OKX Money card, reviewed from the outside

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you live in a country where getting a normal bank card is hard, or you keep your savings in digital dollars and want to spend them directly, the OKX Money card sits in an interesting spot. It is a payment card built by one of the larger crypto exchanges, aimed at a set of emerging markets rather than at the United States or Western Europe, and it leans hard on the promise that you will not pay a foreign-exchange fee when you spend abroad. Whether that promise holds up depends on a few things the card’s own pages do not spell out, and this review goes through each one. The conditions are current as of 2026-10-20.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
OKX Money works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The OKX Money card lands at 6.7 out of 10 in my reading of the public information. The headline strengths are simple: no foreign-exchange fees on purchases in another currency, no markup on conversions between supported stablecoins, and up to 10% cashback for eligible customers. The headline weaknesses are also simple: you almost certainly cannot get this card if you live in the United States, the European Union, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Canada, Australia, or anywhere in the developed West. The published list of supported countries is not available, and the card issuer’s name does not appear on the official page. If your country is on the list and you already hold crypto on OKX, the proposition is genuinely attractive. If your country is not on the list, this card is not for you, and no amount of trying will change that.

The card is built for a specific kind of user: people in selected emerging markets who already keep savings in dollar-pegged stablecoins, want to spend those savings without first cashing out to a local bank account, and value the absence of FX and conversion fees more than they value a card from a household bank name. It is not built for a US or EU resident who wants to dabble in crypto payments, and it is not built for someone who does not already have a tolerance for crypto-market and platform risk.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Selected emerging markets in Latin America, Africa, South Asia and the Middle East; the exact list is not published
Cost 8 / 10 Zero foreign-exchange fee, no stablecoin conversion markup; issuance and maintenance fees are not published
Top-up options 6 / 10 Account funded in 50+ currencies, converted to USDG, USDC or USDT; the networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 OKX holds licences in 30+ jurisdictions; the card issuer is not named; no public incidents tied to the card itself; OKX exchange Trustpilot is 1.9/5 from 1,624 reviews
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual or physical card from a single app; up to 10% cashback; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM access are not stated for OKX Money
Total 6.7 / 10

Who they will give the card to

The official pages say OKX Money is being rolled out in selected emerging markets across Latin America, Africa, South Asia and the Middle East, country by country. The exact list is not published. Unofficial reporting from outlets such as ProPakistani (6 October 2026) names South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Pakistan and Bangladesh among the early launch markets, but that is not confirmed by OKX itself, so treat it as unofficial guidance rather than a guarantee.

What this means in practice: your eligibility depends on your country of residence, and OKX is in charge of that decision, not the reader. The card is not aimed at customers in the United States, the European Economic Area, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan or any other developed market. If you live in one of those places, the application will either not be available to you or will be refused. There is no workaround for that. If you live in an emerging market that is not on the published rollout, you can wait; the card is being expanded market by market.

Two things about the geography matter beyond the simple yes or no. First, sanctions and residency restrictions apply regardless of where the rollout has reached: customers from jurisdictions under wide-ranging sanctions cannot be served, even if that country is technically on the rollout list. Second, “emerging market” is a category, not a uniform rule. OKX picks countries within that category, and what counts as “selected” is OKX’s own choice, not something you can influence. The reader who lives in a country that is not on the list is not being told why, only that the card is not available to them.

How to get it

The signup path is the standard one for a regulated crypto card. New users sign up to OKX and pass identity checks before they can fund the account, and the documents required are not spelled out on the official page. That is normal for the category: in regulated markets, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship and a politically exposed person screen, so expect to be asked for a government-issued photo ID and a proof of address at minimum. In the United States, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and proof-of-address documents are usually validated against records. Nationality is screened separately from residence because sanctions and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country of address.

From the same OKX Money app you can get a virtual card or a physical card, and the network is not named on the official page; unofficial reporting from crypto.news (October 2026) says it is Mastercard. If that is correct, the card will work at any merchant that accepts Mastercard, which is most places. The card’s settlement currency is not stated on the official page. Delivery time for the physical card is not stated, and the application does not publish tiered KYC levels, so you do not know in advance what the maximum account or card limits will be until after you have been verified.

A practical note: if your application is refused, it is most often because of an incomplete or mismatched identity document, not because of the card. If you have a passport from a different country than where you live, decide in advance which document you are going to use and make sure it matches the address OKX can verify.

Fees and what it really costs

The clearest thing about the OKX Money card’s pricing is also the most important: the card charges zero foreign-exchange fees on purchases in another currency and adds no conversion markup. Converting between the supported stablecoins carries no conversion fee. That is a stronger promise than most crypto cards make, and it is the single biggest reason the cost score sits at 8 out of 10.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a OKX Money payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What is not stated is just as important. The official page does not publish an issuance fee, a monthly maintenance fee, a replacement fee, an inactivity fee or any annual fee. The ATM situation is not stated: you do not know from the public page whether there is a withdrawal fee, a per-transaction fee, a daily ATM limit, or whether ATM withdrawals are supported at all. There are no published daily or monthly spending limits in the public materials; crypto.news notes that users can set their own spending limits in the app, which is a useful safety feature but does not tell you what the ceilings are.

For stablecoin networks, the deposit itself can carry a network fee charged by the blockchain rather than by OKX. On Ethereum, gas fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send; on Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy resources, often by burning TRX. These are not OKX’s fees, but they are real costs to the user, and they vary by network. If you choose the cheapest network, you save; if you choose a wrong or unsupported network, your funds can be lost, because blockchain transfers are typically irreversible and there is no built-in recovery on the network.

Fee or limit Amount
Issuance fee not stated
Monthly fee not stated
Conversion between supported stablecoins none
Foreign-exchange fee on purchases in another currency none
Conversion markup on top of the network rate none
ATM fee not stated
Daily spending limit not stated (user can set their own)
Monthly spending limit not stated

Two everyday examples to make the table concrete. Buying a coffee abroad in a currency that is not the card’s settlement currency: the merchant charges in the local currency, the network converts to the card’s settlement currency, and OKX adds zero on top. You pay exactly the network rate. Buying a subscription online in a different currency: same thing, no FX fee, no conversion markup. The cost you actually pay is the network rate, plus any blockchain fee you paid to load the card in the first place.

A third case worth flagging: sending the wrong network on a stablecoin deposit. If you send USDT on a network OKX does not support for OKX Money, the deposit may not credit. The public page does not list supported networks for OKX Money, so the user has to find this out in the app or in support, not before they send.

Top up

Funding the OKX Money account starts with a transfer into the app balance. The account is funded in more than 50 supported fiat currencies, and those funds are converted into a dollar-backed stablecoin balance held inside the app: USDG, USDC or USDT. The networks on which those stablecoins are accepted for the OKX Money top-up are not stated on the public page, which is a real gap for anyone who holds their stablecoins on a chain that is not natively supported by the card.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up OKX Money starts with a transfer to the right network

What the official page does not tell you includes the fees on the fiat leg of the top-up, the minimum top-up amount, the maximum top-up amount, and how long a top-up takes to clear. None of those are stated, and you have to assume that they exist and may surprise you on a first transfer. As a general rule for the category, fiat on-ramp fees are set by the local payment rails and the FX at the on-ramp step, not by the card; if the on-ramp rate is worse than the market rate, the loss happens at funding, not at spend.

In practice, the way to keep the cost of the OKX Money card low is to top it up cheaply and then spend without further conversion. Send stablecoins on a cheap network you control, hold them in the app, and let the card spend from the balance in the card’s settlement currency. The less you move in and out of local fiat, the less the local on-ramp takes.

A note on stability. The card’s “stablecoin” promise rests on tokens that aim to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but the name is aspirational. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are US-dollar-pegged and, together, account for about 90% of the stablecoin market by capitalisation. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm. Stablecoins have depegged before: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Even within the tier of “good” stablecoins, the value can move by tens of basis points during a stress event, and that is on top of any network fee you paid to move them.

Paying with it every day

The OKX Money card exists as a virtual or physical card issued from a single standalone app, and the rewards programme is the everyday feature worth knowing. Eligible customers can earn up to 10% cashback on qualifying purchases, with rates that vary by region and eligibility, and the payout currency is not stated in the public materials. The app also advertises up to 10% APY on eligible USDG balances and a referral programme, so the card is part of a broader OKX Money proposition rather than a standalone payment product.

The everyday-payment story has gaps. Apple Pay and Google Pay support for OKX Money is not stated on the official page; the separate, older OKX Card in Europe does support those wallets, but that is a different product, and you should not assume the OKX Money card inherits it. ATM access is not stated. Online checkout support is implied (the card has a number, an expiry and a CVV like any other card), but merchant-category restrictions, if any, are not published. Disputes and chargeback rights are not stated in the public materials, which is a meaningful gap: a chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received, and the protections you have depend on the issuer’s published dispute policy.

What does work in practice is the standard card flow. A virtual card is set up in the app within minutes, the number can be used at any merchant that accepts the network (Mastercard, per unofficial reporting), the app shows a real-time balance, and the user can set their own spending limit as a safety net. Because the card is a prepaid-style product drawing on a stored stablecoin balance, it cannot overdraw: you spend what you have loaded. That is also its main limitation in everyday use. If the balance runs out at the wrong moment, the card declines, and there is no overdraft line or credit facility to fall back on.

A point on checkout friction. Address Verification Service compares numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed with the issuer’s records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. A card issued in an emerging market by an issuer whose home country is different from the merchant’s country can look “foreign” to the merchant, and a small share of online checkouts will decline for that reason. It is not a reason to avoid the card, but it is a reason to keep a backup card in your wallet for the same trip.

What can go wrong

Five risks are worth keeping in mind, in roughly descending order of how often they bite real users.

Country and sanctions risk. The card is only available in selected emerging markets, and the list is not published. If your country is not on the list, you do not get the card. If your country is on the list but you hold citizenship or residency in a sanctioned jurisdiction, you do not get the card either. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country of address, so even a valid residence in a supported country does not guarantee approval.

Issuer and programme risk. The card issuer is not named on the public page, and the card is built on top of a card network’s licence rather than its own. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; in 2018, WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes. Visa and Mastercard themselves do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Programme closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. The OKX Money card is a programme, and programmes can be wound down.

Custodial and platform risk. OKX is a custodial platform, which means the user does not hold the private keys for the stablecoins sitting in the OKX Money balance. Custodial platforms have a record of failures: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). The funds are safer than that record suggests at any one custodian, but the structural risk is the same: if the platform fails, the user is a creditor of an estate, not the owner of a wallet. The company, OKX, is described on the card’s materials as OKX INC. and is licensed in more than 30 jurisdictions, which lowers but does not remove that risk.

Network and operational risk. Stablecoin deposits are typically irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address of another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven, which is annoying in the moment but not a real loss. The customer support experience is, based on third-party reports about the OKX exchange rather than OKX Money specifically, slow, with users describing being sent around the same loop. The OKX exchange has a 1.9/5 score on Trustpilot from 1,624 reviews as of 21 October 2026, with one reported identity-theft case; the OKX app has a 4.5/5 score from 34 reviews, but the sample is small. No public incidents were found tied specifically to the OKX Money card.

Regulatory and tax risk. In the EU, MiCA, the markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens (stablecoins) applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, applied from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. OKX’s licences are mostly outside the EU, but for any user in a regulated market, the rules that apply to them are the rules of the country they actually live in, not the rules of the country the card was issued in. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, dollars or other digital assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss; for personal or investment holdings, the result is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held one year or less, and each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. None of that is OKX’s responsibility, but it is the user’s.

What to take instead

Two cards make sense as alternatives to the OKX Money card, depending on what you are looking for.

MSX, scoring 6.4 / 10. The published materials are thin: country availability is not stated on an official page, the card form and network are not stated, fees are not stated, and rewards are not stated. If you can find clear information about MSX in your country, it is worth a comparison, but you will be working harder than with the OKX Money card.

Bybit Card, scoring 6.0 / 10. The official help centre lists card regions as Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, and Asia Pacific; the cards page is explicit that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all EEA participation is strictly prohibited. The card has a clearer cost story than OKX Money in some ways, and a more confusing one in others. Virtual card issuance is free in all regions “until further notice”; physical issuance and replacement fees are 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD/USDT in Argentina, 29.99 USDT in Georgia, 29.99 USDT in Kazakhstan (AIFC), 5 USDT in Asia Pacific, and free in Brazil and Mexico. VIPs holding a physical card in Australia, Kazakhstan (AIFC), Georgia or Asia Pacific pay no issuance or replacement fee. Crypto conversion is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina, and not supported in Peru. FX fees are 2% on top of the network rate in the Australia / Asia Pacific / Georgia / Mexico group, 2% as an “International Fee” in Kazakhstan (AIFC) on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru. Bybit’s rewards programme is a tiered points-to-cashback model: Base 2.00% (5 USD cap), Beta 2% (50 USD, 500 USD spend to unlock), Alpha 4% (150 USD, 3,500 USD), Apex 6% (250 USD, 9,500 USD), Omega 8% (400 USD, 12,500 USD), and Infinite 10% (600 USD, 25,000 USD), with cashback in USDT after a 4-day pending period; from 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn points. Argentina adds VAT of 21% on foreign digital services, a 30% tax on foreign transactions, and provincial gross-income tax of 1%–13.2%. The Bybit Card is a more transparent product, but it is more expensive in several regions and the rewards are tighter.

MEXC, scoring 5.6 / 10. The page lists “The Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand…” with a Details link, but the full list is not shown. MEXC is virtual-card only — no physical card is available yet — and the network and card currency are not stated. The published issuance fee is 20 USD, with a possible 0 USD discounted price on the page that is not clearly explained; the service fee is 0%; other fees are stated to vary by card type in a linked guide. Funding is by transferring USDT to the Fiat account and adding it on the My MEXC Card page, with networks not stated. Cashback is paid by M-Score tier, by the 15th of the next month: Standard 4% with a 100 USDT monthly cap, Premier (600-799 M-Score) 6% with a 300 USDT cap, and Elite (800+ M-Score) 10% with an 800 USDT cap. The referral offer is 20 USDT for the referrer and 10 USDT for the referee. MEXC is cheaper to enter but thinner in product, and the virtual-only model rules it out for in-person spending.

If the OKX Money card is not available in your country, the right next step is to check the Bybit Card’s published country list first, because it is the most transparent of the three on fees and rewards, and the MEXC card second, with the understanding that you are getting a virtual-only product with less clarity on the cost structure.

Who I would recommend it to

The OKX Money card is a strong pick for a narrow profile of user. If you live in one of the selected emerging markets in Latin America, Africa, South Asia or the Middle East, if you already keep meaningful savings in dollar-pegged stablecoins, if your local banking infrastructure makes it hard to get or use a normal card, and if you spend in currencies that differ from your local currency, the no-FX-fee and no-conversion-markup promise is worth real money over a year. The cashback, if you qualify for the 10% tier, is on top of that. The user who fits that profile will be happy with this card.

The OKX Money card is a poor pick if you live in the US, the UK, the EU, Switzerland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan or any other developed market. It is also a poor pick if you are not on the OKX platform already and have no plans to put meaningful funds there, because the card is a feature of a custodial exchange and the operational and platform risks are real. It is a poor pick if you want a card from a household bank name with named regulator oversight, a published chargeback policy, and Apple Pay and Google Pay out of the box. It is a poor pick if you do not understand the difference between custodial and self-custody risk, because the OKX Money balance is held by OKX, not by you.

The honest summary is this. The card does one thing very well: it lets an emerging-market user spend digital dollars abroad without paying FX or conversion fees. If that is your situation, it is a strong product for you, and the 6.7 score above is held down by everything it does not tell the public. If that is not your situation, the card is not for you, and the score is a generous 4.

Frequently asked questions

What is the OKX Money card?

The OKX Money card is a payment card issued by OKX, one of the larger cryptocurrency exchanges, that draws on a stablecoin balance held inside the OKX Money app. You fund the account in one of more than 50 supported currencies, the funds are converted to a dollar-backed stablecoin (USDG, USDC or USDT), and the card spends that balance anywhere the card’s network is accepted. It is a prepaid-style card, so it cannot overdraw.

How does the OKX Money card work?

The card sits on top of a stablecoin balance inside the OKX Money app. When you pay, the card’s settlement currency is debited, the merchant is paid in the local currency, and the conversion happens at the network rate without an FX fee or conversion markup from OKX. The card exists as a virtual card for online use or as a physical card for in-person use, both issued from the same app.

Is OKX Money a bank?

No. OKX is a cryptocurrency exchange; OKX Money is a payment product built on top of the exchange. The card issuer is not named on the official page, but a card itself is a payment service regulated separately, so the underlying licences are payment-services and e-money licences held by the issuer, not a banking licence held by OKX. Funds held in the OKX Money balance are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.

Who owns OKX Money?

OKX Money is a product of OKX, which is identified on the card’s materials as OKX INC. OKX is licensed in more than 30 jurisdictions under various regulatory frameworks. The card issuer is not named in the public materials, so the banking partner behind the programme is not publicly identified.

Is the OKX Money card available in my country?

The card is being rolled out in selected emerging markets across Latin America, Africa, South Asia and the Middle East, and the exact list is not published. Unofficial reporting names South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Pakistan and Bangladesh as early launch markets, but that is not confirmed by OKX. The card is not available in the United States, the European Economic Area, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan or any other developed market. Eligibility depends on your country of residence and your citizenship, and OKX decides country by country.

How do I apply for the OKX Money card?

You sign up to OKX, complete identity verification, and from the OKX Money app request a virtual or physical card. The documents required for verification are not stated, but expect a government-issued photo ID and a proof of address at minimum. Nationality is screened separately from residence, and a mismatch between your documents and your address can cause the application to be refused.

Does the OKX Money card require KYC?

Yes. New users must sign up and pass identity checks before they can fund the account or use the card. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing law, including ongoing transaction monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. The application cannot proceed without it.

How do I top up the OKX Money card?

You fund the OKX Money account in one of more than 50 supported fiat currencies or by transferring a supported stablecoin, and the balance is held as USDG, USDC or USDT inside the app. The networks on which stablecoins are accepted for the OKX Money top-up are not stated, and the fees, minimums and processing times for top-ups are not published. On-chain network fees for the deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by OKX.

Is the OKX Money card free?

The card charges zero foreign-exchange fees on purchases in another currency and adds no conversion markup between supported stablecoins. The issuance fee, monthly fee, replacement fee, inactivity fee, ATM fee, daily and monthly spending limits, and any other charges are not stated on the official page. Treat the published cost story as “FX and conversion are free; everything else is not yet disclosed” rather than “the card is free”.

How do I add the OKX Money card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The official page does not state whether OKX Money supports Apple Pay or Google Pay. The separate, older OKX Card in Europe does support those wallets, but that is a different product, and you should not assume the OKX Money card inherits the feature. Check the OKX Money app for the current state of wallet support before relying on it for tap-to-pay.

Is the OKX Money card safe?

The card is built on a regulated exchange (OKX, licensed in 30+ jurisdictions), uses prepaid-style balance mechanics that prevent overdraws, and lets you set your own spending limits. The structural risks are the standard custodial-platform risks: a third party holds the funds, the card issuer is not named, the card programme can be wound down by the network, and stablecoins can depeg during stress events. No public incidents were found tied specifically to the OKX Money card; third-party Trustpilot scores for the OKX exchange are low (1.9/5 from 1,624 reviews as of 21 October 2026) and the OKX app is 4.5/5 from 34 reviews.

How do I delete my OKX Money account?

The official materials do not publish a step-by-step account-deletion flow. As a rule, custodial exchanges require identity re-verification and a final withdrawal of any remaining balance before an account is closed, and some impose a cooling-off period. The exact procedure for OKX Money is in the app’s settings or in the support centre, and the standard advice is to withdraw your full stablecoin balance before you ask for the account to be closed.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team