Nebeus card review — what it's like to spend crypto on a Mastercard in 2026

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Nebeus sells itself as a way to turn the crypto sitting in an exchange-style account into something you can actually tap at a shop or pull out of an ATM. The card itself is a Mastercard debit, issued in Poland, sitting on top of a platform that holds both a Spanish parent company and a MiCA authorisation from the CNMV. On paper, the offer is tidy: a card in euros, pounds or dollars, fed by bitcoin, ether, USDT, USDC, litecoin, bitcoin cash and XRP, with SEPA bank transfer in as a free alternative.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Nebeus works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The reality, in 2026, is more uneven. The card costs nothing to issue and the public site says no monthly fee, but the FX and conversion numbers are not published, the consumer pages leave the spending limits blank, and the Trustpilot thread for 2025 keeps surfacing the same three problems — card applications denied with no reason, support that stops answering email, and an app that users describe as full of bugs. I went through the official pages, the regulator records, and the unofficial write-ups people share when they want a second opinion. Here is what I found and what it means if you are choosing whether to put a Nebeus card in your wallet.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Nebeus scores 6.2 out of 10. That is a middling result, pulled up by the licence stack and the breadth of the funded coin list, and pulled down by the silence around the most basic pricing questions and the steady stream of complaints about onboarding and support. It suits a particular slice of reader: someone who already lives in the European Economic Area, can clear KYC, is happy to fund from crypto or SEPA, and is not relying on the card as a daily primary payment method. It is the wrong choice if you need a US card, want published spending limits, need a card that just works in a contactless terminal on the first try, or expect customer service to pick up the phone.

The breakdown of where those marks come from:

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 128 countries are restricted, including the US, UK, Netherlands, Israel, Hungary; access is decided by country of residence
Cost 8 / 10 Card issuance is free; no published monthly fee; FX, conversion and crypto loading fees are not on the consumer site
Top-up options 6 / 10 BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, BCH, XRP on Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tron, Litecoin; SEPA in euros is free; USDT and USDC deposits for personal accounts stopped on 5 April 2026
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 MiCA authorisation from Spain’s CNMV, card issued by Quicko Sp. z o.o. in Poland; Trustpilot users report unexplained card refusals and silent support; the Android app sits at 3.5 stars
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical Mastercard, ATM withdrawals up to 2,000 EUR/USD/GBP a month; Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not on the official site

The single biggest caveat is the one that does not show up in any table: Nebeus does not publish a fee schedule for FX, crypto conversion, ATM withdrawals beyond the monthly cap, or card-to-card top-up. You can read about a card that “spends crypto, EUR, GBP, or USD” without ever seeing what a non-euro payment costs. That is the gap I would close before ordering.

Will they give you the card

Eligibility at Nebeus is decided by where you live, not where you were born. The platform’s rule, written into its terms, is that access is “permitted only to natural persons or legal entities residing in jurisdictions not subject to international sanctions.” KYC runs at a single level: government identity document, proof of address, and a video selfie. If you are a resident or citizen outside Europe, the only accepted identity document is a valid passport — national ID cards are out.

The restricted-country list runs to 128 entries, and the names that matter most for an English-speaking reader are Belarus, the Russian Federation, Ukraine, the United States, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Israel and Hungary. The US and the UK are the obvious gotchas: even with a clean record, a New York or Manchester address will fail the residency check. The list also catches Israel and Hungary, which would surprise a reader who assumes an EU-licensed product is open to all of Europe. Treat the published list as the source of truth, not this paragraph — Nebeus can update it without telling existing users in advance.

A second residency-style constraint hides inside the KYC policy. Europe-residents and citizens can submit either a passport or a national ID card, and the address proof can be a local utility bill or bank statement. Everyone else has to send a passport plus proof of address, and that document has to satisfy the European-style standard. The minimum age is 18 across the board.

Behind those rules, the company structure is straightforward and worth knowing. The platform’s parent is Rintral Trading SLU, registered in Barcelona at C/ de la Llacuna 11, 08005. The card itself is issued by Quicko Sp. z o.o., a Polish payment institution (REGON 142004870). Nebeus holds a MiCA authorisation from Spain’s CNMV, an EMI licence in the UK from the FCA, an SRO registration in Switzerland, and VASP and PI registrations in Argentina, and is registered with the Bank of Spain under D664. That is more licences than most crypto cards show, and it is the strongest reason the cost and everyday-use marks are not lower.

The decision Nebeus publishes for when an application fails is also tighter than most: international sanctions matches, an internal high-risk classification, incomplete or inconsistent documents, and failure to provide updated information when asked. It does not promise to tell you which one applied. That matters because of the complaint pattern I will come back to later.

How to get it

The signup path runs in this order: register on the platform, complete KYC (document, video selfie, proof of address), then order a card from inside the app. There is no paid tier structure on the consumer site, only a virtual card and a physical card option.

The card you receive is a Mastercard debit in one of three currencies: EUR, GBP or USD. There is no metal edition, no premium tier, and the consumer pages do not list higher tiers at all. What is not on those pages is also worth noting: physical card delivery countries, delivery time, delivery cost, and replacement cost are all not stated on the public site. The processing time for KYC is also not retrievable from the help-centre article I checked — there is an article called “How Long Does Verification Take?”, but the body of it did not load.

The KYC policy is published, and the rejection reasons it names are sanctions list matches, an internal high-risk classification, incomplete or inconsistent documentation, and failure to provide updated information. Reading the rejection list next to the user complaints is instructive: a number of Trustpilot reviewers in 2025 wrote that their card applications were denied with no reason and without being asked for more information, and Nebeus does not say in its public policy that it will tell you which ground applied in your case. If you have any past issues with a sanctions list, a previous closed account, or a name that matches a politically exposed person, factor that silence into your plan.

What it really costs — Fees

The honest summary is that Nebeus publishes the numbers it is happy to publish and leaves the rest blank. The card itself is “free of charge” according to the consumer landing page. The platform says SEPA deposits in euros are free, and it does not list a fee for crypto deposits. Beyond that, the official pages are quiet.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nebeus payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What Nebeus says
Card issuance Free of charge
Monthly or annual subscription Not published on the consumer site
Crypto conversion fee / spread Not stated
FX fee for paying in a different currency Not stated; the card page mentions “automatic foreign currency exchange” without naming a fee
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated; the card page only states the monthly limit
Crypto loading fee Not stated on the consumer site
SEPA EUR deposit Free
ATM monthly limit 2,000 EUR / USD / GBP
Daily / monthly spending limits Not stated

Unofficial sources paint a more complete picture. A third-party review from Monetiro in July 2026 reports a 0% FX fee, a 0% crypto loading fee, and the same observation that issuance and monthly fees are not transparently published. Treat those as unofficial, not confirmed by Nebeus, and verify in the app before you fund a balance.

That gap shows up in three everyday situations a reader is most likely to care about:

The pattern across all three is the same: the headline costs are clear, the variable costs are not. If you are the kind of reader who is comfortable checking the in-app fee schedule before each new transaction, that is workable. If you want published rates you can budget against, you will be reading the same empty table I am.

How to top it up — Top up

Nebeus runs a “pre-loaded balance” model: you fund the account, and the card spends from that balance. There is no overdraft and no fallback to a linked bank account. The card auto-converts the balance to fiat at the point of sale, which is the line on the consumer site that does a lot of work — it is the reason a card in euros can pay a dollar merchant and a USDT top-up can buy a coffee in London.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nebeus starts with a transfer to the right network

The funding menu looks like this:

The crypto side has a hard rule to be aware of. From 5 April 2026, USDT and USDC deposits and withdrawals are halted for personal accounts. EURC still works for personal accounts, and business accounts are not affected. The change is a MiCA-driven consequence of how the EU treats non-euro stablecoins for personal use. If your funding plan was “load USDC from a Polygon wallet every payday and spend the balance on the card,” that plan is broken for a personal Nebeus account as of the date above. Send USDC after that date and you may have to recover it through support.

A second rule applies to every crypto deposit, regardless of date. The network you choose has to be one Nebeus supports, and the receiving address has to match. Bitcoin mainnet bitcoin to a Bitcoin deposit address is fine. USDT on Ethereum to a Tron USDT address, or USDC on Polygon to a Nebeus Bitcoin address, is a loss — blockchain transfers are not reversible, the recipient can decline to recover them, and a manual support recovery is not guaranteed. Unofficial pages say Apple Pay and Google Pay can be added to the card; the official site does not confirm either, so confirm inside the app before you assume the tap-to-pay path is open.

For getting money back out, the path is the mirror of the way in. Crypto goes out through the same supported networks to an external wallet. Fiat goes out via SEPA from the IBAN account. Closing the account is done by contacting support, and the public site refers to a “closure policy” without giving the fee or the timeline for returning any balance.

Paying with it every day

Once a balance is loaded, the card behaves like a standard prepaid debit Mastercard: tap at a terminal, insert at an older terminal, or punch in the card details online. The point-of-sale conversion is the part most readers will feel without seeing — the card converts whatever currency is in your balance into the merchant’s currency, at a rate and a fee that are not published.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are not on the official site. A third-party reviewer says both work. If the wallet is your main way of paying, that is a question to put to support before you order, because tokenisation in Apple Pay and Google Pay (a device-specific card number that never sits on Apple’s or Google’s servers) is what most readers actually mean by “I want to use this card.”

No cashback is mentioned on the official site or on any of the sources I checked. The card’s value is the conversion, not a rewards programme.

The app is on iOS and Android. On Google Play, the Android app sits at 3.5 stars from 448 reviews, with more than 100,000 downloads, and was last updated on 11 February 2026. The rating sits in the “functional but unpolished” range and matches the Trustpilot bug reports I will come back to in the next section.

A few things to know about how the card will behave at the till or on a checkout page:

What can go wrong

Three risks are worth taking seriously before you order. The first is a regulatory and licensing one; the second is operational; the third is the pattern of complaints from people who have already tried the card.

Regulatory standing. Nebeus is authorised under the EU’s MiCA framework by Spain’s CNMV, the card issuer (Quicko) is a licensed financial institution in Poland, and the wider group holds licences in the UK, Switzerland and Argentina. The card product is also a payment service, regulated by separate e-money and payment-services law. That stack is real. The thing to keep in mind is that MiCA’s transitional period runs until 1 July 2026 or until a provider is granted or refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. Nebeus states that it has its MiCA authorisation, so it sits on the right side of that cliff, but the changeover is the reason USDT and USDC deposits for personal accounts ended on 5 April 2026. More coin-side changes are possible in the same direction.

Custody and security. Funds on a Nebeus account are custodial: the platform holds the credentials. Crypto assets are held in segregated accounts under MiCA Article 75, fiat funds are held in segregated safeguarding accounts under the EMI rules, and the public pages reference institutional-grade custody from BitGo and $250M of insurance from Lloyd’s of London. The app supports 2FA (“strongly recommended, and may in certain cases required”) and the platform can preventively block an account on detection of suspicious activity. None of this changes the underlying fact that, with a custodial wallet, control of the funds belongs to the platform, not to you. Crypto transfers are irreversible and there is no on-chain recovery for a stolen seed phrase or a phishing swap of a deposit address.

The complaint pattern. No public incident — no hack, no shutdown — has been reported in the search window I checked. The risk that does show up is the steady drip of Trustpilot reports from 2025. The recurring themes are:

The Trustpilot score itself was not accessible to me, but the recurring nature of these three themes across multiple reviewers in 2025 is the kind of pattern that does not show up in a single unhappy customer. The Android rating of 3.5 sits in the same range.

Two more things sit in the same risk bucket. First, the closure path: the public site says you have to contact support to close the account and refers to a closure policy without giving the fee or the timeline. If you are the kind of reader who plans an exit, that silence is part of the risk. Second, chargebacks: the platform’s policy says chargebacks are subject to the card network’s rules and that users must try to resolve disputes with Nebeus first; operations are considered final once confirmed and are not eligible for a refund except at Nebeus’s sole discretion for demonstrated technical error. Unjustified chargebacks can lead to processing fees, acquirer penalties and investigation costs being recovered from the cardholder. Read the policy before leaning on the chargeback path.

News to know about. Three updates change the picture:

What to take instead

Nebeus is one of several ways to spend a crypto balance on a Visa or Mastercard. Three products a reader in the same position often compares it to:

The pattern across the three is similar to Nebeus: thin fee disclosure, marketing-led feature lists, and the card programme’s compliance-driven country list as the real gate. Whop is the right pick if the US is your market and you want a cashback line; Stella is the pick if you are outside the US/EU and want a Visa-led spend product; UniFi is the pick if the US dollar balance and the corridor list are what you actually need. If the European licences, the SEPA free deposit, and the breadth of funded coins are what you actually need, Nebeus remains the right pick — with the caveat that you should be ready to ask support the questions the consumer pages do not answer.

Who I would recommend it to

If you live in the European Economic Area, hold a passport or national ID plus a proof of address, can pass a sanctions and PEP check, and want a card that can spend a crypto balance at any Mastercard-accepting shop with a free SEPA top-up in euros as a backup, Nebeus is a workable option. The licence stack is real, the card costs nothing to issue, and the multi-coin funding menu is wider than most competitors. The marks it loses are mostly for the silence around FX, conversion and spending limits, and for the complaint pattern in 2025.

If you live in the US or the UK, do not start here — both are on the restricted list, and the question of whether the card is “available in your country” answers itself. If you need published spending limits or a fee schedule you can budget against, do not start here — the consumer pages leave those blank. If you need a card that you can put into Apple Pay or Google Pay with confidence, do not start here — the official site does not confirm either. If your funding plan is “load USDC on Polygon and spend the balance on a personal account,” that plan stopped working on 5 April 2026.

The reader who would be most disappointed is the one who treats Nebeus as a primary daily card and discovers, on the second or third transaction, that the FX fee is a number they have to dig out of the app rather than a number on the website. The reader who would be happiest is the one who already treats the platform as a custodial crypto account with a card attached, who funds in EUR via SEPA, who only needs a Mastercard a few times a month, and who is comfortable asking support the questions the website leaves open.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Nebeus card?

The Nebeus card is a Mastercard debit card, available as a virtual or physical card, denominated in EUR, GBP or USD. It spends the balance held in a Nebeus account, which can be funded with crypto or with a SEPA bank transfer. The card issuer is Quicko Sp. z o.o. in Poland, and the platform behind it holds a MiCA authorisation from Spain’s CNMV.

How does the Nebeus card work?

You fund your Nebeus account with crypto (BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, BCH, XRP) or a SEPA euro transfer. At the point of sale, the platform converts the balance into the merchant’s currency, and the card charges that converted amount. The card behaves like a prepaid debit Mastercard in the rest of the flow, including 3-D Secure for online checkouts.

Is Nebeus a bank?

No. Nebeus is a crypto-asset service provider authorised under the EU’s MiCA framework by Spain’s CNMV, with an EMI licence in the UK, an SRO registration in Switzerland, and VASP and PI registrations in Argentina. The card is issued by Quicko Sp. z o.o., a licensed financial institution in Poland. The group is not a bank and customer funds are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns Nebeus?

Nebeus is owned by Rintral Trading SLU, a company registered in Spain at C/ de la Llacuna 11, 08005 Barcelona. The card is issued by Quicko Sp. z o.o. in Poland. The wider group is registered with the Bank of Spain under D664.

Is the Nebeus card available in my country?

It depends on where you live. Nebeus lists 128 restricted countries, including the United States, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Israel, Hungary, Belarus, the Russian Federation and Ukraine. Eligibility is decided by country of residence, and the list is the source of truth rather than any summary you read in a review. If your country is not on the restricted list and you are not on a sanctions list, you can apply.

How do I apply for a Nebeus card?

You register on the platform, complete KYC (a government ID, a proof of address, and a video selfie), and then order the card from inside the app. The KYC policy is published, and a minimum age of 18 applies. The processing time is not retrievable from the public help-centre article I checked.

Does the Nebeus card require KYC?

Yes, at a single level. You need a government-issued identity document (a passport for non-European residents and citizens, a passport or national ID for European residents and citizens), a proof of address, and a video selfie. The published reasons for rejection are sanctions list matches, an internal high-risk classification, incomplete or inconsistent documentation, and failure to provide updated information.

How do I top up the Nebeus card?

By SEPA bank transfer in euros (free on the Nebeus side) or by sending one of the supported cryptocurrencies (BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, BCH, XRP) from an external wallet over the supported networks (Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tron, Litecoin). Note that USDT and USDC deposits for personal accounts are halted as of 5 April 2026, and that you pay the blockchain network’s own gas or bandwidth fees on top of any Nebeus-side fee.

Is the Nebeus card free?

Issuance is free according to the consumer landing page, and the platform does not publish a monthly or annual fee on the consumer site. Crypto conversion, FX and ATM fees beyond the published monthly limit are not stated officially, so the fee side of “free” depends on what you do with the card. Unofficial reports cite a 0% FX fee and a 0% crypto loading fee, but treat those as unconfirmed and check in the app.

Is the Nebeus card safe?

Funds on Nebeus are custodial. Crypto assets are held in segregated accounts under MiCA Article 75, fiat funds are held in segregated safeguarding accounts, and the public pages reference BitGo institutional custody and $250M of insurance from Lloyd’s of London. The platform supports 2FA and can preventively block an account. The risk is the usual counterparty risk that comes with a custodial product, plus the 2025 Trustpilot pattern of unexplained card refusals and slow support, which a reader should weigh before funding a large balance.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team