A crypto debit card from one of the big exchanges, with clean fees but a few open questions
The Gate card is a crypto-funded payment card that lets you spend the balance on your Gate exchange account at any shop that takes Visa or Mastercard. It is not the most aggressive card on the market in terms of rewards, and it does not show its hand about who issues it, but the fee schedule is straightforward and the basics work. If you already hold crypto on Gate, it is a reasonable way to turn that balance into everyday spending money; if you do not, there is less reason to choose Gate over the alternatives.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
I give the Gate card a 6.8 out of 10. The score breaks down as follows:
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Card is available in “non-restricted countries or regions”, with no public list; unofficial reporting puts the Classic card in 24 European countries and explicitly excludes the US, UK, Germany, France and Canada. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | The Standard card has free issuance (virtual and physical), no monthly fee, no inactivity fee, a 0.90% crypto conversion fee, a 1.00% non-USD foreign exchange fee and a 2% ATM fee. Replacement costs 25 USD. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Instant Spend Mode takes USDT, BTC, ETH and GT; prepaid mode accepts a wider range, but the supported networks are not disclosed. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | The issuer is not officially named (unofficial sources name Stanhope Financial UAB and Lead Bank); the Gate exchange sits at around 1.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot, and card-specific complaints mention a cashback pause and slow replacements. |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | A virtual card is available immediately and a physical card follows; ATM withdrawals are supported; help pages exist for adding the card to Google Pay and Apple Pay, though unofficial sources say only Google Pay works on the Classic tier. |
The card makes the most sense for people who already use the Gate exchange and want to spend USDT, BTC, ETH or GT without first cashing out to a bank. If you do not have a Gate account, the value is harder to see, because the top-up and rewards flow assumes you are funding from the exchange itself. It is not the right card if you live in a country Gate does not serve, if you want a transparent metal card, or if you care more about the highest cashback rate than about fee clarity.
Who can get the Gate card
Gate is unusually coy about this. The card page says only that “Gate Card is only available to users in non-restricted countries or regions”, without naming the countries it serves or the countries it blocks. There is no public list, no citizenship-versus-residence rule and no mention of age. So the first thing you will have to do is try the application, and you will find out only then whether you are eligible.
Unofficial directories (third-party sites, not confirmed by Gate) give a more concrete picture for the Classic card. One such directory, dated 11 August 2026, lists 24 countries: Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden. The same source says the US, UK, Germany, France and Canada are not supported. Another directory adds Austria and Spain but omits Italy and Lithuania, which is the kind of inconsistency that should make you check at application time rather than trust a third-party list.
The rule of thumb is: if you are in continental Europe outside the big-five economies, you are probably fine; if you are in the US, the UK, Germany, France or Canada, you almost certainly are not.
How to sign up
The sign-up path is the same as for any regulated card, and the steps are:
- Open a Gate account with a linked email and phone number.
- Complete Level 2 identity verification. Gate requires this for the card specifically, and some card types additionally ask for a proof of address from the last three months. The age requirement is not stated.
- Apply for either the virtual or physical card inside the Gate app. The application has to use the same ID you verified with, and the review typically finishes within 3 to 5 minutes for the virtual card.
For a virtual card, you are done in minutes. For a physical card, official help says delivery usually takes 7 to 45 days depending on the country; unofficial estimates put the realistic window at 15 to 45 days. If 45 days pass and nothing arrives, Gate tells you to confirm the address with support and use a “Resend” option. The card page does not say which courier Gate uses or whether tracking is provided, so build in patience.
Gate does not publish a list of rejection reasons, which is a small but real annoyance. If your application fails, you may not get a specific explanation, and the only recourse is to contact [email protected].
What the Gate card really costs: fees
The fee table is one of the cleaner things about this card. The Standard card, which is the version with the published numbers, looks like this:

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Physical card issuance | Free |
| Monthly fee | Free |
| Inactivity fee | Free |
| Crypto conversion (≥ 2 USD) | 0.90% |
| Crypto conversion (< 2 USD) | 0.05 USD |
| Foreign exchange (non-USD) | 1.00% |
| ATM withdrawal | 2% |
| ATM daily limit | 5,000 USD (up to 10 withdrawals) |
| ATM monthly limit | 15,000 USD (up to 100 withdrawals) |
| ATM per-transaction limit | 5,000 USD |
| Spending limit, all tiers T0–T4 (daily) | 50,000 USD |
| Spending limit, all tiers T0–T4 (monthly) | 990,000 USD |
| Replacement card | 25 USD |
| Chargeback processing fee | 30 USD |
A few everyday scenarios make the numbers easier to feel:
- A 60 USD coffee and lunch in another country, paid in EUR from a USDT balance. Crypto conversion: 0.54 USD. Foreign exchange on the non-USD part: roughly 0.60 USD. Total card-side cost: about 1.14 USD, plus the on-chain gas you already paid to deposit the USDT.
- A 1,200 USD laptop bought online from a USD-priced store, paid from BTC. Crypto conversion: 10.80 USD. No foreign exchange fee because the merchant is in USD. Total: 10.80 USD.
- A 200 USD ATM withdrawal abroad in a non-USD currency. ATM fee: 4 USD. Foreign exchange: 2 USD. Total card-side: 6 USD, before the ATM operator’s own surcharge.
The ATM cash math is where crypto cards usually sting, and the Gate card is no exception: 2% on the way out, plus 1% on top if the cash is not in dollars, adds up. Treat the card as a spending tool rather than a way to move cash.
One thing to flag: unofficial reporting describes a prepaid variant with a 0.9% top-up charge, a 10 USDT minimum for the first load, a 2% refund charge, a 1 USD reversal fee, a 35 USD chargeback fee and a 0.10 USD Apple Pay authorisation charge. Some of these line up with the Standard card (0.9% conversion, chargeback fee), some do not (35 USD vs 30 USD chargeback). Treat the unofficial numbers as a warning that other variants exist, not as a quote.
Top up
Topping the card up starts inside the Gate app. There are two modes:

- Instant Spend Mode. This is the straightforward path: you hold USDT, BTC, ETH or GT in your Gate Pay or Spot balance, and the card spends directly from it. The conversion happens at the point of sale, at the rate shown in the app.
- Prepaid Mode. Here you convert funds from Gate Pay or Spot into a fiat balance on the card, and the card spends only that balance. The range of accepted crypto is wider than Instant Spend Mode, but availability depends on the card, the issuer and the region, and Gate does not list which networks are supported.
For Standard cards the conversion fee is 0.90% on transactions of 2 USD or more, and a flat 0.05 USD on anything below that. Gate does not publish a minimum top-up amount, and does not publish which blockchain networks it accepts for each token, which is the kind of gap that matters in practice: send USDT on the wrong network and the funds may be lost or stranded.
There is a separate “Card Balance Withdrawal” page on the card site that points to an announcement I have not been able to read, so the formal procedure for pulling fiat back off the card is not fully described in the materials I checked. In everyday use, the balance sits inside Gate Pay and can be moved back into your Spot account.
Paying with it every day
At the till, the card behaves like a regular Visa or Mastercard. The card network is described as “Visa or Mastercard” depending on the card and region; Gate does not say which one your specific card will be on until you have it.
Mobile wallets. Gate has a help-centre article titled “Add Your Gate Card to Google Pay & Apple Pay”. The body of that article is not public, so the official position is that both wallets work. Unofficial reporting says the picture is more uneven: the Classic FAQ only documents Google Pay, while Standard and Signature help pages cover both Apple Pay and Google Pay. If a specific mobile-wallet integration matters to you, that is a question for support before you sign up.
Rewards. Gate advertises “up to 8% cashback” depending on card tier. The FAQ describes rewards as points redeemable for USDT or GT, while a banner on the same site says cashback is paid in BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC. The page is inconsistent. Unofficial reporting gives a tier ladder for the Classic card based on monthly spend: T0 (0 USDT) 1% cashback capped at 5 USDT, T1 (500 USDT) 1% capped at 50, T2 (3,000 USDT) 2% capped at 100, T3 (6,000 USDT) 3% capped at 150, T4 (10,000 USDT) 5% capped at 250, T5 (15,000 USDT) 8% capped at 400. Points convert at 100 points = 1 USDT and do not expire, according to the same source. None of these caps or thresholds are confirmed on the official page, so read them as indicative.
Disputes. If something goes wrong, the procedure is to contact the merchant first, then start a chargeback through Gate with proof of that conversation. Gate says the chargeback carries a roughly 25 USD processing fee regardless of outcome; the Standard card’s published fee table actually shows 30 USD. Either way, it is not refunded if you lose. The whole process can take up to about three months.
What can go wrong
A few risks are worth taking seriously before you put meaningful funds on the card.
The issuer is not named on the card page. The page refers to “the issuing institution’s review” and “the issuer” without saying who that is. Unofficial sources name Stanhope Financial UAB (a Bank of Lithuania e-money institution, licence LB002039) as the EEA issuer and Lead Bank, with Bridge as programme manager, as the US issuer. Gate itself has joined the Mastercard Crypto Partner Program. Without the issuer being confirmed on the card page, the regulatory protections that come with the licence (segregated funds, EMI supervision) are something you have to take on trust.
Complaints are mostly about the exchange, not the card. On Trustpilot, gate.com sits at roughly 3.5 out of 5 from about 121 reviews, mostly about non-card services, with one resolved card-data complaint. The gate.io exchange page sits at about 1.5 out of 5 from around 1,000 reviews, with accounts restricted without explanation and deposits or trading suspended. Card-specific complaints are sparser but include: a 2024 cashback pause, a card retained by an ATM with a delayed replacement, card funds reported inaccessible for six days, merchant refund delays, and five-to-six-week waits for chargeback responses. A small number of users report their card being frozen after small purchases. The sample is small and the dates are old, but the pattern is consistent enough to mention.
Security. A lost or stolen card can be temporarily frozen in the app. PINs can be changed in the Gate Card app. The card will often be frozen after several wrong PIN entries. A negative card balance “will risk having your card getting permanently blocked”. Custody arrangements, two-factor authentication rules, and any insurance on the balance are not stated on the card page.
Programme risk. Card programmes are not immortal. Visa has shut crypto card programmes down before: in November 2022 it terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card was wound down; in 2018 it suspended WaveCrest in Europe, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme overnight. Gate is a large exchange, but the card is a programme run by an unnamed issuer on a network that has shown it can pull the plug. Treat the balance as money you can afford to lose access to on short notice.
Recent timeline. Unofficial reporting (CryptoCardHub, 11 August 2026) places these events: 9 March 2023 EU Visa debit card launched; 4 March 2026 card relaunched with T0–T4 levels; 22 June 2026 proof-of-reserves report at 8.182 billion USD with 115% coverage; 2 July 2026 T0–T5 points model with the 8% top rate; July 2026 Gate US prepaid Visa (Lead Bank) launched; a 2024 cashback pause from 19 June. The pause and the relaunch together explain why older reviews sound harsher than the current fee schedule: the card is, in some sense, a refreshed product.
What to take instead
If the Gate card is not for you, three alternatives cover the main reasons people pass on it.
MSX (6.4 / 10). The card is harder to read than Gate, with country list, card type, fees, top-up options and rewards all not stated on an official page I could find. If you can find a working application and a clear fee schedule, MSX is comparable to Gate on the basics; if you cannot, the silence is itself a warning.
Bybit Card (6.0 / 10). A more transparent product. Official help lists card regions (Argentina, AIFC in Kazakhstan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and the broader Asia Pacific region) and the cards page states that “this product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” Issuance is free for virtual cards in every region “until further notice”; physical card issuance or replacement runs 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD/USDT in Argentina, 29.99 USDT in Georgia, 29.99 USDT in Kazakhstan (AIFC) and 5 USDT in Asia Pacific, with VIPs in Australia, Kazakhstan, Georgia and Asia Pacific exempt. Crypto conversion is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina; FX is 2% in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 2% “International Fee” in Kazakhstan (AIFC) on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil and 1% in Peru. The card has no balance of its own: it draws on the Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn, fiat first, then crypto. Supported tokens are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM. From 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, with a tier ladder that runs from Base 2% / 5 USD cap to Infinite 10% / 600 USD cap, and a welcome 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days. The drawback is geography: if you are in the EEA, Bybit is closed to you.
MEXC (5.6 / 10). Virtual card only, with the Philippines, Taiwan and Thailand among the supported regions (the full list is on a Details link I have not opened). Issuance is listed as 20 USD on the page, with a possible 0 USD discount next to it; service fee 0%. Funding runs through USDT transferred to a Fiat account and then added on the My MEXC Card page; networks are not stated. Cashback is paid by the 15th of the next month: Standard 4% with a 100 USDT cap, Premier (M-Score 600–799) 6% with a 300 USDT cap, Elite (M-Score 800+) 10% with an 800 USDT cap. A referral pays 20 USDT to the referrer and 10 USDT to the referee. MEXC is the weakest of the three on documented transparency, but if you are in a region Gate does not serve, it may be one of the few options.
If you are choosing between the three on the criteria that matter, Bybit has the clearest reward ladder and the most explicit fees, at the cost of excluding the EEA; Gate has the cleanest fee structure and the broadest non-EEA European reach, at the cost of an unnamed issuer; MSX is harder to evaluate because the official materials are thin; and MEXC is the smallest scope of the three but a viable card where the others do not operate.
Who I would recommend it to
The Gate card is a good fit if you already keep crypto on Gate, you live somewhere on the unofficial Classic list (continental Europe, outside the big-five), and you want a simple way to spend USDT, BTC, ETH or GT without cashing out to a bank first. The fee structure is competitive: 0.90% conversion and 1% FX, with no monthly or inactivity fee, are honest numbers. The downsides are the things Gate has chosen not to publish: the country list, the issuer, the supported networks for each token, the per-tier reward caps, and the mobile-wallet support for each card variant. None of these is disqualifying, but each is something you have to check at the point of application rather than rely on the marketing.
I would not recommend the Gate card if you live in the US, UK, Germany, France or Canada, if you need a metal card, if you want the highest published cashback rate, or if you prefer an issuer that names itself and its regulator on the card page. For those situations, the Bybit card is the more transparent alternative in regions where it is available, the MSX card is worth investigating if you can find the fee schedule, and the MEXC card is the fallback for the smaller markets.
In one line: the Gate card is a workable, fairly priced spending tool for the existing Gate user in continental Europe, and a card you should not bet your main banking on.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Gate card?
The Gate card is a payment card that draws on a balance held on the Gate crypto exchange. It is issued under the Visa or Mastercard network, and lets you spend USDT, BTC, ETH and GT (in Instant Spend Mode) or a wider range of tokens (in Prepaid Mode) at any merchant that takes the relevant network.
How does the Gate card work?
You hold a balance on Gate, choose a spend mode, and the card converts the crypto into fiat at the moment of payment or in advance, depending on the mode. The merchant sees a normal Visa or Mastercard transaction; the conversion and any FX fee happen on the Gate side.
Is Gate a bank?
No. Gate is a cryptocurrency exchange. The card itself is a payment product that runs through a licensed card issuer; Gate is the programme manager and brand, not the bank.
Who owns Gate?
Gate is run by Gate Group, the company behind the Gate.io and Gate.com exchanges. The card product is described as “offered by Gate”, with the issuing institution referred to but not named on the card page. Unofficial sources name Stanhope Financial UAB as the EEA issuer and Lead Bank (with Bridge) as the US programme partner.
Is the Gate card available in my country?
The official page says only “non-restricted countries or regions”, with no public list. Unofficial directories suggest the Classic card is available in 24 continental European countries (Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden) and not in the US, UK, Germany, France or Canada. The only reliable way to find out is to start the application.
How do I get a Gate card?
Open a Gate account, complete Level 2 identity verification, and apply for the virtual or physical card in the Gate app. The virtual card is typically reviewed within 3 to 5 minutes; the physical card is delivered within 7 to 45 days officially, or 15 to 45 days in unofficial estimates.
Does the Gate card require KYC?
Yes. Level 2 identity verification is required for the card, and some card types also ask for a proof of address from the last three months. The same ID you verified with is the one you use to apply.
How do I add the Gate card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Gate has a help-centre article titled “Add Your Gate Card to Google Pay & Apple Pay”, which suggests both wallets are supported. Unofficial reporting says the Classic tier may only support Google Pay, while Standard and Signature support both. The reliable answer is to test in your own app once the card is issued.
Is the Gate card free?
The virtual and physical Standard cards are free to issue, with no monthly fee and no inactivity fee. The costs you will actually pay are the 0.90% crypto conversion fee, the 1.00% non-USD FX fee, the 2% ATM fee, and a 25 USD replacement fee if you lose the card.
Is the Gate card safe?
It carries the usual risks of a custodial crypto card: the issuer is not named on the card page, the card runs on a programme that can be terminated by the network, and the underlying balance is held by an exchange that has had a 1.5-out-of-5 Trustpilot score in the past. Treat the balance as money you can afford to lose access to on short notice, and use the in-app freeze and PIN controls if the card is lost or stolen.
Exchange card options – cryptocardoptions.com
Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team
