A self-custody virtual Visa you can have in minutes, with a free tier that actually feels free

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Solid pitches itself as a payment card for people who already hold their own crypto. You download the app, complete a single identity check, and a free virtual Visa lands on your screen within a couple of minutes. The card sits on the Visa Platinum tier, is denominated in US dollars, and spends from a balance you top up with dollars or with stablecoins such as USDC and USDT. Because the funds sit in your own self-custodial wallet until the moment of payment, the model is closer to a pre-loaded prepaid card than to a debit card linked to a bank account.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Solid works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I spent time going through the card’s public pages and the supporting material the company has put out. The product is unusual in a few ways: there is no monthly fee and no top-up fee at the base tier, the card is virtual-only as far as the official pages describe, and the company leans hard on the self-custody story. There are also real gaps, notably around the lack of a published country list and the absence of any ATM facility. This review walks through who the card suits, what it costs in practice, how you fund and use it, what can go wrong, and where you might look if Solid is not a fit.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Solid scores 7.8 out of 10 in my assessment. That is a strong score for a card that is free to issue, free to top up, and built around self-custody rather than a custodial balance. The breakdown explains where the marks are earned and where they are not.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Solid payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Offered in 105 countries across most major regions; no published country list or excluded-country list.
Cost 8 / 10 No issuance, no monthly fee, zero top-up fee at every tier; 1.5% FX on non-USD spending; Virtual Account opening is a one-time $10.
Top-up options 8 / 10 Dollars and the two largest stablecoins, via bank transfer or crypto on Fuse, Ethereum, Base and others via bridge; $10 minimum.
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issuer is Rain or Wirex by country, banking partner SSB (Member FDIC); no complaints or reviews found in my search.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only on the official pages; Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; unofficial sources say there is no ATM access.
Total 7.8 / 10

The short version: if you keep your own keys, want a virtual card you can add to Apple Pay or Google Pay in minutes, and do not need a physical card or an ATM, Solid is one of the cleaner options on the market. If you live outside the reach of the issuer, need a plastic card, or pull cash out regularly, the score understates the friction you will feel.

Will they give you the card

The card is officially offered in 105 countries spread across most major world regions. The pages do not publish a country list, and they do not publish an excluded-country list either, which is a meaningful gap if you are trying to find out whether your country is supported. The company directs you to check the app for your country or to join a waitlist if it is not.

The issuer is assigned by your country of residence: you get a card from Rain in some places and from Wirex in others, depending on where you live. That matters because the rule is by residence rather than by citizenship, and because the programme terms you agree to will be the issuer’s terms, not Solid’s terms.

Unofficial sources (one affiliate site, SpendNode, September 2026) list countries the card cannot be issued to, including India, Turkey and Russia. This is not confirmed by Solid’s own pages, so I am flagging it as unofficial. If you live in one of those countries, the app is the only reliable way to know for sure.

The card is also restricted to adults, in line with the prepaid-card industry norm.

How to get it

The signup is short. You download the Solid app, run through a single identity check that the company says takes about 2 minutes, and a free virtual card is issued in the app. The documents you are asked for, the proof of address, and the age rules are not spelled out on the public pages; you find out what the app asks for when you go through it. If the verification fails, the company does not publish the reasons.

The card you receive is a virtual Visa, described on the official pages as issued on the Visa Platinum tier, with a footnote saying it is a Visa credit card issued by Rain. The card’s currency is US dollars, so a purchase in euros, pounds or another currency will go through the FX cost described in the next section. There is no mention of a physical card anywhere in the official material I read, which means the plastic card other crypto products ship is not part of the package here.

To make your first purchase you deposit at least $10. The $10 minimum and the funding flow are covered in the top-up section below.

What it really costs

The headline numbers are the strongest part of the product: card issuance is free, there is no monthly fee, and the top-up fee is 0% at every tier (Core, Prime and Ultra). The Virtual Account costs $10 to open, but that is a one-time charge rather than a recurring one.

Beyond the free surface, the fees that actually matter are the FX cost on non-USD spending and the network fees when you deposit in crypto. The card sits in USD, so anything you buy in another currency carries a 1.5% FX cost built into the rate, split as 1% to the card provider and 0.5% to Solid. Crypto deposits are free on the Fuse network, 0.1% on Ethereum, and 0.03% as a bridge fee on other networks. Swap fees step down with the tier: 0.5% at Core, 0.25% at Prime, and free at Ultra. Apple Pay and Google Pay transactions carry no extra fee.

The limits are not the fixed daily or monthly caps you may be used to. Solid says limits are based on available balance or collateral and can be applied per transaction, daily, weekly, monthly, yearly or lifetime, and can be adjusted per user. A single transaction tops out at roughly $750,000, and transactions above about $250,000 may trigger extra Visa verification. There is no fixed daily or monthly figure on the official pages.

On cashback, the tiers shape the headline rewards. Core returns 3% in USDC with a $50 monthly cap, Prime returns 4% with a $100 cap, and Ultra returns 5% with a $200 cap. Prime and Ultra add bonus categories (10% on AI, streaming and music and 8% on rides at Prime; 20% and 10% on airlines at Ultra) and higher savings APY on the first $10,000 or $25,000 respectively. The cashback is credited 14 days after the transaction settles. Prime costs $199 a year, or you can lock 50,000 FUSE for 12 months; Ultra is unlocked only by locking 400,000 FUSE for 12 months. From 12 October 2026 those lock amounts rise to 70,000 (Prime) and 600,000 (Ultra) FUSE. If you locked before 25 September 2026, you keep your existing tier on at least 30 days’ notice. There is no metal card.

ATM access is not stated on the official pages, and an unofficial source (SpendNode, September 2026) reports that there is no physical card and no ATM access. Treat the ATM point as not confirmed by the card.

Fee or limit Amount
Card issuance Free
Monthly fee Free
Top-up fee 0% (all tiers)
Virtual Account opening $10 one time
USD spending No fee
Non-USD spending 1.5% FX (1% provider + 0.5% Solid)
Crypto deposit on Fuse Free
Crypto deposit on Ethereum 0.1%
Crypto deposit on other networks 0.03% bridge fee
Minimum deposit $10
Swap fee 0.5% (Core) / 0.25% (Prime) / free (Ultra)
Apple Pay / Google Pay 0%
Single transaction max ~$750,000
Extra Visa verification above ~$250,000
Cashback 3% / 4% / 5% by tier, paid in USDC
ATM access Not stated (unofficial: none)

To put those numbers in context, three everyday payments:

Top up

You fund the card with dollars or with stablecoins, specifically USDC and USDT as named on the official pages. You can deposit by bank transfer or by sending crypto. On the crypto side, the company names the Fuse network, Ethereum and Base (for EURC) as native options, and any other network goes through a bridge at a 0.03% fee.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Solid starts with a transfer to the right network

The top-up fee is 0% at every tier, and the minimum is $10. The Virtual Account option costs $10 to open, after which you can fund by bank transfer; the page does not say which network fees you bear beyond the deposit fees named above.

The card runs in two modes. Cash mode is the default: the card spends from the balance you have loaded. Credit mode is in beta and available on Wirex cards only; it borrows against soUSD (Solid’s yield-bearing dollar) rather than spending from your loaded balance. Which mode you can use depends on the issuer assigned to your country.

On the way out, the homepage talks about instant withdrawals and cashing out to a bank account, with ACH and wire transfers arriving as dollars in your wallet. The page does not state withdrawal fees, and it does not say what happens to your balance if you close the card.

Paying with it every day

The card is set up to work as a virtual Visa in the app, with Apple Pay and Google Pay described as one-tap integrations on mobile. On the web app you add the card details manually. There is no physical card described on the official pages, so the everyday-use model is mobile-wallet and online spending.

Blocked merchant categories are not stated on the public pages, although the company says certain categories, gas stations among them, get extra safeguards. That is a hint that not every merchant category is a free-for-all, but the exact list is not public.

The app itself is on the Apple App Store and Google Play, and there is also a web app. The official pages do not show an aggregate rating or review count, so I cannot give you a star figure.

If you have a dispute, the process and the time frames are not stated on Solid’s own pages. The Visa Platinum tier does carry purchase protection up to USD 10,000, and claims are routed through Visa’s benefits portal rather than through Solid directly.

What can go wrong

The official pages do not list any incident or programme change, and a search for Solid card complaints, Reddit threads and Trustpilot pages returned only unrelated brands, so I could not find user reports or news stories to weigh. The absence of a public review footprint is not the same as a clean record — a small product can have few reports simply because few people have used it — but it is what the public material shows.

Solid is a financial technology company, not a bank. The banking piece is provided by SSB, which is a Member FDIC bank, so deposits held in that part of the business are insured up to $250,000 per depositor per insured bank. The card itself is issued by Rain or Wirex, depending on your country of residence, and the programme is run under the Fuse Network LTD Card Terms (US Consumer Program or International Consumer Program, depending on where you live). Licence numbers are not stated on the public pages.

The wallet side is self-custodial: only you hold the keys, and the funds stay in your non-custodial wallet until they are used for a transaction. That is the strongest safety story the company tells, and it is also the most important caveat. If you lose your seed phrase, no one at Solid can recover your funds. If a piece of malware swaps a wallet address you copied, the irreversible nature of crypto transfers works against you. The banking-side FDIC cover does not extend to the crypto wallet.

The cardholder controls you do get are useful: you can freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, and the per-user limits are set by Solid, so you can dial spending down to a level you are comfortable with. The Visa Platinum purchase protection, up to USD 10,000, gives you a second layer if something goes wrong with a purchase.

Support is offered through a help center at support.solid.xyz, the email address [email protected], a Telegram group at t.me/SolidYield and an X account at x.com/SolidYield. Core users get standard support; Prime and Ultra users get priority. Visa’s own Customer Service Center is available 24/7 by phone and online, which matters because the card is on Visa’s rails, not Solid’s.

One small but useful piece of information: the lock amounts for Prime and Ultra change on 12 October 2026, so anyone timing a tier upgrade around the FUSE lock should plan around that date.

What to take instead

Solid is not the only virtual Visa in this corner of the market, and it is worth knowing what you are giving up if you pick one of the alternatives. I looked at three.

Whop Cards score 5.2 out of 10. They are available to consumers in 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming) and to businesses in 41 states. A long list of countries is explicitly not supported, including Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The card is a Visa, the page says there are no extra fees, and 5% cashback is offered at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned. The basis (citizenship or residence) is not stated, and the coins or networks that back the balance are not stated either. Whop is the right card if you are a US-based creator or seller with a Whop balance to spend; it is the wrong card if you sit outside the United States.

Stella scores 6.5 out of 10. The official pages do not state which countries are supported, the terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes, and US and European users are routed through affiliates. Stella offers a virtual and a physical VISA, the card works at over 40 million VISA merchants, and the funding model is to deposit crypto into an in-app custodial wallet, which automatically tops up the card. The fees and any cashback are not stated officially. Stella is the right card if you want both a virtual and a physical VISA, and you are comfortable with a custodial wallet rather than a self-custody one.

UniFi Card scores 4.7 out of 10. The official pages do not confirm which countries are supported; the app’s send-money routes are listed for the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone and, more recently, Colombia, Brazil and the UK. The card is a prepaid Visa Debit Card issued by Lead Bank, denominated in USD, and the app supports Apple Pay. Funding routes are ACH, wire, SEPA and SPEI, and you can also get paid to a USDC wallet. The card’s fees are not stated on the listing, and the listing claims 3% rewards on balances (not on card spend). UniFi is the right card if you live along one of the named corridors and want a US-issued prepaid Visa with a USDC on-ramp; it is the wrong card if you want a published fee schedule and a published country list.

In short: Solid beats the alternatives on cost (free issuance and 0% top-up) and on the self-custody model, and trails on the everyday-use side because the physical card and the ATM access are not part of the package. Whop is more limited geographically; Stella offers a physical card but is custodial; UniFi is the weakest of the four on documentation.

Card Score Best for Watch out for
Solid 7.8 / 10 Self-custody users wanting a free virtual card Virtual-only, no ATM access confirmed
Stella 6.5 / 10 Users wanting virtual and physical VISA Custodial, no published fees
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 US creators with a Whop balance 31 US states only for consumers
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Users in named corridors (PH, MX, EU, CO, BR, UK) No published fees, weak documentation

Who I would recommend it to

Solid is the right card for you if you already keep your own crypto, you want a virtual Visa you can add to Apple Pay or Google Pay in a few minutes, and you do not need a physical card or an ATM. The free Core tier, with 3% cashback up to $50 a month, is generous enough to make the everyday case work; the Prime and Ultra tiers make sense if you spend enough to hit the cashback cap and you are willing to lock FUSE for 12 months.

It is the wrong card for you if you live in a country that is not on the (unpublished) supported list, if you regularly pull cash out at an ATM, or if you want a plastic card to tap at a terminal. The unofficial source that flags India, Turkey and Russia as unsupported countries is worth taking seriously until Solid publishes its own list.

Before you commit, do four things. First, check the app to see whether your country of residence is actually supported; do not rely on the 105-country headline alone. Second, decide whether the FX cost of 1.5% on non-USD spending is acceptable for the way you pay. Third, make sure you have a clean self-custody setup: a hardware wallet or a well-secured software wallet, a written-down seed phrase stored somewhere safe, and a clear understanding that no one at Solid can help you if you lose access. Fourth, if you are eyeing the Prime or Ultra tiers, check the FUSE lock amounts and the 12 October 2026 change before you commit any tokens.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Solid card?

The Solid card is a virtual Visa on the Platinum tier, denominated in US dollars, that spends from a balance you top up with dollars or with stablecoins such as USDC and USDT. The card is issued inside the Solid app, sits on the Visa network, and is funded from a self-custodial wallet so you keep control of the underlying crypto until the moment of payment.

How does the Solid card work?

You download the app, run through a single identity check, and a free virtual Visa is issued. You top up the card with dollars or with USDC or USDT, the card spends from the loaded balance, and the funds stay in your own wallet until a transaction goes through. Cashback is paid in USDC and lands 14 days after a transaction settles.

Is Solid a bank?

No. Solid describes itself as a financial technology company, not a bank. The banking piece is provided by SSB, a Member FDIC bank, which insures deposits up to $250,000 per depositor per insured bank. The card is issued by Rain or Wirex depending on your country of residence, and the FDIC cover does not extend to the crypto wallet.

Who owns Solid?

The card is operated by Solid, a financial technology company. The card programme is run by Rain or Wirex depending on the country, under the Fuse Network LTD Card Terms (US Consumer Program or International Consumer Program). Licence numbers are not stated on the public pages.

Is the Solid card available in my country?

The official pages say the card is offered in 105 countries across most major regions, but no country list and no excluded-country list is published. The only reliable way to find out is to open the app and check, or to join the waitlist if your country is not currently supported. An unofficial source flags India, Turkey and Russia as unsupported, but that is not confirmed by Solid.

How do I apply for the Solid card?

You download the Solid app, complete a single identity check that takes about 2 minutes, and the free virtual card is issued in the app. You then deposit at least $10 to fund your first purchases. No physical card is described on the official pages, so the entire flow is mobile and in-app.

Does the Solid card require KYC?

Yes. The signup includes a single identity check, described as taking about 2 minutes, that runs as part of the application. The documents, proof-of-address and age rules are not spelled out on the public pages; you find out what the app asks for when you go through it.

How do I top up the Solid card?

You fund the card with dollars or with USDC or USDT. The fiat route is a bank transfer or a Virtual Account (which costs $10 to open). The crypto route accepts deposits on Fuse, Ethereum and Base (EURC), with other networks available through a bridge. The minimum is $10, and the top-up fee is 0% at every tier.

Can I add the Solid card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Yes. Apple Pay and Google Pay are described as one-tap integrations on mobile. The card details can also be added manually on the web app, so you can use it for online spending where a mobile wallet is not available.

Is the Solid card safe?

The self-custodial model is the strongest safety story: only you hold the keys, and the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment. Banking deposits are held at SSB, a Member FDIC bank, up to $250,000 per depositor. The FDIC cover does not protect the crypto wallet, so a lost seed phrase or a copied-and-swapped wallet address is on you, not on Solid. The card can be frozen and unfrozen instantly in the app.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team