Deblock scored 6.4 out of 10: clean everyday use, thin published limits and real complaint patterns
If you have tried to get an ordinary bank card and could not — no address a bank accepts, a name on a document the bank will not verify, a country where the local institution simply will not open an account — then the pitch here is obvious. Deblock gives you a euro current account, a Visa card that draws on it, and a self-custody crypto wallet next to it, so the money you hold in a token can be converted and spent the same day. That is a real gap in the market and this card fills part of it.

I went through the card’s own pages and the numbers behind them, then compared them with the complaints people actually file. My score is 6.4 out of 10. That is not a bad score for a product aimed at a narrow set of people; it is a middling one, and the middlingness comes from three places that have little to do with how nice the card is to hold. The everyday mechanics are excellent. The published information about limits is thinner than it should be. And the complaints are concentrated in exactly the situation you are most likely to be in — accounts closed with money held, transfers that do not arrive.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Who the card is for, and who it is not
Deblock suits people who already have legal residence in the EEA and want a euro-denominated card attached to a crypto wallet they hold themselves. It does not suit anyone looking for a bank account with deposit protection, anyone outside the EEA, or anyone who needs published ceilings they can plan around.
Let me be blunt about the eligibility rules, because they decide everything else. Deblock’s official pages do not spell out the eligibility rules in detail. Third-party sources say you must be 18 or older and legally resident in the EEA, with 30 countries named: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden. The United States is described as restricted, and the United Kingdom and Switzerland are not eligible. It is residence that counts, not citizenship.

That last distinction matters more than people expect. Screening runs on citizenship and country of birth as well as address, so a non-EU citizen living in, say, Poland is a different case from a Polish citizen living in Spain, and neither is a simple “EU resident”. If your citizenship is on a sanctions list, the route is closed regardless of where you live. I am telling you the rules as they are stated; what I cannot tell you is how a borderline case is judged, because the card’s public pages do not say.
Who does not fit:
- Anyone wanting bank-deposit guarantee. This is e-money, not a bank account. Funds sit with Deblock, safeguarded separately — that is not the same thing as a deposit guarantee scheme, and the distinction is the reason I hesitate to call this money “safe”.
- Anyone in the UK, Switzerland or the US planning around this card. Deblock will not issue, and no fee schedule changes that.
- Anyone who needs to see a spending ceiling before they spend. The cards page says “no spending cap” for the Standard card; everything else about limits I have comes from a third-party review site and conflicts with that.
- Anyone who wants cashback or rewards on day one. That sits on the paid tier.
Who it does suit is narrower than the marketing suggests and more specific than “crypto people”. It suits a resident of the EEA who holds crypto in a self-custody wallet, wants a euro account and a card that spends it, and is comfortable verifying identity thoroughly and waiting for review.
How to get the card
Onboarding is a verification exercise, not a form. The card is a Visa debit card issued by Deblock itself, and the physical card is a separate step after your account is live.
What the card is: a Visa debit card, with Deblock stating it is a direct Visa member — meaning it issues its own cards rather than working through a partner bank. There are four card lines. Standard is the free one. Premium Metal is 21 grams of stainless steel. Then LED Metal and Artist. Alongside the physical card you get virtual cards that Deblock says are created in seconds, and single-use one-off card numbers. All of them draw on the current account you hold in euros — the card currency is the euro, and payments abroad in other currencies are supported.
On verification, the official pages do not detail the checks. Third-party reporting describes an e-mail and phone verification, an identity document, a video selfie, a residential address, an occupation, the purpose of the account, citizenship and source of funds — and says more information may be asked for later. That last clause is the one to sit with. The pattern of “asked later for more” is not itself a warning sign; it is normal for regulated businesses. But it does mean your application has at least two stages, and the second one is where the complaints concentrate.
Fees: what it really costs
The free Standard plan is genuinely free to hold and free to spend in euros. The cost lives in the conversion, in the non-euro monthly allowance, and in a small set of merchant categories that carry an extra fee on every plan.
Here is the schedule as published:

| Fee or limit | What it is | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Standard plan | Monthly account fee | Free |
| Premium plan | Monthly or annual | 14.99 euros per month or 120 euros per year |
| Native plan | Monthly account fee | Free, provided you have owned a Deblock NFT for at least 30 days |
| Debit card | Issuance | Free; delivery fees may apply |
| Virtual debit cards | Issuance | Standard: 1; Premium: 10; Native: 10 |
| Single-use cards | Included | Standard: 3 |
| Crypto buy, sell, cross-chain swap, same-chain swap | Conversion | Standard 1.99%; Premium 0.49%; Native free |
| Card FX | The cards page states no FX fee on card payments abroad; the fee schedule says non-euro payments are free up to 1,000 euros per calendar month, then 0.5% on weekdays and 1% at weekends | 0% within the monthly allowance, then 0.5% weekdays / 1% weekends |
| In-app currency exchange | Conversion inside the app | 0% |
| Extra merchant-category fee | Financial services, money transfers, funding of prepaid accounts, crypto and quasi-cash, gambling and lotteries, precious metals and jewellery | 0.5% on all plans |
| Euro-zone ATM, another bank’s machine | Standard | Free up to 1 withdrawal or 100 euros per rolling month, then 1% (minimum 1 euro) |
| Euro-zone ATM, another bank’s machine | Premium and Native | Free up to 3 withdrawals or 1,000 euros per rolling month, then 1% (minimum 1 euro) |
| ATM abroad | Foreign ATM withdrawal | 0% FX, limit plan-dependent |
| Standard card spending cap | The cards page says “no spending cap”; per-verification-level limits are not stated | Not stated |
| Standard ATM limits | Unofficial figures from a review site — 10,000 euros per card payment, 15,000 euros per month for Standard ATM withdrawals — conflict with “no spending cap” | Conflicting |
| Card top-up and PayPal top-up | Adding money | Free until 2,000 euros per calendar month, then 0.5% |
| Loading another account | Standard | Free up to 1 transaction or 1,000 euros per rolling month, then 1 euro + 2% |
| Loading another account | Premium | Free up to 1 transaction or 1,000 euros per rolling month, then 1 euro + 1% |
| Loading another account | Native | Free up to 1 transaction or 1,000 euros per rolling month, then 1 euro + 1% |
| SEPA and instant SEPA | Transfers in and out | Free |
Three everyday payments, so you can see which lines actually bite.
A coffee in Paris, 4 euros, paid in euros on Standard. No fee. This is the easy case, and it is genuinely free — the card is a normal euro card when you are spending euros.
A 30-euro dinner in London on Standard. The non-euro allowance covers payments in other currencies free up to 1,000 euros per calendar month, then 0.5% on weekdays. Here the card’s own pages disagree with each other in tone: the cards page says Deblock charges no FX fee on card payments abroad, while the fee schedule sets out the monthly allowance and the percentage beyond it. One unofficial single-source report also says the 1,000-euro monthly free allowance for non-euro payments ends on 11 November 2026. I would plan on the fee schedule version, because a published schedule is the thing you can hold someone to.
A 200-euro purchase at a jewellery shop, any plan. The merchant category sits in the extra-fee list, so 0.5% applies on top. If you were about to convert 200 euros of crypto into it, you are paying 1.99% on the conversion on Standard and 0.5% on the payment — which is why the “no FX fee” line and the category list deserve to be read together rather than separately.
The native tier deserves a warning. It costs nothing, but only if you have held a Deblock NFT for at least 30 days. That is a token whose value you may already own or may want to buy; the free tier is a reward for holding it, not a free account. If you buy the NFT to get the plan, you have changed your risk, not just your fee.
One more change to note: the fee schedule applies from 5 July 2026 to all clients regardless of when you joined. So the schedule above is not a grandfathered version for early users — it is the one.
How to top it up
The card spends the euro balance, so topping up is really a question of how the euros get there. There are several routes, and two of them cost money once you cross a monthly threshold.
The card spends your euro current-account balance. That is the whole model: crypto is converted to euro e-money, the euro sits in the account, and the card draws it down. The fee schedule lists card top-up, PayPal top-up in eligible regions, SEPA and instant SEPA transfers, receiving transfers, and peer-to-peer transfers between people.
Which coins and networks can be sold is not stated officially. Unofficial sources say BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC and others are sold from the self-custodial wallet into euro e-money before you spend, and also name SEPA to a personal IBAN, an external card in your own name with an EU or UK issuer, PayPal, and Deblock-to-Deblock transfers. Treat the coin list as plausible but unconfirmed — that matters more than it sounds, because sending on a network the provider does not support is how funds go missing permanently.
On costs:
- External card top-up and PayPal top-up are free up to 2,000 euros per calendar month, then 0.5%.
- SEPA and instant SEPA transfers are free.
- Loading someone else’s account is free up to one transaction or 1,000 euros per rolling month on Standard, then 1 euro plus 2%; on Premium and Native, 1 euro plus 1%.
- The minimum top-up is not stated.
- In-app currency exchange is 0%, with no limit stated — which is the single most useful number on this page for anyone who holds dollars or pounds.
Getting money back out: SEPA transfers, instant SEPA and direct debit are free on Standard, and ATMs follow the table above. Selling crypto into euros costs the 1.99% on Standard. What happens to a balance if you close the account is not stated officially — which is, given the complaints below, the question I would most want answered in writing.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card is genuinely good, and the reason I scored it full marks on everyday use. Virtual cards in seconds, Apple Pay and Google Pay from day one, a real ATM function, and card-not-present payment handled normally.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are free on all plans and available “from day 1”, for both virtual and physical cards. That matters more than it sounds: a virtual card in a phone wallet is the fastest usable form of this product, and you get it before any plastic arrives in the post. Single-use one-off card numbers auto-expire after first use, which is a genuinely good default for one online purchase you are unsure about.
Cashback: not on Standard. Premium and Native carry cashback “up to 1%” on card payments, with the payout currency and the conditions not stated. So the free plan gives you nothing back.
The app rating is worth a mention without much weight. On the iOS App Store, under the Poland storefront, “Deblock – Banking App” sits at 4.5 out of 5 from 22 ratings — a small sample, and small samples move easily. Unofficial figures put Google Play at 4.7 from about 29,000 reviews with 500,000+ downloads. I would not treat either as evidence of reliability; I would treat them as evidence that the Android side has a much larger user base, which matters for the complaint patterns below.
What is not stated and that you should ask about: which merchant categories are blocked, and how disputes work. A declined online payment and a dispute you cannot file are two very different problems, and the second one is the one I cannot rule out.
A general note on why crypto cards get declined at the till. The first six or eight digits of a card number identify the issuing institution, and merchants can look them up to see which institution and country issued it; if the issuer country differs from your billing address, they may apply extra scrutiny. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer types against issuer records, is mostly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly this reason. None of this is specific to Deblock — it is the category — but it is why a card that works perfectly online may not work in every shop. Also worth knowing: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
What can go wrong
The regulatory position is solid and the everyday product is good. What gives me pause is a pattern of account blocks and closures with money held, in a product whose users are, by definition, people who cannot easily get another account.
First, the company. Deblock SAS is based in Lille, France. It is licensed as a crypto-asset service provider by the AMF under number A2025-001, and as an electronic money institution by the ACPR with bank code (CIB) 17748. It is a direct Visa member. That is a real, checkable set of permissions: two French regulators, a named licence number, and its own card issuing status. The AMF keeps a public register of authorised providers, and the transitional period under the EU’s crypto regulation ran until 1 July 2026 or until a provider got or was refused authorisation, whichever came first — so a licence number you can look up is worth more here than a marketing claim.
What an electronic money licence does not give you: deposit guarantee. EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but that is not the same as a bank deposit and may not sit inside a national deposit guarantee scheme. So your euro balance is safeguarded, not guaranteed. Unofficial sources describe the balance as held with Deblock in segregated accounts — not a bank-deposit guarantee — while the crypto side is self-custodial, with an exportable seed phrase. The card’s own pages do not state custody arrangements or two-factor authentication details, though the navigation lists a “Self-custody” page.
That self-custody split is the design’s best idea and its sharpest edge. You hold the private key, so nobody can move your crypto. But a seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted private key: anyone who has it can restore the wallet and spend everything. Crypto transfers are generally irreversible and no network can freeze or return them. So the risk moves rather than disappears. What you have traded for provider risk is key-loss risk, phishing risk, and the risk of clipboard malware that swaps a copied deposit address under you.
And here is where I have to flag something specific to this category. Tether disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, which means “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option; ERC-20 fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it; and Tron charges fees through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. Sending a deposit on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can lose the funds outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. In a card where the euro balance is easy to move but the crypto is the part you control, that asymmetry is where I would be most careful.
Now the complaints, because this is the section that cost the card points.
Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of 4.4 from 9,393 reviews, of which 7,133 fall in the last 12 months, read 21 October 2026. Twelve percent are one-star. Deblock replies to 25% of negative reviews. A 4.4 is a decent score; the 12% and the 25% are the parts I would not skip.
The recurring themes from a user-reported search in October 2026:
- Accounts blocked or closed with funds held, and a stated return date moving further away each time you ask.
- Accounts terminated without a reason given (14 October 2026).
- A 10-euro transfer shown as successful but not credited (8 October 2026).
- Requests for clearer fees (14 October 2026).
- Balance and transfer discrepancies, with support taking up to a week.
- Deblock’s replies to these cite regulatory safety measures.
There is one further risk with no good answer available. On 11 March 2026 the planned BLOCK token, airdrop, staking levels, fee discounts and card cashback of up to 10% were cancelled indefinitely (unofficial source). The plain reading: promises of future rewards attached to a card programme have already been withdrawn once. Do not build a plan around a token that does not exist.
Support itself is reachable — contact and FAQ pages, a public status page at status.deblock.com, e-mail [email protected], and site languages including English, French, German, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese. The week-long response times in the reviews are about that channel, not about whether it exists.
What to take instead
If Deblock’s weakness is published limits and complaint handling, then the right comparison is not “other crypto cards” but “a regulated bank account, where one exists for you”. Where it does not, these three are the alternatives worth weighing.
| Alternative | Score | Who it fits | Card and cost | Funding and rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deblock | 6.4 / 10 | EEA residents wanting a euro account with a self-custody crypto wallet | Visa debit, Standard free; crypto conversion 1.99% on Standard; non-euro payments free to 1,000 euros per calendar month then 0.5% weekdays / 1% weekends | Crypto sold from self-custody, plus SEPA, card, PayPal; cashback only on paid tiers |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Consumers in 31 US states; businesses in 41 | Visa, works online and in stores; virtual and physical type and card currency not stated; page says “no extra fees” with no amounts listed | Spends from a Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; coins and networks not stated; 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Users outside the sanctions perimeter; terms route US and European users through affiliates | Virtual and physical Visa, “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”; fees not stated officially, said to be under the User Agreement or in the app | Deposit crypto into the account, which automatically tops up a custodial in-app wallet; no cashback stated on the card page |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | Users with US routes, plus send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone, and recently Colombia, Brazil and the UK | Prepaid Debit Visa Card issued by Lead Bank; card currency USD; fees “may apply” | Funding via ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI, or paid to a USDC wallet; “3% rewards on balances” claimed, card cashback not stated |
Reading that table honestly:
Whop Cards is the weakest of the four at 5.2 and has the most exposed geography — 31 states for consumers, and a named list of unsupported consumer countries including Russia, Belarus, China (Mainland), Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The basis for eligibility, citizenship or residence, is not stated. Its appeal is the 5% cashback at select merchants and a “no extra fees” page with no numbers behind it.
Stella scores 6.5, slightly above Deblock, and is the most structurally different: you deposit crypto and the account tops the card automatically from a custodial in-app wallet. That is the opposite of Deblock’s self-custody premise, and the trade is real — convenience against key control. Its country position is vaguer than Deblock’s, not clearer: official pages do not state countries, terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes, and US and European users are routed through affiliates.
UniFi Card at 4.7 is a prepaid Visa issued by Lead Bank in USD. It has the widest documented money-movement routes of the three alternatives but the least published pricing, and a rewards claim about balances rather than card spend.
And the alternative that is not on the list: a plain bank or credit union account with a normal debit card. If a mainstream institution will open one for you, the fee schedule is shorter, your money sits inside a deposit guarantee scheme, and the specific failure mode above — closure with funds held — is the one thing a deposit guarantee exists to answer. Deblock is not a substitute for that. It is a substitute for not having it at all.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Deblock to a person who is legally resident in one of the named EEA countries, holds crypto in a self-custody wallet and can wait for a verification process that may ask twice, and who wants to spend crypto through a euro Visa card without a bank in the middle. The app and wallet side is the good part: virtual cards in seconds, phone wallets on day one, one-off numbers that expire themselves, in-app currency exchange at 0%.
I would not recommend it as the only card someone has, and I would not treat a paid tier as obviously worth buying. Premium at 14.99 euros a month, or 120 euros a year, gets you 0.49% conversion instead of 1.99%, ten virtual cards, cashback up to 1% and a better ATM allowance. If you are converting more than roughly 500 euros a month, the conversion saving alone is most of the subscription — I would do that arithmetic with your own numbers. Below that, Standard is the sensible plan, and “up to 1%” cashback with unstated conditions is not a reason to pay fourteen euro ninety-nine a month.
Three questions I would want answered before committing money: what the balance is in a closure, with a timeframe in writing; which verification level I will end up at and what spending ceiling that gives me; and which networks my coins will actually be sold on. All three are currently answered “not stated” on the public pages. If any of those matters to your situation — and for the reader who cannot open an account anywhere else, they usually do — then the honest answer is to ask Deblock directly and see how quickly a specific answer comes back.
The card is a 6.4 because the thing it promises works well, the company behind it is properly licensed, and the published information about limits, closures and rewards is thinner than the product deserves. For the narrow person it fits, that trade can be worth making knowingly. For anyone else, I would rather see them with a card they can read the fine print on.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Deblock card?
Deblock is a euro current account with a Visa debit card attached, paired with a self-custody crypto wallet. Deblock states it is a direct Visa member, so it issues the cards itself. Card lines are Standard, free; Premium Metal, stainless steel; LED Metal; and Artist, plus virtual cards and single-use one-off numbers. Everything draws on the euro balance, so crypto is converted before it is spent.
How does the Deblock card work?
You hold crypto in a self-custodial wallet, sell it into euro e-money, and the card spends that euro balance like an ordinary debit card. Conversion costs 1.99% on Standard, 0.49% on Premium, and nothing on the Native tier if you have held a Deblock NFT for at least 30 days. The card is euro-denominated, so spending euros is free; payments in other currencies are free up to 1,000 euros per calendar month.
Is Deblock a bank?
No — Deblock SAS is an electronic money institution licensed by the ACPR, bank code (CIB) 17748, and a crypto-asset service provider licensed by the AMF under A2025-001. E-money institutions may issue e-money and payment cards but do not lend. Your balance is safeguarded in segregated accounts, which is not the same as a bank deposit and may not fall inside a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who can get the Deblock card?
The official rules are not spelled out. Third-party sources, not confirmed by Deblock, describe an age of 18 or older and legal residence in the EEA across 30 named countries, with the United States restricted and the United Kingdom and Switzerland not eligible. Residence is the stated basis, but citizenship and country of birth are screened separately as part of sanctions checks.
Does the Deblock card require KYC, and what does that involve?
Verification is required, and the checks are not detailed on the official pages I could read. Unofficial descriptions list e-mail and phone verification, an identity document, a video selfie, residential address, occupation, account purpose, citizenship and source of funds, with more information possibly requested later. The levels of verification and the spending limits attached to each level are not stated publicly.
Is the Deblock card free?
The Standard plan is free: no monthly fee, free debit card, free virtual card, three single-use cards, no crypto conversion charged for holding. You pay when you act — 1.99% on crypto buy, sell and swap, and 0.5% on non-euro card payments above 1,000 euros per calendar month. Premium costs 14.99 euros a month or 120 euros a year; Native is free but needs a Deblock NFT held for 30 days.
How do I top up the Deblock card?
The fee schedule lists card top-up, PayPal top-up in eligible regions, SEPA and instant SEPA transfers, and peer-to-peer transfers. Card and PayPal top-ups are free up to 2,000 euros per calendar month, then 0.5%; SEPA and instant SEPA are free. Unofficial sources say crypto is sold from the self-custodial wallet into euros, but the coins and networks that can be sold are not stated officially.
Is the Deblock card safe?
The regulatory footing is real — AMF and ACPR licences with published numbers, and segregation of customer funds. But your euro balance is safeguarded, not deposit-guaranteed, and reviews report accounts blocked or closed with funds held in October 2026. The crypto side is self-custody: nobody can move your coins, but a lost or phished seed phrase is unrecoverable and transfers cannot be reversed.
Can I use the Deblock card in the United Kingdom?
No, not according to the eligibility rules as they are reported: the United Kingdom and Switzerland are not eligible, and the United States is restricted. This is on the residence and citizenship side, so it does not change with where you travel. Spending abroad in a country you are eligible in is a separate question — non-euro payments are free up to 1,000 euros per calendar month, then 0.5% on weekdays and 1% at weekends.
Is the Deblock card worth it?
It is worth it if you cannot get an ordinary card, you live in an eligible EEA country, and you want to spend self-custody crypto through a euro Visa card with phone wallets from day one. It is probably not worth the Premium fee unless you convert more than a few hundred euros a month, and it is not worth relying on as your only card while closures with held funds remain an unresolved complaint theme.
App and neobank card options – cryptocardoptions.com
Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team
