Reasonable everyday spending, heavy fees and no named issuer

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The GFPAY card is a prepaid Mastercard, virtual or plastic, that you load with money and spend like an ordinary payment card. On paper it covers almost the whole world and does the basic things well: virtual and physical cards, a web dashboard, USD and EUR, ATM withdrawals, 3-D Secure on online payments. The problems are in the details, and they are the details you pay for every single time. A $50 acquisition charge, a $10 monthly fee that cancels the card if your balance is too low, a 5% top-up fee, 2% on currency conversion and $0.30 on every purchase. That stack is why this card scores what it does.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
GFPAY works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.0 out of 10

I scored GFPAY at 5.0 out of 10. That is a middling mark, and it is worth saying plainly where the middle sits: the card does the ordinary job competently and gets in the way of almost everything else. Who it suits is narrow — you need a Mastercard, you want the option of a virtual card you can use the same day, and you are willing to pay for both. Who it does not suit is everyone else, and that is a lot of people: anyone who wants to hold money on the card, anyone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay on the plastic card, anyone who is price-sensitive enough to notice a 5% reload fee, and anyone who wants to know which institution actually holds their balance.

Here is the breakdown, criterion by criterion.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 The world except 27 prohibited countries, including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, Syria, Croatia and Albania; the basis, citizenship or residence, is not stated
Cost 1 / 10 $50 issuance, $10 a month, 5% top-up, 2.0% conversion, $0.30 a purchase, $4.00 + 1% at the ATM
Top-up options 6 / 10 Coins and networks are not listed in the overview; earlier described as stablecoin-focused and multichain; funds are not converted back to crypto
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 GFPAY SOLUTIONS FZCO in Dubai; no issuer or licence named, the support domain does not resolve, the company may close an account without notice; no complaints found
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual and physical Mastercard, ATM withdrawals; the virtual card adds to mobile wallets, the physical card does not work with Apple Pay or Google Pay
Total 5.0 / 10

The audience note fits what I found: GFPAY is for users who need a Mastercard and want both a virtual and a plastic option. That is a real need, and if it is your need, this card does cover it. The trouble is what it charges for it and what it does not tell you about the money on it.

Will they give you the card

Yes, in almost everywhere. GFPAY’s stated reach is global except for a prohibited list of 27 countries: Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cuba, DRC, Ethiopia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Montenegro, Myanmar, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe and the Central African Republic.

If you are in one of those countries, the answer is no and no amount of explaining will change it. If you are not, you are inside the intended market.

But here is the gap that should stop you for a second: the card does not say whether eligibility rests on citizenship or on residence. Those are different tests. One lets a citizen of an allowed country apply from anywhere they live; the other means you must actually be living in an allowed country. If you are a Russian citizen living in Germany, or a German citizen living in Russia, the two rules give opposite answers, and GFPAY’s public pages do not tell you which one applies. You would have to find out by asking, and as I will come to below, support is not an easy channel.

There is a second restriction that is quieter. The delivery page refers to an approved-countries list that is not published. So “we serve the world except 27 countries” and “we ship the plastic card to the world except 27 countries” may not be the same claim. It is the sort of detail that only bites after you have paid.

How to get it

You apply with documents, and the documents have age limits. Identity proof must be valid for at least six months from the date of your application. Proof of address must be no older than 75 days according to the overview, or no older than 90 days according to the physical-card FAQ — the two pages disagree, so treat the stricter 75 days as your working assumption. Accepted documents are a passport, ID card, driver’s licence, residence permit, or bank or card statements. On age, the terms say minors need guardian permission, which generally means under 18 is the threshold.

Three things about the signup are worth flagging before you start, because they are the ones that cost time or money.

First, identity tiers and processing time are not stated. You will not find a promise like “verified within 24 hours” anywhere in the public material, so plan on this being slower than a bank onboarding flow rather than faster.

Second, the card itself is a Mastercard prepaid card, available in both physical and virtual form. Tokenisation is described as “coming soon”, which connects to a problem I will explain in the daily-use section. You can hold up to 3 cards per user according to the overview, or 4 physical cards according to the FAQ. The card works in USD and EUR. 3-D Secure is enabled, so online payments can ask you for a confirmation step.

Third, the physical card ships the next business day after payment, or within three days after the invoice is paid. Delivery cost is invoiced separately and the amount is not stated — so the $50 you pay is not necessarily everything you pay before the card arrives. If it is lost or stolen, it is deactivated and replaced with the remaining balance; the replacement fee is not stated.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where the card falls apart, so I will be blunt: the 1 out of 10 for cost is the lowest mark on the sheet and it is not close. Every one of these numbers comes from the card’s own pages.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a GFPAY payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Card acquisition $50
Activation Free (overview) or $10 (physical card FAQ)
Monthly maintenance $10
Top-up / reload fee 5%
Purchase, in store or online $0.30 per transaction
Currency conversion (FX) 2.0%
Crypto conversion rate Not stated
ATM withdrawal $4.00 + 1%
ATM balance inquiry $1.00
ATM limits $1,000 per transaction and per day, 25 per day (overview); 25 per day (physical FAQ); $2,000 per day, $20,000 per month, 60% of balance (physical FAQ — sources differ)
Minimum load $15
Maximum load $100,000
POS / online maximum transaction $100,000
POS / online daily limit $100,000, 25 transactions per day
Maximum balance $150,000 (physical FAQ)
Monthly spending limit $175,000 (physical FAQ)

Two of those rows contradict each other, and it is not a small contradiction. Activation is either free or $10. The physical FAQ describes a $100 initial deposit that covers acquisition and activation, netting $40 — which does not reconcile with a $50 acquisition and a free activation either. Plan on $50 plus a possible $10, and treat the $40 figure as a legacy or promotional path.

Now the part that actually matters, which is what happens when you pay for something.

A $20 supermarket shop. The purchase fee is $0.30 on top. So $20.30 comes out of the balance for goods worth $20 — a 1.5% penalty on the transaction before any exchange rate applies. If you are paying in your card’s own currency, that is all you pay.

A €15 dinner while your balance is in USD. The purchase fee is $0.30, and the 2.0% conversion fee applies on top of the exchange rate itself. $0.30 plus 2% on a converted $18-ish amount is roughly another $0.36. You are paying about two and a half percent of the meal to spend money you already had.

A $40 ATM withdrawal. $4.00 plus 1%. That is $4.40 to take out cash, or 11% of the withdrawal, before the ATM operator’s own charges if it adds any.

The $10 monthly fee has its own edge. The card is cancelled if your balance is insufficient to cover it. So the cheapest way to hold this card is to keep money on it forever, and the cheapest way to avoid the fee is to close the card you paid $50 for.

Top up

The card’s own overview does not list which coins or which networks it accepts. That is the single most useful thing to know before you buy, and it is the thing you will have to ask for. What has been recorded from an earlier check is the description “stablecoin-focused, multichain” — which tells you the shape of the product but not the answer. Treat it as an informal note, not as a specification you can rely on.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up GFPAY starts with a transfer to the right network

What is stated is the fee structure around the deposit: a 5% top-up fee, a minimum load of $15, and an initial deposit of $100 when you start with online purchases. The gift-card FAQ separately mentions a $10 creation fee, a 5% load fee and Bitcoin, which is the only place any specific coin is named anywhere in the material. Who pays the blockchain network fee for your deposit is not stated. Given how much else on this card is documented and how much is not, I would find out before you send anything.

Two restrictions on getting money back out are worth knowing now rather than later. The card-product FAQ states that funds cannot be converted back to crypto, and they cannot be moved between cards. So the card is one-way by design: crypto or dollars in, spending out, and what remains stays as card balance or is lost with the card. The balance on a closed account is not stated, and GFPAY may terminate accounts without notice.

Paying with it every day

Here is the honest summary of daily life with this card. It is a Mastercard, which is the right network: it will work at most ordinary shops, and it is accepted at a great many places that will refuse an unknown card. It works in USD and EUR, it works at ATMs, and online payments have 3-D Secure, so a bank or shop that wants to verify you can.

The virtual card is the better half. It can be added to mobile wallets and used that way. There is no mobile app — the dashboard is on the web at dashboard.gfpay.net — so everything you do, you do in a browser. Adding to a wallet is therefore your main route to paying with a phone.

The physical card is where it falls down: it is not tokenised, and it is not compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay. So on the plastic card, tap-to-pay with a phone does not exist. You use it, or you use the virtual one in a wallet. That is a real limitation for anyone who left their bank cards behind partly because they wanted to pay by tapping.

Two more day-to-day details. Purchases in “quasi cash” categories — crypto, travellers cheques, gift cards — may be declined. And on the dispute side, chargebacks are not mentioned anywhere. The general disputes route is 30 days of negotiation followed by binding arbitration under ICAC rules seated in Dubai, with no refunds on prepaid gift cards. If something goes wrong with a purchase, this is not the card where a quick refund is the expected path.

What can go wrong

The issuer is not named. This is the finding that matters most, and it is not a technicality. GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO operates from Aspin Commercial Tower, Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, UAE. It is the party behind the card. It does not name the bank or licensed institution that actually issues the Mastercard, and it names no licences of its own. The terms are under UAE law and arbitration is in Dubai at the ICAC.

For a prepaid card, knowing the issuer tells you who is regulated, under which regime, and which complaint route and deposit-protection rules apply. Without it, you are holding a balance with a marketing company whose regulatory standing you cannot check. The custody model — who holds your money, and whether it is safeguarded separately — is also not stated.

Support does not currently resolve. Tickets are supposed to go through gfpay.biz/support. That domain did not resolve when it was checked on 2026-10-21. The Telegram channel is there, but its hours and languages are not stated. If your card is declined, your deposit is missing, or your account is closed, the channel you would use to ask appears to be down. That is the practical reason I put a question mark against the reliability mark.

Accounts can be closed without notice. GFPAY may terminate accounts without notice. Combined with a support channel that does not load and an unnamed issuer, that is the shape of the risk: limited recourse if something goes wrong, and no published cooling-off or notice period to lean on.

Nothing has gone publicly wrong — and nothing has gone publicly right. No official incidents were found. Equally, no reviews of GFPAY on Trustpilot or Reddit were found. Silence cuts both ways. A brand with no complaints may be new rather than clean, and there is no track record here to reassure you either way.

Age of the paperwork. The overview carries a 2025 copyright line and the terms were last updated on 5 October 2023. That is the most recent update date stated on the documents I could see. Prices and terms can change; check them at the point of purchase rather than relying on anything written here.

On the security side, the positives are 3-D Secure enabled and spending caps. The gap is again the unnamed issuer and unstated custody, which is where the real question lies — not in whether 3-D Secure is on, but who stands behind the balance when you load it.

What to take instead

If GFPAY’s shape — a crypto-funded prepaid card with virtual and physical options — is what you need, these are the three I compared it against. I am not telling you which to pick; I am showing you where the fees and the reach sit.

Alternative Score Cost to open Fees Reach
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Not stated Conversion at the moment of payment with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate”; no percentage stated “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no exclusions published; app listing is Naira-focused
TakeCard 5.5 / 10 Virtual $5; physical in Bolivia $20 issuance + $20 shipping (another page in the same centre says $10 — conflicting) 1% commission per purchase; USD 1:1; other currencies at the official Visa rate Physical card “available only to Bolivian users for now”; countries not listed in help articles
OkiCard 6.0 / 10 Issuance $0, monthly $0, starting price $15 for the virtual card (FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee — pages disagree) Load fee 3%; transaction fee in USD 0%; “no hidden exchange spreads” “150+ countries” (some pages say “200+”); no geo-blocking on passport; users must confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction

Three things stand out when you line them up.

OkiCard scores highest here at 6.0 and is the only one that publishes its networks in full: USDT on BSC (BEP-20), Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20) and Solana (SPL), with USDC “soon” and BTC and altcoins “coming soon”. Its 3% load fee is below GFPAY’s 5%, and it lists a 0% transaction fee. Its virtual card is $15 to start. But its network is not specified, and its own pages disagree on the issuance fee.

Cardex publishes no fee percentage at all, which is either a good sign or an omission, and it operates on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay. It funds from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated. Its app listing is Naira-focused.

TakeCard is the one with real limits: virtual card $5, physical card only for Bolivian users, 1% per purchase. Its funding routes come from starting data I could not verify — USDC/USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum into the Takenos account — and the help articles do not name coins.

Against GFPAY, the comparison is uncomfortable. GFPAY charges $50 to open a card that OkiCard lists at $15 with no monthly fee, charges 5% to load where OkiCard charges 3%, and charges $0.30 a purchase where OkiCard lists 0%. GFPAY’s advantages are real but narrower: it names Mastercard, it offers a physical card across a much wider list of countries than TakeCard, and it is the only one of the four that offers both virtual and plastic in the general market.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend GFPAY to someone in this position specifically: you need a Mastercard, your country is not on the prohibited list, you want a virtual card you can use immediately and a physical card in the post, and you have already decided that paying $50 plus $10 a month is acceptable for that convenience. If that is you, the card will do what it says. The daily-use mark of 7 out of 10 is not generous; it reflects that the everyday mechanics — network, wallets, ATM, 3-D Secure — are sound.

I would not recommend it to anyone who intends to keep a balance on it long-term, or who plans to use the plastic card with a phone. I would be cautious with it if your priority is cheap spending: a 5% reload and $0.30 a transaction is a lot of friction to pay repeatedly for a card that costs $50 to start and $10 a month to keep. And if you are the kind of person who needs to know that a named, licensed institution is holding your money — that there is a regulator to complain to and a deposit protection scheme behind the balance — then the fact that no issuer is named is not a small gap. It is the whole question.

The honest summary is that this is a card that works and charges you heavily for working. Before you commit, ask the three things the public pages do not answer: which network and coin do I send, who is the issuer, and is my balance safeguarded. If those come back clearly, GFPAY is a reasonable buy. If they come back vaguely, you already know what you are deciding.

Frequently asked questions

What is GFPAY card?

GFPAY is a prepaid Mastercard available in both virtual and physical form. You load money onto it, mostly from crypto or a stablecoin, and spend it as an ordinary payment card at shops, online and at ATMs. It runs in USD and EUR, supports up to 3 cards per user (4 physical, per the FAQ), and is a stored-balance card rather than a debit card linked to a bank account.

Is GFPAY a bank?

Not on the evidence of its public pages. The company behind it is GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO, an FZCO registered in Dubai, UAE. The card programme is a prepaid card business, and the terms are governed by UAE law with arbitration seated in Dubai. The issuing bank or licensed institution is not named, which is a real gap rather than a formality.

Does the GFPAY card require KYC?

Yes. You need proof of ID valid for at least 6 months from application, and proof of address no older than 75 days (the overview) or 90 days (the physical-card FAQ). Accepted documents include a passport, ID card, driver’s licence, residence permit and bank or card statements. Terms say minors need guardian permission.

Which countries is the GFPAY card available in?

Globally except 27 prohibited countries, including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, Syria, Croatia, Albania, Afghanistan, Cuba, Venezuela and Zimbabwe. Whether eligibility rests on citizenship or on residence is not stated. Separately, the delivery page refers to an approved-countries list that is not published, so shipping reach may be narrower.

How much does the GFPAY card cost?

Acquisition is $50, monthly maintenance is $10, top-up is 5%, currency conversion is 2.0%, each in-store or online purchase is $0.30, and an ATM withdrawal is $4.00 plus 1% with a $1.00 balance inquiry. Activation is described as free on the overview and $10 in the physical-card FAQ, so budget for the higher figure.

How do I top up the GFPAY card?

The overview does not name the coins or networks, which has been recorded earlier as “stablecoin-focused, multichain”. Stated terms: a 5% top-up fee, a $15 minimum load, and a $100 initial deposit when starting with online purchases. A gift-card FAQ mentions $10 creation, 5% load and Bitcoin. Who pays the network fee for the deposit is not stated — ask first.

Can I add the GFPAY card to Apple Wallet?

The virtual card can be added to mobile wallets. The physical card is not tokenised and is not compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay, so on the plastic card there is no phone tap-to-pay. Tokenisation is described as “coming soon”. There is also no mobile app — the dashboard is on the web at dashboard.gfpay.net.

Can I withdraw money from GFPAY back to crypto?

No. The card-product FAQ states that funds cannot be converted back to crypto, and they cannot be moved between cards. The card is one-way by design. The balance on a closed account is not stated, and GFPAY may terminate accounts without notice, so do not park money here that you cannot replace.

Is the GFPAY card safe?

The card has 3-D Secure enabled and spending caps, which are real safeguards. What is missing is the substance behind them: the issuer is not named, no licences are given, and the custody model for your balance is not stated. Support is also a concern — the gfpay.biz domain did not resolve on 2026-10-21. Ask who the issuer is before loading.

Is the GFPAY card worth it?

For a user who needs a Mastercard, wants both virtual and plastic options, and can absorb $50 to open plus $10 a month plus 5% reloads and $0.30 a purchase, it does what it promises. For anyone watching the cost per transaction, or wanting to hold a balance, or planning to tap the plastic card with a phone, the fees and the gap around the issuer are hard to justify at this price.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team