A cheap-to-run crypto card for European holders of large balances, gated by high thresholds
If you want to spend crypto like ordinary money without giving up control of what you hold, the Nexo card is one of the more reasonable places to start. There is no monthly or annual fee, the foreign-exchange fee is 0.2% on a weekday inside the EEA, the UK and Switzerland, and both a virtual and a plastic card exist. But the conditions are not gentle: the plastic card is only issued if you hold at least Gold tier and more than $5,000 in digital assets, cashback exists only above $5,000 and only in Credit Mode, and the page itself does not publish which countries are covered.

The conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for it is 6.3 out of 10. That is not a bad score for a card in this category — several of the better-known alternatives sit in the same band. It reflects a product with genuinely good running costs attached to fairly demanding entry conditions.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Selected European countries, including the EEA and the UK; an unofficial list of 30 countries exists (Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States excluded) but no official list is published |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No monthly or annual fee, issuance is free, FX 0.2% on weekdays within the EEA/UK and 2% outside; an unofficial crypto swap fee of 0.75% sits on top of FX, and the ATM charge above the free allowance is 2% |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Spends from the Nexo account with 100+ assets, stablecoins and FiatX in Debit Mode; networks are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer DiPocket UAB (Bank of Lithuania) is named; Trustpilot 4.4, but complaints cover withdrawal delays and closed accounts, a raid in Bulgaria, the MiCA move to partners, and confusion over ordering plastic; unofficial: no cardholder insurance |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATMs; the plastic card is conditional on Gold tier and $5,000 |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | Good everyday mechanics, held back by eligibility opacity and entry thresholds |
Who I think this suits: Europeans who already hold a large crypto balance on Nexo, mostly in stablecoins, and who want a card that spends it directly with cashback. That is the audience this card is built for, and if you are in it, the running costs are hard to argue with. Who it does not suit: anyone who wants to start small, anyone outside Europe, and anyone who wants to know exactly which countries are allowed — because the card page does not say.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: if you live in, and hold citizenship of, a selected European country including the EEA and the United Kingdom, you are in the intended audience. But the page does not give you a list, so “selected” is doing a lot of work.
The wording is citizens *and* residents — both matter, not just your address. The card page names no excluded jurisdictions either, saying only that it is “not available in certain jurisdictions”. A third-party site (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) lists availability in 30 countries: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom, with restricted access in Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States. That is unofficial and not confirmed by the card, so treat it as a starting point rather than an answer.
You need identity verification with a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. Proof of address is not stated on the page, and neither is a minimum age. The card page publishes one verification level only: there are no tiers of verification described, no processing times, and no stated rejection reasons.
One thing you should know before you apply: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations, with no official Nexo statement about Russians found. It is news rather than an official statement, but it is the kind of thing that can turn an application into an enquiry.
How to get it
You apply through the Nexo app and pass identity verification first; the card then lives inside that app rather than in a separate application. There is a virtual card, which activates in the app, and a physical one.
The virtual card is the low-friction route. It needs at least $50 in the account to activate — that is the only entry requirement at this level, and it is the one most people can actually meet.
The physical card is a different proposition. You order it in the app (Card tab, then Order Nexo Card) at no additional cost, standard delivery is up to 4 weeks, it may be delivered to your local Post Office, and it must be activated in the app once it arrives. The country list and the replacement-card cost are not stated.
Two things are worth flagging. First, the card page carries a Mastercard trademark notice but does not explicitly name the card network; a third-party site lists it as Mastercard, which is unofficial and not confirmed by the card. Second, availability of the physical card is disputed: statements around the MiCA transition conflict on whether plastic can be ordered at all right now. That does not affect the virtual card, but if you want plastic, confirm it inside the app before you commit money.
Fees: what it really costs
No monthly fee, no annual fee, no inactivity fee, and issuance is free. That is the headline, and it is genuinely rare in this category. The costs that do exist sit in three places: currency conversion, cash withdrawal, and the thresholds themselves.

| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Monthly, annual, inactivity fee | None |
| Virtual card activation | At least $50 in the account |
| Physical card | Free shipping; requires more than $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier |
| FX fee, weekday | 0.2% (EEA/UK/CH); 2% rest of world |
| FX fee, weekend | 0.7% (EEA/UK/CH); 2.5% rest of world |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated; card spends stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx in Debit Mode |
| Unofficially, Debit Mode swap | 0.75%, and it can stack with FX fees |
| ATM free allowance, Base | EUR 200 / GBP 180 per month |
| ATM free allowance, Silver | EUR 400 / GBP 360 per month |
| ATM free allowance, Gold | EUR 1,000 / GBP 900 per month |
| ATM free allowance, Platinum | EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800 per month |
| ATM above the allowance | 2% fee, minimum 1.99 EUR/GBP per withdrawal |
| Daily and monthly spend limits | Not stated; the page says only that clients with $100,000 in assets get higher Nexo Card spending limits |
Three everyday payments, so you can see what actually lands on you:
Coffee in an eurozone country on a Tuesday. 0.2% FX and nothing else, if your card currency matches. This is the case the fees are designed for.
A subscription billed in dollars while your balance sits in EURx. 0.2% on a weekday, rising to 0.7% at the weekend. And if the balance is not already a stablecoin, an unofficial Debit Mode swap fee of 0.75% may apply on top. That combination is the one to watch.
Withdrawing cash in a currency other than your card’s. You get the free monthly allowance by tier — EUR 200 at Base up to EUR 2,000 at Platinum — then 2% on the rest, with a floor of 1.99 EUR or GBP per withdrawal. Note that the free allowance is quoted in EUR and GBP, which hints at the card currencies without ever naming one.
One detail that catches people out: the card currency is chosen when you activate the virtual card, and it cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen. If you pick the wrong one, the page tells you to contact Nexo.
Top up the card
The simplest answer is that there is nothing to top up. The card spends directly from your Nexo account balance — whatever sits there is what the card draws on.

That balance can be over 100 digital assets, and in Debit Mode the card spends stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets. FiatX are Nexo’s own fiat-denominated tokens: the page names EURx, USDx and GBPx as examples. Cashback, where you are eligible for it, arrives in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin.
What you will not find on the page: deposit fees, minimum top-up amounts, and the fiat top-up options and their fees are all not stated. Networks are not applicable or not stated. Neither is the withdrawal picture — how you get money out is not described on the card page at all. If any of that is what you are deciding on, ask support directly; I cannot tell you from the published material.
Paying with it every day
Day to day this is the strongest part of the card, and the 8 out of 10 in the table is not generous.
Both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, which is how most people will actually use it — tokenised, one device number, dynamic security code per payment. There is a virtual card for the phone and a physical card for the rest.
Cashback is the feature that requires attention, because of *where* it applies. It is paid only on purchases made in Credit Mode, only if your account holds more than $5,000 in digital assets, and it is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, with the payout currency changeable. By tier:
| Tier | Cashback in NEXO | Cashback in BTC |
|---|---|---|
| Platinum | 2% | 0.5% |
| Gold | 1% | 0.3% |
| Silver | 0.7% | 0.2% |
| Base | 0.5% | 0.1% |
Tiers run from Base through Silver, Gold and Platinum, set by the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio. Rates may change and vary by region. Loyalty Programme members also earn “up to 13%” on idle funds, with the per-tier rate not stated.
The app itself is decent: iOS across iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Apple Vision, rated 4.2 out of 5 on the App Store with “2K” ratings when I read it on 2026-10-20, and the interface is in 18 languages including Russian, Ukrainian, Kazakh and Uzbek. The Google Play listing I did not read. Whether gambling and similar merchant categories are blocked is not stated.
What can go wrong
This is where the 5 out of 10 comes from, and it is worth reading carefully — most of it is not about the card.
Regulatory restructuring. In June 2026 Nexo said on social media it had set up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight with products unchanged — a company post seen on X, not a regulator record. The MiCA transitional period ended 1 July 2026. In August and September 2026, independent checks of the ESMA register found no entity named Nexo among authorised CASPs. EEA custody and trading run through partners: Tangany for custody, DLT Finance for trading. A Bulgarian FSC application was reportedly filed in February 2026 and is still pending per a third-party report. Against that, the card issuer DiPocket UAB is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania — a separate question from the MiCA one, and a reassuring one for the card itself.
The entity behind the card is not fully named. DiPocket UAB issues the card. Nexo’s own operating entity, its registered country and its MiCA or VASP licences are not stated on the card page. You are buying a payment instrument from a licensed bank and a crypto interface from a firm whose licensing you have to take from other sources.
Complaints. TrustScore 4.4 out of 5 on Trustpilot across 18,805 reviews when I read it on 2026-10-20. Recurring themes in recent reviews: high fees on small transactions and frustration with the $5,000 minimum balance, plus a grace period when you fall below it; delayed withdrawals and locked or closed accounts; support called unhelpful by some on technical problems and fast by others; deposits slow to appear; a third-party objection about the “Earn Provider” custody arrangement; and regional restrictions on bank funding and card access.
No cardholder insurance. Unofficial, from CryptoCardHub in August 2026: there is no cardholder insurance. Two-factor authentication details are not stated on the card page.
The usual crypto risks. Nexo describes “industrial-grade custody” and offers instant card freeze, security spending controls and biometric locks — but custody means the platform holds the credentials, so you are trusting them completely. Transfers are typically irreversible. Stablecoins can and do depeg. In the EU, e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating or insuring them, but those funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.
The category’s own history. Cards get switched off. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Programmes typically give notice, stop spending and loading, then ask you to withdraw. That is context, not a prediction about Nexo.
What to take instead
| Card | Score | Who it is for | What stands out |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | European holders of large crypto balances who want cashback | No monthly fee, 0.2% weekday FX in the EEA/UK |
| Pay3 | 6.3 / 10 | Users outside sanctioned or prohibited jurisdictions, who must attest they are not a US citizen and not OFAC-blocked | Issuance starts at $5, spend from $0.15 per transaction, but conversion from 1.15% and FX/cross-border fees up to 3% |
| Exa | 6.2 / 10 | A very wide country map — 45 countries plus 31 US states | Virtual Visa Signature, collateral-based spending, marketed as free |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Users who want multiple network options (VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay) | Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the point of payment; no fee percentage published |
The comparison is instructive in one way: Nexo’s costs are among the lowest here, and its *thresholds* are among the highest. Pay3 tells you more about who is excluded and less about price; Exa tells you far more about where it works and nothing about its fees on the page; Cardex advertises a conversion rate optimisation it does not put a number on.
If you want a published number for cross-border spending, Pay3’s 1.15% starting conversion and up to 3% FX is more transparent than Nexo’s non-stated crypto conversion fee, even though it is higher. If you live outside Europe, Nexo’s eligibility question may end the conversation before the fees matter. If you want to keep the keys yourself and spend against collateral, Exa’s model is structurally different from Nexo’s custodial account balance.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend it to a European, specifically an EEA or UK resident with citizenship there, who already holds a meaningful Nexo balance, spends mostly in their own currency, and wants cashback in NEXO or Bitcoin. For that person the numbers are good: no subscription, 0.2% FX on a weekday, a free ATM allowance that scales with how much of the portfolio is in NEXO tokens.
I would not recommend it as a first crypto card. The $50 virtual-card activation is fine, but the direction of travel is uphill: cashback needs $5,000, plastic needs $5,000 plus Gold tier, and higher spending limits are mentioned only for those with $100,000. Trustpilot themes about high fees on small transactions and the $5,000 minimum are complaints from people precisely at the scale this card does not serve.
And I would want two things answered before committing: which countries are actually covered, since the card page does not say, and whether plastic can currently be ordered, since statements conflict. Both are quick to check in the app or from support. Neither should stop you from looking — but both should stop you from assuming.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Nexo card?
It is a payment card that spends directly from your Nexo account balance, in Debit Mode, drawing on more than 100 digital assets including stablecoins and Nexo’s own fiat-denominated tokens such as EURx, USDx and GBPx. It exists as a virtual card activated in the app and as a physical Mastercard-branded card, issued by DiPocket UAB. The merchant receives ordinary fiat. It is a payment front-end on a crypto platform, not a bank account.
Is Nexo a bank?
No, and this matters. Nexo is a crypto platform. The card itself is issued by DiPocket UAB, which is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania, and that entity is regulated. But the Nexo operating entity, its registered country and its MiCA or VASP licences are not stated on the card page. Since 1 July 2026 the MiCA transitional period has ended, and custody and trading in the EEA run through partners, Tangany and DLT Finance.
Do I need to pass KYC to get the card?
Yes. Identity verification with a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country is required. The wording of eligibility is citizens *and* residents of selected European countries including the EEA and the UK. Proof of address and a minimum age are not stated on the page. No verification tiers, processing times or rejection reasons are published either, so allow for uncertainty there.
What is the minimum balance to use the card?
The virtual card needs at least $50 in your Nexo account to activate. Beyond that, the thresholds step up sharply: cashback requires more than $5,000 in digital assets and only applies in Credit Mode, and the physical card requires more than $5,000 in digital assets *and* at least Gold tier. Trustpilot reviews specifically complain about the $5,000 minimum and the grace period when balances fall below it.
Is the Nexo card free?
There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, and both the virtual and physical cards are issued at no charge, with free shipping on the physical one. The costs are in usage: 0.2% FX on weekdays within the EEA, UK and Switzerland (0.7% at weekends), 2% or 2.5% outside them, a 2% fee on ATM withdrawals above your free monthly allowance with a minimum of 1.99, and an unofficial 0.75% Debit Mode swap fee that can stack with FX.
Can I use the Nexo card in Apple Pay?
Yes. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, which is the most convenient route for most people and sidesteps the plastic-card question entirely. Note that you activate the virtual card in the app and choose its currency at that moment; the currency cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen, and the page tells you to contact Nexo if you chose wrongly.
How much can I spend per day or per month?
The card page does not state daily or monthly spend limits; it says only that clients with $100,000 in assets receive higher Nexo Card spending limits. Unofficial figures from CryptoCardHub, August 2026, previously published and subject to change by Nexo, are EUR 10,000 per purchase, EUR 10,000 per day and EUR 60,000 per month, with ATM limits of EUR 600 per transaction, EUR 2,000 per day and EUR 10,000 per month. Do not plan around those numbers without confirming them in the app.
How do I top up the Nexo card?
You do not top it up in the usual sense — the card spends straight from your Nexo account balance. What you do instead is hold funds in the account in any of more than 100 supported assets, or in FiatX tokens, and Debit Mode spends them. Deposit fees, minimum top-up amounts, and fiat top-up options and fees are all not stated on the card page, as is how to withdraw money from Nexo. That gap is worth raising with support directly.
Is the Nexo card safe?
It depends on what you mean. The card has real safeguards: instant freeze, spending controls, biometric locks, and tokenised mobile wallets. But custody is custody — Nexo holds the credentials, so the usual counterparty and hack risks apply, crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and there is unofficial reporting of no cardholder insurance at all. Two-factor authentication is not described on the card page. Check your own account’s security settings rather than relying on the marketing phrase “industrial-grade custody”.
Is Nexo card worth it?
For a European resident with a large balance already on the platform, spending mainly in one currency and wanting cashback in NEXO or Bitcoin — yes, the running costs are hard to beat. For a beginner, someone outside Europe, or anyone starting small — no, because the useful features all sit above $5,000. The honest middle position: the card is cheap to run and expensive to qualify for.
Credit and cashback card options – cryptocardoptions.com
Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team
