A USD Visa you load from USDT or USDC, with tiered fees that favour the most expensive card

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The BananaCrystal card is a USD Visa that you load from a USDT or USDC balance held on the BananaCrystal platform. The platform settles on Hedera and the card programme is run by Banana Crystal Inc, a money services business registered in Canada (FINTRAC) and the United States (FinCEN), with an offshore banking partner that the company does not name publicly. Cards come in five flavours — Plastic, Metal Black, Metal Silver, Metal Gold, and Virtual — and a 100 USD annual fee applies across the physical range. The pitch is straightforward: if you hold USDT and want a Visa that works in shops and at ATMs around the world, this card does the job. The catch is the price: the cheapest physical card costs 400 USD to issue, and a 3.125% loading fee on the Plastic is steep compared with the better-known crypto cards on the market.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
BananaCrystal works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

BananaCrystal is a real, working product for the narrow audience it targets — people who already hold USDT and want a Visa they can tap or swipe in the wider world. For that reader it covers the basics: an account, KYC, a card, an ATM, a mobile wallet on the virtual card, and a way to load from stablecoins. For anyone else, the numbers are hard to justify. The annual fee of 100 USD, the 400 USD price of the cheapest physical card, the 3.125% loading fee on the Plastic, and the 0.75% charged on every point-of-sale and online purchase add up to a card that is expensive to own and expensive to use. The score below reflects that balance.

Criterion Mark Why it matters
Who can get it 9 / 10 The card is advertised in over 200 countries; the public list of unsupported countries did not load at the time of writing.
Cost 1 / 10 Issuing the cheapest physical card costs 400 USD; the annual fee is 100 USD; loading the Plastic is 3.125%; every POS and online purchase carries 0.75%.
Top-up options 6 / 10 You can top up from any USDT wallet and from USDC; settlement is on Hedera; the networks the provider accepts for deposits are not stated.
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Banana Crystal Inc, founded in 2020, is registered as a money services business in Canada and the US; the offshore banking partner is unnamed; no public complaints were found.
Everyday use 9 / 10 Plastic, metal and virtual Visa cards; the virtual card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM access worldwide.
Total 6.2 / 10 A real product for USDT holders, with high costs and quiet disclosure on country rules, the issuer, and the networks it accepts.

The card suits you if you hold USDT, are happy paying an annual fee of 100 USD, and want a Visa that works at the point of sale and at ATMs in most of the world. It does not suit you if you are looking for a low-fee everyday card, if you do not already hold stablecoins, or if you want a clear public answer on which countries it serves and which banking partner sits behind it.

Who will give you the card

BananaCrystal says it issues to “over 200 countries worldwide”. The public FAQ titles pages called “Countries where our virtual card is unavailable” and “Which countries are restricted for KYC”, but the text of those pages did not load during research, and the company’s own starting notes list the virtual card as unavailable in Belarus and Russia alongside other jurisdictions. If your country is one you suspect is excluded, the only reliable way to find out before you pay anything is to ask support before you sign up. Citizenship and residence are treated separately in many card programmes; BananaCrystal’s pages do not state which of the two they check.

In the country rules are not the only gate. The company has to identify you under anti-money-laundering rules before it can issue a card, which is why the application asks for a government-issued ID. Accepted documents are a National Identity Card, an International Passport, and a Driver’s License. Proof of address and the minimum age are not stated on the public pages; in the UK, the EU and most other jurisdictions the default for prepaid cards is 18 or over, but you should not assume this is the case here until support confirms it.

What this means for you: the eligibility answer is “almost certainly yes, if you are an adult with a government ID”, and the country answer is “ask before you pay, because the public list did not load”. If the question of whether your country is supported matters to you more than anything else about the card, that silence is itself a fact you should weigh.

How to get it

The application is a standard account-and-KYC flow. You create a BananaCrystal account and complete KYC, which the company says typically takes less than ten minutes. The accepted documents are the National Identity Card, the International Passport, and the Driver’s License. The FAQ says approval is usually under ten minutes; if you do not receive an email within 48 hours, manual follow-up kicks in. The company does not publish the grounds on which an application is rejected.

Once KYC is done, you choose a card:

All physical cards come with an offshore bank account, in the company’s own framing. Card currency is USD. The card network is Visa; the FAQ also mentions UnionPay, which suggests there is a UnionPay option somewhere in the programme, although the application flow does not show it. Shipping a physical card takes 7 to 30 days depending on local couriers; the list of countries shipped to is not stated. A replacement fee exists for lost or damaged cards, but the amount is not published.

What this means for you: the cheapest way to test the programme is the 10 USD Virtual card, because you can load it, spend it, and decide whether the fees are worth the physical product. If you move to a physical card, the price gap from Virtual to Plastic is 390 USD, and from Plastic to Gold is 720 USD — so the only reason to climb the ladder is a higher monthly cap and a lower loading fee, not the metal.

What it really costs: fees, caps, and a few real-world payments

The cost picture is the main reason the card scores 1 out of 10 on cost. Every figure below is taken from the company’s own pages, the FAQ, or a starting-data note. The fees are stated, the limits are stated, the absence of a stated figure is also stated where relevant.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a BananaCrystal payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Virtual Plastic Metal Black Metal Silver Metal Gold
Issuance 10 USD 400 USD 620 USD 770 USD 1,120 USD
Annual fee 100 USD 100 USD 100 USD 100 USD 100 USD
Loading / conversion fee not listed 3.125% 2.875% 2.625% 2.125%
POS / online 0.75% 0.75% 0.75% 0.75% 0.75%
ATM withdrawal 0.75% 0.75% 0.75% 0.75% 0.75%
Monthly cap not listed 20,000 USD 30,000 USD 50,000 USD unlimited

A few things are not stated on the public pages and you should ask before relying on them: the non-USD exchange fee, the free ATM allowance (if any), the daily ATM withdrawal cap, the replacement fee for a lost card, the networks accepted for stablecoin deposits, and the minimum top-up. The FAQ acknowledges the existence of a non-USD FX fee but does not publish the figure, which is a problem if you plan to spend in euros or pounds.

A few everyday payments to put those numbers in context.

A 100 USD online subscription paid from the Plastic. You load 100 USD of USDT; the loading fee is 3.125%, so the card receives about 96.88 USD. The 0.75% POS/online fee on the 100 USD purchase is 0.75 USD, leaving the merchant with 99.25 USD from your 103.125 USD of source value. You have paid 3.875 USD in fees to spend 100 USD.

A 50 USD coffee in Tokyo paid from the Metal Gold. The loading fee is 2.125% on the Gold, so 50 USD of value costs you about 51.06 USD of USDT. The 0.75% POS/online fee is 0.375 USD, but the card is denominated in USD, so the merchant’s yen price is converted to USD by Visa and a non-USD FX fee applies — that figure is not published. As a rough order of magnitude, the total cost for one coffee will depend on the loading fee, the POS fee, and any non-USD conversion charges.

A 200 USD ATM withdrawal abroad from the Plastic. The 0.75% withdrawal fee is 1.50 USD. The ATM’s own bank may charge a balance-enquiry fee or its own surcharge. The card is declined if the balance is under 10 USD. If you withdraw 200 USD three times on a trip, you have paid 4.50 USD in BananaCrystal withdrawal fees, before the ATM’s own charges.

What this means for you: the card is structured so that the loading fee is the main cost, and the more you load, the better the per-dollar deal on the higher tiers. The 0.75% POS fee is on top of that. If you mostly spend a small amount each month, the 100 USD annual fee is a large share of your total cost. If you spend tens of thousands a month, the 2.125% loading fee on the Gold is the main thing you are paying for.

Top up: how to fund the card

Top-up starts with a transfer to the platform wallet, which the company says is settled on Hedera. The public page says you can top up “directly from any USDT wallet” and lists USDT and USDC; the Fund page mentions bank transfer or USDC. The networks the company accepts for stablecoin deposits are not stated on the public pages, which is a real gap if you only hold USDT on, say, Ethereum or Tron and were planning to send it across. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so if the company does accept USDC, you should not assume “USDC over TRC20” is a live option. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the company does not support, or to an address of a different network, can be lost or need a manual recovery process with no guarantee.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up BananaCrystal starts with a transfer to the right network

The loading fee is the same as the conversion fee, and it is tiered: 3.125% on Plastic, 2.875% on Black, 2.625% on Silver, 2.125% on Gold. The Virtual card does not have a published loading fee; the FAQ title exists but the figure was not read. Who pays the on-chain network fee for the deposit, the minimum top-up, and any bank top-up fee are not stated.

Top-up route Stated by BananaCrystal Notes from the public pages
USDT from any wallet Yes “directly from any USDT wallet”; the supported network is not stated.
USDC Yes (Fund page) Circle lists USDC on many networks, but USDC on Tron is no longer native.
Bank transfer Yes (Fund page) Fee, if any, is not stated.
Apple Pay / Google Pay top-up No Not mentioned as a top-up route.
Cash top-up No Not mentioned.

What this means for you: before you send any meaningful amount, ask support which networks the deposit address belongs to and what the minimum is. Treat any answer as part of your decision to top up at all — if the answer is “Ethereum mainnet only” and your USDT sits on Tron, the network fee alone can be a meaningful percentage of a small top-up.

Paying with it every day

The card is a USD Visa, so it works wherever Visa is accepted — the company quotes 80 million merchants worldwide, the standard Visa figure. The virtual card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, which means you can add it to a phone wallet and pay at contactless terminals. The physical cards do not have a published mobile-wallet support line; the only mobile-wallet tokenisation mentioned on the public pages is for the virtual card. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so you should not assume gambling or adult-entertainment merchants will or will not be declined — ask if that matters to you.

The platform is web-only. The page says “Mobile App support is coming soon”, so there is no native iOS or Android app to download today. Rewards for spending are not stated; the only published incentive on the public pages is a referral programme. There is no cashback rate to point to.

For disputes, the public FAQ says to email [email protected] with your name and card number, and that a temporary freeze can be requested on the card. The page does not state time frames for the dispute to be investigated or resolved; the FAQ was updated on 6 August 2024. As a general rule, US debit-card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit-card rights from Regulation Z, but prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to 7.

What this means for you: if you want to use the card in a phone wallet today, the Virtual is the only product that supports it; the physical cards do not. The web-only platform means you manage the card from a browser, not an app, and any dispute goes by email. None of that is unusual for a small crypto-card programme, but it does set the expectation.

What can go wrong

A few risks sit on top of the cost story and are worth weighing on their own.

The card runs on a custodial platform. The platform holds your USDT and USDC in its own wallet before it credits the card; you are trusting the company to keep that balance safe. Custodial platforms have a record of failures — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin — and the risks are counterparty and hack. Self-custody-linked cards keep the funds in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but BananaCrystal is not one of those.

The issuer and the offshore banking partner are not named. The FAQ says card transactions are processed via Visa and UnionPay partnerships with an unnamed “offshore banking partner”. A card programme is a chain of parties, and a cardholder’s protections — chargeback rights, fund segregation, the regulator who supervises the issuer — depend on which link in that chain they sit behind. The company itself is registered as a money services business in Canada (FINTRAC) and the United States (FinCEN), which is a real registration but is not the same as a banking or e-money licence. The card is processed under Visa and UnionPay rails, and either of those networks can suspend a programme, as Visa did with FTX in November 2022 and with WaveCrest in 2018.

Country, citizenship, and sanctions rules are quiet. The public list of unsupported countries did not load, and the company does not state whether it screens by citizenship, residence, or both. If due diligence cannot be completed, the standard EU rule the company may be following is to refuse the relationship and, where necessary, end an existing one. Tether has stated that it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list, and the company has access to similar screening tools. The practical effect is that an account can be closed or frozen without a full public explanation, and the closure balance — what happens to funds already on the platform — is not stated.

Security safeguards are real but standard. The platform supports two-factor authentication and locks the card after three failed PIN attempts; the marketing page says it uses “military-grade encryption”. The dispute process is by email and a temporary freeze; there are no published time frames for resolution. Live chat support is for signed-in users only; the public contact is [email protected]; a personal consultation option exists; the page mentions 24/7 support. No public complaints or Trustpilot page were found at the time of research.

What this means for you: the cheapest way to test these risks is with the 10 USD Virtual card, because the most you can lose on a closed programme is the balance on that card, not 1,120 USD on a Metal Gold. If the card programme ends, the public pages say new loads typically stop first, then spending, then a window to withdraw the remaining balance — but the company’s own plan in that scenario is not published.

What to take instead

Three alternatives that come up in the same conversation, each with a different trade-off. The scores are taken from independent reviews at the time of writing and are not from BananaCrystal.

Card Score Country reach Cost Funding Rewards
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Consumers in 31 US states; businesses in 41 US states; consumers excluded from Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam. “No extra fees” per the public page; no amounts listed. Spends from a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral; coins and networks not stated. 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber).
Stella 6.5 / 10 Countries not stated on the official site; terms bar sanctioned users; US and European users routed through affiliates. Fees “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App”; amounts not stated officially. Deposit crypto into the in-app wallet (custodial); the card tops up automatically. No cashback stated on the official card page.
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Country reach not confirmed from official pages; app send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone, and recent releases in Colombia, Brazil, the UK. “Fees may apply” — not stated. ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI; USDC into a wallet; other coins not stated. Listing claims 3% rewards on balances.

A few things stand out when you put the four cards next to each other. Whop is the cheapest by far on its public pricing (“No extra fees”) and offers 5% cashback at select merchants, but it is a US-only product, so it is only an alternative if you live in one of the 31 supported states. Stella is closer to BananaCrystal in shape — virtual and physical Visa, custodial in-app wallet — but the public pages do not state fees, country reach, or cashback, so you sign up knowing less than you would with BananaCrystal. UniFi is the most different: a US-issued prepaid debit Visa from Lead Bank, with bank-style funding (ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI) and a 3% balance-rewards claim, but again with the public fees not stated. None of the three is a clear winner over BananaCrystal on every axis; the choice turns on whether you care more about the country list (Whop), the cashback rate (Whop, UniFi), or the fact that BananaCrystal is a working product with stated fees even if those fees are high.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend BananaCrystal to a USDT holder who wants a Visa that works at shops and ATMs in most of the world and who is comfortable paying a 100 USD annual fee, a 400 USD issuance fee on the cheapest physical card, a 2.125% to 3.125% loading fee, and a 0.75% fee on every point-of-sale and online purchase. The Metal Gold is the cheapest per-dollar product on the card’s own fee schedule; the Virtual is the cheapest way to test the programme before you commit.

I would not recommend it to anyone whose main concern is cost, anyone who wants a low-fee everyday card, anyone who does not already hold stablecoins, or anyone whose decision depends on a clear public answer to “which countries is this card available in” and “who is the bank behind it” — because on those two questions the public pages are quiet. If you are in that second group, Whop, Stella, or UniFi will repay a look, and if you are outside the Whop country list, the trade-off is between BananaCrystal’s stated fees and Stella’s or UniFi’s lack of a public fee schedule.

The card programme is a real product run by a real company, and the absence of public complaints is a positive signal. The cost story is the main reason the score is 6.2 and not higher. Read the fee table, read the country silence, and decide whether the convenience of a USD Visa spent from a USDT balance is worth what the card actually charges for it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the BananaCrystal card?

The BananaCrystal card is a USD Visa card issued by Banana Crystal Inc and spent from a USDT or USDC balance held on the BananaCrystal platform. It comes in Virtual, Plastic, Metal Black, Metal Silver, and Metal Gold versions, with the cheapest physical card costing 400 USD to issue and a 100 USD annual fee.

How does the BananaCrystal card work?

You create a BananaCrystal account, complete KYC, and load the card with USDT or USDC; the platform settles on Hedera. At the point of sale or at an ATM, the card spends the loaded balance in USD, and the company charges a loading fee and a per-transaction fee on top of the network’s own conversion.

Is BananaCrystal a bank?

No. Banana Crystal Inc is registered as a money services business in Canada (FINTRAC) and the United States (FinCEN). The card programme is processed under Visa and UnionPay partnerships with an offshore banking partner that the company does not name publicly.

Who owns BananaCrystal?

Banana Crystal Inc, founded in 2020. The public pages do not list individual owners, investors, or a parent company; the company describes itself as a money services business in Canada and the US and as the operator of the card programme.

Is the BananaCrystal card available in my country?

The company advertises the card in “over 200 countries worldwide”, but the public pages listing the excluded countries did not load at the time of writing. The most reliable way to find out is to ask support before you sign up, because the public answer to this question is incomplete.

How do I get a BananaCrystal card?

Create an account on the BananaCrystal platform, complete KYC with a National Identity Card, International Passport, or Driver’s License, and choose a card. The company says KYC typically takes less than ten minutes; the FAQ says approval is usually under ten minutes, with manual follow-up if no email arrives within 48 hours.

Does the BananaCrystal card require KYC?

Yes. The application flow requires a government-issued ID (National Identity Card, International Passport, or Driver’s License); proof of address and the minimum age are not stated on the public pages.

How do I top up the BananaCrystal card?

You send USDT or USDC to the platform wallet, which the company says is settled on Hedera; the supported networks for stablecoin deposits are not stated. The Fund page also mentions bank transfer or USDC. The loading fee is tiered, from 3.125% on Plastic to 2.125% on Metal Gold.

Is the BananaCrystal card safe?

The platform is custodial — the company holds the USDT and USDC balance before it credits the card — and supports two-factor authentication and a card lock after three failed PIN attempts. There is no public Trustpilot page; the absence of public complaints is a positive signal, but the offshore banking partner and the issuer are not named, and the country list is incomplete on the public pages.

Is the BananaCrystal card worth it?

It depends on what you compare it to. For a USDT holder who wants a Visa that works at shops and ATMs in most of the world and who can use the higher metal tiers to bring the loading fee down to 2.125%, the card is a workable product. For a low-fee everyday card, the 100 USD annual fee, the 400 USD issuance fee, and the 0.75% POS fee are hard to justify when cheaper alternatives exist.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team