The Gemini card pays crypto rewards on a US credit card — read this before you apply

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have been looking at Gemini and thinking of it as a crypto card — something you load with Bitcoin and spend — you are looking at the wrong product. The Gemini card is a credit card issued by a bank, repaid in dollars, that pays some of its rewards in crypto. There is no wallet balance to top up and no coins to convert at the point of sale. That single fact explains most of what follows: the good parts (no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, strong everyday-use marks) and the awkward parts (a high variable purchase APR, credit checks, and a reliability record that is the weakest criterion on my sheet).

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Gemini works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 4.9 / 10. Read on for the reasoning, but here is the short version: the fees are genuinely good by crypto-card standards, the everyday-use score is the best on the sheet, and the reliability-and-complaints score is the worst on the sheet. Both are true at once, and which one matters depends entirely on why you are here.

Conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.9 out of 10, and the split is the story

A single number hides more than it shows here, so I scored each criterion separately. The card earns its keep on cost and everyday use, and it loses most of that ground again on how it holds up when something goes wrong.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 A credit card for residents of all 50 US states; no other country named
Cost 7 / 10 No annual fee and no foreign transaction fee; but 16.49% to 34.49% APR on purchases, a cash advance of $10 or 3%, and $50 for each card replacement per 12 months
Top-up options 2 / 10 A credit card repaid in fiat; crypto is only a reward — 4% on fuel, EV and transit (up to $300 a month), 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% everything else
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issued by WebBank, a Mastercard World Elite product; Trustpilot sits at 1.3 out of 5 across 1,513 reviews, with frozen accounts, withdrawal delays of up to 35 days, disputes refused and no phone support
Everyday use 8 / 10 Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay all work, and a cash advance in an ATM is available; unofficially, a metal physical card as well as a virtual one

Total: 4.9 / 10.

Who this suits: a US resident who already has a working banking relationship, wants a second card with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, and is comfortable treating the crypto rewards as a bonus rather than as the point. If you are outside the United States, this card is not addressed to you at all — no other country is named. And if you are specifically trying to get everyday payment access you have been unable to get elsewhere, the reliability column is where you should read very carefully before you commit, because the complaints are not about small annoyances.

Will they give you the card?

This is the part I would check first, because it is where the hardest no lives, and it is where the card’s own pages are quietest.

The Gemini support pages state that residents of all 50 US states are eligible to apply, subject to terms and restrictions. No other country is named.

Everything beyond that is unofficial. A third-party review and a personal-finance write-up describe it as US residents only, with a hard credit pull and a valid Social Security Number listed as a requirement. Those are not in Gemini’s own text, so treat them as a reasonable reading of how a US credit application works rather than as a published requirement — and do not rely on them as your source.

There is a category point worth knowing before you apply. A payment card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number that tells the merchant which institution and country issued it, and a shop can look that up. That is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in another and attract extra scrutiny — and why a US-issued card is not a workaround for being outside the US. It will simply read as a foreign card.

The credit check is the real gate

Unofficially, this is a hard credit pull. Officially, the cardholder agreement describes a credit application with a creditworthiness check, which is what you would expect from any US credit card. So the practical answer to “will they give you the card” is: if you have a US credit history, you have a reasonable chance; if you do not, this is a difficult application, and the rejection reasons are not published anywhere I could find.

The thing that catches people out is that this is a credit product, so the card does not solve a banking-exclusion problem the way a prepaid or debit card might. If your reason for being here is that a bank would not open an account for you, a US credit card application is a harder road than a prepaid one, not an easier one.

How to get it

Short answer: you apply, you pass a credit check, and the card arrives. The card’s own public pages do not describe the steps, the identity-check process, the processing time or the rejection reasons — that part is not stated. What I can tell you is the shape of the application from the cardholder agreement, which is dated 1 April 2026.

The agreement sets the APR for purchases at 16.49% to 34.49%, assigned by your creditworthiness at opening. A cash advance runs at 29.49% and a penalty rate at 33.49%. All of these are variable and move with the Prime Rate — which is the single most important thing to internalise before you carry a balance. The rate you are offered at the start is not the rate you will pay in a year.

On the card itself: it is a Mastercard World Elite credit card. Unofficially — from a third-party review — a metal physical card is available and arrives 5–7 days after approval, and a virtual card is issued after verification. The card page does not confirm the metal card, the delivery time, or which form (virtual, physical, metal) is issued at signup, so I would treat the 5–7 day figure as someone’s report rather than a promise.

One published cost sits in the application materials rather than the fees table: the cardholder agreement gives one free card replacement per twelve months, with each additional replacement at $50. Delivery countries, delivery time and shipping cost are not stated.

Fees: what it really costs

The fee picture is unusually clean for a card marketed to crypto users, and then the interest rate makes it complicated again. Read both halves.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Gemini payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The clean half: no annual fee, no fee stated for issuance, no foreign transaction fee, and no crypto conversion fee — the last one because there is no crypto to convert. Rewards arrive as crypto, and that is a payout, not a conversion you pay for.

The complicated half: the purchase APR of 16.49% to 34.49%, variable, set by your creditworthiness. This is a credit card, so if you carry a balance you are paying a rate in that band, adjusted with the Prime Rate. There is no grace-period figure in anything I could find.

Fee or limit Value
Annual fee None
Issuance fee Not stated
Purchase APR 16.49% to 34.49%, variable, set by creditworthiness at opening
Cash advance APR 29.49%, variable
Penalty APR 33.49%, variable
Cash advance fee $10 or 3% of each cash advance, whichever is greater
Late payment fee Up to $35; first late fee up to $25
Returned payment fee Up to $35
Foreign transaction fee None
Crypto conversion Not applicable (credit card; rewards are paid in crypto)
ATM fee Not stated; ATM limit not published
Card replacement One free per 12 months, then $50 each
Credit limit Not stated; the 4% tier is capped at $300 of spend per month

A few everyday payments, and which of these actually touch you:

Top up: there is nothing to top up

This is the section that trips people up, so I want to be blunt: the Gemini card cannot be topped up, because there is no stored balance. It is not a prepaid card. You spend and then you repay the balance in fiat currency. There is no coin to deposit, no network to choose, no transfer to send, and no deposit fee to worry about — because the concept does not apply.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Gemini starts with a transfer to the right network

The crypto enters the picture only as a reward on money you have already spent. That is the whole mechanism: pay with the card as an ordinary credit card, earn a percentage back, and receive that percentage in Bitcoin or one of 50-plus other cryptos, instantly, on Gemini.

The funding side of the card therefore consists of the same things as the fees table: repay the balance in dollars, and if you take cash out, remember the $10-or-3% advance fee. There is no withdrawal function in the crypto sense either — you cannot pull crypto off this card, because it never holds any. Closure and payoff terms sit in the cardholder agreement and are not summarised anywhere public.

If your reason for wanting a crypto card is “I hold USDT and I want to spend it,” this is the wrong card, and the reason is structural rather than a matter of fees or settings. The category has a whole other model for that — a stored-balance card that you load with stablecoins and spend like a debit card — and I look at two of those further down.

Paying with it every day

This is the card’s best category, at 8 out of 10, and it is worth understanding why the reasons behind it are mostly ordinary credit-card reasons.

Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay all work with the card, according to Gemini support — a detail the card page itself does not state. That matters more than it sounds: a tokenised mobile-wallet number stored in the phone’s secure element, with a fresh security code generated per payment, is both more convenient and more resistant to card-data theft than repeatedly handing over a physical card number. If you use your phone to pay, that is the mode to use it in.

The rewards tiers again, since this is where they get spent:

Unofficially, a metal physical card is available alongside the virtual one. The card page also names Solana Edition, XRP Edition and Bitcoin Credit Card variants with “Same Benefits,” and a World Elite Mastercard. I would not plan around the variants — the material describes them as sharing the same benefits, which makes them marketing labels more than different products.

The app is the Gemini app: 4.8 out of 5 from 110K ratings in the US iOS listing, read on 20 October 2026, for iPhone on iOS 17.2 and later, with Apple Watch and Apple Vision support, in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish — and not in Russian. The Google Play listing was not read, so I have nothing to report on Android.

Two everyday-use details I could not verify, and you should not assume them: which merchant categories are blocked is not stated, though some exclusions apply to instant-reward purchases, and the agreement’s “Billing Rights” section on disputing transactions exists but its details were not extracted. The usual US statutory 60-day dispute window is not confirmed in the text I saw — so do not treat that clock as established here, and check the agreement yourself.

What can go wrong

This is the section I would not skip, and the reason the total sits where it does.

Who is actually behind the card. The card is issued by WebBank. Gemini’s own corporate and licence details are not on the card page. In this category that distinction matters: the card network routes the payments and sets the rules, the issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often just the programme manager and the marketing front. The bank is the party you deal with when something goes wrong, not the crypto brand.

What people actually complain about. Trustpilot reads 1.3 out of 5 across 1,513 reviews, 212 of them in the last twelve months, and Gemini replied to 3% of negative reviews. Underneath the rating is a pattern, and the pattern is the useful part:

None of that is official. The card page states no incidents of its own. This is user-reported, and complaints pages skew toward the unhappy — but the volume and the specificity are what push this criterion to 3 out of 10.

Unofficially, the credit limits may disappoint. One review site puts the credit limit generally at $2,500 to $25,000; a separate write-up reports starting limits as low as $1,000, and a range of $1,000 to $3,000 for new accounts, along with slow updates to available credit after payments. Unconfirmed by the card, but if you are planning around a limit, this is worth assuming may start low.

There is no phone. The support centre is support.gemini.com and a “Contact Us” request form. For a credit card dispute or a fraud freeze, that is a thin channel, and it is the channel the complaints repeatedly single out.

One more credit-card-specific risk. If you pay with the card, the available credit may update slowly after a payment — reported, not official. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven, which can look like a missing balance at an awkward moment.

And the thing nobody tells you about the rewards. Crypto you receive as a reward is taxable. Digital assets are treated as property, so spending, exchanging or otherwise disposing of them generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in dollars at fair market value on the date of the transaction — meaning each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice and I am not going to pretend the answer is simple; I am telling you the 4% is not 4% of free money, and that a reward is worth less than its face value once you account for that.

What to take instead

If you are outside the US, or you want to spend crypto rather than earn it, the comparison below is more useful than the score above. All three are different products, not worse versions of this one.

Gemini Lava Trastra Based Visa
Score 4.9 / 10 7.1 / 10 4.1 / 10 6.9 / 10
What it is US credit card Card, network not stated Prepaid debit card Visa debit card
Where Residents of all 50 US states Not stated 31 listed countries including Germany, France, UK; “all residents of the EEA”; non-European residents “not at the moment” Worldwide except a published list effective 1 August 2026 including Russian Federation, Belarus, United States, Canada, Australia, China, India, Singapore, Ukraine, Iran, Turkey and others, about 74 countries
Annual fee None “No annual fees” Not stated No signup or annual fees
Foreign exchange No foreign transaction fee “No FX fees, and no FX spread” Not stated FX markup on non-USD spend: 2.5% (Orange), 1.5% (HYPE), 0% (Gold)
Shipping Not stated Not stated Not stated $50 physical for HYPE, free for Gold; Orange is virtual only
Funding Repaid in fiat Local currency or stablecoins Crypto in your Mover wallet USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE, BASED; networks listed as Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon, Hyperliquid
Rewards 4% fuel/EV/transit to $300/mo, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% other, paid in crypto “Up to 5% back in bitcoin”; conditions not stated Not stated $BASED monthly: 2% to a $20 cap (HYPE), 4% to a $100 cap (Gold), plus subscription and entertainment rebates; promotional, end when unstaking begins

Three things jump out of that table.

Lava is the strongest of the three on paper at 7.1, with no FX fee and no FX spread, deposits in local currency or stablecoins, and up to 5% back in bitcoin. But two of the things I would check first are not stated: who can get it, and what network the card runs on. Unusually good terms, unverified eligibility.

Trastra at 4.1 is the closest thing here to what you might have assumed Gemini was — a prepaid Visa debit card you top up with crypto from your Mover wallet. Its eligibility rule appears to be residence-based across 31 listed countries with a stated EEA intention, but non-European residents are told “not at the moment,” its fees are not stated, and its rewards are not stated on the page. It scores lowest of the three, but it is the one that answers a question Gemini cannot.

Based at 6.9 has the most detailed published information of the three, and the honest caveats. Its eligibility list excludes the US, which rules it out for the reader most likely to be reading a Gemini review. Its FX markup varies by tier from 2.5% down to 0%, so “no fees” depends on which tier you are in, and every benefit ends when you begin unstaking — a small clause with real consequences.

Before you commit to any of them: the card itself is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often rests on two licences. In the EU, MiCA took legal effect in June 2023, with rules on e-money tokens applying from 30 June 2024 and the crypto-asset service provider provisions from 30 December 2024; e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. Transitional arrangements for existing providers ran only until 1 July 2026 or until they were authorised or refused, whichever came first. ESMA keeps a public register of authorised providers. If a provider is not on it, that is information, not a verdict.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card in a fairly narrow set of circumstances, and I want to be specific enough that you can tell whether you are in them.

Yes, if you live in one of the 50 US states, you have a US credit history that will survive a hard pull, you want a second card with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, you travel or buy from foreign merchants regularly, you pay for fuel, EV charging or transit and will stay under $300 a month there, and you treat the crypto rewards as a pleasant side effect you will deal with at tax time rather than as the reason you signed up.

Yes, cautiously, if you already bank with US institutions and are adding this as a supplementary card rather than as your primary one — a second card limits the damage if the app freezes or the issuer declines a payment, which the complaints suggest happens more often than it should.

No, if you are outside the United States. No other country is named, and a US-issued card will read as foreign to merchants anyway.

No, if you need this card because you cannot get ordinary banking. A hard credit pull and a 16.49% to 34.49% variable APR is a harder path than a prepaid card.

No, if you intend to carry a balance. The rewards caps are $300 a month on the best tier and $20 or $100 on the alternatives; no reasonable reward rate justifies that interest rate.

No, if holding your funds in a provider’s hands is your concern. Gemini holds the crypto it pays you, and the complaints include frozen accounts and withdrawal holds of up to 35 days. Custody is a category-wide risk — custodial platforms have failed before, with Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network among the known cases — but it is a risk you accept consciously here, not one I would walk you into.

Think twice if you need a phone to talk to. There is a support centre and a contact form, and the complaints repeatedly describe the absence of a phone line. For a credit card with a dispute process and a fraud-freeze history, that is a real gap.

My honest summary: this is a competently built credit card with genuinely good fee terms and a good rewards rate, attached to a support and reliability record that I would not call reassuring. The card is not the problem. The service around the card is the thing to weigh.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Gemini card?

The Gemini card is a credit card, not a stored-balance crypto card. It is a Mastercard World Elite issued by WebBank, repaid in US dollars like any other credit card, which pays part of its rewards in Bitcoin or 50-plus other cryptos held on Gemini. There is no wallet balance to load, no coins to convert at the point of sale, and no deposit fee because none of that applies. What makes it a “crypto card” is the reward currency, not the payment mechanism.

How does the Gemini card work?

You apply, a creditworthiness check runs, the APR on purchases is set between 16.49% and 34.49% according to that check, and the card arrives. You then spend as with any credit card and repay in dollars. Spend in the reward categories and the back is credited instantly in crypto: 4% on fuel, EV and transit up to $300 a month, 3% dining, 2% groceries and 1% on everything else. Above the $300 cap on the top tier the rate falls to 1%.

Is Gemini a bank?

No. The card is issued by WebBank, and that is the institution behind the card. Gemini is the crypto brand that markets and manages the programme and pays the rewards; its own corporate and licence details are not on the card page. In this category that split is normal — the bank issues the card under the network’s licence, and the crypto company is often just the front end. When something goes wrong with the card, you are dealing with the issuer.

Who owns Gemini?

Gemini’s public pages do not list ownership or corporate details. The card is issued by WebBank, and you should contact the company directly if you require ownership details before opening an account.

Is the Gemini card available in my country?

As the card states it, residents of all 50 US states are eligible to apply, with terms and restrictions applying. No other country is named. Unofficially, third-party reviews describe it as US residents only with a hard credit pull and a Social Security Number required, but that is not in Gemini’s own text. If you are reading this outside the US, treat the answer as no, and note that a US-issued card will also look foreign to merchants because the issuer country shows in the card number.

How do I get the Gemini card?

You apply through Gemini and the decision comes after a creditworthiness check. Unofficially, a metal physical card arrives 5–7 days after approval and a virtual card is issued after verification. The card’s own pages do not publish the application steps, the identity-check process, the processing time or the rejection reasons, so do not expect a published timeline. One thing that is published: the agreement gives one free card replacement per 12 months, with each additional one at $50.

Does the Gemini card require KYC?

It is a credit application, which means a creditworthiness check, and identity verification is implicit in any US credit product. The card page does not describe its identity-check process or any tiered KYC levels, and the exact documents required are not stated there. Unofficially, a valid Social Security Number is listed as a requirement by third-party sources. I am not going to outline ways around any of it — a credit card application runs on verification, and that is the whole design.

How do I top up the Gemini card?

You don’t — it cannot be topped up. It is not a prepaid card and holds no balance. You spend and repay in fiat currency, and crypto arrives only as a reward on spending already made. If you want to load a card with USDT or USDC and spend it, you need a stored-balance card instead; the two in my comparison, Trastra and Based, work that way. This is the single most common misunderstanding about this card.

Is the Gemini card free?

There is no annual fee, no issuance fee is stated, and there is no foreign transaction fee, which is genuinely rare and is the card’s strongest fee feature. But it is not free to borrow from: purchases carry 16.49% to 34.49% variable APR, a cash advance costs $10 or 3% whichever is greater at 29.49% APR, a late payment runs up to $35, and a replacement card costs $50 after the first free replacement per 12 months. Keep a balance and it is an expensive card.

Is the Gemini card safe?

There is no way to answer that honestly without separating two things. The card is a credit account with a bank, not a crypto custody account, so your funds are not exposed to exchange hacks the way a stored-balance card would be — though custody risk applies to the crypto you receive as rewards, which sits with Gemini. Against that, user complaints on Trustpilot run 1.3 out of 5 across 1,513 reviews, with frozen accounts, withdrawal holds of up to 35 days, disputes refused after compromised card data, and no phone support line. Read both halves.

Is the Gemini card worth it?

Worth it if your spend is under about $300 a month on fuel, EV or transit and you live in the US with decent credit — the fees are low and the top rewards tier is strong. Not worth it if you travel much but already have a fee-free foreign transaction card, if you intend to carry a balance at 16.49% to 34.49% APR, or if you are outside the US and cannot get it at all. The reward caps are small enough that this is a second card, not a primary one.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team