdrawal fee is not stated, the monthly limit is not stated, and the pages themselves say the content is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
PokePay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I score it 5.4 out of 10. If you are a Hong Kong resident who tops up with USDT and wants a cheap card for day-to-day spending, this is worth a look. If you are anywhere else, or you need a card you can take cash out of, or you care about published limits and named regulators, there are better-documented options.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 The site is for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong; unofficial sources report the US is restricted
Cost 8 / 10 0 monthly and 0 annual fees, 0% cross-border fee; the conversion fee and card currency are not disclosed
Top-up options 8 / 10 USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH named; networks only documented unofficially
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Issuing bank unnamed, licences self-declared; unofficial reports of a suspension wave in late 2025
Everyday use 6 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa, cash withdrawal mentioned; unofficial reports that Apple Pay is unsupported
Total 5.4 / 10 Strong price, weak disclosure

Will they give you the card?

Straight answer: probably not, unless you live in Hong Kong.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PokePay starts with a transfer to the right network

The site’s own words are the plainest evidence: the content of the website is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong. It adds that promotion outside Hong Kong may require permits. That is a narrower statement than most card pages make, and it is the first thing to check, because it means everything else on this page — fees, limits, top-up routes — is being described to a Hong Kong resident.

Unofficial sources, which I could not confirm from the card’s own pages, paint a picture of some reach beyond Hong Kong but with real gaps: the United States is explicitly restricted, one write-up claims availability in “most countries”, and one German-language version of the same third-party site also lists China as blocked. Read that as noise around the official statement, not as a promise you can rely on.

Two things about eligibility that the card does not publish at all:

What you can check yourself in a minute: whether the site you land on shows you a Hong Kong-specific version, and whether the app store you install from is the Hong Kong one. There is an iOS app listed in the Hong Kong App Store specifically, which tells you where the service is aimed.

Region What is officially said What unofficial sources say
Hong Kong Site content is for Hong Kong residents living there —
United States — Explicitly restricted
China — Listed as blocked on one German-language version of a third-party site
Elsewhere — Claimed to be “available in most countries”, unconfirmed

How to get it

The short version: identity verification first, then a card, physical or virtual, on Visa.

The card requires KYC certification before you can use the services, and it insists the data you type in must be exactly the same as the documents you upload. That sounds obvious and it is still the single most common place applicants trip: a middle name on the passport, a transliterated surname, a different spelling of a street — any of those will fail verification, and a failed verification costs you time, not just a retry. It also has to match the passport name, usually in English. The card’s guidance is to use Google Chrome with the camera enabled, which suggests the flow is camera-driven; a mismatched document fails the check rather than queueing it.

The card says identity verification is required before services, and that email verification is part of it. It may also apply enhanced due diligence and ask you about the source of your funds or wealth. That is routine in this category and not a warning sign on its own, but it does mean having a simple answer ready saves a round trip.

What the card does not publish: which documents, what proof of address, how many verification levels there are, or how long any of it takes. An unofficial June 2026 write-up says KYC is free and takes under a minute through a provider called Didit using an ID plus a face scan, and that a balance above 0 USD is needed before verification. Treat that as a description of a third party’s observation, not as a commitment from PokePay — the official pages do not promise a time, and they do not promise it is free.

Then the card itself: Visa, available as physical and virtual. The card currency is not stated.

For the physical card, the card says delivery takes about 10 to 30 working days depending on country or region, and may take longer. It does not state which countries it ships to, what delivery costs, or what a replacement card costs. A three-to-six-week wait is a real consideration if you are planning to travel before the card arrives — the virtual card is the practical answer for the gap, if your bank and the shops you use accept it.

Step What the card states What is missing
Verification KYC required; data must match documents exactly; email verification Which documents, how many levels, how long it takes
Card type Physical and virtual, Visa Card currency
Delivery About 10-30 working days, may be longer by country or region Countries shipped, delivery cost, replacement fee
Possible extras Enhanced due diligence may ask about source of funds or wealth What triggers it

Fees and what a payment really costs

This is where PokePay looks good and where I would still hesitate. The published numbers are 0 monthly fees, 0 annual fees, no micro-transaction fees, and 0% cross-border transaction fees. That is a genuinely strong cost position, and it is the reason the cost score is an 8.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PokePay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The gaps are more important than the good numbers, though, because they sit exactly where your money moves. The crypto conversion fee — the spread between what you pay on-chain and what lands in the card balance — is not stated. Neither is the currency the card holds, nor what happens when you spend in a currency other than that one. A “0% cross-border fee” line reads beautifully until you notice that the thing converting your dollars into what the terminal accepts is not the thing the 0% refers to.

There is also an oddity in the FAQ: a line saying there is no annual fee “in the 0th year”. It is not clear what that is meant to say, and the card opening fee is still not stated officially.

Fee or limit What the card publishes
Monthly fee 0
Annual fee 0
Card opening fee Not stated officially
Micro-transaction fees None
Cross-border transaction fee 0%
Crypto conversion fee / spread Not stated
Cash withdrawal fee and allowance Mentioned that cash withdrawal exists; fee and allowance not stated
Daily limit 100,000 HKD
Minimum single transaction 0.1 HKD
Monthly limit Not stated
Accounts or tiers One tier; none described

Three everyday payments, and what actually applies:

One more unofficial charge worth knowing about, because it contradicts the free framing: a June 2026 write-up says a deposit on ERC20 carries a 5 USDT surcharge, while Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon and AVAX C-Chain carry no surcharge. That is a third-party observation, not published card policy, but if it holds it changes which network you should use. And a 5 USD virtual card opening fee has been reported — the same write-up attributes “as low as 5 USD” to the official site, and also describes the app charging 5 USD in June 2026 despite a free banner. Both halves of that story are unofficial.

How to top it up

Topping up is the part PokePay does best. The card states you can recharge with cryptocurrencies such as USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH, and the same page names payment platforms WeChat, PayPal, Alipay and Wise, plus SWIFT, SEPA and local clearing for overseas accounts. No top-up fee and no minimum are listed.

On timing: a crypto recharge usually credits in about 15 minutes, and if it has not arrived after 30 minutes you are told to contact support. That is a specific, testable promise, which is more than most pages in this category give you.

What is not published is the one thing that matters most in crypto deposits — which networks. Send on the wrong chain and the transfer can be gone. The card says only that fees are disclosed before a transaction or published on the website or in a fees schedule, and there are no amounts in the terms. An unofficial June 2026 source lists five deposit networks: ERC20, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon and AVAX C-Chain. Copy the deposit address exactly as shown in the app, and match the network, before you send anything. Blockchain transfers are irreversible.

Top-up route What is stated Fee
USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH Named on the card’s page Not listed
Which networks Not stated officially; five networks reported unofficially Not stated; a 5 USDT ERC20 surcharge reported unofficially
WeChat, PayPal, Alipay, Wise Named on the card’s page Disclosed before the transaction or in the fees schedule
SWIFT, SEPA, local clearing Named for overseas accounts Disclosed before the transaction or in the fees schedule
Minimum None listed —
Crediting time Usually about 15 minutes; contact support if not there after 30 —

One more thing that belongs here rather than in the risks section, because it is a rule you will run into at the worst moment: closing your account is done through the website or support, and only if there are no pending transactions or amounts owed. Remaining funds are returned after AML and CTF checks. You cannot simply close an account you have finished with; there is a condition attached.

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day use is straightforward in shape and thin in detail. Physical and virtual Visa, spend anywhere Visa is taken, cash withdrawal mentioned. The app is available for iOS, for Android, as an APK download, and on the web at app.pokepay.cc. The site runs in English and Traditional Chinese.

Three things that will affect your actual week:

Apple Pay. Unofficial reports say it is not supported — user reports of adding the card to Apple Wallet return “this card is not supported”, and the same write-up mentions Steam not working either. If tap-to-pay on your phone is how you normally pay, this is a real gap, and you should assume it is a gap rather than an inconvenience. Bringing a physical card out matters more here than it would elsewhere.

Rewards. The card mentions “generous rewards” and nothing else — no rate, no currency, no conditions. An unofficial banner claims 3% cashback on a first purchase, time-limited. I would not plan around a phrase like that.

Refunds and disputes. Here the card is actually specific, and it is worth knowing before you need it: typical refund times are 3-7 working days for normal merchants, 7-14 for airlines, hotels and travel agencies, 3-10 for online payment platforms, 7-30 for cross-border, and 30-90 days for chargebacks. Complaints go to a designated contact, which in the terms is a placeholder, and Canadian law governs.

Against that, a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven. And merchants can decline a prepaid or foreign-issued card simply because the card’s issuer country shows up differently from the address you typed — a routine and unremarkable thing that occasionally just happens at the till.

Aspect Stated Not stated
Card Physical and virtual Visa Card currency
Cash withdrawal Mentioned Fee and allowance
Wallet linking — Whether PokePay supports Google Wallet or similar
Apple Pay — Unofficial reports: not supported
Rewards “Generous rewards” Rate, currency, conditions
App iOS, Android, APK, web —

What can go wrong

The most serious thing here is that PokePay does not name the bank that issues the card. The copyright notice names PokePay Technology Co., Ltd., and the licences listed are for Hong Kong, the United States, Canada, Ontario and Poland — listed by the company itself. An unnamed issuer is not automatically a scam; plenty of legitimate programmes run through partner banks. But it means that if something goes wrong with your money, the entity you have to deal with is a description, not a name.

The next thing is registration. The company describes itself as registered with FINTRAC in Canada, as an Ontario money services business, as a VASP in Poland and in Hong Kong, though the wording varies between the FAQ and the footer. FINTRAC itself says registration is not an endorsement — that is what a registry means, and it is easy to read a register listing as a quality mark when it is not one. One source, not confirmed.

Your balance is not a bank deposit. The card says funds are held separately from operating funds and explicitly not deposits, and are not insured by CDIC or any deposit insurance scheme. In plain terms: if the provider fails, you are a creditor, not a depositor with a guarantee behind you. What the card does claim is 24/7 monitoring, custody through partner banks, transaction monitoring, AML screening and encryption. Card security has a sensible design too: the card locks after repeated wrong CVV or expiry entries, or three wrong PIN attempts, and customer service unlocks it after verification. Multi-factor authentication is recommended rather than required, which is a weaker posture than it sounds.

The site can be frozen. PokePay may suspend or freeze an account and its balance without prior notice in listed circumstances. Withdrawal of the balance to crypto or to a bank, and the fee for it, are not stated anywhere I could find — so the exit cost of this card is an open question.

The reviews are thin and mixed. There is no pokepay.com page on Trustpilot. The page that exists is for pokeapay.com, possibly a different entity, with three reviews and 2.8 out of 5. One one-star reviewer calls the app “fake” and says verification passed without showing the full face. Three reviews is not a signal; a possible wrong entity is not a signal either. The app’s own Hong Kong App Store rating was 3.9 out of 5 from 15 ratings when I read it. The most consistent complaint in the third-party user reports is slow support response. The same reports mention the Apple Wallet problem and the 5 USD opening fee charged despite a free banner.

Where to draw the line, in plain terms:

What to take instead

Three cards in the same family, all of which I would describe in the same terms. The honest summary is that on raw affordability PokePay is hard to beat, and on disclosure it is hard to keep up with.

Card Score Card Funding Cost and fees
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa; virtual or physical not stated Spends from a Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet “No extra fees”; no amounts listed
Stella 6.5 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa Deposit crypto into the account, which tops the card automatically Not stated; fees under the User Agreement
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Prepaid Debit Visa, issued by Lead Bank, USD ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE); get paid to a USDC wallet Not stated; “fees may apply”
PokePay 5.4 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH; networks not stated officially 0 monthly, 0 annual, 0% cross-border; conversion fee not stated

Whop Cards is the most transparent about *who can have one*: 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses, with an explicit list of unsupported countries including Hong Kong. That cuts the other way if you are in Hong Kong — you are on the excluded list. It also names a reward: 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned, though payout currency and conditions are not stated.

Stella scores highest of the three at 6.5. It has virtual and physical Visa and works at what it calls over 40 million merchants. It bars users under economic sanctions programmes and routes US and European users through affiliates. Its cash position is not stated on the card page; the Earn product is separate yield, not card rewards.

UniFi Card is the one that names its issuer — Lead Bank — which is more than PokePay does, and it is USD-denominated. It also supports Apple Pay, the thing PokePay reportedly does not. But its availability is not confirmed from official pages, and its fees are, in its own words, something to look up elsewhere.

If your priority is the lowest cost with a Hong Kong address, PokePay stays in the picture. If your priority is knowing exactly who holds your money and what everything costs, any of the three above is easier to get a straight answer from.

Who I would recommend it to

To a Hong Kong resident who already holds USDT, spends most of the card on ordinary purchases, and has read the App Store page before the first payment. You get 0 monthly fee, 0 annual fee and 0% cross-border fee, you load with the four coins the card names, and the virtual card fills the gap while the physical one takes its 10 to 30 working days. Keep the balance at the level you would be willing to lose for a few weeks.

Not to anyone outside Hong Kong who found the card through a third-party site claiming “most countries”. The card’s own pages say otherwise, and that is the version you should believe.

Not to anyone who lives on cash. The withdrawal fee and allowance are not published, and the third-party assessment is blunt about ATM use.

Not to anyone who needs a named bank behind their money, or a card they can put in Apple Pay today.

Not to anyone with a large balance. No deposit insurance, an unnamed issuer, a self-declared licence list, and an unverified suspension episode in the recent past. That is a combination you accept for a wallet you sweep weekly, not for savings.

If that is you, the next step is the card’s own terms and support, in writing, on the four things it will not publish: the issuing bank, the card currency, the conversion fee, and the withdrawal fee. Anything else I have told you here, you should check twice before it becomes money you have already spent.

Frequently asked questions

What is PokePay card?

PokePay is a Visa payment card you load with cryptocurrency — the card names USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH — and then spend like an ordinary card, in stores, online and at ATMs. It comes as a physical card and a virtual one. The card is aimed at Hong Kong residents, and its own site says the content there is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong.

How does PokePay card work?

You verify your identity, top up the balance with crypto or with payment platforms such as WeChat, PayPal, Alipay and Wise, and then the card spends that stored balance, much like a prepaid card. A crypto recharge usually credits in about 15 minutes. The site does not publish which blockchain networks are accepted, which is the detail to confirm before sending anything.

Is PokePay a bank?

No, and it does not present itself as one. The card is issued by a bank that the company does not name, and the balances are explicitly not deposits and are not insured by CDIC or any deposit insurance scheme. PokePay describes itself as registered with FINTRAC in Canada, as an Ontario money services business, as a VASP in Poland and in Hong Kong, and FINTRAC says registration is not an endorsement.

Who owns PokePay?

The copyright notice names PokePay Technology Co., Ltd. Licences are listed for Hong Kong, the United States, Canada, Ontario and Poland, and the wording varies between the site’s FAQ and its footer. The issuing bank is not named, so the company behind the brand is the only entity you can identify from the public pages.

Is the PokePay card available in my country?

The card’s own statement covers Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong, and notes that promotion outside Hong Kong may require permits. Unofficial sources say the United States is explicitly restricted and claim availability in “most countries”, but I could not confirm that from the card. Treat outside Hong Kong as unsupported until the card tells you otherwise in writing.

How do I get the PokePay card?

You need to pass KYC before using the services, with the data you enter matching your documents exactly, including the passport name in English. Google Chrome with the camera enabled is recommended. After that you choose a physical card, which takes about 10 to 30 working days depending on country or region, or a virtual card you can use sooner.

Does PokePay card require KYC, and how long does it take?

Yes — identity verification is required before services, and the card may apply enhanced due diligence asking about the source of funds or wealth. Officially, the documents required, the number of verification levels and the processing time are not stated. One third party reports free verification in under a minute through Didit, with an ID and a face scan, which I could not verify with the card.

What does it cost to use the PokePay card?

The card publishes 0 monthly fees, 0 annual fees, no micro-transaction fees and 0% cross-border transaction fees. What it does not publish: the crypto conversion fee or spread, the card currency, the cash withdrawal fee and allowance, and any card opening fee. An FAQ line about no annual fee “in the 0th year” is unclear, and a 5 USD virtual opening fee has been reported by a third party.

How do I top up the PokePay card?

You can recharge with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH, and the site also names WeChat, PayPal, Alipay and Wise, plus SWIFT, SEPA and local clearing for overseas accounts. No minimum or top-up fee is listed, and fees are said to be disclosed before a transaction or in a published fees schedule. Networks are not stated officially; a third party lists five, with an ERC20 surcharge.

Is the PokePay card safe to use?

It depends what you mean by safe. The card says funds are held separately from operating funds, not insured by CDIC, and it claims 24/7 monitoring, partner-bank custody, transaction monitoring, AML screening and encryption, and the card locks after repeated wrong PIN or CVV entries. Against that: no named issuing bank, accounts that can be frozen without prior notice, an unnamed withdrawal process, and thin third-party reviews.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team