Scallop card, reviewed from the facts

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Scallop card is a virtual Visa tied to a multi-network crypto account, aimed at people who already hold digital assets and want to spend them like cash without first cashing out to a bank. If that is your situation, it does the basics well: nine-plus networks accepted, low minimums, a free entry plan. If you need a physical card, mobile wallet tap-to-pay, ATM access or any reward on your spending, the picture is thinner. This review walks through eligibility, sign-up, fees, top-up mechanics, daily use, and the things the card’s own pages do not spell out, so you can decide whether it belongs in your wallet or whether one of the alternatives below fits better.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Scallop works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Scallop earns 6.6 out of 10 in this review. That score is not a verdict on the company’s reputation; it is a balance between the parts of the offer that are genuinely useful and the parts that are missing or undocumented.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Scallop starts with a transfer to the right network

On the plus side, the card accepts deposits across an unusually wide range of networks, the free plan is genuinely free, and the on-ramp to a virtual Visa is short. On the minus side, only a virtual card is on offer, several everyday features (Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATM, FX margin, card currency, cashback) are not described on the public pages, and loaded card funds cannot be reversed once topped up. The “company behind the card” question is also not addressed in the documentation that I read.

Criterion Mark Why it scored that way
Who can get it 8 / 10 Onboarding in most non-sanctioned countries, with a clear prohibited list; closed-loop but no stated rule on citizenship versus residence.
Cost 7 / 10 Free entry tier, $2 issuance on that tier, conversion fees 0.40%–1.50% depending on plan; card FX margin not published.
Top-up options 9 / 10 Funding from a multi-network balance (Ethereum, Tron, Base, Solana, BSC, Bitcoin, XRP, Sui and more); minimum $15, auto top-up from $20.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer entity not named on the docs pages, no Trustpilot reviews, “high-risk investments” notice on the review profile, and loaded funds are non-refundable.
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual Visa only, up to three at a time, no physical card; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM behaviour are not stated.

Who the card suits: someone with a multi-chain crypto balance who wants a low-friction virtual Visa, is comfortable with the documented limits, and is not relying on the card for physical-store tap payments, cash withdrawals or cashback.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card, who relies on Apple Pay or Google Pay in shops, who needs a published FX margin before signing up, or who expects chargeback protection comparable to a regulated debit card.

Who they will give the card to

Scallop says it can onboard customers from “most countries that are not sanctioned by OFAC”, and a separate Prohibited Countries & Regions list is applied to the card. That list explicitly closes the door on Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and the United Kingdom. So if you live in any of those, the card is not on offer; the application will not get past the country check.

The official pages also describe a “high-risk” group, which is reviewed case by case after an additional questionnaire. China, Turkey and Vietnam are given as examples. The interesting detail here is that the page does not say whether eligibility is decided by citizenship, by country of residence, or by both. The KYC document section mentions passport or national ID for non-US individuals and a tax ID for US persons, but the onboarding rule is geographic, not document-based. If you are a citizen of an excluded country living elsewhere, or a resident of one, the cleanest move is to ask support before you upload documents.

A small but important rule: individuals aged 65 or over are not accepted at the time of submission. There is no mention of an age floor below the standard 18, but if you are applying on behalf of someone older, the system will reject them.

Proof of address is only required in one specific case — when you present a government ID from a high-risk region but your residence is elsewhere. In that case the document has to have been issued in the last 90 days, must not be a PO box, and must not be a virtual-address service. In all other cases the standard identity check is enough.

How to get it

The application is mobile-first and runs through the Scallop app, where the verification flow does the usual Know-Your-Customer (KYC) work: identity document, sanctions check, PEP (politically exposed person) screening, and ongoing transaction monitoring. The KYC page lays out the document set in some detail:

Beyond identity, the published pages do not describe a “tier 1 / tier 2 / tier 3” structure with named limits or processing times. The one concrete tier reference is that HKD pay-in and pay-out are not available for the lower tiers, while tier 3 is positioned for businesses. If you are told you have been moved to a higher tier, that is when higher limits become possible, but no specific figures are published.

Once KYC clears, the card itself is a virtual Visa. The maximum is three active virtual cards at any time, and the network mark is VISA — used wherever VISA is accepted. The card’s currency is not stated on the public pages, which is unusual and worth flagging before you load.

What it really costs: fees and everyday payments

The cost picture has three moving parts: a plan fee, a card issuance fee, and a conversion (swap) fee whenever you load the card in a non-USD denomination. The card’s own FX margin is not published.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Scallop payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The plan structure is straightforward. Voyager is the free tier, with a $2 charge for each virtual card you issue. Mariner costs $14.99 a month, is waived if you hold a $10,000 average fiat balance, makes the first card free and charges $1 for any extra card. Admiral is $49.99 a month, is waived with a $50,000 average fiat balance, and includes multiple cards at no extra cost.

The swap (conversion) fee on the card top-up falls as you climb tiers: 1.50% on Voyager, 0.75% on Mariner and 0.40% on Admiral. The card-load conversion uses a USDT reference rate of 1 USDT = 0.9975 USD; other rates are shown inside the app before you confirm. Beyond that, no card-level FX margin is published.

Fee or limit Voyager Mariner Admiral
Plan fee $0 / month $14.99 / month (waived with $10k avg balance) $49.99 / month (waived with $50k avg balance)
Virtual card issuance $2 each First free, then $1 each Free (multiple)
Card-load swap fee 1.50% 0.75% 0.40%
USDT→USD reference 1 USDT = 0.9975 USD 1 USDT = 0.9975 USD 1 USDT = 0.9975 USD
Top-up minimum $15 $15 $15
Auto top-up threshold (min) $20 $20 $20
Card FX margin not stated not stated not stated
Daily / monthly spend cap not stated not stated not stated
ATM fee not stated not stated not stated

Three everyday payments, walked through:

A $100 supermarket shop in EUR paid from a USDT balance on Voyager. You convert USDT to load the card: the published reference gives you roughly $99.75 of card balance after the 0.25% reference spread, then a 1.50% swap fee takes that to about $98.25 of card balance. The shop charges in EUR and the card’s FX margin is not published, so the only number you can plan is the conversion fee; the actual amount in EUR that the terminal settles is unknown until the transaction posts. No cashback is mentioned on the official pages.

A $50 streaming subscription in USD paid from the same Voyager card. The load is already in USD, so no swap fee is charged at the card top-up. The subscription itself is paid in USD, so no card FX is involved either. The cost is effectively zero on the card side; the only charges would be the on-chain fee you paid to deposit the USDT into Scallop in the first place.

A $1,000 hotel booking online paid from a Mariner account, with the card currency not stated. The load swap fee drops to 0.75%, and the first card was free. If the booking is in a foreign currency, the FX margin applied at the VISA network level is not disclosed, so the only saving compared with Voyager is the lower conversion fee on the top-up, plus the $14.99 a month you are paying for Mariner. If you are not keeping a $10,000 average fiat balance, that monthly fee dominates the saving until your monthly conversion volume gets into the thousands.

How to top it up

The card is funded from the balance already inside the Scallop account, in either fiat or stable digital assets. You cannot fund it directly from an external wallet in a single step; the deposit hits the account first, and a separate card top-up moves the money to the card balance.

The deposit side is the more interesting part. The Scallop app accepts tokens across a long list of networks:

This is the part that lifts the top-up score. Where most prepaid crypto cards accept a narrow stablecoin-on-Ethereum view, Scallop’s deposit surface spans the networks people actually use, including the lower-fee ones like Tron, Base and Solana. The minimum to load the card is $15, and you can set an auto top-up with a threshold of $20 or more, paid from whatever is sitting in the account.

Two things the documentation does not say and that you should be aware of before you load:

The most important “watch out” is one that is published. Loaded card funds “cannot be withdrawn, transferred, or refunded”, and virtual card loads “cannot be refunded, withdrawn, or reversed under any circumstances”. So the moment money moves from your account balance to the card balance, it is committed. If you change your mind, top up only what you will actually spend in the short term. The minimum is $15, so the smallest mistake you can lock in is $15 plus the swap fee on it.

Paying with it every day

Because the card is virtual only, “every day” looks more like online checkout than a wallet tap. The card works wherever VISA is accepted, online and at physical terminals that take card-not-present or manually entered details. The published pages do not mention Apple Pay, Google Pay, or any other mobile wallet integration, so tokenisation of the card into a phone wallet is not a documented feature on the public documentation. If you are choosing a card specifically to tap-to-pay, that gap is the single most important thing to verify with support before you commit.

A few other everyday pieces are not stated:

The features that *are* documented lean in the right direction. Cards can be frozen and unfrozen at any time, revealed only after you authenticate, and you can set your own spending limits. The transaction feed is real-time. Those are the controls that matter when something goes wrong, and they are present.

What can go wrong

Loaded money is locked once it is on the card. That is the headline risk. If you top up more than you spend, the difference does not come back to your account balance automatically; the page says you would have to go through support. For a prepaid product this is normal in spirit (you would not expect a gift card to refund you), but the published language is unusually absolute, and you should plan your loads to be small and frequent.

The card-side FX margin is not published. You can see the swap fee on the load and the USDT reference, but once the card is in a foreign currency, the spread that VISA and the issuer add is not in the docs. For cross-border spending this is the missing number.

No chargeback or dispute framework is described. The page covers support tickets for wrong-network and wrong-account mistakes, and it gives the warning above about card loads, but standard cardholder dispute processes (fraud, goods not received, duplicate billing) are not addressed. That does not mean they do not exist; it means they are not stated in the documentation that I read.

The company behind the card is not named in the documentation I read. “Scallop” is the brand; the issuer (the licensed entity that actually issues the VISA) is not given on the pages reviewed. That matters because the issuer is the entity regulated to safeguard your funds, and a programme manager going down does not necessarily take the issuer with it. Before you keep a large balance, ask support to name the issuer and the regulator that supervises it.

No public reputation to lean on. Trustpilot’s page for scallopx.com has zero reviews and no score, and the page carries a note that the company “may be associated with high-risk investments”. I did not find a meaningful pattern of complaints in third-party search, but absence of complaints is not the same as a track record.

Sanctions and country changes can hit the account. As the prohibited list shows, the country you are in when you open the account is what counts at the time. If the rules change, or if you move into a covered country, the card can be closed. Loaded funds in such a closure are governed by the same support-ticket process described above.

Account balance is custodial. The crypto and the card balance both live inside the Scallop account. If the platform has an incident, you are exposed to counterparty and operational risk. The safeguards that *are* documented (instant freeze, real-time monitoring, user-set spending limits) help with misuse of the card but do not insure the underlying balance.

On-chain mistakes are not always recoverable. If you send the wrong asset, the wrong network, or funds to the wrong address, recovery is a support ticket, may cost an extra fee, is not guaranteed, and “may take several days”. The most common cause of lost crypto is people copying an address and a clipboard-hijacker swapping it; small test transactions are cheap insurance.

Tier limits, processing time, and rejection reasons are not stated. You may not know how long a withdrawal will take or why a particular application stalled until you have already started.

What to take instead

The honest comparison set is narrow, because the Scallop card occupies a specific niche: a virtual Visa from a multi-network balance, with no physical card and no cashback. Three alternatives cover the most common reasons people shop around.

Whop Cards is the closer match if you want a Visa from a balance that holds stablecoin collateral, with a 5% cashback at selected merchants (currently Uber, with more planned). The cost page says “no extra fees”, with no issuance or monthly amounts listed; conversion and FX fees are not stated. The catch is geography. Consumers are served in 31 US states — Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming — and businesses in 41. Belarus, China (mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are not served. The basis (citizenship versus residence) is not stated. Score: 5.2 / 10. Pick this if cashback matters and you are inside the supported US geography.

Stella is a virtual and physical VISA card that tops up automatically from a custodial in-app crypto wallet, accepted at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”. The site does not state the supported countries; its terms exclude users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. Fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” — the public pages do not state the issuance, monthly, conversion or FX fees. No cashback is mentioned on the card page; any yield is a separate product. Score: 6.5 / 10. Pick this if you want both virtual and physical from one product and you are happy to ask support for the fee table.

UniFi Card is a prepaid Visa debit card issued by Lead Bank, denominated in USD, that also supports Apple Pay. Funding is fiat-led: ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), and you can get paid to a USDC wallet. The app listing claims “3% rewards on balances”, but card cashback is not stated, and fees are not stated beyond a line saying to “see UniFi website for more details”. Send-money routes are listed for the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN), eurozone (EUR), and recent release notes mention Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP). Score: 4.7 / 10. Pick this if USD-denominated prepaid spending with Apple Pay support is the priority and you are not relying on the rewards line until you confirm it in the app.

Card Type Geographic scope (stated) Cashback Score
Scallop Virtual Visa Most non-sanctioned countries; explicit prohibition list not stated 6.6 / 10
Whop Cards Visa (type not stated) 31 US states (consumers); 41 (businesses) 5% at selected merchants 5.2 / 10
Stella Virtual and physical VISA not stated; terms exclude sanctioned users not stated 6.5 / 10
UniFi Card Prepaid Visa debit (USD) not confirmed; send-routes in PH, MX, EU and more “3% rewards on balances” (listing) 4.7 / 10

Who I would recommend it to

The Scallop card is a clean fit for one specific user. You hold a crypto balance that already spans several networks — Ethereum, Tron, Base, Solana, BSC, maybe Bitcoin or XRP — and you want a low-friction virtual Visa to spend that balance online. You do not need a physical card, you do not rely on Apple Pay or Google Pay at a café till, you do not expect cashback on every tap, and you are comfortable loading in small amounts because the card balance cannot be reversed. If that is your situation, the free Voyager plan with a $2 virtual card and a 1.50% conversion fee is a reasonable trade.

If you are outside that profile — a person who needs a physical card, who relies on mobile-wallet tap-to-pay, who needs a published FX margin before signing up, or who expects bank-style chargeback protection — the gap between what the documentation promises and what your everyday use requires is wide enough that one of the alternatives above, or a mainstream regulated card, will serve you better.

A small set of practical checks before you load anything:

Treat the card as a spending tool with a small float, not as a place to park a balance, and the published controls (freeze, real-time monitoring, user-set limits) are the right shape for that use. Treat it as a primary payment account, and the missing pieces — physical card, mobile wallet, dispute framework, named issuer — are too many to wave away.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Scallop card?

The Scallop card is a virtual Visa linked to a Scallop account, where the account can hold both fiat and digital assets across multiple networks. You load the card from the account balance, and the card spends wherever Visa is accepted online. A maximum of three virtual cards can be active at one time, and the free Voyager plan charges $2 per card.

How does the Scallop card work?

You fund a balance in the Scallop app by depositing supported tokens from networks including Ethereum, Tron, Base, Solana, BSC, Bitcoin, XRP and Sui. From that balance you top up a virtual Visa with a minimum of $15, and the card then settles purchases against that loaded balance. Conversion (swap) fees apply when you load in a non-card currency: 1.50% on Voyager, 0.75% on Mariner and 0.40% on Admiral.

Is Scallop a bank?

The documentation I read does not say so. Scallop is the brand that markets the card; the licensed entity that actually issues the Visa is not named in the pages reviewed. Treat Scallop as a programme manager until the issuer is confirmed, and ask support to identify the regulated entity before you keep a meaningful balance.

Who owns Scallop?

The official documentation does not name the parent or the issuer. Public corporate ownership and the licensing entity are not stated in the pages I read, so the only thing the cards’ own documentation tells you is the brand. For any decision that depends on who is on the other side of the balance, that gap is the answer you need from support.

Is the Scallop card available in my country?

Scallop says it onboards customers in most non-sanctioned countries, with a separate prohibited list for the card that closes the door on Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and the United Kingdom. China, Turkey and Vietnam are given as examples of countries reviewed case by case. The page does not say whether citizenship or residence decides it, so the safest test is both.

How do I apply for the Scallop card?

Sign up in the Scallop app, complete the KYC step with a passport or national ID (US persons add a tax ID), and request a virtual card from inside the app. KYC includes a sanctions and PEP check, and a proof of address is only required if you present a high-risk-region ID while residing elsewhere. Card delivery is not relevant because the card is virtual only.

Does the Scallop card require KYC?

Yes. The application runs through standard Know-Your-Customer checks (identity document, sanctions screen, PEP screen, ongoing transaction monitoring), and you cannot get a card without it. US persons also need to provide a tax identification number, and the system will not accept individuals aged 65 or over at the time of submission.

How do I top up the Scallop card?

Deposit a supported token into the Scallop account on one of the listed networks, then move money from the account balance to the card with a minimum of $15. Auto top-up from a $20 threshold is supported, paid from whatever is in the account. Once the money is on the card it is committed and cannot be refunded, withdrawn or reversed.

Can I add the Scallop card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The public documentation does not describe Apple Pay, Google Pay or any mobile-wallet tokenisation, and the card is virtual only. If tap-to-pay through a phone wallet is essential, confirm directly with support before you sign up, and check the latest App Store and Google Play reviews for the most recent state of the app.

Is the Scallop card safe?

The documented safeguards are reasonable: card details revealed only after authentication, instant freeze and unfreeze, real-time monitoring, user-set spending limits and immediate termination available. What is not documented is the licensed issuer and the regulator, the card-side FX margin, the dispute and chargeback framework, and the custodian of the underlying balance, all of which you should ask support to confirm before you keep more than a small float.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team