A crypto-funded virtual card with a thin public file and tight country rules

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The EMCD card is a virtual payment card tied to the Coinhold Wallet. In everyday use it looks like a prepaid Visa or Mastercard: you load a balance in US dollars, and each purchase draws on that balance. The interesting part is how that balance gets there, because you can only fund it with USDT moved from the wallet you already hold with EMCD. There is no bank account behind the card in the ordinary sense, and at the time of writing only a virtual card is available, not a physical one. That shape is useful to keep in mind while you read the rest of this review, because most of the trade-offs flow from it.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
EMCD works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions and fee figures below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

EMCD scores 4.9 out of 10 in this review. The single biggest drag on that number is cost: between the issuance fee on the paid tiers, the monthly service charge, the top-up fee, the per-transaction purchase fee and the 3% conversion fee for non-USD purchases, the card is expensive to keep and expensive to use. The second drag is the gap between what the official card page says and what the help centre says, with two different card networks and two different fee structures sitting on EMCD’s own site. The third is the operating risk: EMCD does not name the card’s issuer or its own legal entity on the card page, and the company is in a country whose regulator (Russia’s central bank) has been restricting crypto activity for ordinary users, which is one of the reasons several jurisdictions are excluded.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a EMCD payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Where the card does well is reach. Wherever Mastercard is accepted the card should go through, subject to a published list of excluded countries, and the KYC process is described as quick. For an existing EMCD user who already has USDT sitting in the Coinhold wallet and wants to spend that balance online, the card can be a sensible if unremarkable way to do it. For anyone who is not already in that situation, there are simpler and cheaper prepaid crypto cards on the market.

The card suits existing EMCD wallet users who top up with USDT and want a virtual card for online spending. It does not suit people who want a physical card, who want to withdraw cash, who want to fund the card with anything other than USDT, who live in one of the excluded countries, or who are sensitive to paying a monthly fee on top of per-transaction charges.

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 9/10 Card works wherever Mastercard is accepted, except 13 listed countries (Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen, China).
Cost 2/10 Issuance $19 (Plus) or $25 (Premium); $5/month maintenance; 1.5% top-up; 1.5% + $0.50 per purchase; 3% on non-USD purchases; unofficial reports of a 2.5% top-up rate.
Top-up options 4/10 USDT only, from the Main account of the Coinhold Wallet; the network is not disclosed by the card page; minimum first top-up $20.
Reliability and complaints 4/10 Issuer and legal entity not named on the card page; official pages disagree on Visa vs Mastercard; EMCD Trustpilot reviews describe account blocks after KYC and slow support.
Everyday use 5/10 Virtual only; Apple Pay and Google Pay listed as “coming soon” on the product page even though the help centre says they work; no ATM; no 3-D Secure.
Total 4.9/10

Who EMCD will give the card to

The card page says it works “worldwide” wherever cards are accepted, with a small notice that some EMCD services are unavailable in certain jurisdictions. The notice does not name those jurisdictions, which is the first thing to check: the help-centre article that previously listed Russia as restricted is the more specific source, and it sets out the full list of countries where payments are not available: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen, and China. If you live in, hold citizenship of, or are physically in any of those countries at the moment of application, the card will not work as a way to spend.

The help-centre version is the one to trust here, because the product page is vaguer. Treat the 13-country list as the practical rule. Everywhere else, in principle, the card is available, subject to passing the KYC check described below.

A practical note for travellers and people with dual residence: the restriction is tied to the country on your application and the country you are in when you pay. If you normally live in one of the excluded jurisdictions and apply from elsewhere, you can expect the card to be declined there, and using a card tied to a country you have just left is the kind of behaviour that gets flagged in transaction monitoring.

How to sign up for the EMCD card

The application runs inside the EMCD app against the Coinhold Wallet you already hold, or against a new one created during the process. The card page describes a standard identity check: a government ID, with proof of address requested where needed. The age threshold is not stated on the public page, so assume the standard adult threshold (18+) applies; a representative will be able to confirm at the KYC step.

The order itself requires a $15 top-up that stays in the balance rather than being charged as a fee, and a first top-up of at least $20. That is the same $15 you may see described as a “reserve”: $15 of the first top-up is held back until cumulative card spending exceeds $2,500, at which point it is released.

What you get is a virtual Visa Platinum (per the card page; the help centre describes a Mastercard, which is one of the inconsistencies to be aware of). No physical card is offered yet; the help centre says explicitly “Currently, we only offer virtual cards.” Cards are valid for two years, and on expiry a new card with a new number is opened. The card’s billing currency is not stated on the card page, but the fee schedule and the help centre both refer to a US dollar balance, so USD is the safe assumption.

A second identity check is mandatory after the first top-up. It uses a valid government ID, is described as taking “usually a few minutes”, and the card activates automatically once it passes. If the check fails, you can retry with a different document. The page does not spell out KYC tiers or whether a proof of address is always required; that is a question to ask support before you load larger amounts, because it is the same step that, according to Trustpilot reviews, has been the source of post-onboarding account blocks for some users.

A second practical point: the help-centre article on tiers also mentions “Light” and “Active” levels (amounts not published on the card page). If you cannot find the Plus or Premium options, the Light and Active variants are the ones to look at, with Active promoted as “0% fees” on standard purchases.

What the EMCD card really costs

The card comes in three tiers. Active is free to issue, Plus costs $19 to issue, and Premium costs $25. Whether those issuance fees are one-off or recurring is not stated on the card page. The unofficial fee schedule that circulates in help-centre articles adds a $5 monthly maintenance fee, a $15 closure fee, and a separate fee row for declines, refunds, reversals and chargebacks.

The fees that will affect you in normal use are the top-up fee, the per-purchase fee and the non-USD conversion fee. The card page promotes Active as “0% fees” on standard purchases; the help-centre fee schedule lists a 1.5% top-up fee, a 1.5% + $0.50 per-transaction purchase fee, a $1.50 declined fee, a $0.50 refund fee, a $2.00 reversal fee and a $35 chargeback fee, plus a possible 3% bank conversion fee for purchases not in US dollars. One third-party source lists a 2.5% top-up/conversion fee, no monthly fee and no FX fee; treat that as unofficial and not confirmed by EMCD.

The two fee schedules disagree on whether the monthly fee exists and on the size of the top-up fee, which is exactly the kind of detail to verify against the in-app fee screen before you commit any meaningful balance.

ATM cash withdrawals are not supported. The FAQ says they “will be” available once a physical card launches, but no date is given, and the third-party fee schedule describes ATM withdrawals as not supported at all. Until that is clarified, treat cash access as a future feature, not a present one.

The limits that matter are the ones attached to Plus and Premium. Plus permits $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 per day and $10,000 per month. Premium permits $10,000 per transaction, $50,000 per day and $400,000 per month. You can hold up to two active cards at once. The card page does not give a numeric limit for the Active tier, only that you can “set limits” in the app.

To put that into everyday numbers, three common scenarios:

Fee or limit Amount
Issuance (Active) Free
Issuance (Plus) $19
Issuance (Premium) $25
Monthly maintenance $5 (unofficial)
Top-up fee 1.5% (unofficial; product page says “0%” for Active)
Purchase fee (Plus/Premium) 1.5% + $0.50
Non-USD conversion Up to 3% (issuing bank)
Closure fee $15 (unofficial)
Declined transaction $1.50 (unofficial)
Refund $0.50 (unofficial)
Reversal $2.00 (unofficial)
Chargeback $35 (unofficial)
ATM withdrawal Not supported
Plus: per transaction $1,000
Plus: per day $3,000
Plus: per month $10,000
Premium: per transaction $10,000
Premium: per day $50,000
Premium: per month $400,000
Active cards at once Up to 2

The biggest single item to watch is the monthly $5 fee, because it is charged even in months when the card is not used. A second item to watch is the $15 closure fee if you decide to leave: it is taken from the remaining balance.

How to top up the EMCD card

The card only takes USDT, and only from the Main account of your own Coinhold Wallet. There is no top-up by bank transfer, no top-up by debit card, no top-up from another crypto wallet and no top-up in a currency other than USDT. That is the single most important practical detail about funding the card, because it defines who can usefully use it: someone who already has USDT in the Coinhold Wallet.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up EMCD starts with a transfer to the right network

The minimum first top-up is $20. As noted, $15 of that first top-up is held as a reserve and is released only when your total card spending crosses $2,500. Subsequent top-ups land in 3 to 5 minutes, in the help centre’s description. The exact network on which the USDT travels is not disclosed on the card page, which is unusual; in practice that means you should not send USDT to the card’s funding address from a network you have not been told to use, because a wrong-network transfer is generally irreversible.

Who pays the underlying network (gas) fee for the transfer is not stated. Treat it as a question for support, and assume it falls on you until told otherwise. Crypto network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, and they are not refundable.

You cannot transfer the card’s balance back to your wallet. The help centre says a “free transfer from the card balance back to the Main account is not supported.” On closure, the remaining USD balance is converted to USDT and credited to your main EMCD account. The issuing bank may also close the card if the balance is $20 or less and there has been no activity for 30 days, so a low balance left sitting will not stay there.

A second option circulates in unofficial sources: an EMCD card pre-loaded balance model in which the card spends a fiat balance you have pre-converted, and the conversion happens at the moment of top-up rather than at the moment of payment. EMCD’s own page is consistent with that description.

Paying with the EMCD card every day

The card is managed inside the EMCD app. From there you can freeze and unfreeze it, set limits, and request a reissue if it is lost or used without authorisation. Beyond that, the daily-use story is short and contradictory.

The product page lists Apple Pay and Google Pay as “coming soon”, but the help-centre article describes both as working today. Until the product page is updated, the safer assumption is that tokenised wallet support is in the process of being rolled out, and may not be live on your account. There is no physical card to tap, no magstripe and no PIN entry at a terminal, because the card is virtual only.

The card does not support 3-D Secure. Many online merchants require 3-D Secure (Visa Secure, Mastercard Identity Check), and the card will be declined at the checkout of those merchants. There is no way around that on the user’s side, and it is one of the more important practical limits of the card for online shopping.

Blocked merchant categories are listed in the help centre and include fuel, ride-hailing, AI subscriptions, money transfers, crypto exchanges, gambling, brokerage, and most entertainment except cinemas and theatres. That is a long list, and the blocked categories you actually care about depend on what you buy: if you are a heavy user of ride-hailing or AI subscriptions, the card will not be useful for those purchases at all.

A second constraint: an authorised payment that later becomes a refund, reversal or chargeback will trigger the corresponding fees in the help-centre schedule ($0.50, $2.00 and $35). The dispute procedure and time frames are not stated on the public page, which is the second question to put to support before relying on the card for anything you might need to dispute.

Cashback is not mentioned on the card page, so treat it as a non-feature. The card is a spending tool, not a rewards tool.

What can go wrong with the EMCD card

The single largest risk on this card is the gap between the card page and the help centre on basic facts, and the gap between the official pages and the unofficial sources on basic fees. The card page says Visa Platinum; the help centre says Mastercard. The card page promotes Active as “0% fees”; the help-centre fee schedule lists 1.5% top-up and 1.5% + $0.50 purchase fees. A third-party source lists 2.5% top-up and no monthly fee. A reader using any one of those sources in isolation will get a different picture of what the card costs, and that is the kind of inconsistency that turns into a complaint when the bill arrives.

The second risk is counterparty. EMCD does not name the card’s issuer or its own legal entity on the card page, and the third-party sources that do name them point to an entity that is not easy to find. The card programme is custodial: the USD balance on the card is held by EMCD, not by you, and the USDT that backs it is held in the Coinhold Wallet, also by EMCD. If EMCD has a solvency event, a hack, a sanctions event or a regulator-ordered shutdown, your balance is exposed to that outcome; you do not hold the private key.

The third risk is account closure. EMCD’s Trustpilot reviews, which are for the company rather than the card specifically, are mixed. About 83% are five-star and about 11% are one-star, and the Trustpilot score itself is hidden at the time of reading because of a breach of guidelines (EMCD says it removed fake reviews). The recurring themes are accounts blocked after KYC/AML review (November 2025 to April 2026), slow KYC document checks, unpaid referral or welcome bonuses tied to missing KYC, slow or missing support replies, and US users blocked since 1 May 2025. The card is the same account, so a Trustpilot complaint about an account block is a complaint that can land on a card user as well.

Support availability

The help centre help.coinhold.io is published in English, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. The card page promises “Support 24/7” in the help menu, but the support email in the footer is obscured in the version of the page I read, and reviewers describe slow replies. Card support in languages other than the help-centre languages is not stated, which matters if you have specific support needs.

The fifth risk is technical decline. Without 3-D Secure, the card will be declined at any merchant that requires it. Without AVS support, it can be declined at US merchants. The BIN is foreign, so it can look “foreign” to a US shop and trigger extra scrutiny. Each of those declines can also leave a hold on a pre-existing balance that lasts for several days.

The sixth risk is sanctions. Tether has frozen USDT in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list, and a sanctions-related freeze on a custodial wallet can extend to the card balance that wallet funds. If your application is later flagged for a sanctions review, the card will be among the things that stop working.

The seventh risk is the missing physical card. A virtual-only card cannot be used at unattended terminals, cannot be used offline, and cannot be handed to someone else for in-person use. It is also more exposed to a phone compromise than a physical card, because the card data lives in the app.

What to take instead of the EMCD card

Three alternatives that are visible in the public research for this review, in roughly the order of their overall scores.

MSX is the highest-scoring alternative at 6.4 out of 10. The official material I could read does not give a country list, a card type, a cost or a fee schedule for MSX, so this comparison is necessarily light on facts. If MSX is on your shortlist, the first thing to confirm is which countries it serves and what the per-transaction cost looks like, because the score implies a more competitive cost structure than EMCD’s.

Bybit Card scores 6.0 out of 10. It is a real card programme with published regions, a published fee schedule, and a published rewards ladder. The card has no balance of its own; it draws on a Bybit Funding Account and a Flexible Easy Earn balance, with fiat spent first and crypto sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus a 0.9% conversion fee (0.5% in Argentina). The card is not offered to European Economic Area customers, and the fiat-service restricted list includes Belarus, Russia, Serbia, China and the United States, with no card-specific rule on Russian or Belarusian citizens. Cashback is a meaningful feature here, from 2% on the Base tier up to 10% on the Infinite tier (with monthly caps and minimum monthly spend to unlock), and only crypto-funded transactions earn cashback since 5 October 2026. The welcome offer is 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days. Bybit is a useful comparison point because it shows what a more complete crypto card looks like: more funding options, more regions, a published reward structure, and clearer (if more restrictive) eligibility.

MEXC Card scores 5.6 out of 10. The card is virtual only, with an issuance fee of 20 USD and a service fee of 0% (the discounted price is unclear on the public page). It is topped up by sending USDT to a fiat account, then adding that fiat to the card on the My MEXC Card page. Cashback is paid by M-Score tier by the 15th of the next month: 4% (Standard, cap 100 USDT), 6% (Premier, cap 300), 10% (Elite, cap 800), and a referral bonus of 20 USDT for the referrer and 10 USDT for the new user. Compared with EMCD, MEXC is a slightly cleaner package: a clearer fee structure, a real rewards scheme, and a fiat balance model that the user can see and manage.

Across the three, the trade-off is straightforward. EMCD’s edge is that it is the simplest path from a Coinhold USDT balance to a card, and for an existing EMCD user that simplicity can be worth the higher fees. Bybit’s edge is the rewards and the published, more competitive fee schedule. MEXC’s edge is the visible cashback structure and a slightly lower score-drag on cost. If you are not already in the EMCD ecosystem, the comparison does not favour EMCD on price, on rewards or on the breadth of the public information.

Who I would recommend the EMCD card to

The honest answer is: the people who already use the rest of the EMCD product. If you hold a Coinhold Wallet, already move USDT around inside EMCD, want a virtual card for online spending, and do not mind paying $5 a month and 1.5% + $0.50 per purchase to use it, the card does the job it sets out to do. The KYC is described as quick, the card is virtual, and the BIN is Mastercard in the help centre (so it should be accepted wherever Mastercard is taken, except in the 13 listed countries).

If you are not already an EMCD wallet user, the case is harder to make. The card is more expensive than its peers, the public information is thinner than its peers, and the official pages disagree with each other on basics. A more standard crypto card from a more standard issuer, with a clearer fee schedule and a published rewards programme, is likely to be a better fit, especially for anyone who wants cashback, who wants to fund the card with multiple cryptos, or who wants a physical card.

The two hard “no”s are: anyone living in or holding citizenship of one of the 13 excluded countries (the card will not work), and anyone who needs cash access (the card does not support ATM withdrawals and the FAQ puts cash access behind the launch of a physical card with no date). The two soft “no”s are: anyone whose main online merchants require 3-D Secure (the card will be declined at checkout), and anyone whose main categories of spend are on the help-centre blocked list (fuel, ride-hailing, AI subscriptions, money transfers, crypto exchanges, gambling, brokerage, most entertainment).

If you fall into the recommended group, the practical steps are: confirm your country is not on the excluded list, complete the in-app KYC with a government ID, do a small first top-up to test the funding path before committing a larger balance, and check the in-app fee screen against this review so that you know which fee schedule you are actually being charged on. Keep the $15 reserve in mind as you do this, because the reserve is released only when cumulative card spending crosses $2,500.

Frequently asked questions

What is the EMCD card?

The EMCD card is a virtual payment card tied to the Coinhold Wallet. It runs on a US dollar balance, and that balance is loaded by transferring USDT from the wallet’s Main account to the card. The card page describes it as a Visa Platinum; the help centre describes it as a Mastercard. At the time of writing it is virtual only, with no physical card offered.

How does the EMCD card work?

You hold a Coinhold Wallet with USDT. When you top up the card, USDT is converted into a US dollar balance on the card, and the card spends from that balance at Mastercard (or Visa, per the official page) acceptance points. There is no bank account, no overdraft, and no card-to-card transfer: the only funding route is USDT from your own wallet.

Is EMCD a bank?

EMCD is not described as a bank on the card page. It is the brand behind the Coinhold Wallet and the EMCD card programme. The actual card issuer and the legal entity behind the card are not named on the public card page, which is unusual for a card programme and is one of the items to verify before loading a meaningful balance.

Who owns EMCD?

The card page does not name EMCD’s owner or its legal entity. Third-party sources refer to the platform as EMCD.io and the card as a Coinhold product, but the official card page does not confirm the issuer, the registration country or the licences. If ownership and licensing matter for your decision, that is a question to put directly to EMCD support.

Is the EMCD card available in my country?

The card page says it works “worldwide” wherever cards are accepted, with a notice that some services are unavailable in certain jurisdictions (unnamed). The help centre lists the excluded countries explicitly: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China. The list is the practical rule, not the product page’s vaguer wording.

How do I get the EMCD card?

You apply inside the EMCD app, complete the standard KYC with a government ID, and do a first top-up of at least $20, of which $15 is held as a reserve. The card is virtual; you do not receive a physical card. The card is described as activating automatically after the post-first-top-up KYC, with a retry possible using a different document if the check fails.

Does the EMCD card require KYC?

Yes. There is a KYC step at signup (an ID) and a second KYC step after the first top-up, with a valid government ID and “usually a few minutes” of processing. Levels and proof-of-address requirements are not spelled out on the public page. Note that EMCD Trustpilot reviews describe account blocks following KYC reviews, so the KYC step is a real gate, not a formality.

How do I top up the EMCD card?

From the Main account of your Coinhold Wallet, in USDT, with a minimum first top-up of $20 and a 1.5% top-up fee (per the help-centre fee schedule). The exact USDT network is not disclosed on the card page, so do not send from a network you have not been told to use. Subsequent top-ups typically land in 3 to 5 minutes.

How do I add the EMCD card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The help centre says both work; the product page lists both as “coming soon”. Treat the help centre as the more current source, but be ready for tokenisation to roll out over time rather than being live on every account. There is no physical card to add, so the only path to a mobile wallet is the virtual card.

Is the EMCD card safe?

It is as safe as the underlying EMCD platform. The balance is custodial (EMCD holds the USD and the USDT that backs it), there is no 3-D Secure on the card, there is no published insurance or safeguarding regime, and the card page does not name the issuer. Treat it as a card to load with what you can afford to keep on a custodial platform, and freeze the card in the app the moment you suspect anything is wrong.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team