A crypto-funded Visa from Prague that charges for the privilege of holding one
TXBFI is a crypto-funded Visa card from a Prague-based company called TheXBanky. You load it with Bitcoin, a handful of major altcoins, or stablecoins, and you spend the balance wherever Visa is taken, online, in shops, and through mobile wallets. The pitch is a non-custodial card, meaning TXBFI itself says it never holds your private keys, combined with a tiered line-up that runs from a $25 virtual card up to a $10,000 Gold tier with VIP concierge service.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Whether that sounds appealing depends on what you actually need. After going through the card’s published terms, fees, and policies, I came away thinking the idea is reasonable but the execution has gaps, and the upfront price of the card itself is the loudest number on the page. In this review I’ll walk through who the card is built for, what it really costs day to day, and where the public information is thin. The conditions described here are current as of 2026-10-22.
Verdict
TXBFI earns a 5.8 out of 10 in my assessment. That’s a middle-of-the-pack score, and the breakdown explains why.

| Criterion | Score | Why it scored there |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | No country list is published; eligibility is decided case by case behind a generic “jurisdiction and eligibility” clause. |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | A one-time card price from $25 to $10,000, plus a 2.6% top-up fee on the entry tier and 0.6% FX per transaction. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | BTC, SOL, SUI, XRP, XLM, USDT, USDC, but the networks and minimums are not stated. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | TheXBanky s.r.o. is registered in Prague; the card issuer and the VASP licence number are not named, the app is still in beta, and I could find no independent user reviews. |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual, plastic, metal, and gold tiers; Apple Pay and Google Pay on the virtual card; $15,000 single-tap limit at the entry tier. |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 |
The audience this card is built for, based on the tier names and the crypto focus, is crypto holders who want a Visa running from a virtual to a gold physical card, in that order of cost. If that is you, the rest of this review tells you what to check before you pay the one-time price.
Who will they give you the card
Here is the awkward part of TXBFI: the company does not publish a list of countries where the card is available or where it is not. The only statement on the site is that “Service availability is subject to jurisdiction, eligibility, applicable law and provider requirements.” That is a placeholder for an actual policy, not a policy. If you happen to be in Russia, Belarus, or any of the major sanctioned jurisdictions, the terms of service reserve the right to refuse you, but the card does not name those countries itself.
The same goes for age. The site does not state a minimum age, although EU-wide rules for prepaid cards generally expect the cardholder to be at least 18, and the verification process described below assumes an adult.
What this means for you: the only way to know whether you can actually get the card is to start the application and see. If you are in a country where most crypto cards (Bybit, Crypto.com, Bitget) decline by default, the same is likely here. If you are in a country where those cards do work, you can probably pass the same checks, but there is no upfront confirmation, and that is a friction point worth knowing about before you sign up.
How to get it
The signup path is a standard crypto-card flow, in four steps.
- Register on the web platform with your email and a password.
- Pass KYC (know your customer). The card requires a government photo ID, which can be a passport, a national ID card, or a driver’s licence, plus a proof of address dated within the last three months, typically a utility bill or a bank statement. There is a biometric or liveness check, meaning you hold your phone up to your face so the system can match the photo on your ID to a live image, and the terms mention sanctions screening, PEP (politically exposed person) screening, and wallet screening, the industry-standard checks against sanctioned addresses and public officials. Most accounts are approved within 24 hours.
- Choose a tier: Virtual, Plastic, Metal, or Gold.
- Pay the one-time price and top up the card.
The rules say one account per person, and the site does not list the rejection reasons in any detail. If your application is refused, you will most likely get a generic message rather than a list of fixes, and the standard caveat in EU KYC practice is that the institution may have to end the relationship if it cannot complete its checks.
A few things the card does not say out loud. Delivery time for the physical tiers is not stated. The card’s home currency is not stated either, although the home page mentions “20+ currencies” as a feature, which probably means the platform supports 20 or more funding or spending currencies, not necessarily that the card itself can hold a balance in each of them. The card network is Visa, the Virtual tier is digital-only, and the Plastic, Metal, and Gold tiers are physical cards you can have shipped.
What you should check first: before you start KYC, take a photo of your ID and a recent utility bill that has your name and address on it. If your address has changed recently, update it on a bank statement first. The three-month rule is strict and is the most common reason for delay.
What it really costs
Costs are where the verdict drops fastest, and the table below shows why.
| Fee or limit | Virtual | Plastic | Metal | Gold |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| One-time card price | $25 (launch promo, $200 after) | $300 ($500 after) | $1,000 | $10,000 |
| Monthly fee | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Top-up fee | 2.6% | 2.6% | 2.4% | 1.8% |
| Forex fee | 0.6% per international transaction | 0.6% | 0.6% | 0.6% |
| ATM withdrawal fee | No ATM access | $2.50 domestic, $3.50 international | $2.50 / $3.50 | $2.50 / $3.50 |
| ATM daily limit | Not applicable | $1,000 | $1,500 | $3,000 |
| Single tap limit | $15,000 | $15,000 | $40,000 | $100,000 |
There is no annual fee and no monthly maintenance fee, but the one-time card price is the headline number, and it is genuinely unusual in this category. Most crypto cards are free to order; you pay for top-up and conversion instead. TXBFI flips that around: you pay up front for the privilege of holding the card, and the higher tiers cost a lot more than the typical $0 to $50 entry fee elsewhere.
The top-up fees are also at the high end. The 2.6% deposit fee on Virtual and Plastic, dropping to 1.8% on Gold, is the single biggest drag on day-to-day use. The internal crypto-to-crypto exchange is 0.2% and a cross-chain swap is 0.2%, both reasonable, but those are smaller line items compared to the deposit fee.
The 0.6% foreign-exchange fee is described as a “fixed spread over mid-market,” which is a small print way of saying the rate you get is the real interbank rate plus 0.6%. That is better than the typical 1% to 2% you see on bank cards in this category, but worse than the 0% FX offers a few competitors now publish.
A few everyday payments make this concrete.
- A $50 online subscription billed in euros on the Virtual tier. You load $50 worth of USDC, pay the 2.6% deposit fee, and then the card adds 0.6% on the euro conversion at the moment of payment. You end up with your load minus these fees, plus any network fee for getting the USDC onto whatever chain the platform supports.
- A $200 cash withdrawal in Mexico on the Plastic tier. You pay the 0.6% FX fee on the dollar-to-peso conversion ($1.20) and the $3.50 international ATM fee, on top of the 2.6% deposit fee you paid when you loaded the card.
- A $5,000 in-store purchase on the Gold tier. You paid $10,000 for the card up front, you load $5,000 of stablecoin at 1.8% deposit fee ($90), the 0.6% FX does not apply because the merchant charges in dollars, and the $5,000 is yours to spend.
The site’s fees page also has a heading titled “Why 2.7% upfront” and a header that reads “3%” for top-up, which is inconsistent with the 2.6% deposit fee in the FAQ. That is a small thing, but it is the kind of inconsistency that makes you slow down and check the figure again at the moment of payment. I would.
The card-tiers page mentions a separate “from 2%” ATM figure that does not match the $2.50 / $3.50 flat rates in the FAQ. Free ATM allowance, meaning the amount of cash you can pull per month before fees, is not stated anywhere.
Top up the card
Topping up starts with sending crypto to the platform, and the coins listed are BTC, SOL, SUI, XRP, XLM, USDT, and USDC. That is a reasonable spread: two large-cap layer-1s, two stablecoins, and two faster, cheaper chains, but the specific networks are not stated. In practice that means you have to check inside the app for the deposit address and confirm whether the platform expects ERC-20 (Ethereum), TRC-20 (Tron), BEP-20 (BNB Smart Chain), SPL (Solana), or something else.

This is one of the easier ways to lose money with any crypto card. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and if you send USDT on a network the platform does not support, the funds are typically lost, or recoverable only through a slow manual process with no guarantee. This is the single biggest user-side risk in the crypto card category, and it applies here.
A few practical things to verify before you send.
- Which network the deposit address belongs to. If the address starts with “T”, that is Tron; if it is 0x-prefixed, that is Ethereum or an Ethereum-compatible chain. Each has its own fee structure.
- Whether you hold the native coin for gas. ERC-20 transfers need ETH to pay gas, and a wallet that holds only USDT cannot send anything on Ethereum. Tron uses bandwidth and energy, with TRX burned as the resource price.
- Whether USDC on Tron is even an option. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so if the platform advertises USDC on TRC-20, that is a red flag.
- The minimum top-up amount. It is not stated in the published material, and a small first test, $10 to $20 worth, is a sensible way to confirm everything before committing more.
The home page mentions local bank transfers and SEPA as additional funding options, but it does not publish the fiat funding fees. The internal exchange rate for crypto-to-crypto conversion inside the platform is 0.2%, which is competitive, and exchanging stablecoins to other stablecoins is treated as a 0.2% swap.
What happens on the way out, meaning withdrawing funds back to your bank or your own wallet, is not described in the public pages. The platform does let you delete your account from the app under Profile > Delete Account, or by emailing support, but what happens to the remaining balance is not stated.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day spending is where TXBFI is at its strongest, with a few practical caveats.
The Virtual card supports both Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the physical cards support Google Pay only. There is a trust badge on the home page that says both wallets are supported on all tiers, but the FAQ is more specific and limits Apple Pay to the virtual card, which is a small contradiction worth flagging. If you specifically need Apple Pay on a physical card, the published terms say no.
Spending limits step up sharply with each tier. The single tap limit, the maximum you can spend in one authorisation, is $15,000 on Virtual and Plastic, $40,000 on Metal, and $100,000 on Gold. ATM daily limits, which apply to Plastic, Metal, and Gold only, are $1,000, $1,500, and $3,000 respectively. Monthly limits are not stated.
Cashback is the small upside that softens the deposit fee a little.
- Virtual: 0.05% back in BTC.
- Plastic: 0.1% back in BTC.
- Metal: 0.2% back in BTC.
- Gold: 0.4% back in BTC.
Cashback is uncapped, meaning there is no monthly cap, and it is credited within 24 hours. The platform also advertises brand discounts of 1%, 2%, 4%, and 7% to 9% on the four tiers, which is most likely a partner-merchant programme rather than a universal discount, and you would only realise it at those specific merchants.
A note on what is missing. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so you do not know in advance whether gambling transactions, crypto purchases, or other sensitive MCCs (the four-digit merchant category codes that classify a business) will go through or be declined. ATM access on the Virtual tier is explicitly not available, which is unusual for a virtual card and means you need a physical card if you want cash.
The app is currently in beta. iOS users get it through TestFlight, Apple’s beta-testing platform, and Android users through the Google Play testing programme. A “V2” version is described as launching soon, and there is no published store rating to consult. The app is functional enough to register, KYC, top up, and spend, but expect rough edges and version changes.
Disputes and chargebacks are the part of the everyday experience that worries me most. The terms state that Czech law and Czech courts apply, and there is a Complaints Policy linked from the page, but the text of that policy is not available, and no chargeback process is described in any of the public materials. If something goes wrong with a merchant, you may not have a clear path to a refund, and the Czech forum will be a hurdle for users in other jurisdictions.
What can go wrong
Let me lay out the risk picture, because this is the part the marketing pages tend to skip.
The company is named, the card issuer is not. TheXBanky s.r.o. is a real company, registered at IČO 21932506, Děčínská 552/1, Střížkov, 180 00 Prague 8, Czech Republic. The site calls TXBFI a “technology platform,” which in plain English means it is the front-end and brand, not the licensed entity that actually issues the card. The FAQ says it holds a VASP (virtual asset service provider) licence and is EU/Czech AML-compliant, but no licence number is given, and the home page carries an “Offshore Banking Sublicense” badge that does not explain what that means in practice. A card-issuing programme is a regulated activity, and the public materials here do not name the regulated institution behind the card.
The app is in beta. A beta app means a moving product. Layouts change, buttons move, features get added or removed. In a category where KYC and bank linkage involve real money, a beta app adds friction.
No independent reviews. I could not find a Trustpilot page, a Reddit thread, or a substantive independent review of TXBFI in a standard search. That does not mean the card is bad, but it does mean there is no community of users to compare notes with, and that is unusual for a product that says it is live.
Self-custody is the selling point and the risk. The FAQ says “TXBFI does not take custody of your assets or control your private keys,” and that assets are held by third-party providers. That is the non-custodial model, and it is genuinely better from a hack-and-insolvency perspective. But it also means you bear the full responsibility: if you lose your seed phrase (the 12 to 24 words that act as the master key to your wallet), nobody can recover it, and if you sign a malicious transaction or paste the wrong address, the funds are gone. Two-factor authentication, in-app card freeze, and similar standard safeguards are not stated in the public materials.
Support channels exist, depth is unclear. Telegram, Discord, support tickets, a contact page, an email address at [email protected], and X. Telegram and Discord are fine for community questions, but for a regulated financial product, the absence of phone support and a published support hours schedule is worth noting.
Regulatory horizon. The EU’s MiCA regulation (the Markets in Crypto-Assets regulation, EU 2023/1114) took effect in stages: stablecoin rules from 30 June 2024, and the broader crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. There is a transitional period until 1 July 2026 for providers operating under national licences, and after that date providers need a MiCA authorisation to keep serving EU customers. A card issued via a Czech entity with an unstated VASP licence sits inside this transition, and it is worth checking the issuer’s status on the ESMA interim register before you load a large balance.
Program closures happen. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 after the exchange collapsed, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. In 2018, Visa suspended WaveCrest, a European card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, and closed every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme in one go. When a programme closes, the typical pattern is a notice period, then new loads stop, then spending stops, then a request to withdraw any remaining balance. The TXBFI materials do not describe a plan for this eventuality, and the absence of a stated withdrawal process is a gap.
What to take instead
The honest comparison is not a direct lookalike, because TXBFI’s mix of features (one-time card pricing, four tiers, broad coin support) is unusual. Here are three alternatives at similar score levels, with the trade-offs each one makes.
Cardex (score 5.6 / 10). Cardex sells itself as a single crypto card available in 200+ countries. It supports virtual and physical cards on the VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, and UnionPay networks, with the App Store listing showing a Naira-currency focus. The interesting feature is an “AI-powered conversion rate” that scans global exchanges at the moment of payment and picks the best one. The downsides are that no fee percentages are published, the funding list is limited to USDT, USDC, and BTC, and rewards are not stated. If you want a card that works in many countries and you are happy to accept unknown conversion costs, Cardex is a reasonable option. If you want published numbers, it is not.
TakeCard (score 5.5 / 10). TakeCard is a Visa prepaid card issued in the United States, denominated in USD, with a virtual card that is available immediately and a physical card that is currently limited to Bolivian users. The virtual card costs $5, the physical card costs $20 plus shipping (one article in the same help centre says $20 shipping, another says $10, so the price is not stable). A 1% commission applies per purchase, USD payments are 1:1, and other currencies settle at the official Visa rate of the day. Crypto conversion fees are not stated. TakeCard fits if you live in one of the listed Latin American countries or Spain or Italy, and you want a simple USD-denominated Visa. It does not fit if you want to load Bitcoin directly or if you are outside the listed geographies.
OkiCard (score 6.0 / 10). OkiCard markets a virtual card (with a physical card mentioned but not detailed) on Visa or Mastercard, with USD/EUR balances, no monthly fee, a 3% load fee, and 0% transaction fees in USD. Funding is USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, or Solana, with USDC described as “soon” and other coins “coming soon.” A 100 USDT initial deposit is required, and the platform says there is “no geo-blocking based on your passport” while still requiring you to confirm you are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. Among the three alternatives, OkiCard is the most transparent on fees, and at 6.0 it is the highest-scoring. If TXBFI’s high deposit fee and one-time card price put you off, OkiCard is the next step down in cost.
| Card | Cost of card | Top-up fee | FX fee | Networks for top-up | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TXBFI Virtual | $25 (launch) | 2.6% | 0.6% | Not stated | Higher-tier physical card and concierge |
| TXBFI Gold | $10,000 | 1.8% | 0.6% | Not stated | Large-balance Visa with VIP service |
| Cardex | Not stated | Not stated | Real-time, best rate | Not stated | Many-country single card |
| TakeCard | $5 virtual, $20+ physical | Not stated | 1% per purchase, Visa rate | From Takenos balance | USD-denominated Visa in Latin America |
| OkiCard | $0 issuance, $15 starting | 3% | Not stated | USDT on BSC, ETH, Tron, Solana | Transparent fees, virtual first |
Who I would recommend it to
If you have read this far, you can probably tell whether TXBFI is for you. Let me make the recommendation explicit.
TXBFI is worth considering if you are a crypto holder with a balance in BTC, SOL, SUI, XRP, XLM, USDT, or USDC, you specifically want a Visa on the network, you are comfortable with the Czech regulatory frame and the Czech-law disputes clause, and you find the one-time card price acceptable for what you get in return. The Plastic and Metal tiers are the most natural fit: a $300 to $1,000 upfront cost, a 0.6% FX fee, a $15,000 to $40,000 single-tap limit, and ATM access for cash. The Gold tier at $10,000 is for users who want a high-limit Visa, a concierge service, and the lowest deposit fee, and who can absorb that upfront cost without blinking.
TXBFI is not for you if you want a free-to-order card with no upfront cost, if you need Apple Pay on a physical card, if you need a published monthly limit and a clear chargeback process before you commit, or if you need to be able to point at the licensed card issuer on the regulator’s register today. It is also not the right choice if you want independent reviews from a community of users, because there are essentially none to find right now, and that is a real signal.
A short practical checklist, in the order I would run it.
- Confirm the deposit networks and minimums inside the app before sending a large amount. The public pages do not state them.
- Pay the one-time fee with a small amount of stablecoin you are willing to test, not with the full intended balance.
- Run a small first payment to confirm the Visa acceptance and the FX behaviour.
- Check the card issuer and VASP licence on the ESMA interim register, and if the names do not match what the site advertises, ask support in writing.
- Keep your seed phrase and your device’s 2FA separate and secure, because in a non-custodial model the user is the last line of defence.
If any of those steps fails, the deposit fee is a tax on a learning experience, and a more transparent card is a better use of the money. If they all pass, the card is functional and the day-to-day experience is reasonable for the higher tiers, just expensive to enter.
Frequently asked questions
What is the TXBFI card?
The TXBFI card is a Visa card issued through a Prague-based platform called TheXBanky s.r.o. It comes in four tiers, runs from $25 to $10,000 as a one-time price, and is funded with crypto (BTC, SOL, SUI, XRP, XLM, USDT, USDC) that converts to a spendable balance at the moment of payment. The company describes the platform as non-custodial, meaning it does not hold your private keys, and the funds sit with third-party providers until you spend.
How does the TXBFI card work?
You register on the web platform, complete KYC with a government photo ID and a recent proof of address, choose a tier, pay the one-time price, and top up the card with crypto. The platform converts the deposit to a balance, applies a 0.6% fee on any non-dollar transaction, and you spend the balance wherever Visa is accepted. The virtual card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay; the physical cards work with Google Pay only.
Is TXBFI a bank?
No. TXBFI describes itself as a “technology platform,” and the operating company is TheXBanky s.r.o., registered in Prague. The card issuer and the VASP licence behind the card are not named in the public materials, which means the regulated entity that actually issues the card is a separate party and is not the same as the brand you see in the app. A banking licence and a card-issuing licence are not the same thing, and the public information here is closer to the second than the first.
Who owns TXBFI?
The brand and the platform are owned by TheXBanky s.r.o., a Czech company with company number 21932506, registered in Prague 8. The shareholders, beneficial owners, and the licensed card-issuing partner are not stated in the public materials, and the home page carries an “Offshore Banking Sublicense” badge that does not explain the underlying licence. If ownership and corporate structure matter to you, this is one of the questions to put to support in writing before you load a large balance.
Is the TXBFI card available in my country?
The site does not publish a list of eligible or excluded countries, and the only statement is that “Service availability is subject to jurisdiction, eligibility, applicable law and provider requirements.” That means the only way to know for sure is to start the application and see whether the KYC flow accepts your ID and address. If you are in a heavily sanctioned jurisdiction, expect a decline; if you are in a typical market for crypto cards, the application will probably be accepted, but there is no upfront confirmation.
Does the TXBFI card require KYC?
Yes. The card requires a government photo ID (passport, national ID, or driver’s licence), a proof of address dated within the last three months, a biometric liveness check, and standard sanctions, PEP, and wallet screening. Most applications are approved within 24 hours, and one account per person is the rule. The minimum age is not stated, although EU practice for prepaid cards is 18+.
How do I top up the TXBFI card?
You send BTC, SOL, SUI, XRP, XLM, USDT, or USDC to a deposit address generated inside the app. The specific networks and minimums are not stated on the public pages, so check inside the app before sending. The deposit fee is 2.6% on Virtual and Plastic, 2.4% on Metal, and 1.8% on Gold, deducted from the deposited amount, and the platform also mentions local bank transfers and SEPA as fiat top-up options without publishing the fees.
How do I add the TXBFI card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The virtual card supports both Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the physical cards support Google Pay only. The exact flow depends on the current beta build of the iOS or Android app, and the platform does not publish a step-by-step guide. In practice, the standard “add to wallet” button inside the app should trigger the mobile wallet’s enrolment flow, and if it does not, the support channels are Telegram, Discord, a support ticket, an email to [email protected], and X.
Is the TXBFI card safe?
The non-custodial structure is a genuine safety plus, because the platform says it does not hold your private keys and assets sit with third-party providers. The published safeguards are otherwise thin: no published 2FA requirement, no in-app card-freeze feature, no public security audit, and no chargeback process described in the terms. The card issuer and VASP licence are not named, the app is still in beta, and there are no independent user reviews. Safer than a custodial exchange that holds your coins, less transparent than a regulated card with a named issuer on the regulator’s register.
How do I delete my TXBFI account?
You can delete your account from inside the app under Profile > Delete Account, or by emailing the support team. The published material does not say what happens to the remaining balance on closure, and that is a gap worth asking support about before you let any meaningful amount sit on the card for a long time. As with any prepaid card, plan to withdraw or spend the balance before deletion, because there is no guarantee the platform will return funds held in fiat or stablecoin form after the account is closed.
Virtual card options – cryptocardoptions.com
Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team
