The card that spends your collateral, and what that costs
If you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card — because of where you live, what documents you hold, or a banking system that will not open an account for you — a crypto card is one of the few routes that can still leave you with something you can tap in a shop. Pay3 is one of those cards. It is a Visa, virtual and physical, funded by collateral you already hold, and it is open almost everywhere except a defined set of restricted locations. That is genuinely useful. It is also a young product from a Hong Kong company that says plainly it is not a bank, and a number of the things you would want to know before handing it money are simply not published.

I have read the card’s own pages and terms, and I have looked at what the alternatives offer on the same points, so you can see where the trade-offs sit. What follows is an assessment, not a recommendation to sign up.
Conditions here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score: 6.3 out of 10
Pay3 scores 6.3 out of 10 overall. That is not a dismissal. It is a card that does one thing — turn collateral into everyday Visa spending — with fewer restrictions than almost anything comparable, and with a physical card, mobile wallets and near-zero top-up fees. It loses ground on the things that make a card trustworthy over years: a published fee schedule that does not quite agree with itself, no insurance or guarantee scheme, an issuer whose country is not stated, and almost no public track record either way.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Open outside “Restricted Locations”, but that list is not published and may change without notice; a US citizen needs a declaration of non-citizenship |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance “starts at $5”, spending from $0.15; conversion “from 1.15%”, foreign-exchange and cross-border fees up to 3% |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Stablecoins or fiat into a multi-currency account; top-up fee 0%, but no coins or networks named |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Pay3 Limited, Hong Kong, 2024; “not a bank”; issuer named Third National; no insurance scheme; few complaints, but also almost no public history |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATMs “may support” withdrawals |
The card is built for a specific person: someone already holding crypto or stablecoins who wants the flexibility of a Visa without selling into a spot market at the wrong moment, and who values a wide geographic reach more than a long, well-documented history. If that is you, the case is straightforward. If you want a card with a published monthly fee, a named local issuer, a deposit guarantee and a decade of operating history, this is not that card, and no amount of low conversion fees will change it.
Will they give you the card?
Pay3 says it is open to users outside its “Restricted Locations” — countries under trade sanctions, export controls, or crypto and fintech prohibitions. Users, citizens and residents of those locations are excluded outright.
That is the whole eligibility statement as far as the public pages go, and it leaves three things you cannot answer from them.
First, the list of restricted locations is not published. It may change without notice. So “open almost everywhere” is true of the policy and unverifiable in practice: two people with the same passport and address can be treated differently as the list shifts underneath them.
Second, there is a United States carve-out that catches people out. The card terms require you to attest that you are not a US citizen. This is not a formality bolted onto a global product; it is a statement on the application you make yourself. If you are a US citizen, the honest answer is that this card is not for you, and no amount of crypto in your account changes that.
Third, and most practically for you: residence and citizenship are recorded and screened separately. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are applied to citizenship and country of birth, not just to the country you live in. A card that is open “outside restricted locations” is still a card that will look at your nationality.
If your situation is a refused bank account rather than a preference for crypto, read the sanctions sentence as a hard boundary and check your own nationality against it before anything else. Everything else in this review assumes you are inside it.
How to get it
The route is short and it runs through the app. Identity verification happens once, through a provider called Sumsub inside the app, and that same verification is reused across the card, the account and the swaps — you do not re-upload documents for each product. The process is: verify in the app, apply for the card, fund it.
The age floor is 18, or whatever the legal age is where you are.
An extra document, such as proof of address, may be requested. That depends on the partner institution and on your region, which means the same application can be smooth for one person and a document chase for another.
Once approved, there are three forms of card: a virtual card in the app, a physical card, and cards you add to Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card is a Visa — the terms say it is issued “under licence from Visa”, which is the standard wording for a card programme run by a licensed issuer rather than by Visa itself.
Delivery is where the detail thins out. The virtual card is ready right after application. The physical card takes “3–5 business days”. Countries served, shipping cost and replacement cost are not stated. If you lose the card, you can replace it through the account and get a new number.
| Step | What happens | What is not published |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | One verification through Sumsub, reused across card, account and swaps | Levels, processing time, rejection reasons |
| Documents | ID, plus proof of address on request | Which partner asks for what, by region |
| Age | 18 or the local legal age | Whether higher limits exist for some ages |
| Activation | Virtual card immediately; physical card in 3–5 business days | Countries, shipping and replacement cost |
| Failure | Failed KYC may lead to suspension | Grounds, and how long suspension lasts |
One caution on the KYC itself. Verification levels, how long a check takes, and the reasons a check can be refused are not published. You are accepting an unknown turnaround on the one step that everything else waits behind. If you need a working card this week rather than this month, that matters.
Fees: what it really costs
Here is where a card like this either earns its place or does not. Pay3’s headline numbers are genuinely cheap; its edge-case numbers are the ones that will actually appear on your statement, because the expensive part is never buying a coffee in your own currency — it is everything else.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Starts at $5 |
| Card spend | From $0.15 per transaction |
| Monthly or annual fee | Not stated |
| Currency conversion | From 1.15% |
| Foreign exchange fee (non-USD) | Up to 3% |
| Cross-border fee | Up to 3% |
| Foreign transaction fee | Up to 3% |
| Top-up fee | 0% |
| ATM | Physical cards “may support” withdrawals; fee and allowance not stated |
| Cash advances and balance transfers | Not available |
| Spending limit | Equals the USD market value of posted collateral |
| Withdrawal fees | Not stated |
The card currency is not stated outright. A non-USD foreign-exchange fee is quoted, which implies the card settles in US dollars and that spending elsewhere adds a layer on top of the conversion.
Three ordinary payments, so the percentages land on something real:
- A coffee at home, in your own currency, on a virtual card. The simplest case. From $0.15 per transaction, plus whatever conversion applies between your balance and the card currency.
- A card payment abroad, in a foreign currency. Here the layers stack: conversion from 1.15%, plus a foreign-exchange fee on non-USD spending up to 3%, plus a cross-border fee up to 3%. The combined cost can be significant before anything else — and which of those fees applies to your payment is exactly what the pages do not make clear.
- Withdrawing cash. The platform terms say physical cards “may support” ATM withdrawals, subject to partner policies; the card terms do not mention ATMs at all. The fee and the allowance are not stated. This is the least predictable line in the table.
Two limits deserve attention. First, the spending limit is not a number — it is whatever your collateral is currently worth, and Pay3 may change it with or without notice, including down to zero. If the market moves against you on a weekend, your available balance moves with it. Second, the card names two tiers, a Pay3 Credit Card and a Pay3 Black, and the differences between them are not published on the pages I read. You cannot currently compare what you would be choosing between.
Fees vary by card type, currency and location, which is a fair thing for a card to say and an unhelpful thing for you to plan around.
How to Top up
Adding funds is free, and the top-up fee is stated as 0%. That is the strongest number on this page.

The mechanics are that you deposit stablecoins, or fiat into a multi-currency account. The account shows cash, stablecoin and card balances together, which makes it easy to see what is spendable and what is sitting still.
The card is collateral-based, and this is the concept worth understanding rather than skipping. The collateral sets your limit. What you post is what you can spend. That is the design: it is why there are no fixed limits, why there is no credit line to run up, and why the collateral is what stands behind the balance.
What is missing is the part you would need before pressing send: the specific coins and networks are not listed on the site. Minimum top-up amounts are not stated. Who pays the network fee is not stated. And on-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card company, so a transfer still costs something at the other end.
That combination matters more than it sounds. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost entirely or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. With no published network list, you are relying on the app to tell you the right network at the moment of transfer. Take a screenshot before you send.
Withdrawals are available, though fees are not stated, and the terms describe no withdrawal process. If you close the account, extra verification may be needed to retrieve residual balances — worth knowing before you ever need it.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card scores best, at 8 out of 10, and it is easy to see why. You get a virtual Visa for the app, a physical Visa for the real world, and Apple Pay and Google Pay for the phone in your hand. For someone who has been without a normal card, that combination is the whole product.
The virtual card is available essentially immediately after application, so you are not waiting on post to buy anything. Apple Pay and Google Pay mean the number never has to leave your phone: the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. It is a genuinely better security posture than a plastic card in a wallet.
Two caveats sit underneath this. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, though cash-like transactions — foreign currency, crypto, money order type purchases — may be limited. And rewards are not stated at all. There is an unofficial claim, from a third-party comparison site rather than the card, that the Black tier carries no spend cashback and offers only non-transferable referral points redeemable against card issuance. Treat that as unconfirmed.
The app is at app.pay-3.io, described as a Telegram Mini App and web app. There is no stated App Store or Google Play listing or rating, so you cannot check what other people think of it before installing it.
If a payment goes wrong, the route is defined: try the merchant first, report the disputed charge within 60 days of posting, and the chargeback is started through your Pay3 account under the card-network rules. Unresolved complaints after 60 days go to HKIAC arbitration. Sixty days is a real window and it is not long — note the date down.
| What you do | What the card offers | What is not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Pay online | Virtual Visa, 3-D Secure where the merchant asks | Blocked merchant categories |
| Pay in a shop | Physical Visa, 3–5 business days | Delivery countries, shipping cost |
| Pay by phone | Apple Pay, Google Pay | Whether the token can be restricted per channel |
| Pay abroad | Foreign-exchange and cross-border fees apply | Which combination of fees a given payment incurs |
| Pay with crypto | Crypto is converted to a card balance | The rate and its spread in practice |
| Recover a bad payment | Dispute within 60 days, chargeback under network rules | Typical resolution time |
What can go wrong
The serious risks here are structural, not technical.
There is no insurance and no guarantee scheme. The terms state plainly that there is no insurance or guarantee covering balances. If the issuer fails, or the programme is wound down, the pattern in this industry is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026; that is a single unconfirmed source, but the shape of it is the ordinary shape. Debit card balances are not bank deposits and should not be read as protected ones.
The card is not run by a bank. Pay3 Limited was incorporated in Hong Kong in 2024 and describes itself as a fintech company, not a bank, serving customers through licensed partner providers. The issuer is named as Third National, with no country stated. Licences are not named. The card itself is issued under Visa’s licence, which means Visa’s rules and risk appetite sit behind it — and Visa has terminated programmes in this space before, ending its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, after which the US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes.
Custody is not the issue, but collateral is. Pay3 states that it does not offer custody of any digital or fiat assets, and that only the amount needed to repay debt is liquidated. Your keys stay yours. The trade is that your collateral is exposed to market movement, and your limit can be reduced to zero without notice.
Stablecoins are not what their name suggests. A stablecoin aims to hold a steady value, and the ones that matter most — Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC, together about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation by the BIS in July 2025 — can still move. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC lost its peg temporarily in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. They are also not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
Fees are inconsistent in the terms. The card terms show a returned-payment fee of $29 in one table and $50.00 in section 7.1(b). A document that disagrees with itself about a fee is a document to ask about before you are charged one.
Support is thin and thin on paper. Contact runs through [email protected], a Telegram channel, and an X account; hours are not stated. Unofficial user reports from 2026 describe very little organic community evidence, a card failing to open with an error, and support reachable mainly through a Telegram bot or the help section. No Trustpilot page was found for Pay3. I found no official incidents either — which for a company this young is less reassuring than it sounds.
Two-factor authentication and card freeze are not mentioned anywhere in the terms I read. Those are the first two things people look for in a card’s security controls, and their absence here is a real gap rather than a formatting detail.
One last thing that belongs in this section rather than the tax one: every card payment funded from crypto can be a separate taxable disposal in your jurisdiction, because digital assets are generally treated as property and spending them is a disposal. I am not going to advise you on this — but you should read the local rules yourself, because a card that feels like ordinary spending is the part of crypto that most often produces a tax surprise.
What to take instead
Three cards come up constantly in this category, and comparing them on the same four axes — who can hold it, what it costs, how you fund it, what you get back — says more than any single review.
| Pay3 | Nexo | Exa | Cardex | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.3 / 10 | 6.3 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 |
| Who | Outside “Restricted Locations”; list unpublished; not for US citizens | Residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the UK; no list published | Issued in 45 countries and 31 US states; 18 ineligible countries including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam, Russia | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no list or exclusions |
| Form | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay, Google Pay | Virtual and physical, issued by DiPocket UAB; network not stated explicitly | Virtual Visa Signature; physical card not confirmed | Virtual and physical across VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay |
| Cost | Issuance from $5, spend from $0.15, no monthly fee stated | No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; virtual card needs at least $50 to activate; physical card free shipping but needs Gold tier and a balance above $5,000 | Marketed as free, no amounts published | Not stated |
| Funding | Stablecoins or fiat into a multi-currency account; coins and networks not listed | Over 100 digital assets; Debit Mode spends stablecoins, crypto and FiatX | Account funds and collateral in a self-custody app; coins and networks not stated | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets |
| Rewards | Not stated | Cashback in NEXO token or Bitcoin, Credit Mode only, above $5,000 in digital assets: Platinum 2%/0.5%, Gold 1%/0.3%, Silver 0.7%/0.2%, Base 0.5%/0.1% | No cashback; “earn while you spend” refers to yield on assets | Not stated |
Nexo is the one to look at if you want a published, tier-based rewards structure and a long operating history, and the one to skip if you are outside Europe. Its eligibility is narrower by wording — citizens *and* residents of selected European countries — and no country list is published. Its fee profile is the most transparent of the four on the FX side: 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA, the UK and Switzerland, rising to 0.7% at weekends, with 2% and 2.5% for the rest of the world. Its crypto conversion fee is not stated. Its rewards are real but gated: cashback applies only in Credit Mode, only above $5,000 in digital assets, and pays in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin. One caution, reported by Cointelegraph rather than by Nexo: a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations, with no official Nexo statement on the matter.
Exa has the widest published country list of the three — 45 countries including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, conditional in Nigeria, plus 31 US states — and names its 18 ineligible countries outright, including Russia, with Russian residents unable to be issued a card and spending in Russia blocked. Its limits are the strictest: a physical card needs a balance above $5,000 and a Gold tier, with free shipping. The Virtual Visa Signature is accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries. The catch is that the details you would use to compare are not published — no fee amounts, no coin or network list, no cashback. “Earn while you spend” refers to yield on your assets, not to spending.
Cardex is the least documented. It runs on four networks — VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay — offers virtual and physical cards, and funds from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets. It claims an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one at the moment of spend. No fee percentage is stated, no country list or exclusions are given, and its app store listing is Naira-focused.
The honest summary: if you are in Europe and want clarity about fees, Nexo publishes more than Pay3 does. If you are in the US or Japan or Kenya and outside Europe, Exa tells you more about whether you can hold it at all, and less about what it costs. If you need a card that works across many networks regardless of issuer, Cardex is the one that names them. And if you already hold crypto and want no monthly fee and no published limits tied to a jurisdiction list, Pay3 remains the most flexible of the four — with the least published about who is really on the other side of it.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Pay3 to someone in a specific position: you already hold stablecoins or crypto, you cannot get a normal card, you travel or buy from more than one currency, and you have read the terms and accept that there is no deposit protection and no published network list.
Specifically, I think it fits:
- Someone whose banking route is genuinely closed. Not someone who prefers a crypto card for the returns — there are no returns stated.
- Someone who needs a physical card and a phone wallet quickly, in places where a card in the post is not a small thing.
- Someone who can absorb the worst case: the limit cut to zero on a bad market day, the card programme suspended, and a balance withdrawn with no insurance behind it.
I would not recommend it, and would look elsewhere first, to someone who:
- Is a US citizen, or is unsure about their citizenship status. The attestation is unambiguous.
- Lives in a jurisdiction where you need a locally regulated, licensed provider in front of your money.
- Needs published limits, a stated monthly fee, a named issuer country, or a rewards structure you can calculate in advance.
- Plans to hold a large balance on the card. The absence of any insurance or guarantee scheme makes that a decision about counterparty risk, not convenience.
- Needs cash regularly. Cash advances are not available, ATM support is only “may support”, and the fee and allowance are not stated.
The decision comes down to one question. If your problem is that no bank will have you, this card removes that problem for 6.3 out of 10 reasons. If your problem is which card gives the best deal on spending, Pay3’s fees are competitive but its disclosure is not, and you should pick the competitor that publishes its numbers — Nexo on fees, Exa on eligibility, Cardex on networks.
What I would not do is decide on the marketing. There is a Grow product “coming soon” and an Autopilot feature “in development”, and no dated events behind them. Judging this card on what is coming rather than what is published is how people end up surprised.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Pay3 card?
Pay3 is a collateral-based Visa card that converts crypto or stablecoins into a spendable card balance. You post collateral, and your spending limit equals its US-dollar market value. It offers a virtual card available right after application, a physical card arriving in three to five business days, and cards for Apple Pay and Google Pay. Pay3 Limited, incorporated in Hong Kong in 2024, describes itself as a fintech company, not a bank.
How does the Pay3 card work?
You verify your identity once in the app through Sumsub, apply for the card, and fund it. Money comes from stablecoins or from fiat deposited into a multi-currency account that shows cash, stablecoin and card balances together. Because the card is collateral-based, what you post as collateral is what you can spend, and Pay3 may change that limit with or without notice, including reducing it to zero.
Who can get a Pay3 card?
Pay3 is open to users outside its “Restricted Locations”, which cover countries under trade sanctions, export controls, or crypto and fintech prohibitions. The list is not published and may change without notice. Users, citizens and residents of restricted locations are excluded, and the card terms require you to attest that you are not a US citizen. Citizenship and residence are screened separately from each other.
Does the Pay3 card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification happens once through Sumsub inside the app, and the same verification is reused across the card, the account and the swaps. You must be 18 or the local legal age. An extra document such as proof of address may be requested depending on the partner and your region. Verification levels, processing times and rejection reasons are not published, and failed checks may lead to suspension.
What does it cost to use the Pay3 card?
Card issuance starts at $5 and spending starts at $0.15 per transaction; no monthly or annual fee is stated. Currency conversion is from 1.15%. Foreign-exchange, cross-border and foreign-transaction fees each go up to 3%, so a payment abroad can carry several of them at once. Adding funds is free, with a stated top-up fee of 0%. ATM fees and allowances are not stated.
How do I top up the Pay3 card?
You deposit stablecoins, or fiat into a multi-currency account, and adding funds is free at a stated 0% top-up fee. The catch is that the specific coins and networks are not listed on the site, minimum amounts are not stated, and who pays the network fee is not stated — on-chain fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Pay3. Transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on an unsupported network or to a wrong-network address can be lost.
Is the Pay3 card safe?
Treat “safe” as two separate questions. Custody is not the concern: Pay3 states it does not take custody of digital or fiat assets and liquidates only what is needed to repay debt. Protection against loss is. The terms state there is no insurance and no guarantee scheme, Pay3 is not a bank, the issuer is named as Third National with no country given, and licences are not named. Two-factor authentication and card freeze are not mentioned in the terms.
What is Pay3 Black, and does it pay cashback?
The card materials name a Pay3 Credit Card and a Pay3 Black, but the differences between the tiers are not published, so you cannot currently compare what you would be choosing. Rewards are not stated. A third-party site reports no spend cashback on Black and only non-transferable referral points redeemable against card issuance, but that is unofficial and not confirmed by Pay3 — treat it as a claim to check rather than a feature list.
Can I use the Pay3 card abroad, and where?
You can spend on the card internationally, and Pay3’s own pages do not name any country restrictions on spending; the restriction is on who can hold the card, not where it travels. The cost of using it abroad is where care is needed: conversion starts at 1.15%, and foreign-exchange, cross-border and foreign-transaction fees each reach up to 3%. ATM withdrawals are only “may support” on physical cards, subject to partner policies.
What happens if I need to withdraw money or close the account?
Withdrawals are available, but fees are not stated and the terms describe no withdrawal process. If you terminate the account, extra verification may be needed to retrieve residual balances. If you have a payment dispute, try the merchant first, report it within 60 days of posting, and the chargeback runs through your Pay3 account under card-network rules; unresolved complaints after 60 days go to HKIAC arbitration.
Credit and cashback card options – cryptocardoptions.com
Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team
