Fiat24 no longer opens accounts: what the shutdown means for your money

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you came here looking for a crypto card you could apply for today, stop and read this first. Fiat24 is not issuing cards any more. The site sits in maintenance mode, new applications are closed, and the card page still carries the status line “Coming soon in December 2024” — a promise that was made and never turned into a live launch on that page. On top of that, the user’s own documentation tells a different story: it describes how to activate a virtual card in the dApp and says it is usually ready in seconds. Those two things cannot both describe the same product today. One of them is a leftover from 2024.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
The Fiat24 card programme no longer issues new cards

I scored this card 3.3 out of 10, and the number is not a formality. It reflects a programme that cannot be joined, costs that the official pages do not publish, and a thin, badly rated support record. If you already hold a Fiat24 balance, the situation is different and more urgent: your task is no longer to sign up but to get your money out. If you are simply choosing a card, skip to the alternatives below and pick one of those.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

What happened to the Fiat24 card programme

Three things happened, and they are worth separating because they affect different people.

The launch never completed as announced. The card page says “Coming soon in December 2024”. A Trustpilot review from 26 April 2024 mentions the card launch, and the earliest review in the set is from that date — so the programme was being talked about publicly well before it was meant to go live. When it did not, the user documentation began describing activation steps instead: open the dApp, tap the card icon, and the card is usually ready within seconds. That means at some point a virtual card was reachable for people who already had an account. The official pages simply never caught up with each other.

New customers stopped being accepted. The site is in “maintenance mode” and takes no new applications. There are no published dates for this — no announcement I could find saying when the door closed, or when it might reopen. The documentation also says that from 5 June 2026, new clients receive a USD 30,000 monthly limit, which contradicts a USD 100,000 per 30 days figure stated elsewhere on the same page. It also says limit-upgrade requests are not accepted, that a refund fee applies from 15 May 2026, and that there are forced-exit rules for accounts flagged for sanctions, PEP status, fraud or recalls. That combination reads like a programme being wound down rather than one in maintenance.

Some of the mechanics still work for the people inside. Balances in EUR, USD, CHF and RMB, a “Direct Pay” function that spends the matching balance first to avoid FX fees, and tiered limits by NFT account-number length all remain documented. A bank withdrawal path to your own account is documented too. Those are the parts that matter if you hold a balance.

Here is the score broken down, criterion by criterion, with my reason for each mark:

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Site in maintenance mode, no new applications accepted; card page reads “Coming soon in December 2024”
Cost 5 / 10 Official card fees not disclosed; unofficial sources list issuance, monthly, ATM and top-up as free, but 1–1.75% per crypto deposit plus gas, and a return-payment fee of 1 USD, 1 EUR or 1 CHF
Top-up options 5 / 10 Not disclosed officially; unofficial sources list USDC, USDT, ETH on Arbitrum, and fiat EUR, CHF, USD, RMB
Reliability and complaints 2 / 10 Issuer SR Saphirstein AG is under FINMA supervision, but the site is in maintenance mode; Trustpilot 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews, all 1-star, with support silence and stuck funds
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual Mastercard with no PIN, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay; unofficial sources say no ATM limit, though one aggregator says Apple Pay and Google Pay are absent
Total 3.3 / 10 A closed programme with costs it does not publish

The card itself, where the pages describe one, is a Mastercard debit card. Whether it was virtual or physical is not stated on the card page. Card transactions settle from the available balance in the transaction currency; if that balance is short, you can choose a different primary card currency to cover the shortfall, but split payments are not offered. The card is virtual only, with no PIN and no physical card or shipping mentioned anywhere. It is valid for 5 years and renews automatically unless it has been unused in the 6 months before expiry.

There is no dedicated app. The interface is a web dApp at app.fiat24.com, where you connect a wallet on the Arbitrum network, plus a Telegram bot. App store ratings are not applicable or not found.

Who is eligible is not stated in the way you would expect. The card documentation lists no countries and no citizenship or residence rule. Elsewhere in the user documentation, the rule is that residence must be in an eligible country — the list is at info.fiat24.com/overview and is not named in the docs — nationals of Iran, North Korea and Russia are excluded, and US Persons are excluded. Verification is a single KYC: biometric ID or passport, age over 18, not a US Person, not a PEP, not OFAC or EU sanctioned, GPS location captured, TIN collected, one account per person. Accounts open in under one business day during CET hours. Rejection reasons listed are a domicile, risk profile or background that does not match the business focus, duplicate registration, or failing any criterion. Some emerging countries are limited to CHF 1,000 per 30 days.

If you wanted one of these terms in your own language, that is where to look first — because with a closed programme, the eligibility rules matter less than the exit.

If you already have a Fiat24 card

This is the part of the review I would read twice if it were my money, because it is the only part left that has work attached to it. My advice for existing holders is simple: withdraw your remaining balance. Everything below is in service of that.

Limits by NFT account-number length. These are the official tiers, and they are tied to the NFT that represents your account:

Tier NFT digits Daily limit Monthly limit
Standard 5–8 digits 10,000 EUR/day 20,000 EUR/month
Premium 4 digits 100,000 EUR/day 200,000 EUR/month
Ultimate 3 digits 500,000 EUR/day 1,000,000 EUR/month

A tier rises when the NFT is upgraded — a Premium NFT is bought in the dApp, the price is on the pricing page, paid in Ether or the platform’s native token, and the upgrade completes within 1 business day. Since limit-upgrade requests are not being accepted, this is a fact about a mechanism that is effectively frozen.

Withdrawing to your bank. You pay out to your own bank account in EUR or CHF. First you make a small deposit from that bank account by IBAN to link it; you can link up to 10 accounts per currency. The minimum payout is 100 EUR or CHF. It is booked the same business day if you submit before 15:00 CET, and the next business day if you submit later or at a weekend. A successful payout is free; a returned payout costs 10 EUR or CHF. That 10 EUR return fee is the number to notice, because a wrong IBAN and a second attempt costs you.

Closing the account. Bring balances to zero, then go to id.fiat24.com, Profile, Close Account. Closure is final and a second account is not allowed. KYC data is kept per Swiss AML law — so closing does not delete your identity documents from their records.

How to close the account and get your money out, in order. First, withdraw any balance that will clear the 100 EUR/CHF minimum, using the bank-linking flow above. Second, once the balance reaches zero, close the account at id.fiat24.com under Profile. Third, keep the payout confirmation — if a transfer is returned, you will owe the 10 EUR or CHF return fee, and that is the only thing left to handle.

Top-up and activation, if you are still adding. The card is topped up through the dApp. Activation needs a minimum balance of 10 EUR in the Eurozone, 10 CHF in Switzerland or 10 USD in the rest of the world. Deposit fee, which party pays the network fee, and the fiat top-up options are not stated on these pages. The crypto rails and fiat options you have probably read about — SEPA, SIC, SWIFT, and USDC/USDT/ETH — are unofficial, listed by cryptocards.so in 2026, not by the card.

Support. There is a Telegram bot at t.me/fiat24bot for “General inquiries”, a status page at status.fiat24.com, and presence on X, LinkedIn, Medium and Telegram. No email address and no phone number appear on the site. Languages and hours are not stated. The support situation is not a footnote here — it is the single most common theme in the complaints.

Disputes and refunds. There is no dispute or chargeback procedure described. Refunds usually arrive within up to 7 days, and up to 30 days cross-border. From 15 May 2026 a refund processing fee applies: 1 USD, 1 EUR or 1 CHF per refund (7 CNH), deducted from the refund and capped at the refund amount.

Currencies and conversion. Balances are held in EUR, USD, CHF and RMB. “Direct Pay” per currency spends the matching balance first to avoid FX fees. “Default Card Currency” covers shortfalls, converting the whole amount with no split. Refunds in USD, EUR, CHF or RMB return to the same-currency balance; other currencies convert to the default currency. The amount of the FX fee is not stated.

Two unofficial items contradict the official record and you should treat them with care. One aggregator lists ATM withdrawals as “unlimited”, while the official Standard tier documents a 10,000 EUR daily limit. The same aggregator lists daily spending as USD 9,800 (its own pros list says 9,800 EUR) and monthly as unlimited, which conflicts with the official 20,000 EUR monthly Standard cap. When the unofficial number is higher and the official number is lower, believe the official one — and check your own tier before you rely on any headline limit.

What can go wrong

Since the programme is closed, the risks are less about the card rejecting a payment and more about your money and your data sitting in a system that is winding down. Here is what I found, worst first.

Support silence and stuck funds. Trustpilot, read 2026-10-20, shows 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews — all 1-star, the earliest 26 April 2024 and the latest 13 May 2026. The themes users report: unresponsive support across email, Telegram and Discord with the bot looping back; a card held on pre-authorisation or funds not released; a SEPA transfer arriving weeks late plus about 50 EUR in fees after re-routing; and scammers posing as support in community channels. That last one deserves a line of its own: when a platform’s own users report people impersonating its support, treat any message offering to “unlock” or “verify” your account as an attempt to steal from you.

Fees the official pages do not publish. The card documentation has no fees section and no conversion or FX fee. The unofficial list — issuance, monthly, ATM, FX, top-up and declines as free — comes from cryptocards.so in 2026 and is not confirmed by the card. Against that, the same source reports “1–1.75% de frais de dépôt crypto plus gas”, and users on Trustpilot say the same roughly 50 EUR fee appeared on a SEPA transfer that was routed as TARGET2. Crypto top-up costs are charged by the blockchain as well as the provider, so a deposit can carry two separate fees.

Identity checks that go further than expected. A third-party aggregator, unverified and with no linked reviews, collects user reports of invasive ID checks, fees on crypto top-ups, support so slow that funds were reportedly frozen with emails unanswered for more than 90 days, and a January 2025 ban on third-party bank deposits for standard users. I am passing these on as reported themes, not as verified facts. The forced-exit rules for sanctions, PEP, fraud and recalls in the documentation are the part that is official, and they are a reminder that an account can be closed from the other side without your asking.

A card that behaves like a prepaid card and a wallet at once. Fiat24 uses self-custody: you connect your own wallet, the account is an NFT in it, and if the private key is stolen you move funds quickly — nothing recovers them for you. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on a network the card does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. The card side has real safeguards: a 3-D Secure one-time password by email, an automatic block for unusual activity, and the ability to lock and unblock the card in the dApp, where each action locks changes for 24 hours.

What the operator is and is not. The card issuer is SR Saphirstein AG in Switzerland, BIN 5481 0849, and the operator SR Saphirstein AG holds a Swiss Fintech licence under Art. 1b Banking Act with FINMA supervision. That is real regulatory supervision and it is better than nothing. But deposit insurance is not stated, and a supervised e-money licence is not the same as a bank deposit guarantee. Under EU e-money rules an EMI must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, and such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. Rewards are not stated; an unofficial source lists no cashback, staking, welcome or referral, and one undated Chinese-language user mentions cashback up to 3% offset by fees.

Where the card works. Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and most digital wallets are supported, and payments are refused for OFAC-sanctioned countries and entities. Some transaction types are limited in certain countries: public transport, utility bills, in-flight shopping, and fine dining in the USA. Restricted merchant categories beyond that are not stated. Note the contradiction: cryptocards.so says there is no Apple Pay or Google Pay, which conflicts with the official page. Where they disagree, the official page wins.

What to take instead

Since Fiat24 no longer issues cards, the practical question is what to look at instead. I have three alternatives from the same category, each scored on the same criteria, so the comparison is like for like. Here is how they line up:

Alternative Score Card Where it is available What stands out
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no country list or exclusions; app listing is Naira-focused Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate”; no fee percentage stated
MSX 6.4 / 10 not stated officially not stated on an official page I could read The highest score of the three, on little published detail
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores; type and currency not stated 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; a named list of unsupported countries 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber; page says “No extra fees”

I want to be straight about what these tables can and cannot tell you. Cardex publishes more than the others — its networks, its card types, its funding coins (USDT, USUSDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated) — but its cost is not stated and its App Store listing is aimed at Nigerian users paying in Naira, so the fit outside Nigeria is worth checking yourself. MSX scored highest, 6.4, but almost nothing official was readable: card, cost, fees, funding and rewards are all not stated on an official page. A high score on thin disclosure is not a recommendation; it is a reason to ask harder questions before you commit.

Whop Cards are the most transparent about where they do and do not work. Consumers are covered in 31 US states, listed individually from Alabama to Wyoming; businesses in 41. Unsupported consumer countries are named: Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam; unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. The basis — citizenship or residence — is not stated, which matters if you hold two passports. Spending comes from a Whop balance: a pending balance becomes usable as soon as a payment arrives, standard withdrawals use settled funds, and the starting data is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, though coins and networks are not stated. Rewards are 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned; payout currency and conditions are not stated.

Pros Cons
Fiat24 (for reference) FINMA-supervised issuer; tiered limits up to 500,000 EUR/day; virtual card, no PIN Closed to new applicants; site in maintenance mode; fees unpublished; Trustpilot 2.2 from 8 all-1-star reviews; support silence reported
Cardex Four networks; virtual and physical; conversion at the moment of payment Cost not stated; Naira-focused listing
MSX Highest score of the three Almost nothing stated on official pages
Whop Cards “No extra fees”; 5% cashback at select merchants; clear US state coverage and named exclusions US-state focus; rewards conditions and payout currency not stated

One last piece of general background, because it applies to all of these and to the closed Fiat24 programme as well. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. That is the pattern Fiat24 appears to be in, which is exactly why I would not sit on a balance.

Regulation is also worth one paragraph for anyone choosing between these. Under the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, MiCA (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114), the rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they are granted or refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first, and ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers that you can check. A card itself is a payment service regulated separately, so a crypto card often rests on two licences: one for the crypto side, one for the payment side.

Who I would recommend it to

Honestly, to almost no one as a card to get. A 3.3 out of 10 is not a card recommendation; it is a wind-down notice.

There are two audiences, and they need opposite advice.

If you do not hold an account, this is not for you. The programme is closed, the pages contradict each other, and the costs are not published. Whatever made you look at Fiat24 — a card in a country where an ordinary bank card is hard to get, a way to spend crypto balances, spending limits that scale — those needs are real, and they are served better by a provider you can actually join. Read the alternatives above, then read the fees on the provider’s own site rather than an aggregator’s.

If you do hold a balance, this is urgent and the order matters. Withdraw what you can, then close the account, and keep the payout confirmation in case a transfer is returned and you owe the 10 EUR or CHF return fee. Before you withdraw, note two details that will bite if you miss them: the minimum payout is 100 EUR or CHF, so a balance below that needs handling carefully, and your bank account must be linked first with a small IBAN deposit. And be alert to impersonators — the people who lost money to this card did not all lose it to the card.

What I would not do is treat a maintenance-mode site as a temporary inconvenience and wait. There is no published reopening date, no announcement of one, and a documentation page that is already describing forced exits and refusing limit upgrades. If the closure is temporary, you will hear it from the status page. If it is not, your money is better out.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Fiat24 card?

Fiat24 is a Swiss crypto card programme issued by SR Saphirstein AG (BIN 5481 0849), a Mastercard debit card that spends a balance you top up, partly in crypto. The account is represented by an NFT in a self-custody wallet. The programme no longer issues cards: the site is in maintenance mode and takes no new applications.

How does the Fiat24 card work?

You top up a balance in EUR, USD, CHF or RMB through the dApp. “Direct Pay” spends the matching currency first to avoid conversion fees; a shortfall is covered by converting in the Default Card Currency. The card is virtual, has no PIN, and renews automatically after 5 years unless unused for 6 months.

Is Fiat24 a bank?

No. It is a Swiss Fintech licence under Art. 1b Banking Act with FINMA supervision, held by SR Saphirstein AG, and the card issuer is a separate entity, SR Saphirstein AG. Deposit insurance is not stated, and safeguarded e-money funds are not the same as bank deposits or covered by deposit guarantee schemes.

Who owns Fiat24, and who runs it?

The operator and card issuer named in the documentation is SR Saphirstein AG in Switzerland. The card pages name no countries and no citizenship rule; the user documentation says residence must be in an eligible country listed at info.fiat24.com/overview, and excludes nationals of Iran, North Korea and Russia, and US Persons.

Can I still apply for a Fiat24 card?

No. The site is in “maintenance mode” and no new applications are accepted, with no published dates. The card page still reads “Coming soon in December 2024”, while the user documentation describes activating a card in seconds — a contradiction you should treat as a reason not to rely on this programme.

How do I withdraw my money from Fiat24?

Pay out to your own EUR or CHF bank account: link it first with a small IBAN deposit (up to 10 per currency), then withdraw with a 100 EUR or CHF minimum. It is booked the same business day before 15:00 CET, otherwise the next business day; a successful payout is free, a returned one costs 10 EUR or CHF.

How do I close my Fiat24 account?

Bring the balance to zero first, then go to id.fiat24.com, Profile, Close Account. Closure is final and a second account is not allowed. Your KYC data is kept per Swiss AML law, so closing does not delete your identity documents from their records.

Is the Fiat24 card safe?

The issuer is FINMA-supervised and the card uses a 3-D Secure one-time password by email with an automatic block for unusual activity. But Trustpilot shows 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews, all 1-star, with themes of support silence, funds held, and scammers posing as support. Deposit insurance is not stated.

Is the Fiat24 card free, and what are the fees?

The official card pages list no fees. Unofficial sources list issuance, monthly, ATM, FX, top-up and declines as free, but 1–1.75% per crypto deposit plus gas, and users report about 50 EUR on a re-routed SEPA transfer. A refund processing fee applies from 15 May 2026, deducted from the refund amount.

What should I use instead of Fiat24?

Alternatives include Cardex (5.6/10), a debit card on four networks with real-time conversion; MSX (6.4/10), which scored highest despite thin official details; and Whop Cards (5.2/10), which covers 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses with named exclusions and 5% cashback. Always check each provider’s own site before committing.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team