The BitMart card programme is winding down — here's what that means if you have one, and where to go next
BitMart announced in July 2026 that it would wind down its exchange operations, and the BitMart Visa card programme is part of that shutdown. New cards are no longer being issued in the same way, and the platform that backs the card is itself heading toward closure. That makes a straightforward “review” awkward: there is no active product to sign up for, and anyone who already holds a card needs to understand what happens to their balance, their cashback, and their day-to-day spending.

This page walks through what happened to the programme, what current and former cardholders should know, the risks that have surfaced during the wind-down, and which alternative cards from competing platforms are still accepting new users. The card’s official page remains live, so the fees, tier structure and supported coins listed below come from there, but the context has changed sharply since the announcement.
The information below reflects the card’s published terms and the company’s public statements as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The BitMart card earns a score of 3.7 out of 10 in its current state, weighed down primarily by the platform shutdown and the uncertainty it creates for anyone holding a card or funds in the BitMart account. The card itself, judged purely on its published features, was a reasonably standard crypto-backed Visa with three tiers, a 1.3% transaction fee and a useful range of supported coins. The context of the wind-down changes the calculation: everyday features matter less when the issuing platform is closing.
If you already have a BitMart card and crypto sitting in the account, your priority is to withdraw funds before the deadlines the company has set, not to evaluate rewards. If you do not yet have one, the practical question is whether to wait for whatever the company does with the card programme, or to move to a competitor that is still issuing and operating cards. For most readers, the competitor is the more straightforward answer.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Platform winding down; 26 July 2026 phased closure announced, trading until 26 August 2026, platform operations until 31 January 2027; new card applications not confirmed on official pages |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance: virtual $0, plastic $70, Platinum $120; annual fee $0; 1.3% transaction fee; ATM 2% or 1.5% |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON, BNB from BitMart balance; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | Platform closure, withdrawal delays, Trustpilot 2.3/5 from 2,915 reviews, support unresponsive; card issuer not named |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual, plastic and metal Visa, Google Pay for virtual, ATM on physical cards; Apple Pay not mentioned |
| Total | 3.7 / 10 |
The audience this page is most useful for is existing cardholders who need to withdraw their BitMart balance, and people comparing crypto cards who want to understand why the BitMart card is no longer a realistic option. If you fall into either group, the rest of this review is structured to answer your immediate questions before moving to the alternatives.
What happened to the programme
On 23 July 2026 BitMart issued a separate notice for users it had identified as based in the United States. Three days later, on 26 July 2026, the company announced a phased wind-down of the exchange. The first round of restrictions on new activity took effect the same day. The general deadline for users to complete verification, close open positions and submit withdrawal requests was set for 26 August 2026. Trading-platform operations are planned to end on 31 January 2027.
These dates come from the company’s public communications, not from the card’s product page. The card page itself still lists the three tiers (Virtual, BitMart Card plastic, Platinum metal) and the cashback percentages as if the programme were running normally. The disconnect between the card page and the platform-level news is itself something to be aware of: a product page that has not been updated does not mean the product is unaffected.
The closure is not the result of a regulatory action that I could find. The founder, according to Forklog coverage, publicly denied misappropriating user funds. The decision appears to be a company-initiated shutdown rather than a forced one, though the practical effect for users is similar: a hard deadline to move money out.
What the card was
Before the announcement, the BitMart card was a Visa product available in three forms. The virtual card cost nothing to issue and was available immediately after identity verification. The plastic BitMart Card cost $70 to issue. The Platinum metal card cost $120. All three settled in US dollars and charged a 1.3% transaction fee with no annual fee. The cashback structure offered 4.0% on online shopping in the first month and 3.5% from the second month, with 5.5% on grocery and dining in the first month and 5.0% from the second. The asset the cashback was paid in is not stated on the card page.
A virtual card could be added to Google Pay; Apple Pay is not mentioned. Physical cards could be used at Visa-branded ATMs. The card’s KYC requirement was BitMart’s Identity Verification Level 2, which involves an identity document, possible additional documents, and proof of address. The age requirement is not stated. The list of countries where the card was officially available is not stated on the card page; the published text said “all BitMart users can apply” and that the card worked at Visa merchants worldwide.
Unofficial sources give different country numbers. A September 2025 launch announcement reported by Blocktempo and ChainCatcher said the card covered 115+ countries. A February 2026 entry from CryptoCardHub listed 183 available and 10 restricted countries including the US, UK, Netherlands, Russia and Ukraine, though an earlier U.Today piece said the card had expanded to all 50 US states in early 2026, which would conflict with a US restriction. These third-party lists disagree with each other, and none of them match a current official statement. Treat any specific country list you find outside the card’s own page as unconfirmed.
What is unclear
Several details about the card are simply not stated on the official card page. The country list is the most obvious one, but it is far from the only gap. There is no stated list of blocked merchant categories. There is no stated fee for paying in a currency other than USD beyond the 1.3% transaction fee. Multi-currency balances are not described. The delivery time, shipping cost and replacement cost for plastic and Platinum cards are not given. Monthly spending limits are not stated (only daily limits). The deposit fee, minimum top-up, and any fiat top-up option are not described on the card page. Dispute and chargeback procedures are not addressed. Help-center contact details are not on the card page itself; the company runs a Zendesk help desk.
These gaps matter because they are the kind of things a reader is likely to want to check before relying on a card. With an active programme, a gap often just means “check the help center”. With a programme that is winding down, a gap means “you may not be able to get an answer”.
If you already have the card
The immediate concern for existing cardholders is the BitMart balance that backs the card. The card does not have a balance of its own; it draws on the crypto sitting in your BitMart account, converted to USD at the moment of purchase. That means the card’s spending ability is only as healthy as the account that funds it.
Withdrawals and the platform deadline
The platform-wide deadline to submit withdrawal requests was 26 August 2026, and platform operations are planned to end on 31 January 2027. The card itself is not mentioned in the closure announcement, so it is not clear whether card spending continues past the trading deadline or stops at the same time. OneKey published a guide on 7 August 2026 that described withdrawals potentially being held for review covering KYC, source of funds, address ownership, the Travel Rule and sanctions. None of this is the card’s official communication; it is platform context from a third party, and the card’s own pages do not address it.
If you have a balance you need to move, the practical advice is not to wait for the card page to clarify. Submit your withdrawal request well in advance of the deadlines, and assume that the closer you get to 31 January 2027, the harder it will be to reach support.
ATM access on the three tiers
The three card tiers have different ATM terms. The virtual card has no ATM access at all. The plastic BitMart Card charges a 2% withdrawal fee. The Platinum metal card charges 1.5%, the lowest of the three. The homepage banner also mentioned a fee-free allowance of “up to 1000U”, and the homepage text described a free ATM allowance of 200–1,000 USD per month with 2% after that — the conditions for the free allowance are not clearly explained, and the banner’s “up to 1000U” wording is ambiguous (the U could mean USD, but it is not certain). With the platform winding down, any fee-free allowance is unlikely to be the deciding factor in whether to use the card.
Unofficial sources give a different picture. Coverage of the September 2025 launch said ATM withdrawals were unlimited per year, and CryptoCardHub said the free allowance was tied to VIP status. The official text supports a tiered fee structure, not unlimited free withdrawals. The unofficial sources are not confirmed by the card’s own page.
Daily limits
The card’s daily spending limits are stated: $10,000 for the virtual card, $50,000 for the plastic card, and unlimited for the Platinum metal card. Monthly limits are not stated. Unofficial coverage from the September 2025 launch said there was no fixed spending cap at all but that transactions over $250,000 underwent a security review. These two statements are not necessarily incompatible (a “no fixed cap” policy with a soft review threshold is common), but the official tiered limits are what the card page actually says.
Funding the card
To use the card you need sufficient crypto in your BitMart account. The supported coins are USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON and BNB. The networks on which these tokens should be sent are not listed. This is worth paying attention to: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and sending a token on a network the platform does not support can mean lost funds, especially when support is winding down. If you are topping up the card now, send on the network the platform confirms in your account, not a network you assume.
There is no stated deposit fee, minimum top-up, or fiat top-up option. The card is paid from your crypto balance; you do not load it with dollars in the conventional prepaid sense. The conversion from crypto to USD happens at the moment of purchase, not at the moment of top-up.
Disputes, support and the help center
The card page has no dispute or chargeback section. The help center is at bitmart.zendesk.com (support.bitmart.com redirects there), but specific contact channels for card issues are not stated. Trustpilot reviews from August through October 2026 described support going silent for periods ranging from a week to a month. If you have an open issue with a transaction, the time to raise it is now, not after the platform closes.
What can go wrong
The risks here are not the usual “crypto card risks” of FX markup or ATM fees. They are the risks of a platform in the middle of shutting down.
The closure itself
The most obvious risk is that the platform ceases to operate on 31 January 2027, after which the card’s backing account and the ability to convert crypto to USD for purchases both disappear. The company has set deadlines for users to withdraw, and the closer those deadlines pass, the less likely it is that an unresponsive support team will be able to resolve any issue. Trustpilot reviews in September and October 2026 described withdrawals blocked or failed after the wind-down announcement, deposits not credited or still accepted after suspension, and users who said they received no direct notice of the closure.
Complaints and Trustpilot
The BitMart Trustpilot page shows 2.3 out of 5 from 2,915 reviews, with 66 reviews posted in the last 12 months (read 2026-10-20). An earlier third-party snapshot cited a higher 3.1/5 from 2,953 reviews, so the score has dropped over time. The themes in recent reviews are withdrawal delays, account freezes, KYC escalation demands, high fees, missing funds, and unresponsive support. There is one reported case of 280,000 USD blocked and another of a Hungarian company unable to release approximately 80,000 USD since 26 July. There are also fraud allegations, though these are unverified.
I did not find any card-specific complaints — that is, no reviewer complaining about a specific purchase, cashback non-payment or card decline. The complaints are about the platform, not the card product.
Issuer, licences and company structure
The card’s issuer, legal entity and licences are not stated on the card page. This is not unusual for crypto cards in general — the crypto brand is often only a programme manager rather than the licensed issuer — but in a closure context it means there is no clearly identified bank or e-money institution for a cardholder to escalate an issue to. The card programme depends on two things: the BitMart platform being operational, and an unnamed issuer being willing to process the card’s transactions. If either becomes unavailable, the card stops working.
Custodial risk
The card is custodial: your crypto sits in the BitMart exchange account, and the card is a way to spend that balance. This is the same custody model that has failed at other platforms — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, the Ronin Network hack, and the FTX collapse, where Visa terminated its global agreements on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. With a custodial card, you do not control the private keys, and you cannot move funds without the platform’s cooperation. During a wind-down, “the platform’s cooperation” is exactly what becomes uncertain.
Security features (two-factor authentication, in-app card freeze, spending controls, insurance on funds) are not stated on the card page. The iOS app has a 2.9/5 rating from 3,500 ratings (US listing, read 2026-10-20), supports Russian, Turkish and Ukrainian interface languages, and runs on iOS 13.0 or later.
Cashback that may not arrive
The card’s cashback structure is generous on paper — 5.5% on grocery and dining in the first month, 5.0% from month two, with 4.0% and 3.5% on online shopping. But the asset the cashback is paid in is not stated, and during a platform wind-down there is no guarantee that pending cashback will be credited or that it can be withdrawn once the platform closes. Unofficial sources give a wider range — “up to 5.5%” (U.Today), “1–10% by tier and merchant” (ChainCatcher), “1–3.5% standard, up to 10% in promotions” (CryptoCardHub) — none of which match the official figures exactly. The unofficial figures are not confirmed by the card’s own page.
What to take instead
Because the BitMart card is no longer a realistic option for new applicants, the comparison below covers three alternative cards from competing exchanges. Each is judged on its own score, not on a head-to-head with BitMart, but the points that matter for someone choosing a card right now are availability, fee transparency, and whether the platform is actively growing or winding down.
MSX — score 6.4 / 10
The MSX card scores 6.4 out of 10. The card page is thin on the official details I could read: country list, card type, issuance cost, transaction fees, funding options and rewards are not stated. Without an official page to verify these, a prospective cardholder has to rely on the platform’s reputation. The score reflects that the product exists and is presumably operational, but the lack of published detail is itself a risk.
Bybit Card — score 6.0 / 10
The Bybit card scores 6.0 out of 10 and is one of the more transparent options on the market. The official help center lists card regions explicitly: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, and Asia Pacific. The card is not meant for European Economic Area customers, and the application asks for your country of residence; if it is not supported, Bybit says it will register your interest.
The card’s network and currency depend on the region: Mastercard prepaid in Argentina (ARS), Mastercard credit in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Asia Pacific (USD), Visa prepaid in Brazil (BRL) and Peru (PEN or USD), Visa credit in Asia Pacific (USD), and Mastercard credit in Mexico (MXN). Virtual card issuance is free “until further notice” across all regions. Physical card issuance and replacement fees vary: $29.99 in Australia and AIFC, $5 in Argentina, 29.99 USDT in Georgia, Kazakhstan (AIFC) and Asia Pacific, free in Brazil and Mexico, and free for VIPs in the countries where VIPs get a fee waiver.
The crypto conversion fee is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions and 0.5% in Argentina. FX fees vary widely: 2% in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico; 2% “International Fee” in Kazakhstan (AIFC) on purchases outside Kazakhstan; 7% in Argentina; 1.5% in Brazil; 1% in Peru. Argentina also carries VAT of 21% on foreign digital services, a 30% tax on foreign transactions and a provincial gross-income tax of 1%–13.2%.
The card has no balance of its own: it draws on the Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, and converts crypto at the moment of purchase if fiat runs out. Supported cryptos are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM, with a default priority order of USDT > USDC > GRAM > BTC > ETH > XRP that can be reordered in the Card Dashboard.
The rewards structure is more complicated. Since 5 October 2026, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback; fiat-funded spending does not. There are six tiers — Base, Beta, Alpha, Apex, Omega and Infinite — with cashback rates from 2.00% to 10%, monthly caps from $5 to $600, and monthly spend thresholds from $0 to $25,000. Points pend for 4 calendar days and convert to USDT cashback at 0.002 USDT per point. There is a welcome offer of 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days, a 100% cashback on subscriptions for VIPs and Alpha tier and above, and a referral program paying 20 USDT to the referrer and 10 USDT to the referee.
The Bybit card is a reasonable option for someone in a supported region who is comfortable with the FX fee structure and willing to fund spending from crypto rather than fiat. It is not available in the EEA, and US users are restricted from Bybit’s fiat services, so the US card situation is not addressed here.
MEXC — score 5.6 / 10
The MEXC card scores 5.6 out of 10. The card page lists “The Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand…” with a Details link, suggesting a longer country list is available but not shown. Only a virtual card is available; physical cards are described as “not yet available”. The network and card currency are not stated.
The issuance fee is 20 USD on the card page, though the page also shows a possible 0 USD discounted price that is unclear. The service fee is 0%. The funding flow is USDT transferred to a Fiat account and then added to the card on the My MEXC Card page; networks are not stated.
Rewards are paid in USDT by the 15th of the next month and vary by M-Score tier: Standard 4% with a 100 USDT monthly cap, Premier (M-Score 600–799) 6% with a 300 USDT cap, and Elite (M-Score 800+) 10% with an 800 USDT cap. The referral program pays 20 USDT to the referrer and 10 USDT to the referee.
The MEXC card is a narrower product than the Bybit card — virtual only, fewer stated details, a single supported token for funding — but the M-Score rewards structure is straightforward and the fees are simple. It is the kind of card worth considering if you are already a MEXC user and want a quick virtual card for online spending.
Final recommendation
I would not recommend the BitMart card to anyone in its current state. For new applicants, the platform is closing, and the card page has not been updated to reflect that. For existing cardholders, the priority is to withdraw funds before the platform deadlines, not to optimise cashback.
If you are choosing a crypto card today, the comparison is really between Bybit, MEXC and any other platform that is actively issuing cards and has clear, current terms. The Bybit card has the most published detail and the broadest range of supported cryptos for funding, with the caveat that its FX fees are not low in every region. The MEXC card is simpler but more limited. MSX has the least published detail of the three.
For someone with a BitMart balance who needs to spend it down rather than move it, the practical advice is to use the card for any planned purchases you can make before the platform closes, withdraw what you do not need to spend, and not assume that any pending cashback will arrive. The card’s terms, including the cashback percentages and the fee structure, are still what the page says, but the platform context is what determines whether the card is usable.
A few things to check first if you are considering any crypto card:
- Whether the card’s country list matches your country of residence and your citizenship, because sanctions screening and issuer policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country of address.
- Whether the supported coins include the ones you actually hold, and on which networks, because sending a token on the wrong network can mean lost funds.
- Whether the FX fee on your currency is reasonable, because 2% to 7% is a wide range and makes a real difference over a year of spending.
- Whether the rewards are paid in something you can actually withdraw, because “cashback” paid in a platform token you cannot sell is not the same as cashback in USDT.
- Whether the platform’s terms say what happens to your balance if the platform shuts down, because custodial cards depend on the custodian being operational.
The BitMart card is a useful case study in how quickly a crypto card’s appeal can change when the platform behind it changes. The features on the page are the same as they were a year ago. The context around them is not.
Frequently asked questions
What is the BitMart card?
The BitMart card was a Visa-branded payment card linked to a BitMart exchange account, available in three tiers (virtual, plastic and metal) and settled in US dollars. The card programme is part of the BitMart platform, which is winding down following a phased closure announcement on 26 July 2026.
How does the BitMart card work?
The card draws on the crypto balance in your BitMart account and converts it to USD at the moment of purchase. You do not load it with fiat; you keep crypto in the exchange and the card spends from that balance. The published transaction fee is 1.3% on all three tiers.
Is BitMart a bank?
No. BitMart is a cryptocurrency exchange, not a bank. The card’s issuer (the bank or e-money institution that actually issues the Visa cards) is not named on the card page. The card programme depends on both BitMart and the unnamed issuer being operational.
Who owns BitMart?
Ownership of BitMart is not described on the card page. The platform’s founder publicly denied misappropriating user funds in coverage by Forklog, but the page does not identify the corporate ownership structure.
Is the BitMart card available in my country?
The card page does not list supported countries; it says “all BitMart users can apply” and that the card works at Visa merchants worldwide. Unofficial sources disagree on the country list, with coverage ranging from 115+ to 183 available countries, and conflicting information on whether the US is included. Treat any specific country list outside the card’s own page as unconfirmed.
Does the BitMart card require KYC?
Yes. The card requires BitMart’s Identity Verification Level 2, which includes an identity document, possible additional documents and proof of address. The age requirement is not stated.
How do I top up the BitMart card?
There is no separate top-up step. The card spends directly from your BitMart account balance, so you need sufficient crypto in the account. Supported coins are USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON and BNB. Networks are not listed; send on the network your account confirms, not one you assume.
Is the BitMart card safe?
The card is custodial, meaning your crypto sits in the BitMart exchange account rather than in a wallet you control. The card page does not state security features such as 2FA, in-app freeze, spending limits or insurance. Trustpilot shows 2.3/5 from 2,915 reviews, with recent complaints about withdrawal delays, account freezes and unresponsive support, particularly since the July 2026 wind-down announcement.
How do I withdraw money from BitMart?
The platform-wide deadline to submit withdrawal requests was 26 August 2026, and platform operations are planned to end on 31 January 2027. Third-party guides (OneKey, 7 August 2026) describe withdrawals potentially being held for review covering KYC, source of funds, address ownership, the Travel Rule and sanctions, though this is not the card’s official communication. Submit your withdrawal request well in advance of the deadlines.
Is the BitMart card worth it?
In its current state, no. The platform is winding down, the card page has not been updated to reflect the closure, and the value of any pending cashback or stored balance depends on the platform’s ability to process withdrawals before 31 January 2027. For someone choosing a crypto card today, an actively issuing alternative is a more reliable option.
Exchange card options – cryptocardoptions.com
Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team
