Exa card review: a self-custody Visa that spends against your crypto
The Exa card is a virtual Visa Signature credit card that draws on collateral sitting in a self-custody crypto account. You keep control of your keys, the app holds your USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC or OP as collateral, and the card pays out in fiat at the till. That unusual mix, self-custody on the funding side, a licensed Visa issuer on the spending side, makes it a different proposition from the usual crypto-card-in-an-app model. This review walks through who the card is for, what it really costs, how to load it, where it works in daily life and where it stumbles.

The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Exa earns 6.2 out of 10 from me. The score is not a polished marketing number; it reflects a card with real reach (45 countries and 31 US states) and a clearly stated FX fee, but also with gaps that a normal cardholder expects to be filled, such as a physical card, a named issuer, and a transparent fee schedule. For someone who already lives inside a self-custody workflow and wants to spend against crypto without giving up their keys, it does a job. For anyone who wants a plug-and-play daily card with a helpdesk behind it, there are simpler picks.

Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why I scored it this way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Issued in 45 countries, among them Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, and in 31 US states, with 18 ineligible jurisdictions. Nigeria is conditional. Reasonable coverage, but the exclusion list includes large markets such as India and Russia. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Officially a 1.5% fee on payments not in USD, plus a loan-origination fee folded into the installment interest. Unofficial sources say issuance and annual cost are $0 and an ATM withdrawal costs $1 plus 0.65%. The published schedule is thin. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Collateral in USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP. The networks are not named on the official pages I read, and there is no stated crypto-deposit fee, which makes it hard to compare. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Exa Labs SAS is the operator; the licensed card-issuing bank is not named. There is no Trustpilot page; Google Play sits at 2.7 from 58 ratings. An Exactly Protocol exploit worth $7.3M happened in August 2023. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, with Apple Pay and Google Wallet available. No physical card at the time of writing. ATM access reportedly works with a contactless NFC machine and a PIN from the app. |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 |
I would keep the Exa card in mind if you are a self-custody user with crypto collateral you want to spend without selling outright, and you live in one of the supported countries. I would not point a first-time crypto user at it, and I would be cautious if your card is your main way of paying rent or feeding a family: the missing physical card, the unnamed issuer and the limited support footprint are real drawbacks.
Who will they give you the card
The Exa card is issued in 45 countries and 31 US states, with a published list of 18 ineligible jurisdictions. The card page names Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE as supported, and flags Nigeria as conditional. On the other side, residents of Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia are excluded, and the help text says outright that Russian residents cannot be issued a card. Spending is also blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela, so even a card issued elsewhere will not work for purchases in those places. The rule is by residence, not just by citizenship, but the help center treats both as relevant.
In the US, the picture is uneven: 31 states are open and the help center says a US legal address in San Juan, Puerto Rico, is provided by Rain, the partner that helps with US issuance. The 18 excluded countries mean a meaningful share of potential users are simply out of reach.
If you sit inside the supported set, the next gate is identity verification, which I cover in the next section. The card is aimed at adults with a usable address and a workable ID document; the help pages do not name a minimum age, but the broader rule of thumb for prepaid and debit cards is 18 or older.
How to get the card
Sign-up runs entirely inside the Exa app. The site tells you to download the app, add funds and pass a KYC check, and the help center describes a single validation step that takes “no more than 3 minutes” when you first request the card. That is unusually quick; the unspoken detail is that Exa calls the first step a “validation” rather than the full KYC, and the heavier checks can come later.
What you actually upload, the documents, the proof of address, the age check, is not stated on the official pages I read, which is a small but real gap. The help articles mention that the system can ask for proof of address and proof of funds to raise limits, and that once weekly purchases go above $10,000, an automated source-of-funds check starts, asking for a form plus supporting documents. Rejection reasons are not spelled out.
The card itself is a virtual Visa Signature Exa Credit Card. There is no physical card available at the moment: a help article titled “Is there a physical card?” answers “No, there are no physical cards available at the moment,” and the card is meant to live in Apple Pay or Google Wallet. Because of that, delivery and replacement do not apply, and the card currency is USD: the help center notes that “the currency of the Exa Card is USD” and that every purchase in a non-USD currency carries a 1.5% conversion fee that is already folded into the exchange rate you see.
What it really costs: fees, limits and a few everyday examples
Exa is marketed as a free card, and the help center has an article called “Exa Card associated fees and costs,” but the contents of that article were not available to me. What is publicly stated is a 1.5% FX fee on non-USD purchases, included in the rate you are shown, and a loan-origination fee that may apply, which the help text says is included in the installment interest. The weekly purchase limit for credit-card purchases is $10,000. Daily, monthly and ATM limits are not stated on the official pages I read.

Unofficial sources, namely a third-party comparison site last updated in August 2026, fill in a few more numbers: virtual card issuance and annual fee at $0, ATM withdrawals at $1 plus 0.65% with a $250 per-withdrawal cap and four withdrawals per day, and the need for a contactless NFC ATM plus a PIN generated inside the app. The third-party source also notes that the ATM operator may add its own fee on top. I treat those numbers as unofficial and not confirmed by the card itself.
Costs at a glance
| Fee or limit | Stated by Exa | Unofficial (third-party, August 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Marketed as free | $0 |
| Annual / monthly fee | Not stated | $0 |
| FX fee on non-USD purchases | 1.5% (included in rate) | 1.5% |
| Loan origination fee | May be charged, included in installment interest | Same |
| ATM withdrawal fee | Not stated | $1 + 0.65% per withdrawal |
| ATM withdrawal cap | Not stated | $250 per withdrawal, 4 per day |
| Weekly purchase limit | $10,000 | $10,000 |
| Daily / monthly limits | Not stated | Not stated |
Three everyday payments
To make those fees feel less abstract, here is what a typical payment would look like.
Coffee in Tokyo, JPY 800. JPY converts to USD at the in-app rate, and the 1.5% FX fee is already inside that rate. On a $5-ish bill, that is roughly eight cents. You do not pay a network fee on top, because the card is spending USD against your collateral.
Groceries in São Paulo, BRL 350. Same flow: BRL to USD, 1.5% folded into the rate. On roughly $70, the FX slice is about a dollar. The card is virtual, so you tap with Apple Pay or Google Wallet at the till.
ATM cash withdrawals are capped at $250 per withdrawal. Unofficial numbers say you pay $1 plus 0.65% of the amount, around 0.65 dollars on a $100-ish cash-out, plus whatever the ATM operator charges. The $250 per-withdrawal cap and four-withdrawals-per-day limit come from the same unofficial source.
The shape of the bill, low everyday cost if you stay in USD, a steady 1.5% drag if you do not, and an ATM surcharge that is small but real, is what you should plan around. Loan interest on installment plans is the part the official pages describe least, and that is the one to ask the help center about before you commit.
How to top it up
Top-ups are not classic bank transfers or card-to-card loads. The Exa card spends against collateral that lives in the self-custody Exa App, so the first step is to get the assets into the right place. The supported collateral assets, per Exa’s documentation, are USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP, drawn from Exactly Protocol markets. The card spends either through Pay Now against that collateral, or via installments that effectively create a credit line on top of it. The help center says you need funds in your account to enable the card, and it lists a help article on “associated fees” that contains only the FX fee and the loan-origination fee. A deposit fee, a minimum top-up and a fiat on-ramp fee are not stated on the official pages.
The networks for those crypto deposits are not named on the official pages I read. That matters: stablecoins such as USDC move on many chains, and an asset sent on the wrong network, or to an address of another network, can be lost. A third-party comparison site (last updated August 2026) says crypto deposits carry no stated fee, while fiat on-ramp fees vary by the third-party route and the country. Treat those as unofficial.
When you want to take value back out, the help center says funds can be sent to a bank account or a digital wallet and that you can withdraw from ATMs. Fees, limits and timelines for those exits are not given, and what happens to a balance on account closure is not stated. The way to plan around the silence is to assume a support call is part of the process and to keep a small buffer you can live without.
A self-custody-linked card has a structural upside: the funds stay in your wallet until the moment of payment, so you are not pre-paying a balance the issuer can lose. The structural downside is that you carry the key-management risk, including the very real risk of address-substitution malware that swaps a copied wallet address with an attacker’s.
Paying with it every day
The card is a virtual Visa Signature Exa Credit Card. Because it has no plastic, everyday use runs through Apple Pay and Google Wallet, and the help center has dedicated articles for adding the card to both. You tap to pay in shops, use the card number online, and pay online with 3-D Secure confirmation when the merchant asks. Restricted merchant categories, for example gambling or adult entertainment, are not stated on the official pages I read.
The “earn while you spend” line in the marketing is about yield on the underlying assets, not about a card cashback. The help center lists Visa Signature benefits, a 20% discount on Airalo eSIMs, and a US activation reward of $20 in XRP via Uphold when you spend $100. A third-party comparison site from August 2026 says there is no current cashback confirmed, and that an earlier 1.5% USDC cashback is unverified or historical. Take that as unofficial.
The mobile app is the control room. You reach it from a QR code on the site, and there is a web version at web.exactly.app; the documentation lists iOS and Android. Unofficial store ratings, again from August 2026, are 5.0 from 4 ratings on the Apple App Store and 2.7 from 58 ratings on Google Play. The Google Play figure, in particular, is the kind of signal you should not ignore if you live inside the app for support, freezes and PIN management.
A few real-world frictions are worth knowing. A purchase is placed on hold at authorisation and settles, in the help center’s words, “usually 1 to 3 days later.” The final amount can be different from the one you saw at the till because of tips, hotel incidentals or exchange-rate moves in between. Disputes, refunds and chargebacks are not described on the official pages, which is itself a useful data point: regulated US debit and credit cards come with statutory reversal rights under Regulations E and Z, and a virtual crypto-collateral card may or may not sit inside that framework. The safest read is that the help center is the only documented channel, and you should not assume the protections of a plain bank-issued debit card until you have asked.
What can go wrong
Several real risks are attached to the Exa card, and they fall into three groups: company and counterparty, product, and regulatory.
On the company side, the operator is Exa Labs SAS. The card is “issued in the United States” and a US legal address in San Juan, Puerto Rico, is “provided by Rain,” but the licensed issuing bank is not named on the public pages. A crypto card’s day-to-day resilience depends heavily on that issuer, so the missing name is a meaningful gap, not a stylistic choice. Exa Labs does not itself issue payment instruments; it is the programme manager. There is no Trustpilot page for exactly.app, and Google Play sits at 2.7 from 58 ratings.
On the product side, a third-party aggregator from October 2026 flags KYC failures for users in African markets, particularly Nigeria, a lack of documented support SLAs, and a $7.3M exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023. The latter is not a card breach, but it is a security incident on the protocol that holds the collateral your card spends against, and that is a fair reason to slow down before treating the card as a routine expense tool.
On the regulatory side, the issuer is “a licensed third party” in the US, the card is not issued in the EU, and the official pages do not list MiCA or any EU EMI licence. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its stablecoin rules applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining CASP rules from 30 December 2024, with a grandfathering window that runs until 1 July 2026 or until a provider gets or is refused a MiCA authorisation. None of that is a problem in itself, but it tells you where the card sits and where it does not, which matters if you are a European reader comparing it to EU-licensed cards.
A practical risk layer sits on top: the card is virtual, and your everyday access runs through Apple Pay and Google Wallet, through the app on your phone, and through the help center at help.exactly.app and the X account @Exa_App. If any of those go down or get locked, there is no physical card to fall back on. And because transfers on blockchain networks are irreversible, a deposit sent to a wrong network or a wrong address can be lost or stuck in manual support recovery with no guarantee.
What to take instead
The Exa card is a good fit for a narrow audience. If you are outside that audience, or if you simply want a second opinion, three alternatives cover the ground well.
| Card | Score | Best for | Issuance and headline fees | Notable trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Exa | 6.2 / 10 | Self-custody users spending against crypto collateral | Issuance and annual $0 (unofficial), 1.5% FX on non-USD, ATM $1 + 0.65% (unofficial) | No physical card, issuer not named, Google Play 2.7 |
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Users in EEA / UK who want both virtual and physical cards, plus a tier-based cashback in NEXO or BTC | No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; FX 0.2% EEA/UK/CH on weekdays, 2% elsewhere; ATM allowances in EUR/GBP | Virtual card needs at least $50 to activate; physical card needs $5,000 in digital assets and Gold tier; citizenship and residency both screened |
| Pay3 | 6.3 / 10 | Users outside US and outside restricted jurisdictions who want virtual, physical and mobile-wallet cards | Issuance “starts at $5”, spend from $0.15 per transaction; currency conversion from 1.15%, FX up to 3%, cross-border up to 3% | Cardholders must attest they are not a US citizen and not OFAC-blocked; supported countries not listed |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Users in 200+ countries who want a multi-network debit crypto card | Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment; no fee percentage published | No country exclusions stated, but the App Store listing is Naira-focused; transparency on fees is thin |
Nexo is the natural pick if you are an EEA or UK resident and you want both a virtual and a physical Mastercard with a documented tier-based cashback in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin. The trade-off is the higher activation and shipping thresholds ($50 for the virtual card, $5,000 in digital assets and Gold tier for the physical) and the fact that both citizenship and residence are screened. Pay3 fits a global, non-US audience that wants a Visa with virtual, physical and mobile-wallet options; the headline fees are higher (currency conversion from 1.15%, FX up to 3%, cross-border up to 3%), and the country list is not published. Cardex is a long-tail option with 200+ countries covered and an “AI-powered” conversion rate claim, but the fee schedule is not published and the App Store listing is Naira-focused, which signals its centre of gravity.
If you are a self-custody user in a supported country, none of those alternatives replaces the exact mix Exa offers, because none of them is a self-custody collateral card in the same sense. The honest comparison is between Exa-as-collateral-card and the more custodial Nexo, Pay3 and Cardex models, and within that comparison the score gap is small.
Who I would recommend it to
The Exa card makes sense for a reader who already keeps crypto in self-custody, who lives in one of the 45 supported countries or 31 supported US states, and who is comfortable with a virtual-only Visa and a 1.5% FX drag on non-USD spending. The two cleanest use cases I see are: a self-custody user who wants to convert USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC or OP into everyday spending without selling on an exchange first, and a US-resident user who has USDC collateral in Exactly Protocol markets and wants a card account that draws on it.
I would not point at Exa a reader who wants a physical card, a named issuing bank on the front page, a comprehensive published fee schedule, a transparent support SLA, or a card issued in the EU under MiCA and an EMI licence. For those readers, Nexo (EEA/UK) or Pay3 (global, non-US) is a better starting point, and Cardex is worth a look if the country list matters more than fee clarity.
A short pre-flight check is worth running before you commit: confirm your country is in the supported list, that your weekly spend will not exceed the $10,000 purchase limit, and that you are comfortable with a virtual card and an unnamed US issuer. The single most important pre-flight is the last one, because the resilience of a crypto card is mostly the resilience of the bank behind it, and Exa does not name that bank.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Exa card?
The Exa card is a virtual Visa Signature credit card that draws on crypto collateral held in a self-custody account inside the Exa app. You keep control of your keys, you post USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC or OP as collateral, and the card pays merchants in fiat through Pay Now or installments. The operator is Exa Labs SAS; the card is issued in the United States through a partner named Rain, with the issuing bank not stated on the public pages.
How does the Exa card work?
You download the Exa app, create a self-custody account, deposit supported crypto, pass a one-step validation that takes up to three minutes, and then request the virtual card. The card sits in Apple Pay or Google Wallet and is accepted “at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries.” Each purchase either draws directly on your collateral (Pay Now) or runs as an installment that creates a short-term credit line on top of it.
Is Exa a bank?
No. Exa Labs SAS is the operator and programme manager; the company states that “Exa Labs does not issue payment instruments.” The card is issued in the United States by a licensed third party, with Rain providing a US legal address in San Juan, Puerto Rico, but the issuing bank itself is not named. That is a meaningful gap if you are used to bank-issued cards and their statutory protections.
Is the Exa card available in my country?
The card is issued in 45 countries and 31 US states. Officially named supported countries include Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, with Nigeria conditional. Eighteen jurisdictions are excluded, including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. Spending is also blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The simplest way to know is to check the current card page or the help center before you sign up.
Does the Exa card require KYC?
Yes. The sign-up flow includes a single validation step described as “no more than 3 minutes” the first time you request the card, and the help center says the system can ask for proof of address and proof of funds to raise limits. Above $10,000 in weekly purchases, an automated source-of-funds check kicks in with a form plus supporting documents. The exact documents and the minimum age are not stated on the official pages I read.
Is the Exa card free?
The card is marketed as free, and unofficial sources last updated in August 2026 say issuance and annual cost are $0. What is officially stated is a 1.5% FX fee on non-USD purchases, included in the rate, and a loan-origination fee that may be charged, included in installment interest. ATM fees, daily limits, monthly limits and a published full fee schedule are not on the official pages I read, so the practical answer is “free to hold, not free to use in every case.”
How do I add the Exa card to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet?
The help center has dedicated articles for adding the card to Apple Pay and Google Wallet. Because the card is virtual-only and there is no physical card available at the moment, those mobile wallets are the primary way you tap to pay in shops. Adding the card usually means opening the wallet app, choosing to add a card, and authorising it through the Exa app with 3-D Secure where required.
How do I top up the Exa card?
You top up by depositing supported crypto into your Exa account. Officially, the supported assets are USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP, drawn from Exactly Protocol markets. The networks for those deposits are not named on the official pages, which is a small but real risk: a deposit sent on the wrong network, or to a wrong address, can be lost because blockchain transfers are irreversible. A third-party source from August 2026 says crypto deposits carry no stated fee, while fiat on-ramp fees vary by the third-party route and the country, but that is unofficial.
Is the Exa card safe?
It has the right shape for a self-custody product: passkey-secured login, optional second account owner, non-custodial smart contracts on the borrowing and spending side, and your collateral stays in your wallet until the moment of payment. The published safeguards stop short of a named insurance programme or independent audit. The Exactly Protocol had a $7.3M exploit in August 2023, Google Play sits at 2.7 from 58 ratings, and the issuing bank is not named. The reasonable read is “safer than a custodial card on the funding side, less reassuring than a plain bank-issued card on the issuer side.”
How do I close my Exa account?
The help center does not describe a closure flow in the pages I read, and it does not state what happens to a remaining balance on closure. In practice, you would start by paying off any outstanding card balance, then withdrawing or sending your funds to a bank account or digital wallet through the app, and then asking support through the help center at help.exactly.app or the X account @Exa_App. Because the help text is thin on this point, the safer approach is to set the closure in motion while you still have a small buffer you can afford to wait on, in case support asks for additional verification.
Credit and cashback card options – cryptocardoptions.com
Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team
