A prepaid virtual dollar card built for Nigeria, thin on fees you can check

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have run into trouble getting an ordinary bank card — because you live somewhere the banks do not want you, because your documents are hard to assemble, or simply because a virtual dollar card sounds useful — then Cardify Africa is the kind of product that shows up in exactly those searches. It is a virtual, prepaid, US-dollar card built for the Nigerian market, with an African framing on the site, and it can be loaded with naira from a Nigerian bank or with USDT. That much is true, and it is the whole of the good news.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Cardify Africa works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The rest is thinner than the marketing suggests. The card exists only in virtual form, there is no ATM, the prepaid version can be funded exactly once, and the public pricing stops at “Low Charges” for the two non-prepaid dollar cards. On top of that, Trustpilot sits at 2.7 out of 5 across 68 reviews, with a third of them one-star, and the single most repeated user complaint is a charge for a payment that never went through. My score is 3.7 out of 10 — not a scam warning, but a genuine caution that this is a small product with real gaps, sold to a market that has been burned by exactly this kind of card before.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 3.7 out of 10, and the shape of who it suits

Here is my score broken down the way I scored it, criterion by criterion, with the reasoning in plain words.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 Dollar cards are for users in Nigeria; the site says “Designed specifically for Nigerians & Africans”
Cost 3 / 10 Prepaid: 5% issuance fee and 2.50 USD a month; unofficial: cross-border fee of 2.5%
Top-up options 4 / 10 USDT only on the Tron network, or naira from a bank; the prepaid card takes USDT-TRC20 only
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED, UK; issuer not named; Trustpilot 2.7 of 5 across 68 reviews
Everyday use 4 / 10 Only virtual Mastercard and Visa cards; Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no ATM
Total 3.7 / 10 —

Who is this for? Almost exactly one group: Nigerian and African users paying online in dollars. If that is you, and you already have a stablecoin or a naira bank transfer lined up, and you are comfortable with a single-use prepaid balance, the card does one specific job. If you are anywhere else, or you need a card that keeps working, or you want to know what a payment costs before you make it, this is the wrong product — and it is not that the rules will stop you, it is that the card simply will not help you.

And I want to be honest about the direction of that advice. This is not a card I would suggest to someone in a hurry to solve a banking problem, and it is not a card I would put a large balance through. The complaints pattern matters here: the recurring theme on Trustpilot is money taken for transactions that failed, and the card’s own terms were last updated on 8 January 2024.

Who they will give the card to

The short answer: the card is built for Nigeria, and the site says so in its own words.

The FAQ describes dollar cards as being for users in Nigeria. The marketing copy says “Designed specifically for Nigerians & Africans”. There is no country list on the site, and no exclusions listed either — which is not the same thing as “available everywhere”, and it is the kind of gap that leaves you unable to tell, from the public pages, whether your country would be accepted. The card’s public pages simply do not say.

So there are two things to hold at once. The product is aimed at Nigerian users. And the FAQ’s own framing is Nigerian, with the Nigerian regulatory identification number (BVN) named directly in the verification steps. If you are Nigerian, this is aimed at you. If you are elsewhere in Africa, the “Africans” in the tagline is the most you can take from it, and you should ask support directly before you plan around it.

The deeper point about country rules is worth a sentence, because it applies far beyond this card. Merchants can look up the first six or eight digits of a card number and see which institution and country issued it, and if the issuer country differs from the billing address on the payment, the shop may apply extra scrutiny or decline. That is the ordinary reason a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in another. No one at the merchant is targeting you; the checkout is just reading the card.

How to get it

There is no physical card to wait for. Cardify Africa is virtual only, so there is no delivery to track and no postal step that will decide whether you are approved.

What decides that is identity verification, and the card describes it in two levels.

Level 1 is the entry point; Level 2 is what sits behind it. What each level unlocks, how long the review takes, and the reasons a request can be refused are all not stated — and those three unknowns are worth knowing before you start, because they are exactly the ones that determine whether you have a card today or a pending application tomorrow.

One practical thing to check before you begin: whether your phone number is the one registered to your identity document. Level 2 sends the code to that number, and if the number on your account is not the one on your ID, the verification stalls at the point where it is least obvious why.

Fees: what it really costs

The costs section of the card’s public pages is where this review has to be blunt: most of it is missing. The prepaid card has real, stated numbers. The other two dollar cards have the phrase “Low Charges” and no amounts at all. I have laid out what exists below, and I have marked clearly what is not there.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cardify Africa payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card states
Issuance (prepaid) 5% of the amount funded
Monthly fee (prepaid) 2.50 USD, after the first two months, if a balance remains
Conversion fee Not stated officially
Cross-border fee Not stated officially (unofficial sources: 2.5% outside the US)
FX rate / markup Not stated
ATM fee Not stated; the card is virtual, so there is no ATM
Funding minimum (prepaid) $25
Funding maximum (prepaid) $10,000
Spend limits (dollar cards) Not stated
Basic and Standard dollar cards “Low Charges” only, no amounts

Now the three everyday payments, because abstract fees tell you nothing.

Paying an online subscription in dollars with the prepaid card. The 5% issuance fee is charged on the amount you fund, not on what you spend — so it lands once, at the top-up, but it is 5% of your working balance. If your balance then sits untouched past two months while more than $2.50 remains, the monthly fee takes $2.50 that month. Below $2.50 the card is terminated automatically. So the prepaid card has a natural rhythm: fund it, spend it, and let it go.

Paying a subscription in dollars with the Basic or Standard dollar card. Here I cannot tell you what it costs, because the card does not say. “Low Charges” is the entire published figure. If you are choosing between those two cards on price, you are choosing blind.

Paying anything from outside the US. The card does not publish a cross-border fee. Third-party comparison pages report one of 2.5% outside the US, and a declined-transaction fee of $0.06 in the US and $0.40 outside it — but those are unofficial figures from sites other than the card, and the card’s own pages do not confirm them. I would treat them as a warning about the shape of the cost rather than as the cost itself.

And there is a category-level point that belongs here rather than in the fine print: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. When people report being charged for a payment that failed, part of what they are describing may be a hold that later becomes a fee. Either way, the money was not available to them while they waited.

Top up: how the balance gets there

The prepaid card is the fussy one, and you should read this before you fund it.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cardify Africa starts with a transfer to the right network

For the two dollar cards, there are two routes: your NGN wallet, funded by a bank transfer from any Nigerian bank, or USDT sent to a Tron-network address. For the prepaid card, USDT-TRC20 only — one network, one asset, one shot at it, because the prepaid card can be funded only once. Its activation link is valid for 60 days. Minimum funding is $25 and the maximum is $10,000.

One detail that sounds small and is not: the Tron network charges its own fees through bandwidth and energy resources, often by burning TRX. And the network fee charged for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by Cardify Africa. So the amount that lands in your balance is not guaranteed to be the amount you sent. Minimum, network fee and deposit fee for the two dollar cards are all not stated.

If you send USDT on any network other than Tron to the prepaid card, the card will not help you. Transfers on these networks are irreversible. A deposit sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery through support, with no guarantee. There is also a live question about which stablecoin you hold: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — the Cardify route is USDT, on Tron, and only that.

What happens to what is left. For the prepaid card, you are expected to use the remaining balance within two months of purchase. Card validity is three years. For the two dollar cards, withdrawal is not stated.

Third-party comparison pages report a minimum funding amount of $5, but the card’s own pages put the prepaid minimum at $25, and I would go with the card.

Paying with it every day

The everyday picture is narrow, and worth being exact about.

What you can do: add the virtual card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and pay online. That is the shape of use the card supports. What categories are blocked is not stated — and this matters more than it sounds, because many issuers block specific merchant categories by policy rather than by law, and gambling is the classic one. If gambling or similar spending is something you need, ask before you load money.

What you cannot do: withdraw cash. The card is virtual, and ATM fees are not stated because there is nothing to state. There is no physical card to take out of a wallet.

The apps are on iOS and Android. In this check the store ratings were not readable; a third-party comparison reports a Google Play score of 4.3 from 553 reviews, which is a decent number for an app but says nothing about the card behind it. Rewards, cashback or any incentive: not stated. Disputes: the process is not stated, though the terms say the agreement is governed by Nigerian law and the courts of Nigeria — so if you are not in Nigeria, that is a significant practical detail, not a footnote.

One piece of good news on the mobile side. When you add a card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, the card number itself is replaced by a device-specific number, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic security code. So using it through a phone wallet is, on the security dimension, better than typing the number into websites.

What can go wrong

Here is where I would slow down and read carefully, because this is the section that most affects my score.

The complaints are specific and they cluster. Users report charges on failed transactions, in the range of $0.40 to $1, in reviews from July 2025 through May 2026. They report slow card creation and slow funding — from two days to over a week, in 2025. And there are allegations of fund loss, from March 2025 and August 2026. On Trustpilot, read on 21 October 2026, the card scores 2.7 out of 5 across 68 reviews, with 34% of them one-star. The reported themes are charges on failed transactions, slow processing, and weak support or app.

Those are user reports, not findings. But the pattern is consistent enough that I would plan around it: this is not a card I would leave a large balance sitting on for months, and it is not one where a failed payment feels costless.

Then there is the company and the regulatory picture, which deserves plain reading. Cardify Africa is a trading name. Behind it sits CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED, registered in the UK with company number 14295286; in Nigeria, CARDIFY COMPANY LTD; in the US, Cardify Africa Technology Inc in Dover, Delaware. The card states it is “Not a bank” and works with licensed partners. The issuer and the licences are not named.

That is the sentence I would want a reader to sit with. The entity you may be dealing with for support is in Delaware; the terms say Nigerian law and Nigerian courts; the registered company is in the UK; and the institution that actually issues the card — the party whose decision actually matters when a payment is declined or a balance is frozen — is not identified on the public pages. Nobody is hiding anything in particular here; this is genuinely common in this category. It just means that when something goes wrong, you are finding out, in real time, which of these four things you are actually dealing with.

The security model is custodial. The card is not a bank, funds are held through partners, and it describes encryption, multi-factor authentication and real-time fraud monitoring, with a 4-digit PIN for outbound transactions. Understand what “custodial” means here: the provider holds the credentials, so you trust them completely with the balance. The alternative — a card linked to your own self-custody wallet, where the funds stay yours until the moment of payment — shifts the risk onto you for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps an address after you copy it. Neither is free of risk. This one concentrates the risk with the provider.

There is also sector history worth knowing. In July 2022, virtual dollar card providers in Africa tightened or paused after chargeback fraud at the issuer Union54. That is the specific failure mode this market has already lived through: the issuer side can be attacked, and everyone above it feels the consequences. More broadly, card programmes do get shut down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.

And one more caution that belongs to the whole category rather than to this card. Stablecoins can depeg. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. “Stablecoin” describes an intention, not a guarantee.

Support, for what it is worth: email, live chat, WhatsApp at +234 815 163 3333, phone from 9am to 5pm on weekdays, and a helpdesk at help.cardify.co. The phone hours are Nigerian working hours, which is another way of saying what the governing law already said.

What to take instead

If Cardify Africa’s gaps bother you, the honest question is what you are actually short of: a dollar card, a card that accepts your country, or a card whose fees are published. The three comparisons below each fix a different one of those.

Cardex — 5.6 / 10. Broader on paper: “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, again with no country list and no exclusions stated. It runs on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, and offers both virtual and physical cards per its App Store listing, which is Naira-focused. Its cost is not stated. Its fee structure is the interesting part: real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment, with what the site calls an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans exchange rates and picks one — but no percentage is published. You fund it from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated. It scores above Cardify mainly on reach.

TakeCard — 5.5 / 10. Its limitation is the opposite: the physical card is available only to Bolivian users for now, while the wallet can receive payments from any country. Starting data lists virtual cards for Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy, but I could not confirm that on a page I could read. The card is virtual, prepaid, issued in the US, on Visa, in USD at 1:1. Costs are clear: USD 5 for the virtual card; USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping for the physical card in Bolivia — though another article in the same help centre says USD 10 for physical in Bolivia, so the pages conflict. The fee is 1% per purchase, other currencies convert at the official Visa rate of the transaction day. TakeCard is the most transparent on price of the three and the least on reach.

OkiCard — 6.0 / 10, the highest of the group. It claims 150+ countries (some pages say 200+) and “no geo-blocking based on your passport”, while requiring users to confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. It is a virtual card, USD/EUR pegged, with a starting price of $15, issuance and monthly fee listed as $0 on the pricing page — though the FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee, so the pages disagree. The initial deposit is 100 USDT. Fees are the clearest of the three: 3% load fee, 0% transaction fee in USD, and a stated absence of hidden exchange spreads, though the FX fee is not stated. Funding runs across BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana. This is where I would start looking if Cardify’s core problem is that its pricing is invisible.

Cardify Africa Cardex TakeCard OkiCard
My score 3.7 / 10 5.6 / 10 5.5 / 10 6.0 / 10
Reach as stated Nigeria; “Nigerians & Africans” “200+ countries”, no list Bolivia for physical; wallet from anywhere 150+ (some pages 200+), no passport geo-blocking
Card form Virtual only Virtual and physical Virtual; physical in Bolivia Virtual, physical mentioned
Stated cost Prepaid: 5% to fund, $2.50/month; others “Low Charges” Not stated $5 virtual; $20 + $20 physical (Bolivia) $15 starting; $0 issuance and monthly on pricing page, one-time fee in FAQ
Stated fees Not stated; unofficial 2.5% cross-border Conversion at payment, no % published 1% per purchase; 1:1 in USD 3% load, 0% USD transaction, no hidden spreads
Funding NGN wallet or USDT on Tron; prepaid USDT-TRC20 only USDT, USDC, BTC; networks not stated From the Takenos balance; coins not named in the article USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, Solana

A note on choosing between these on principle rather than on price: check what the issuer is. Not the brand, the programme manager, or the app — the institution licensed to issue the card under the network’s rules. That is the party that approves a payment, freezes a balance, and answers a dispute. Cardify does not name it, and that silence is the single most useful thing to ask about.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to one person: a Nigerian user who already holds USDT on the Tron network, or who is comfortable making a naira bank transfer, and who wants to pay a specific recurring online bill in dollars without touching their main bank balance. For that person, paying the 5% issuance fee once to load a prepaid balance and use it is a reasonable transaction, not a trap — provided you spend it.

I would not recommend it to anyone planning around a dollar card for the year. There is no physical card, no ATM, no stated spend limit, no published conversion or cross-border fee, no stated rewards, and a prepaid balance you can only load once. I would not recommend it to anyone outside Nigeria who is trying to work out whether they are eligible, because the public pages do not say. And I would not recommend it to anyone whose plan depends on getting money back out, because withdrawal is not stated for the dollar cards.

And if your real situation is that you cannot get an ordinary bank card, my honest advice is that this is a thin answer to a heavy problem. It moves the difficulty rather than removing it — from a bank declining to open an account to a provider holding your balance, charging you when a payment fails, and identifying no issuer.

Two things worth doing before you commit anything. First, ask support, in writing, what the issuer is and what a cross-border transaction costs; keep the reply. Second, load the smallest amount you can and run it through one real payment before you rely on it. You will learn more from that single transaction than from anything I have written here.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Cardify Africa card?

Cardify Africa is a virtual US-dollar payment card aimed at Nigerian users. The site describes it as “Designed specifically for Nigerians & Africans”, and its FAQ frames the dollar cards as being for users in Nigeria. There are three of them: a Basic Dollar Card on Mastercard, a Standard Dollar Card on Visa, and a Prepaid Dollar Card on Mastercard. All are virtual, with no physical card and no ATM.

How does the Cardify Africa card work?

You verify your identity, get a virtual card number, add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and load it with money. Balance comes from a naira wallet funded by bank transfer from any Nigerian bank, or from USDT sent to a Tron address. The prepaid version accepts USDT-TRC20 only and can be funded exactly once, with its activation link valid for 60 days.

Is Cardify Africa a bank?

No. The card states plainly that it is “Not a bank” and that it works with licensed partners. Behind it are CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED in the UK (number 14295286), CARDIFY COMPANY LTD in Nigeria, and Cardify Africa Technology Inc in Dover, Delaware. The issuer and the licences are not named, and funds are held through partners in a custodial arrangement.

Who owns Cardify Africa?

It is a trading name rather than a company in itself. The UK entity is CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED, registered under number 14295286, with separate entities registered in Nigeria and in Delaware, US. Support is offered by email, live chat, WhatsApp on +234 815 163 3333, and phone from 9am to 5pm on weekdays, with a helpdesk at help.cardify.co.

Do I need KYC to get the card?

Yes, and it comes in two levels. Level 1 is mandatory and covers a verified email, a verified phone number, and a 4-digit PIN. Level 2 adds your regulatory identification number — the BVN for Nigerians — confirmed by a code to the phone registered to that ID, plus 2FA through an authenticator app or email code. Other countries may follow similar methods; proof of address and age are not stated.

How do I top up the card, and how much?

The dollar cards take a naira wallet funded by bank transfer from any Nigerian bank, or USDT to a Tron address. The prepaid card takes USDT-TRC20 only, once only, with a $25 minimum and $10,000 maximum. Minimum, network fee and deposit fee for the dollar cards are not stated. Tron charges its own network fee, so the amount credited may be less than the amount sent.

Where can I use the card?

Everywhere a virtual Mastercard or Visa is accepted online, including when added to Apple Pay or Google Pay. What you cannot do is take out cash, because the card is virtual and has no ATM function. Which merchant categories are blocked is not stated, so if you need a specific category — gambling being the usual example — ask before loading funds.

Is the Cardify Africa card safe?

I would call it cautious rather than safe, and the reason is the paperwork as much as the practice. The model is custodial, so funds are held via partners rather than by you. Users report charges on failed transactions of $0.40 to $1, slow card creation and funding, and fund loss. Trustpilot shows 2.7 out of 5 across 68 reviews, 34% of them one-star.

Is the Cardify Africa card free?

Not if you take the prepaid card. It carries a 5% issuance fee on the amount funded, and a monthly maintenance fee of $2.50 after the first two months while a balance remains. Below $2.50 the card is terminated automatically. For the Basic and Standard dollar cards, the only published figure is the phrase “Low Charges” — no amounts. Conversion and FX fees are not stated at all.

What happens to my balance if I stop using the card?

On the prepaid card, you are expected to use the remaining balance within two months of purchase, and card validity is three years. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for up to seven days, which is worth remembering when you see a charge for a payment that did not go through. For the two dollar cards, withdrawal terms are not stated on the public pages.

How do I add the card to Apple Wallet?

Add the virtual card to Apple Pay or Google Pay from the app. When you do, the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. That makes mobile payment the safer of the two routes, as it avoids typing the card number into websites.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team