MiniPay review: cheap, digital, and dependent on networks you don't control

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

MiniPay is a digital-only Visa card that draws on the balance of a self-custodial crypto wallet rather than on a bank account. There is no physical plastic, no monthly fee and no issuance fee — and no recovery service if you lose your keys. That combination explains most of what follows: it is a genuinely inexpensive way to hold stablecoins and spend them, but it asks you to carry responsibility that a bank would otherwise carry for you, and it pays you in rewards that arrive months after you spend.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
MiniPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

If that trade sounds like yours, this review walks through it in the order you will meet it: eligibility, sign-up, cost, top-ups, daily use, and the ways it can go wrong. Then I look at four alternatives and say who I would hand each one to.

Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 7.4 out of 10, and the “out of 10” is not hiding a big problem

MiniPay scores 7.4 / 10. That is a good card, not a flawless one. The number is held up by genuinely low costs and a real regulatory chain behind it; it is dragged down by the absence of a physical card, by limits nobody publishes, and by a rewards scheme that can take two months to pay.

Who it suits: you already keep crypto in a self-custodial wallet, you mostly spend stablecoins, you are comfortable reading a network name before you press send, and you want a card number that a shop will accept without a monthly fee hanging over it. If your income is already in a local bank account, you have almost no reason to look at this.

Who it should stay away from: anyone who needs cash from an ATM, anyone who shops where physical card terminals are the norm, anyone who wants a chargeback safety net against a difficult merchant, and anyone who treats “the money is in my account” as a phrase that means the provider has it safe. In a self-custody wallet, the provider never has it. That is the design, and the design is the risk.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 “Selected markets” in the EEA, Africa, Latin America and Southeast Asia; the sign-up form lists about 80 countries plus an “Other” option
Cost 9 / 10 No issuance fee, no monthly fee, $0 deposit fees, no card fee — though Visa exchange rates may apply to non-USD purchases
Top-up options 7 / 10 Spends directly from a self-custodial wallet; per the starting data, USDT, USDC and cUSD on Celo, which the page does not itemise
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issuers named: Monavate Ltd (FCA, FRN 901097) and UAB Monavate (Lithuania), under a Visa Europe licence; the programme manager Gnosis Pay sits at 2.1 from 24 Trustpilot reviews
Everyday use 5 / 10 Digital-only Visa with Apple Pay and Google Pay, no physical card, no ATM coverage
Total 7.4 / 10

Read the Everyday use row again if you only read one. Five out of ten is the score that decides this card for most people, and it has nothing to do with security or cost — it is about whether a piece of plastic exists.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, probably, if you live in the right part of the world — but you will not find out by reading a country list, because MiniPay does not publish one.

What the card states is “selected markets” in the EEA, Africa, Latin America and Southeast Asia. No country list is published. The sign-up form itself lists roughly 80 countries plus an “Other” entry, and the practical test the card gives is blunt: if your country is supported, the onboarding flow appears in the card tab. That is a better guide than any list would be, because it reflects the rules at the moment you apply rather than the day a page was written.

The one thing that is genuinely not stated is the basis on which they decide. Citizenship, residence, or neither — the public pages do not say. That matters more than it sounds. KYC rules record nationality and screen it separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often turn on citizenship and country of birth rather than on where you currently sleep. A card that says “selected markets” without saying which of the two it screens is asking you to apply and find out.

What I would do rather than speculate: open the app before you commit anything. The onboarding appearing or not appearing is the fastest possible answer, and it costs you nothing to look.

How to get it

The route is short, and almost all of it happens in the app.

Identity verification depends on your country and on the requirements of the card programme. The app walks you through it. What documents you will need — passport or ID, proof of address, and any age requirement — is not stated on the public pages, so do not treat this as a quick form-filling exercise. Expect it to feel like an account opening somewhere, not a checkout somewhere.

What you end up with is a digital Visa card that settles in USD. There is no physical card and no shipping, which also means no delivery step to wait for. Gnosis Pay announced the MiniPay Visa card launch on 23 June 2026; the page metadata carried a later date of 7 September 2026, so treat the launch as recent and the surrounding documentation as still settling.

One thing you will search for and not find: whether MiniPay runs different verification levels. That is not stated. If you are asking because a stricter level would change what you can do with the card, the honest answer is that the card’s own pages do not tell you, and support is the only route.

Fees: what a MiniPay payment actually costs you

This is the section where MiniPay scores best, and it deserves to, because the cost of holding this card is close to nothing and the cost of *using* it is close to nothing too.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a MiniPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card says
Issuance No issuance fee
Monthly No monthly fee
Deposit / funding $0 deposit fees from other wallets
Card fee None; “MiniPay charges no card fee”
Conversion / exchange Visa exchange rates may apply to non-USD purchases; the Gnosis Pay blog describes a “low nominal FX fee” without giving an amount
ATM Not covered by the MiniPay FAQ; the Gnosis Pay blog mentions “an ATM withdrawal fee” with no amount
Spending limits May apply, viewable in the app, no amounts published
Currency Settlement in USD; non-USD purchases subject to Visa exchange rates
Tiers A single tier; none described

Three everyday payments, with the fees that actually apply:

A £40 subscription paid in London. The settlement currency is USD, so your £40 is converted by Visa’s exchange rate — that is the only fee in the transaction, and MiniPay adds nothing on top. No monthly fee, no per-payment fee. This is the payment MiniPay is genuinely good at.

A $25 dinner split five ways with a card terminal in Athens. Same conversion logic in reverse: you spend euros, Visa converts, and the rate is Visa’s. The thing to watch is not the fee but the decline — a foreign-issued prepaid-style card can be refused at some terminals, and that is a category risk, not a MiniPay fault. Have a second card in your pocket for the case where the first one is looked at twice.

An ATM withdrawal. Here MiniPay is on shakiest ground and the card does not help you. The FAQ does not cover ATM at all; the Gnosis Pay blog refers to an ATM withdrawal fee without an amount; and MiniPay positions the product as digital-only. If you need cash, plan to get it by withdrawing from your own wallet to local currency through a third-party ramp partner — not at an ATM on this card.

One number to hold onto: the Gnosis Pay blog calls the FX fee “low nominal”, which is a phrase, not a rate. Before you commit your spending to this card, read the exchange rate in the app on a real transaction and decide for yourself whether “low” is low enough for your spending.

Top up: the part you must get right

Top-ups are the single most consequential thing you will do with this card, because the network you choose decides whether your money arrives or disappears.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up MiniPay starts with a transfer to the right network

The mechanics are simple. MiniPay spends directly from your self-custodial wallet balance. You can top up from the MiniPay balance or from any wallet, and the funds are spendable on arrival — no waiting, no credit window. Deposit fees are $0. Which coins and networks you can send are the softer point: per the starting data it is USDT, USDC and cUSD on Celo, but the page does not itemise that list, so you should treat the supported set as something you confirm in the app for your own account rather than something you read here.

Two things are not stated and both of them cost money if you guess wrong. Who pays the on-chain network fee for a deposit is not stated, and neither is a minimum deposit amount. What is stated plainly is that network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — which is a different sentence from “you don’t pay anything”.

And the direction of travel matters: blockchain transfers are effectively irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of either. This is not a rare failure mode; it is the standard failure mode of crypto transfers, and it is why I would never test a new card by sending funds to an address copied from anywhere other than the app’s own deposit screen.

Withdrawals work the same way in reverse: the card spends only the balance available, and moving money out to local currency goes through third-party ramp partners. Fees on those withdrawals are not stated, and what happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is not stated either. If you are closing an account with money on it, that second gap is worth raising with support before you close it.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, MiniPay is Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the card’s own FAQ puts adding it to a phone wallet at “under a minute”. There is no plastic to carry, and there is nothing else in this section.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. Whether any merchant categories are blocked is not stated — the cashback terms refer to “excluded-category” transactions, which tells you a list exists without telling you what is on it. If gambling or similar is something you care about, ask.

The rewards are the part people notice. Up to 5% on qualifying purchases, paid in digital gold (Tether Gold) and stablecoins. The FAQ says 5%. It is paid monthly, it can take 30 to 60 days to arrive, and pending, refunded, excluded-category or over-cap transactions may not qualify. Terms and conditions apply.

Read that timing again. You spend today, the cashback is accounted for at month end, and you may hold it for another one to two months before it lands. That is the difference between a rebate and an aspiration, and it should factor into whether you call the card worth it. What you are actually getting is paid in digital gold and stablecoins — not in fiat, and not on a schedule you control. Whether receiving Tether Gold is attractive to you is a question about your own tax and accounting position, not one this review answers.

The app is the MiniPay wallet app from Opera, and I could not read its store ratings — the store pages did not load when I checked on 21 October 2026, so treat the app’s reputation as unmeasured here rather than as good.

When something goes wrong, the card’s own route is: freeze the card in the app, review the activity, contact support. Refunds usually return to the original card, and how long that takes depends on the merchant and the issuer. Support is in-app, with a separate email channel for a lost phone; the languages and hours are not stated.

What can go wrong

Nothing catastrophic that I could find, and that is a real if modest reassurance. What I could find was thinner than I would like.

No official incident found. No MiniPay-specific incident surfaced in the checking I did.

No MiniPay reviews to read. No Trustpilot page for MiniPay was found. For Gnosis Pay, the programme manager, the Swedish Trustpilot page shows 2.1 from 24 reviews, read on 21 October 2026. The complaints there are about support, about identity checks being handled by a third party, and about a slow unresolved fraud dispute. This is a user report, and dates are not shown. It is also a small sample of 24, so treat it as a signal rather than a measurement — but a signal pointing at support and at fraud handling is the wrong pair of things to have a thin sample about.

Who is actually behind this. The wallet provider is Blueboard Limited (Opera). The programme manager is Gnosis Pay, which says it is not a bank or a regulated payment provider. The issuers are Monavate Ltd, an FCA-regulated e-money institution in England and Wales (FRN 901097), and UAB Monavate in Lithuania, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania (LB002139). The cards are issued under licence from Visa Europe Limited.

That structure is worth understanding rather than glossing over. It is the standard shape for this category: the crypto brand is a front-end and programme manager, the issuer is a licensed e-money institution, and the network is the licence-holder. It means your card money sits with an EMI, which must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them — but that is not the same as a bank deposit, and you should not assume a deposit guarantee scheme is behind it. It also means the programme can be wound down by people other than MiniPay.

Self-custody cuts both ways. The card’s own framing is that your balance stays in your wallet until the moment you pay. You can freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app. If you lose your phone, the card’s instruction is an email to the address in the FAQ with the subject “Lost Phone – Freeze Card”. Whether two-factor authentication is supported is not stated.

But self-custody means the risks sit with you. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in plain form, and anyone who gets it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are irreversible and a stolen key has no recovery path — the network cannot freeze or return it. And the historical record of custodians is not encouraging: Mt. Gox at roughly US$350 million reported stolen in 2011–2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022.

Category risks you inherit for free. Merchants can look up the card’s issuer identification number and see the issuing institution and country, and some apply extra scrutiny when that differs from the billing address — which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards on that basis. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days. And your chargeback rights are less certain than the word “Visa” suggests: prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.

None of this is a reason to reject MiniPay. It is a reason to keep a backup card and to know that this one is the tool, not the safety net.

What to take instead

Four alternatives came up in the same review process, and none of them is a straight upgrade — they trade MiniPay’s cost advantage for different things.

Card Score Cost shape Top-up Rewards
MiniPay 7.4 / 10 No issuance, no monthly, $0 deposit fees; Visa rates on non-USD Self-custodial wallet; USDT, USDC, cUSD on Celo per starting data, not itemised Up to 5%, paid monthly, can take 30–60 days
BloFin Wallet Card 6.9 / 10 Activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees $0.00; cancellation free USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base No cashback; spend rate cut by VIP tier
Decaf 6.2 / 10 $5 virtual activation; $10 physical (US) or $90 physical elsewhere; no annual fee Card, bank transfer or USDC; Solana and Stellar Not stated
SafePal 6.2 / 10 No account or management fees; issuance fee not stated; 1% Mastercard non-USD FX Crypto from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC or fiat; Arbitrum No cashback; referral commissions up to 40% of referred fees

BloFin Wallet Card is the closest comparison and scores slightly lower. Its cost structure is arguably cleaner — activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees are each $0.00, and cancelling is free — but it charges a spend fee at payment that scales with your VIP tier, from 1.00% at VIP 0 down to 0.00% at VIP 5. If you are an active high-volume trader, that tier ladder is the whole argument; if you are not, you are paying up to a percent on ordinary spending, where MiniPay charges nothing. Its country list is not published on the card page either; the starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand. It has no cashback, and it says so plainly: “no waiting for cashback or rebates.”

Decaf is the one with the most explicit eligibility rules, and the longest restricted list — Belarus, China, North Korea, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria, plus a list of restricted US states. Whether it applies by citizenship or by residence is not stated. Its standout feature is FX: Decaf adds no fee and the exchange rate is the one Visa offers. Its catch is the physical card’s price: $10 in the US, $90 in the rest of the world, against $5 for the virtual one.

SafePal is a virtual Mastercard debit with spending limits given in euros against a Swiss Fiat24 account. It is explicit about a 1% FX fee on Mastercard non-USD settlement, a refund processing fee of 1 USD/EUR/CHF/7 CNH, and that swaps include a spread it does not quantify. Its region list was empty when fetched. The most interesting line for a MiniPay reader is that referral commissions can reach 40% of referred users’ top-up fees, and tier privileges are tied to deposits, referrals and staking — a different economic model from spending-based rewards entirely.

Two of these pages do not say who can get the card in the way you would want: BloFin does not distinguish citizenship from residence either, and SafePal refers to “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas” with the actual list not loaded.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend MiniPay to you if four things are all true.

You already hold stablecoins in a self-custodial wallet. If you do not, this card solves a problem you do not yet have, and you would be paying to learn self-custody the hard way while also trying to learn a new payment method.

You are comfortable with networks. The single most likely way to lose money here is sending on the wrong network to the wrong address, and no amount of card quality protects you from that.

You spend digitally. Apple Pay and Google Pay in under a minute, no plastic to lose, no monthly fee, no per-payment fee, and a Visa rate on conversions. If your spending is mostly online or in phones, MiniPay is genuinely a good fit.

And you have a plan B for cash and for disputes. A debit card that cannot be overdrawing your balance is a real safety property — it simply fails safely. But it also cannot produce emergency cash, and its chargeback position is weaker than a mainstream bank’s. Keep another card.

I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would not recommend it to anyone who wants someone else to be responsible for their money.

Frequently asked questions

What is MiniPay card?

MiniPay is a digital-only Visa payment card that spends directly from the balance of a self-custodial crypto wallet rather than from a bank account. It settles in USD, has no physical version and no shipping, and is issued under licence from Visa Europe Limited by Monavate Ltd and UAB Monavate. The wallet app comes from Opera’s Blueboard Limited. Think of it as a Visa front end on top of crypto you already hold yourself.

Is MiniPay a bank?

No. The card programme manager, Gnosis Pay, says explicitly that it is not a bank or a regulated payment provider. The actual issuers are e-money institutions: Monavate Ltd in England and Wales, regulated by the FCA with FRN 901097, and UAB Monavate in Lithuania, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania under LB002139. E-money institutions must safeguard customer funds, but that is not the same as a bank deposit guarantee.

Who can get the MiniPay card?

MiniPay states “selected markets” in the EEA, Africa, Latin America and Southeast Asia, without publishing a country list. The sign-up form lists about 80 countries plus an “Other” option, and onboarding appears in the card tab if your country is supported. Whether the test is citizenship or residence is not stated. The practical move is to open the app and see whether the onboarding flow appears for you.

Does MiniPay card require KYC?

Yes — identity verification depends on your country and the card programme’s requirements, and the app walks you through it. The public pages do not say which documents, whether proof of address is needed, or what the age requirement is, and they do not describe different verification levels. Expect a process closer to opening a bank account than to a quick checkout.

Is MiniPay card free?

In the ways that matter most, yes. There is no issuance fee, no monthly fee, “$0 deposit fees” when funding from other wallets, and “MiniPay charges no card fee”. The catch is conversion: Visa exchange rates may apply to non-USD purchases, and the Gnosis Pay blog describes a “low nominal FX fee” without giving an amount. Reading the actual rate in the app before you spend heavily is worth the minute.

How do I top up the MiniPay card?

You top up from your MiniPay balance or from any wallet, and funds are spendable on arrival. Per the starting data, the coins and network are USDT, USDC and cUSD on Celo, though the page does not itemise that list, so confirm it in your own app. Who pays the on-chain network fee and what the minimum is are both not stated, and transfers are effectively irreversible.

Is MiniPay card safe?

Safer in one specific way, riskier in another. Self-custody means your balance stays in your wallet until the moment you pay, and you can freeze the card instantly in the app — nobody can move funds without your key. But nobody can recover them for you either: a lost seed phrase means lost funds, and transfers cannot be reversed. Whether two-factor authentication is supported is not stated.

What are the fees and limits on MiniPay?

No issuance fee, no monthly fee, no card fee and $0 deposit fees. Non-USD purchases go through Visa exchange rates, the Gnosis Pay blog mentions an ATM withdrawal fee without an amount, and the MiniPay FAQ does not cover ATM at all. Spending limits “may apply” and are viewable in the app, but no amounts are published, so you cannot plan against them from outside.

Where can I use the MiniPay card?

Anywhere that accepts a Visa and lets you add it to a phone wallet: Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, which the card’s FAQ puts at “under a minute”. In practice, expect foreign-issued prepaid-style cards to be looked at twice by some terminals, because merchants can check the issuer country from the card’s identification number. Address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines on online payments.

Is the MiniPay card worth it?

Worth it if you already hold stablecoins in a self-custodial wallet and spend digitally — you get a Visa number with no monthly or per-payment fee. Worth thinking twice about if the 5% rewards are the main draw, because they are paid monthly and can take 30 to 60 days to arrive, in digital gold and stablecoins rather than fiat. And it is not a substitute for cash access or a strong chargeback position.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team