XHYPE card review: a prepaid crypto card from a self-custody wallet — with a few gaps you should know about before paying for it
The XHYPE card is a prepaid payment card that sits on top of the XHYPE Superwallet, a self-custody web wallet where you keep your own private keys. The card side is run by an unnamed independent issuer, with XHYPE FZCO, a Dubai-registered company, acting as the programme manager rather than as a bank. The result is a hybrid that mixes the look of a regular Visa/Mastercard debit experience with the realities of working from your own wallet.
This review is written for you if you are weighing XHYPE against other crypto cards and want a frank read on the three pricing tiers, the real top-up costs, the limits and the gaps where the official pages simply do not say. I went through XHYPE’s own terms and pages, then cross-checked against two third-party profile sites where the numbers diverge enough to be worth flagging. Where they disagree I show both. Where the company stays silent, I say so plainly.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
XHYPE earns a 7.0 out of 10. The score reflects a real strength: the card fits a niche that most crypto cards ignore, namely self-custody users who want both a virtual and a physical card without giving up control of their private keys. The country reach is wide, the wallet is genuinely self-custody, and the everyday mechanics (Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATM withdrawals on the upper tiers) are there. The score also reflects what is missing: the card issuer is unnamed, FX fees are not published, dispute and refund processes are not spelled out, and third-party reviewers have logged account-freeze episodes and slow support.

Who it suits: people who already hold stablecoins in their own wallet, who want to spend them through a familiar card interface, who live outside the major banked markets, and who are comfortable with the experimental side of the crypto-card market. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a published FX margin, a named issuer, clear chargeback rights, or a card that does not involve a third-party programme manager that the official documents call out as separate from the card itself.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Available in 203 countries; eligibility depends on residence and citizenship. Unofficial sources name 9 restricted countries. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Three plans from $10 to $70 a year; top-up fees 2.1–1.2%; FX and ATM fees are not published. Unofficial figures are much higher. |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT, USDC or the native coin on BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon and Arbitrum via the Superwallet. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer is unnamed; a third-party report logs a 2025 HKD Visa disruption, AML-driven account freezes and slow refunds. |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual on every plan, physical on Premium and Whale; Apple Pay and Google Pay on all cards; ATM up to $1,500 a day. |
| Total | 7.0 / 10 |
If you are choosing between XHYPE and a mainstream card, the everyday-use row is genuinely high. If you are choosing between XHYPE and another self-custody card, the reliability row drags the most, because the issuer and the fee structure outside the top-up are the parts you cannot check until you are already a customer.
Who they will give the card to
XHYPE states that cards can be ordered from 203 countries and territories. Eligibility is not a simple residency test: it is decided by country of residence and, separately, by nationality at the time you apply. The terms also say the service must not be used “in jurisdictions where such services are restricted”, which means the list of where you can hold the card is narrower than the list of where you can be approved. A third-party profile (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) puts the practical list at 184 countries, with 9 countries named as restricted: Afghanistan, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. That shorter list is not the official one and is worth treating as unofficial.
You must be at least 18. Identity is checked through Verinex under what XHYPE calls “Private KYC”: the verifier handles the documents, XHYPE only receives the result. The terms require ID but do not publish a document list, and proof of address is not stated as a requirement. A third-party site (cryptocards.so, 2026) describes the experience as “no KYC”, which conflicts with the terms. The more accurate reading, from another third-party profile, is that routine ID checks are not advertised upfront but every deposit is screened for AML, and flagged funds may be rejected. If you have a sanctions touchpoint in your history, the answer is likely “no”.
What this means in practice: most adults in most countries will be allowed to apply, but a refusal can come from the nationality side, the residency side, or the transaction-monitoring side, and you may not know which one until after you have submitted documents.
How to get the card
The flow is the same on every plan. You sign up at the web app superwallet.xhype.io (nothing to install), verify your identity through Verinex, pick a plan, deposit crypto to your Superwallet address, then load the card from that balance. The Essential plan delivers a virtual card instantly after the plan is paid and the wallet is funded. The Premium and Whale plans add a physical card, and the physical card arrives about 15 days after a correct address is entered. Shipping countries, shipping cost and replacement cost are not stated on the official pages.
The network on which the card runs is not stated on the official XHYPE pages. A third-party profile describes Visa and Mastercard programmes with virtual-only cards, which conflicts with the official Premium and Whale plans that include a physical card. Treat the network as unconfirmed until XHYPE publishes it.
A small but real point: because the Superwallet is self-custody, you will be asked to back up a seed phrase (typically 12 to 24 words) and may be able to export your private key to MetaMask, Trust Wallet or a similar wallet. Anyone with that phrase controls the wallet, and the network cannot reverse a transaction. The card sits on top of that wallet, so the security of the card starts with the security of the seed phrase.
What it really costs — the XHYPE card fees
The pricing model is unusual in this market. There is a yearly plan fee on top of the per-transaction top-up fee, and the two move together: the more you pay for the plan, the less you pay per top-up. The trade is straightforward, but the missing pieces matter.

Cost table
| Fee or limit | Essential | Premium | Whale |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan price (1 year) | $10 | $58 | $70 |
| Plan price (3 years) | — | $118 | $148 |
| Virtual cards | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Physical card | — | 1 | 1 |
| Top-up fee | 2.1% | 1.8% | 1.2% |
| Annual limit | $50,000 | $250,000 | $1,000,000 |
| FX fee | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| ATM fee | n/a (no physical card) | not stated | not stated |
| ATM per transaction | n/a | $1,500 | $1,500 |
| ATM per day | n/a | $1,500 / 30 ops | $1,500 / 30 ops |
| ATM per month | n/a | $15,000 | $15,000 |
| Network fee (gas) | paid by user | paid by user | paid by user |
| Minimum top-up | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Shipping / replacement | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Disputes and chargebacks | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Refunds and closure | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Card currency | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Two unofficial cost profiles diverge sharply from the official figures. CryptoCardHub (August 2026) lists annual fees of $108 (Essential), $228 (Premium) and $588 (Whale), with monthly equivalents of $9, $19 and $49 and auto-renewal, plus reload fees of 4.5%, 3.5% and 2.3% and an FX margin described only as a “standard fee” with no percentage. Those numbers are not confirmed by XHYPE and conflict with the official plan page, but they are large enough that you should be ready for them to be the real numbers in your region or under a current promotion. If you are about to pay, the price you actually see in the app is the price that applies.
Three everyday payments
Coffee at €3.50 abroad. On Essential, a top-up to cover €3.50 would cost 2.1% in the top-up fee, and then the FX spread — the gap between the mid-market rate and the rate XHYPE’s unnamed issuer uses to convert your stablecoin balance to euros at payment time — is not published. On Premium, the top-up fee drops to 1.8%. The actual euro cost of the coffee will be a function of three things: the top-up fee at the time you loaded the balance, the FX margin, and any conversion fee your wallet charged to turn stablecoin into a spendable balance. XHYPE does not break those out publicly.
An illustrative $40 restaurant bill at home (a figure not confirmed by the card’s official fee page). On Whale, a top-up of $40.48 to leave $40 on the card would cost 1.2%, around 49 cents. The fact that you are preloading a balance means the card cannot overdraw, and the rate you got on the top-up is locked in regardless of what the FX market does between top-up and spend.
ATM, $300 cash on Premium. The transaction is allowed (under the $1,500 daily cap), but the ATM fee is not stated, the ATM operator’s own fee is added by the operator, and the FX margin on converting your stablecoin to local cash at the ATM is not stated. If you plan to use the ATM, ask the issuer for those two numbers in writing before your first withdrawal.
The pattern across all three: the published number is the top-up fee. Everything else between the stablecoin in your wallet and the merchant’s till is either hidden, not stated, or delegated to the unnamed issuer.
How to top up the XHYPE card
Top-ups go through the XHYPE Superwallet, the same self-custody wallet the card sits on. The official route accepts USDT, USDC or the native gas coin on five networks: BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon and Arbitrum. A third-party profile (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) says the supported path is USDT only on Tron (TRC20) and BNB Chain (BEP20); that contradicts the official list, so follow the official one and treat the third-party list as out of date or wrong until XHYPE confirms otherwise.

The minimum deposit and who pays the network fee are not stated on the official pages. A third-party user guide cites a $15 USDT minimum. The on-chain network fee (gas on Ethereum, the equivalent on the other chains) is charged by the blockchain, not by XHYPE, and on Ethereum that fee can be high enough to matter for small top-ups. If you are topping up from a network that has no funds, your transaction cannot be sent, because ERC-20 tokens pay gas in ETH and TRC-20 transactions burn TRX; XHYPE does not sponsor that.
Fiat top-up is not stated. Gift cards and eSIMs payable in crypto are mentioned as a separate use of the Superwallet, not as a way to load the card.
To load the card itself: deposit crypto to your Superwallet address, then move the balance onto the card. The card then behaves as a prepaid balance, which means it cannot overdraw, but it also means a refund of an unused balance is governed by the terms that the company has not published. The same is true for closing the account: the terms are silent on refunds, closure and the return of remaining balance.
Paying with it every day
Every XHYPE card, virtual or physical, supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the physical cards on Premium and Whale work at ATMs. Blocked merchant categories are not stated; the card is prepaid and the BIN is foreign to many merchants, so expect the occasional decline where a merchant’s risk policy treats a non-domestic prepaid card more cautiously.
There is no cashback on the official plan. A third-party profile lists a welcome credit ($5, $10 or $40 by tier), XTraveler points and a 15% referral commission on referred users’ reload fees paid in USDT; none of these are on the official pages and should be treated as unofficial until XHYPE confirms them.
The web app at superwallet.xhype.io is the only client (“nothing to download”), and there is no App Store or Google Play rating, so I read the experience in late October 2026 and noted the gaps. The app does not advertise dispute filing or chargeback initiation, which matters because the official terms do not specify them either. Under Visa and Mastercard rules a chargeback is a refund the issuer orders, but prepaid card coverage under US Regulation E and Regulation Z varies and is not something to assume; if you need a clear dispute path, this is a card to ask questions of before paying.
A practical point: a merchant may place a hold on your balance after a declined authorisation, and that hold can stay for up to a week. With a prepaid card a hold locks real money, not a credit line, which is one of the more common surprises for first-time prepaid-card users.
What can go wrong
The largest gap in the official information is the card issuer. XHYPE FZCO is registered in Dubai Silicon Oasis, the terms state plainly “We are not a card issuer”, and the issuer itself is not named. A third-party profile identifies it as a licensed provider in jurisdictions including Hong Kong, but the company behind the programme is a separate legal entity from XHYPE, and your contractual relationship for the card is with that issuer, not with XHYPE. That is not unusual in the prepaid-card market, but it is the kind of detail you want to know before you load the card.
No official incident is published on the XHYPE pages. A third-party report (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) describes a June–July 2025 disruption that affected HKD Visa recharge and spending, later marked resolved with balances reportedly refunded. The same source records themes from user feedback: high combined costs once the unofficial fees are added, AML-related account restrictions, refunds delayed for months, and slow support. KYCnot.me holds about 2.9 out of 5 from 7 ratings, again via the third-party profile; there is no Trustpilot page for the service and no Reddit thread surfaced. The Terms were last updated 4 June 2025.
The security model is the strongest part. The Superwallet is self-custody, so you hold your own private key and can export it to MetaMask or Trust Wallet, and XHYPE describes a “Zero Data model” for privacy. Card balances, however, are held by the independent issuer. Two-factor authentication, in-app freeze and granular spending controls are not stated. Support is 24/7 in English and Spanish, on a single Telegram channel, @xhype_support. A single-channel support setup is a risk factor in itself: Telegram outages or account restrictions will affect your ability to reach the team.
Three things are worth checking before you pay the plan fee. First, ask support which entity actually issues the card in your country. Second, ask for the FX margin in writing. Third, ask how refunds and account closure work in practice. If any of those answers is “we do not say”, the price of the plan is a bet on an opaque fee structure.
What to take instead
XHYPE is one of a small set of cards that pair a self-custody wallet with a payment card. Three alternatives are useful comparisons, and each shows a different trade-off.
XHYPE vs BloFin Wallet Card
BloFin Wallet Card (6.9/10) is the closest analogue. It is a Visa Platinum card tied to a self-custody wallet, with a fee structure that is more transparent at the spend side. Activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees are $0; cancellation is free; the spend fee is 1% or lower by VIP tier (1.00%, 0.90%, 0.80%, 0.50%, 0.20% and 0% from VIP 0 to VIP 5), charged at payment. FX is not stated. Top-up is with USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base only, a narrower set than XHYPE’s five networks. There is no cashback; the value proposition is the lower spend rate rather than a rebate. The country list is not published on the card page; the starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, the UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand, and citizenship vs residence is not stated. If you want a spend-fee model that you can see before you pay, BloFin is the more legible option. If you want wider network support for the top-up, XHYPE has the edge.
XHYPE vs Decaf
Decaf (6.2/10) is a different shape. It is a Visa card (virtual or physical, with tracked delivery for the physical version) that can be funded by card, bank transfer or USDC; the app runs on Solana and Stellar, and the coins and networks that top up the card are not stated. Activation is $5 for a virtual card worldwide, $10 for a physical card in the US and $90 for the rest of the world, with no annual or monthly fee. Decaf adds no FX fee and uses the Visa exchange rate, which is a meaningful point of difference from XHYPE’s unpublished FX. The country list is restrictive: 17 countries and 12 US states are off-limits, including Russia, Belarus, China, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico and Nigeria, plus the restricted US states of Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington and Wisconsin. Rewards are not stated. If you are in a country Decaf covers and you want a published FX position, Decaf is the cleaner read. If your country is on the restricted list or you want a self-custody layer under the card, XHYPE is the better fit.
XHYPE vs SafePal
SafePal (6.2/10) is the strongest self-custody alternative. It is a virtual Mastercard debit card; spending limits are given in EUR through a Swiss Fiat24 account. There are no account or management fees; the card issuance fee is not stated. The standard top-up fee is 0%, with a 1% Mastercard non-USD settlement fee and a $1 / €1 / CHF 1 / 7 CNH refund processing fee. Swaps include an unquantified spread; a separate page elsewhere on the bank site says crypto top-up is “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier. Funding is from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC by default or to fiat, with transactions on Arbitrum. There is no cashback; referral commissions go up to 40% of referred top-up fees. The country list is described as “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas”, and the regions page returned empty when fetched. If you want the lowest top-up fee and the widest funding set, SafePal is the strongest of the three. If you want a published country list and a physical card, XHYPE is more forthcoming.
The pattern across the four: XHYPE is the most country-friendly of the self-custody options and the only one with three explicit plans, but it is the only one of the four that does not publish an FX figure, an ATM fee, a minimum top-up or a dispute policy. That trade is the reason the score sits at 7.0 and not higher.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend XHYPE to a self-custody user who already holds USDT or USDC in their own wallet, lives in one of the 203 countries where cards can be ordered, is comfortable paying a $10 to $70 plan fee for a prepaid card, and is happy to treat the FX margin and the ATM fee as costs to discover rather than to know in advance. The card fits that person well, and the Apple Pay and Google Pay support makes the everyday experience feel close to a standard debit card.
I would not recommend it to a user who needs a clearly published FX rate, a named issuer and a written dispute path before they load the card. The information that is missing is the information that matters most when a transaction goes wrong, and a card whose issuer is described as “an independent third party” without a name is harder to hold to account than one whose issuer is on the front page of the terms. For a user who is new to crypto cards, the cleaner choices are BloFin for spend-fee transparency and Decaf for FX clarity, and for a self-custody user who wants the lowest top-up cost, SafePal is the better fit.
Frequently asked questions
What is the XHYPE card?
The XHYPE card is a prepaid payment card that draws on a balance held in the XHYPE Superwallet, a self-custody web wallet. It is offered in three plans (Essential, Premium and Whale) and is run by XHYPE FZCO in Dubai, with the actual card issued by an unnamed independent third party.
How does the XHYPE card work?
You sign up at superwallet.xhype.io, verify your identity with Verinex, pick a plan, deposit USDT, USDC or the native gas coin on one of five networks (BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon or Arbitrum), then load the card from that balance. The card is prepaid, so it spends the balance you load and cannot overdraw.
Is XHYPE a bank?
No. XHYPE FZCO is a Dubai-registered company, and the terms state “We are not a card issuer”. The card itself is issued by an independent third party. You do not have a bank account with XHYPE and you do not have deposit insurance on the card balance.
Who owns XHYPE?
XHYPE FZCO is registered in Dubai Silicon Oasis, United Arab Emirates. The terms are governed by UAE law with Dubai courts as the venue. The card issuer is a separate, unnamed legal entity.
Is the XHYPE card available in my country?
Cards can be ordered from 203 countries and territories, with eligibility decided by residence and nationality. A third-party profile (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) names 9 restricted countries: Afghanistan, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. That list is unofficial and may not match XHYPE’s internal list.
How do I get the XHYPE card?
Sign up at the web app, complete Private KYC through Verinex, choose a plan, deposit crypto, and load the card. The Essential virtual card is delivered instantly; the physical card on Premium and Whale is delivered about 15 days after a correct address is entered.
Does the XHYPE card require KYC?
Yes. The official terms describe “Private KYC” through Verinex, with XHYPE receiving only the result. A third-party site describes the experience as “no KYC”, which conflicts with the terms; the more accurate read is that ID is not advertised upfront but every deposit is screened for AML.
How do I top up the XHYPE card?
Deposit USDT, USDC or the native gas coin on BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon or Arbitrum to your Superwallet address, then move the balance onto the card. The top-up fee is 2.1% on Essential, 1.8% on Premium and 1.2% on Whale. Network fees are paid by the user, and the minimum deposit and fiat top-up are not stated.
How do I add the XHYPE card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The official pages say Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported for every virtual and physical card. The standard wallet app flow (open the wallet app, choose “add card”, scan or enter the card details from the XHYPE web app) is the path; the in-app instructions in superwallet.xhype.io give the precise taps for the current version.
Is the XHYPE card safe?
The Superwallet is genuinely self-custody, so you hold your own private key. Card balances, however, are held by the unnamed independent issuer, not by you, and 2FA, in-app freeze and spending controls are not stated. Support is 24/7 in English and Spanish on a single Telegram channel, which is a single point of failure. Treat the seed phrase as the foundation of the security model, and the card as a prepaid balance on top of an opaque issuer.
Wallet card options – cryptocardoptions.com
Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team
