Airtm card review — a free US Visa you top up from USDC, with a few sharp edges to know
The Airtm card is a virtual Visa prepaid card that lives inside the Airtm app. You load it from your Airtm balance, which itself is funded with USDC, and then you spend wherever Visa is taken online, in mobile wallets and at point of sale. There is no physical card, no annual fee and no monthly fee, and the headline 1% top-up charge only applies to the first $200 you load each month. That pricing is genuinely competitive — but the same card that looks generous on the fee page has earned a 3-out-of-5 on Trustpilot over thousands of reviews, with most complaints clustering around account freezes, slow support and P2P marketplace disputes. The honest read is that Airtm is a cheap and well-built payment rail that runs on top of a platform with a known trust problem, and the rest of this review walks through what that means for you in practice.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Airtm scores 6.3 out of 10 in my book. The pricing is the strongest part of the picture: issuance, monthly servicing, foreign exchange and the first 200 dollars of monthly loading all sit at zero, with a single USDC top-up fee capping at $2 per month. The card is virtual-only, USD-denominated and works in Apple Pay and Google Pay, which covers most everyday card use without anyone having to wait for a card in the post. The mark-downs come from the parts Airtm cannot fully control: the platform’s mixed reputation for account holds and slow support, the lack of a physical card or ATM access, the fact that you can only spend from the USDC balance in your Airtm account, and the geographic fence that excludes a long list of countries and several US states.
If you live in the United States or Argentina, already use Airtm for its P2P marketplace, and want a cheap way to turn a USDC balance into a Visa spend, this is one of the cleaner crypto-card setups you can find. If you need a physical card, an ATM, multi-currency balances, or you cannot tolerate the possibility of a frozen account with funds in it, look elsewhere.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | 15+ countries by residence, US and Argentina first; long list of excluded countries and some US states |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Zero issuance, zero monthly, zero FX; only 1% (capped at $2) on the first $200 of monthly loading |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Loads from Airtm USDC balance; the underlying wallet takes 500+ funding methods but the supported networks are not spelled out |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Real issuer (Lead Bank) and a long-running US MSB, but Trustpilot sits at 3/5 with recurring account-freeze complaints |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay and Google Pay, no physical card and no ATM |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | A cheap, USD-only Visa riding on a platform with a known trust gap |
The audience that gets the most out of it is US and Latin American residents who already hold USDC and want to spend it as USD in stores, online and in mobile wallets. If that is not your situation, the rest of the review explains what you would gain, what you would give up, and where the tripwires are.
Who can get the Airtm card
The card is available to users with verified residence in 15 or more countries. Eligibility is by residence, not by citizenship, which is an important distinction if you are a citizen of an excluded country but live somewhere on the supported list. Airtm started by opening the card in the United States and Argentina, and has named the next wave as Bolivia, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic. Further down the roadmap sit Guatemala, Chile, Angola, Brazil and Peru.
The platform that issues the card, including the wider Airtm wallet, is not available in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, and the Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea regions of Ukraine. Certain US states are also excluded — New York is the one most often mentioned. The full list of excluded US states is not stated on the public pages I could read, so if you are in the US you should check the in-app eligibility screen before going further.
Two consequences follow. First, your country of residence is what matters, not where you were born. Second, Airtm follows the same country risk policy that most regulated crypto card programmes do, so the list of excluded jurisdictions reflects sanctions and issuer policy rather than Airtm’s own preference. If you are moving to a supported country, the card programme may still take a few weeks to roll out to your new country even after the platform itself is available there.
How to sign up for the Airtm card
There is one identity check that controls the card: it is called “Special Features KYC” inside the Airtm app. It is a single verification tier, not a tiered system, and if you have already completed it for a US Virtual Account on Airtm you do not need to do it again. The check takes your official ID — name, address, date of birth, government ID number — and confirms you are at least 18. Once submitted, Airtm says activation takes anywhere from a few minutes to two business days.
The steps in the app are short: complete Special Features KYC, open the card page from the main menu, follow the instructions, and wait for approval. The card itself is virtual only — there is no physical card to ship, no courier to wait for, and no delivery address on file. The published cardholder agreement is run by Bridge Ventures as programme manager and issued by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank that is an FDIC member.
A practical note: the basic Airtm account verification, which is a separate, lower step, is required before you can even reach the card screen, so most people go through both flows in a single sitting. Airtm does not publish a list of rejection reasons, which is a small but real downside if you want to know in advance whether your documents will be accepted.
Fees: what the Airtm card actually costs
Airtm’s fee table is short and most of it reads zero. There is no fee to issue the card, no monthly fee if you load or use it, no annual fee, and no fee on international transactions. The card has a single tier — there is no “Plus” or “Pro” version with extra benefits.

The fee you do pay is on the way in. Airtm charges 1% on the first $200 you load per calendar month, capped at $2 USDC, and 0% on anything beyond that. The official cardholder agreement caps this fee at “up to 2%” for funding from the Airtm wallet, so in practice you will see between 1% and 2% depending on how the fee is being applied at the time. The inactivity fee kicks in if you go 30 days without loading the card, and it is $1 per month. There is no per-purchase fee and no cashback at point of sale.
There is one cost that is easy to miss: if you want to move the balance back out of the card, you have to delete the card, and deletion takes 1% of the remaining balance. Refunds from merchants do not come back to the card — they are credited to the platform wallet as stablecoins, which is the more useful of the two for a crypto-funded card but worth knowing in advance.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Issuance | $0 |
| Monthly fee | $0 (with regular load or use) |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Inactivity fee | $1 after 30 days without a load |
| Top-up fee | 1% on first $200 per month (max $2 USDC), 0% beyond |
| Funding-from-wallet fee (per agreement) | Up to 2% |
| Foreign exchange fee | 0% |
| Per-purchase fee | None |
| Cashback at point of sale | None |
| Card deletion fee | 1% of remaining balance |
| ATM withdrawals | Not available |
| Daily spending limit | $2,000 USD |
| Per-transaction limit | $2,000 USD |
| Monthly limit | Not separately stated |
| Card currency | USD only |
A few everyday situations show what the table means in practice.
Buying a $40 grocery shop online. The card is denominated in USD, the merchant is in the US, and you have already loaded the card this month. There is no per-purchase fee, no FX fee, and the top-up that funded the card was free because you have already passed the $200 threshold. Your only cost was the 1% (or 2%) on the load that originally put the money on the card.
Booking a $300 hotel in Europe with a US card. The hotel’s acquirer will convert EUR to USD using Visa’s rate on the day of capture. Airtm does not add an FX margin on top, so what you see on the statement is what you pay. If you have any unspent load under the $200 monthly cap, the original top-up would have been charged at 1%; the $300 hotel itself has no surcharge.
Buying coffee with Apple Pay, $6. A tokenised device account number is generated for the tap, the merchant’s POS authorises against your USD balance, and the hold falls away in line with standard card practice. No fee, no FX, no cashback.
The detail that is not stated is the spread Airtm applies when it converts your USDC into USD inside the platform. Network fees for the conversion ride inside Airtm’s P2P and conversion rates, so the spread is the only number that can quietly change the all-in cost of using the card. If you are sensitive to that, compare the rate you get inside the Airtm app against the live USD/USDC pair on a major exchange before each load.
How to top up the Airtm card
Top-up is a two-step process. The card itself is loaded only from your Airtm balance, and the Airtm balance is held in USDC. When you make a purchase, Airtm sells stablecoins from its Platform Provider account and loads fiat USD onto the card in real time, so the card never actually holds crypto — it just looks like it does because the conversion is hidden from you at the point of spend.

To get USDC into your Airtm wallet, you can use more than 500 funding methods: bank transfers, crypto deposits, mobile wallets, the Airtm P2P network, and debit or credit cards through MoonPay. The funding page does not publish the specific crypto networks it accepts, which is a real shortcoming — if you have USDC on Polygon and the platform only takes it on Ethereum, your deposit will not arrive. A small live test before you commit a larger amount is the right move.
The fee math is the same as the section above: 1% on the first $200 per month, capped at $2 USDC, and 0% beyond that, with the cardholder agreement wording allowing up to 2% for funding from the wallet. There is no minimum top-up amount published. For US users there is an additional step: the card can only be loaded through payouts, so you set the card as your default payout destination inside the app.
There is no separate way to move funds back from the card to the Airtm wallet. If you want your money out, you delete the card, the remaining balance minus the 1% deletion fee is returned to your Airtm account, and on full closure Lead Bank does not charge an additional closure fee. The cleanest mental model is that the card is a spend-only instrument, not a stash.
Paying with the Airtm card every day
In day-to-day use the Airtm card behaves like a normal US Visa prepaid. Online checkout, contactless in stores, in-app purchases, subscriptions — anything that takes Visa takes this card. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, which is the more important half of the picture because the card is virtual only and there is no plastic to tap. Card details are pulled from the Airtm app and tokenised into the device’s Secure Element, so the card number never sits on your phone in cleartext and a new dynamic security code is generated for each transaction.
A short list of merchant categories is blocked by policy: gambling, firearms, drugs, adult content and services, and financial services businesses. The blocked list is set by the issuer, not by Airtm, and it can be narrower or wider than the equivalent list on other crypto cards. There is no cashback and no rewards programme, so if a chunk of your decision was about earning something back on every spend, Airtm is not built for that.
A few operational details are worth knowing up front. There is no right to stop payment on a card transaction once it is authorised. Disputes have to start with the merchant directly, and Airtm will only step in if you report an error within 60 days. Standard investigation time is 10 business days, with up to 45 days for normal cases and 90 days for new cards or foreign-initiated transactions. If your card is used without your authorisation, your maximum loss is $50 if you report it within two business days and up to $500 if you report it later. Authorisation holds — the temporary parking of funds at a petrol station, a hotel or a car rental — can take up to seven business days to release.
The Airtm app itself scores well in user ratings. On the US iOS App Store it holds a 4.8 out of 5 across roughly 5,000 ratings, and on Google Play a 4.5 out of 5 across around 82,400 reviews. The dashboard is also accessible from a web browser, which is useful when you do not want to pull out your phone. The interface is in English, Spanish and Portuguese, which matches the rollout priorities of the card itself.
What can go wrong with the Airtm card
Two layers of risk sit underneath the card, and you need to keep both in mind. The first is the platform risk of Airtm as a company. The second is the issuer and programme risk of the card itself.
Airtm Inc. is a Delaware corporation registered with FinCEN as a money services business since 2015, with the registration number 31000329787639 and an address of record in Dover, Delaware. The card programme is run by Bridge Ventures LLC, also a Delaware company, and issued by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank and FDIC member. The card network is Visa. None of that is unusual for a US crypto card — it is, in fact, a fairly standard US card stack — and the named licence on the Airtm site is the FinCEN MSB registration, not a state money transmitter licence. Airtm’s longstanding platform business is what the MSB registration covers; the card sits on top of that.
The customer-facing record is mixed. Trustpilot gives Airtm a TrustScore of 3 out of 5 across roughly 7,000 reviews, and the same themes repeat over 2025 and 2026. The first is accounts being suspended or limited without a clear explanation, with funds held for weeks or months. The second is slow, generic or unresponsive customer support. The third is fraud inside the Airtm P2P marketplace, where a counterparty takes the money and does not pay out, and Airtm does not reimburse. None of these issues are unique to Airtm — they are common across P2P-heavy platforms — but the volume of complaints and the consistency of the language suggest a structural problem rather than a few bad weeks. There is no major publicised hack or shutdown in the record I could check.
On the card side, the funds you load are custodial — held by Lead Bank, not by you. Card funds are not FDIC insured; deposit insurance covers deposit accounts, not prepaid card balances. Two-factor authentication is available on the Airtm account, and the card can be frozen or deleted from the dashboard. There is no physical card, so the usual physical-card risks (skimming, lost-and-found) do not apply.
Operational risk to keep an eye on: outages. IsDown has tracked roughly 36 Airtm incidents since July 2021. The most recent, on 2 October 2025, was a “Transactions error” that lasted 9 hours. A scheduled maintenance window was announced for 4 June 2026 between 06:00 and 09:00 UTC. None of these are catastrophic, but they are real, and during an outage you cannot spend or load.
The combination that worries me most is platform freeze plus card balance. If Airtm suspends your account while you have a non-zero card balance, the deletion-fee route back to the wallet is not under your control, and any dispute has to navigate the same slow support channels that drive the negative reviews in the first place. The risk is small for any individual user, but it is non-zero, and the only mitigation is to keep the card balance small and to withdraw promptly if you ever need to.
What to take instead of the Airtm card
If Airtm is not the right fit, three comparable crypto cards sit in the same general category: cheap, virtual-first, USDC-funded, with their own trade-offs.
Cardex (5.6/10). Cardex markets itself as one crypto card available in 200+ countries, with no published country list or exclusions. The App Store listing is Naira-focused, which suggests its strongest market is Nigeria. It issues on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, ships virtual and physical cards, and converts crypto to local currency at the moment of payment using what the site calls an AI-powered rate scan. The fee structure is not stated on the public site, and there is no rewards programme documented. It is a more globally available but less transparent option than Airtm.
TakeCard (5.5/10). TakeCard, from the Takenos platform, is a Visa prepaid issued in the United States, denominated in USD, and the only one in this comparison that publishes its fees upfront. A virtual card costs $5; a physical card in Bolivia is $20 plus $20 shipping (a separate article in the same help centre says $10 for the physical card in Bolivia, so the price is genuinely inconsistent). It charges 1% per purchase, USD payments are 1:1 with no currency adjustment, and other currencies use the official Visa rate on the day. Funding comes from the Takenos balance, with USDC and USDT on Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum listed in starting data. The physical card is currently restricted to Bolivian users, which is a serious limitation if you are outside Bolivia.
OkiCard (6.0/10). OkiCard is the closest in spirit to Airtm, but with a different fee shape. It claims 150+ countries (some pages say 200+), issues a virtual card in USD or EUR, and prices the card at $0 issuance and $0 monthly on the pricing page, with a separate starting price of $15 and a one-time issuance fee mentioned in the FAQ — the same kind of internal inconsistency you see on cheaper programmes. Funding is in USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana, with USDC “soon” and BTC and other coins “coming soon”. The load fee is 3%, the USD transaction fee is 0%, and the site claims no hidden exchange spreads, though FX fees for non-USD card currency are not stated. There is no cashback programme.
Across the three, Airtm is the cheapest in steady-state use and the most transparent about who can use it, but it is the weakest on geographic reach (especially outside the Americas), and its platform reputation is the worst of the three for account holds. Cardex is the most globally available but the least transparent. TakeCard is the most explicit on fees and physical card support but is geographically limited for now. OkiCard is the closest competitor on the crypto-card mechanics but the load fee is three times Airtm’s.
Who I would recommend the Airtm card to
I would recommend the Airtm card to a fairly narrow audience. If you live in the United States or Argentina, already use Airtm for its peer-to-peer marketplace, and you want a cheap, no-frills way to turn USDC in your Airtm balance into US dollars you can spend on a Visa, this card is one of the cleanest options on the market. The pricing is honest, the issuer is a real US bank, and the mobile-wallet support is wide enough to cover the day-to-day.
I would steer you away from Airtm if you need a physical card, want to take cash out at an ATM, want to hold more than one currency on the card, or live outside the current list of supported countries. I would also think twice if you cannot tolerate the platform risk: the same platform that offers a free virtual Visa is also the platform that holds a 3-out-of-5 on Trustpilot with recurring complaints about account freezes and slow support. A small card balance that you reload as you need it is the right risk posture for Airtm, not a large standing balance.
If your main problem is being able to spend crypto at all, and you can live with a virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and USD as the only currency, Airtm is a sensible default. If you need anything more — more countries, a physical card, multi-currency, a card that doubles as a rewards product — the alternatives above, or a more established programme, will be a better match.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Airtm card?
The Airtm card is a virtual Visa prepaid debit card issued by Lead Bank, run by Bridge Ventures as programme manager, and accessed through the Airtm app. It is denominated in US dollars, costs nothing to issue or maintain, and is funded from USDC in your Airtm balance.
How does the Airtm card work?
You load USDC into your Airtm wallet, then load the card from that wallet. When you make a purchase, Airtm converts USDC to USD in the background and the card pays the merchant as a normal Visa transaction. The card itself never holds crypto, only USD, and the conversion happens in real time at the moment of spend.
Is Airtm a bank?
No. Airtm is a money services business registered with FinCEN since 2015. The card is issued by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank and FDIC member, but your card balance is prepaid, not a deposit account, and it is not FDIC insured.
Who owns Airtm?
Airtm Inc. is a Delaware corporation with an address of record in Dover, Delaware. The card programme is run by Bridge Ventures LLC, also a Delaware company, and the issuing bank is Lead Bank.
Is the Airtm card available in my country?
The card is available to residents of 15 or more countries, starting with the United States and Argentina and rolling out to Bolivia, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic next. Airtm is not available in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia or the Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea regions of Ukraine, and certain US states (including New York) are excluded. The full list of excluded US states is not stated.
How do I get the Airtm card?
Complete “Special Features KYC” inside the Airtm app with your official ID, open the card page, follow the instructions and wait for approval. If you have already completed Special Features KYC for a US Virtual Account, you do not need to repeat it. Activation takes a few minutes to two business days.
Does the Airtm card require KYC?
Yes. You need to pass Special Features KYC, which captures your name, address, date of birth, government ID number and confirmation that you are at least 18. Standard Airtm account verification is a separate, lower step that you also need to complete before you can reach the card screen.
How do I top up the Airtm card?
Load USDC into your Airtm wallet through any of the 500+ funding methods Airtm supports — bank transfer, crypto deposit, mobile wallet, P2P transfer, or card via MoonPay — and then load the card from your Airtm balance. The supported crypto networks are not stated, so test with a small amount first if you are sending from a non-obvious network. The load fee is 1% on the first $200 per month, capped at $2 USDC, and free beyond that.
Is the Airtm card safe?
It is as safe as the platform underneath it, which is a real US business with a real US issuing bank but a mixed public reputation. Card funds are custodial and not FDIC insured, two-factor authentication is available, and the card can be frozen or deleted from the dashboard. Trustpilot sits at 3 out of 5 over roughly 7,000 reviews, with recurring complaints about account freezes and slow support, so the right risk posture is to keep the card balance small.
Is the Airtm card worth it?
It is worth it if you live in a supported country, hold USDC in Airtm, want a free virtual Visa that works in Apple Pay and Google Pay, and can tolerate a small balance. It is not worth it if you need a physical card, ATM access, multi-currency support, a rewards programme, or a platform with a clean public reputation.
Virtual card options – cryptocardoptions.com
Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team
