What SolCard does well, where it stumbles, and whether it is the right crypto card for you

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

SolCard promises a payment card you can load with crypto and spend anywhere Visa is accepted, with a tier aimed at everyday users and another pitched at heavier spenders. The marketing reads cleanly: a virtual card for online use, a Platinum card for contactless and mobile wallets, balance held in US dollars, top-ups in SOL, USDC, ETH or BTC. None of that is unusual in 2026, and the fees look competitive on the Platinum side. The catch lives in the details that the marketing page does not lead with: the issuer is unnamed, support is a weak point in user reports, and the help center has, in the past, described features that the product page contradicts. This review walks through the whole picture, from who can sign up to what to do if a payment gets stuck, so you can decide whether SolCard is worth trying, worth skipping, or worth keeping in a comparison shortlist while you look at alternatives.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
SolCard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

SolCard lands at 5.6 out of 10, which puts it in the middle of the crypto-card field rather than at the top or bottom. For a Solana user who wants a USD-denominated card they can refill from any wallet, the proposition is genuinely useful: top-ups in SOL and USDC, a Platinum tier with no monthly fee, and mobile wallet support. For almost everyone else, the same card comes with an unnamed issuer, slow or unresponsive support in several user reports, and a virtual tier whose top-up charge (5% plus USD 10) is steep unless you spend very little. If you have a working bank card and a regular exchange, SolCard is hard to recommend as your main card. If you cannot get a normal bank card, the proposition looks better, but the support and issuer-transparency gaps still need weighing.

The score table below breaks down how that 5.6 is built up across five criteria.

Criterion Mark Why it scores where it does
Who can get it 8 / 10 Worldwide application with regional variation; Hong Kong residents and comprehensively sanctioned countries are excluded.
Cost 4 / 10 No monthly fee, but the virtual card charges 5% + USD 10 to top up, and dormant accounts lose 10% of their balance per month after 90 days.
Top-up options 6 / 10 Stablecoins and crypto (SOL, USDC, ETH, BTC) from any wallet, but the networks those tokens arrive on are not stated in the official terms.
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer is not named; SC PAYMENTS LIMITED in Hong Kong is only the program manager. Trustpilot sits at 3.1 out of 5 with a pattern of stuck withdrawals and unresponsive support.
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual and Platinum tiers, contactless and Apple/Google Pay on Platinum, but no blocked-merchant list and no public cashback.
Total 5.6 / 10 A reasonable, if slightly rough, option for the audience it fits best.

The audience this card is built for, and the one that should look elsewhere, is worth spelling out before the rest of the review.

SolCard suits you if you already hold SOL or other supported crypto in a self-custody wallet, you want a USD balance you can spend anywhere Visa is taken, and you do not need a bank-issued card for your main spending. The Platinum tier, in particular, is the version to look at: no top-up percentage, lower FX, and mobile wallet support included. The virtual tier is a reasonable secondary card for small online purchases, but the 5% + USD 10 top-up fee is heavy unless you top up in large lumps.

SolCard does not suit you if you need a card with a clearly named issuer and a regulator you can point at, if you live in Hong Kong, or if you do most of your spending in non-USD currencies and want predictable conversion. A shopper in a country where a card can be declined because the issuer’s country is “foreign” to the merchant should also think twice; the unnamed issuer makes that risk harder to assess in advance.

Who can get the card

SolCard’s headline is worldwide acceptance, with the caveat that “eligibility may vary by region” — a phrase that gives the company room to refuse applications in places it does not want to support, without saying so publicly. The terms narrow the field more concretely: residents, people domiciled in, or people located in Hong Kong are excluded, as are nationals and residents of countries under comprehensive sanctions from the United Nations, the United States, the European Union or the United Kingdom, and any specifically listed persons under those regimes. The terms also require you to be at least 18.

In practice this means a large share of the world can apply, but the answer to “can I use it in my country” is not always yes just because the marketing says yes. Two things to keep in mind as you read the rest of the review:

If you have a specific country in mind, the safe first step is to start the application and see what identity check the system asks for. SolCard’s terms say identity verification “may be required for certain card tiers, features, or spending limits,” which is a deliberately soft phrasing: in plain language, you may be asked for an ID and a proof of address for some features and not for others, and the company has not published which features trigger which level of check.

How to get it

The signup path is the part SolCard makes the most straightforward. You start on the website, create an account, choose a tier (Virtual or Platinum), and top up the card. Identity verification is described in general terms only: it “may be required for certain card tiers, features, or spending limits.” The terms say you must be at least 18 and reserve the right to ask for additional documents or proof of address, but they do not spell out which tier triggers which check, how long verification takes, or what counts as a rejection reason.

There is a gap between the product page and the help center that is worth being aware of. The product page advertises the Platinum physical card with contactless and Apple/Google Pay. Help-center material picked up by a third-party crypto-card directory in August 2026 says no physical cards are being issued “for now” and that the virtual card is available without KYC, while the Platinum card and physical Apple/Google Pay cards require identity verification. A Trustpilot review from July 2025 also says the physical Apple/Google Pay cards require KYC. None of this contradicts the official text — the official text simply does not address it.

A practical way to read the signup process is in three steps:

The published material does not say how long physical card delivery takes, what happens if a verification document is rejected, or what the company’s appeal process looks like. These are things a reader has to take on trust.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline fees look reasonable. The detail depends on which tier you pick and how often you use the card. There is no monthly fee on either tier while the account is active, no separate cash-advance or inactivity fee beyond the dormancy rule described below, and the Platinum tier has no top-up percentage at all. The virtual tier, by contrast, has a top-up charge of 5% plus USD 10 on every new card, which is the largest single cost most users will see.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a SolCard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The costs table below pulls the official numbers into one place so you can scan them quickly.

Fee or limit Virtual Platinum
Issuance From USD 10 per new virtual card Not stated separately (covered in tier)
Top-up fee 5% + USD 10 per new card 0%
FX fee (foreign currency) 1–2% 0–1.5%
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated Not stated
Monthly spending limit USD 5,000 No limit (per product page)
Monthly fee None while active None while active
Dormancy 10% of balance per month after 90 days of inactivity 10% of balance per month after 90 days of inactivity
Card currency USD (implied by pricing) USD (implied by pricing)
Minimum top-up Published in the app, varies by card type Published in the app, varies by card type

Two everyday scenarios show what the fees look like in practice.

A USD 200 top-up to a virtual card, spent on a USD 50 online purchase the same day. The 5% plus USD 10 charge is taken on the top-up, so USD 10 of the USD 200 is fee plus another USD 10. Net loaded: USD 180. Spend USD 50 in USD, no FX fee. You have USD 130 left. The effective fee on the USD 200 you put in is 10%, not 5%, because of the flat USD 10 component; for small top-ups the percentage cost is much higher than the marketing number suggests. If you top up USD 100 instead, USD 10 is fee, USD 10 is the flat charge, and you have USD 80 to spend — a 20% effective cost.

A USD 1,000 top-up to a Platinum card, spent on a EUR 400 purchase in a European shop, then a USD 100 ATM withdrawal a week later. The top-up is free on Platinum. The EUR 400 purchase is converted from your USD balance at a 0–1.5% spread, so the most you pay in FX on that one transaction is about USD 6. The ATM withdrawal fee is not published, so this is a real unknown — SolCard does not state a percentage or a flat ATM fee, and there is no public schedule. Beyond SolCard’s own charges, the ATM operator will almost always add its own surcharge, and your own bank (if the card were bank-issued) does not apply here because SolCard is not a bank. The practical advice is to treat the ATM cost as “unknown until you try” and to start with small amounts.

Two extra costs that are easy to miss:

One more unofficial wrinkle. Third-party reporting cites a help-center article saying the virtual card limit is USD 10,000 a month and the Platinum card limit is USD 100,000 a month, both higher than the product page’s “USD 5,000” and “no limit” respectively. The product page is the more recent and more public figure, but the gap is the kind of detail you want to confirm in the app before relying on either number for a big purchase.

How to top up

Top-up is the part of SolCard that the marketing has the most to say about, and it is also where the limits of the public information show up. The company says the card supports stablecoins and crypto including SOL, USDC, ETH and BTC, with “instant top-ups from any wallet.” What is not in the official material is which networks those tokens arrive on.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up SolCard starts with a transfer to the right network

That detail matters more than it sounds. The same coin, USDC for example, can live on Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Avalanche, Arbitrum, Stellar, and many other networks. Circle, which issues USDC, lists it as natively supported on 38 networks. If you send USDC on a network SolCard does not accept, the deposit either fails to credit or needs manual support intervention, and crypto transfers are not reversible. The help center and terms, as quoted in research, do not name the supported networks; this is something the app will need to tell you when you start a top-up, and it is worth checking the address carefully before confirming the transfer.

Mechanically, the top-up flow is:

There are no fiat top-up options listed. You cannot, based on the public material, fund a SolCard with a bank transfer or a card payment from your regular bank account; the top-up rail is crypto, full stop. That is the design of the product, and it is the reason the card is interesting to people who already hold crypto and the reason it is uninteresting to people who do not.

Two practical notes:

Paying with it every day

In normal use, the card behaves like a prepaid USD card: you top it up, you spend the balance, and the card declines when the balance runs out. The Platinum tier is the one that behaves most like a normal card day to day. It supports contactless, has Apple Pay and Google Pay, and converts at a 0–1.5% FX spread when you spend in non-USD currencies. The virtual tier is for online use, with manual card details (number, expiry, CVV) you can paste into a checkout; it has no Apple Pay or Google Pay and a 1–2% FX spread.

The product page does not publish a list of blocked merchant categories. This is normal for a Visa-issued card: the card network and the unnamed issuer can decline transactions on policy or risk grounds, and the merchant category is what determines whether a category like gambling (MCC 7995) or cryptocurrency purchase is approved. If a particular category matters to you, the only reliable check is to try a small transaction and see whether it goes through.

A handful of everyday-use details worth knowing:

Two structural points about how the product is set up:

What can go wrong

This is the section to read carefully, because the official product page and the user reports tell somewhat different stories.

The issuer is not named. SolCard’s terms say the card is issued under a Visa licence by a licensed financial or e-money institution, but the company does not publish the issuer’s name on the public site. SC PAYMENTS LIMITED in Hong Kong, registered at Unit 1603, 16/F, The L. Plaza, 367-375 Queen’s Road Central, is identified as the program manager and the technology platform, not the issuer. SC PAYMENTS LIMITED is also not a bank. The practical consequence is that when you hand the card to a merchant, the merchant can run a BIN lookup and see that the card is issued in some country, by some institution, on the Visa network — and the company behind the brand you typed into the search bar is not on that record. For a regulator-focused reader, this is the single most important transparency gap in the product.

Trustpilot patterns. Trustpilot shows SolCard at 3.1 out of 5 across 29 reviews, with 22 in the last 12 months and a 1-star share of 52% against a 5-star share of 38%, read on 20 October 2026. Trustpilot’s own notice flags that the company “may be associated with high-risk investments.” The themes are consistent across reviews:

A separate automated rating from Tradersunion scores SolCard at 2.1 out of 5, though an automated score is not the same as a user-review average and should be read as one signal among several.

Company replies in 2026. Trustpilot’s company-reply history shows a change of tone in 2026. Replies from October 2026 say the company has removed the USD 20 minimum withdrawal, reworked the withdrawal and transfer flow, and fixed a specific deposit hold. The same replies attribute payment declines to stricter rules from the card issuer — a reminder that SolCard itself does not control the issuer’s risk policy, and that the issuer can change its rules at any time. The third-party directory that covers SolCard says the company started publicly replying to old complaints in July 2026, which is a good sign for an active operator and does not undo the underlying complaint pattern.

A look-alike domain. Phishing reports flag a look-alike domain, solcards.cc, which is not the same as solcard.cc. If you arrived here from a link, double-check the spelling. The official site uses solcard.cc.

Custodial risk. Because SolCard holds the balance, the user carries counterparty risk. The category has a record of custodial failures. Mt. Gox (about USD 350 million reported stolen 2011-2014), Coincheck (about USD 400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (USD 625 million, 2022) are the largest named cases; smaller, less reported failures happen more often. A crypto card that holds your balance in fiat is a custodian, and a custodian can be hacked, can become insolvent, or can have its card-programme licence suspended by Visa or Mastercard — which is what happened to WaveCrest in Europe in 2018 and to FTX in November 2022. When that happens, the user gets a notice period, then a deadline to withdraw the balance, and after that, support tickets. This is not a SolCard-specific risk; it is the cost of using any custodial card and the reason this section exists.

Security specifics the company has not published. Two-factor authentication, an in-app card freeze, an insurance or safeguard regime for the stored balance, and the platforms the dashboard runs on: none of these are described in the public material. The terms do say the user must protect the card number, CVV and PIN, must report loss promptly, and is liable for unauthorised use “as law allows.” Withdrawals may be delayed for security review. This is a thin set of stated safeguards to rely on for the lifetime of the balance.

Support channels. The published channel is email, [email protected], with priority support on the Platinum tier. The terms are in English and the English version prevails. Company replies on Trustpilot in October 2026 point users to in-app support or to a Telegram channel; the Telegram channel is not named in the official terms, and a chat channel that is not in the terms is not a channel you can hold the company to.

A note on regulation. In the EU, crypto-asset service providers are authorised under MiCA, with a grandfathering period that runs until 1 July 2026 for providers already operating under national law; a card that touches both crypto and payment services typically depends on two licences, and SolCard does not publish either of them. A reader in the EU who wants to verify that a provider is authorised can check ESMA’s interim register; SolCard does not appear there under its own name, which is consistent with the program-manager model but worth knowing.

What to take instead

SolCard is one of several cards in the same general category. Three alternatives, drawn from research, give a sense of where SolCard sits. None of these are direct substitutes — geography, fees and product shape all differ — but reading them side by side is the best way to see what you would be trading away.

Card Score Geography Card shape Top-up Notable
SolCard 5.6 / 10 Worldwide with regional variation; Hong Kong excluded Virtual + Platinum (contactless, Apple/Google Pay) SOL, USDC, ETH, BTC from any wallet No named issuer; Platinum has 0% top-up fee
Cardex 5.6 / 10 200+ countries; no published country list Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical USDT, USDC, BTC “AI-powered” conversion rate at payment; App Store listing is Naira-focused
TakeCard 5.5 / 10 Physical card Bolivia-only; virtual available in several Latin American countries plus US, Spain and Italy (per third-party listing) Virtual + physical (Bolivia); Visa; USD From Takenos balance; USDC/USDT via Polygon, BNB, Tron, Ethereum per third-party 1% per purchase; USD 5 virtual issuance, USD 20 physical in Bolivia
OkiCard 6.0 / 10 150+ countries (some pages say 200+) Virtual, plus physical (no detail) USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, Solana; USDC “soon” USD 15 starting price; 3% load fee; 0% USD transaction fee

What the table actually tells you:

The honest reading is that no card in this shortlist is the obvious winner; the differences are in geography, in which coins and networks you can use to top up, and in how much of the cost story is published up front.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend SolCard, with eyes open, to a reader who is in one of these situations:

I would not recommend SolCard to a reader who:

For most readers, the right next step is to set up the virtual card with a small balance, do a small online purchase and a small foreign-currency purchase, then decide whether the experience is good enough to top up to the Platinum tier. Treat the balance as money you would carry in cash in your pocket, not money you would leave in a savings account, and you will be calibrated to the actual product.

Frequently asked questions

What is the SolCard card?

SolCard is a payment card that you top up with crypto and spend wherever Visa is accepted. The balance is held in US dollars; the virtual tier is for online use and the Platinum tier is a physical card with contactless and Apple/Google Pay.

How does the SolCard card work?

You create an account, top up the card with a supported crypto asset (SOL, USDC, ETH or BTC) from any wallet, and the deposit is converted to USD and credited to the card balance. When you pay, the card draws on that balance, converting to other currencies at SolCard’s FX rate.

Is SolCard a bank?

No. SolCard describes itself as a program manager, not a bank. The card is issued under a Visa licence by a licensed financial or e-money institution whose name is not published in the public material.

Who owns SolCard?

The program manager is SC PAYMENTS LIMITED, a company registered in Hong Kong. SolCard does not publicly name the licensed institution that issues the cards under the Visa licence.

Is the SolCard card available in my country?

The terms allow applications from most countries, with Hong Kong and comprehensively sanctioned countries excluded. The phrase “eligibility may vary by region” is not the same as a country-by-country list, so the only reliable check is to start the application and see what the system asks for.

How do I get a SolCard card?

You create an account on the SolCard website, choose a tier, top up the card, and complete any identity verification the system requests. The Platinum tier is more likely to require an ID and proof of address; the virtual tier is faster but comes with the 5% + USD 10 top-up fee.

Does the SolCard card require KYC?

The terms say identity verification “may be required for certain card tiers, features, or spending limits.” Third-party reporting says the virtual card is marketed as no-KYC, while Platinum and the physical Apple/Google Pay cards do require identity verification. None of this is contradicted by the official text, which simply does not specify.

How do I top up the SolCard card?

You open the app, choose the asset, and the app gives you a deposit address. You send the crypto from your own wallet to that address, and the balance credits in USD at the price at the moment the blockchain confirms the transaction, minus any top-up fee and conversion spread. The official material does not name which networks are supported, so check the address and the network carefully before sending.

How do I withdraw money from SolCard?

You can withdraw an unused balance subject to minimums, verification status and processing windows shown in the app. Trustpilot replies from October 2026 say the previous USD 20 minimum has been removed. Balances below the minimum refundable amount are forfeited on cancellation; termination-time withdrawals can be held for disputes, chargebacks or legal restrictions.

Is the SolCard card safe?

The card holds your balance in custody, which means you carry the counterparty risk of the program manager and the unnamed issuer. The category has a record of custodial failures, the issuer is not named, and Trustpilot reviews include a pattern of stuck withdrawals and unresponsive support. Treat the balance as cash in a wallet, not as money in a savings account.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team