PayPilot card, lived with for a while — what a euro-denominated crypto-to-Visa card really does

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have ever tried to open a bank account and been told no, or you simply want a card whose balance comes from crypto rather than a salary, the PayPilot card sits in an interesting middle ground. It is a Visa that spends from a euro balance, and you can load that balance by sending BTC, ETH or USDT in and letting the platform convert it for you, or by sending euros directly. There is no monthly fee and no issuance fee on the card page, which is the part most people notice first. The catch, as ever, is in the rest of the small print.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
PayPilot works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

PayPilot scores 7.4 out of 10 in this review. That is a solid mid-table result for a crypto-funded Visa card. The score reflects a product that does the basics well — euro balance, no issuance or service fees, a 0.4% crypto-to-euro conversion fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay support, and a regulated issuer in Lithuania — but leaves several practical questions unanswered, starting with which countries are actually supported and what the ATM and foreign-exchange fees look like.

The card suits a fairly specific reader: someone whose main spending currency is the euro, who is comfortable topping up with crypto and is happy to manage conversion in-app. If that is you, the headline numbers are appealing. If you need to spend in dollars or pounds, travel constantly across currencies, or live outside the regions where the card is confirmed to work, the picture is murkier.

Here is how each criterion breaks down.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Availability depends on your country of residence and local regulations; the list of supported regions is not published.
Cost 9 / 10 Issuance 0 EUR, service 0 EUR, payments from a euro balance carry no commission, crypto-to-euro conversion is 0.4%. FX fee not stated.
Top-up options 6 / 10 BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR via the FAQ; top up with crypto or euros; the underlying networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issuer is Walletto UAB, e-money licence No 33 from the Bank of Lithuania, dated 29 March 2018; no public complaints found.
Everyday use 9 / 10 Visa, virtual card immediately and physical by post, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM cash withdrawal.
Total 7.4 / 10 A clean, low-fee euro Visa for crypto top-ups, held back by a thin public list of supported countries and a few missing fee numbers.

The card’s strongest fit is the euro-area crypto user topping up from BTC, ETH or USDT and spending in euros, with Apple Pay or Google Pay as the everyday payment surface. It is a weaker fit if you are outside the eurozone, travel often, or want a card that publishes every fee upfront.

Will they give you the card

The first thing to settle is whether the card is even available where you live. The card page says availability “depends on your country of residence and local regulations” and that the list of supported regions is not published. That is a real gap, because most competing cards give you a country picker before you even register. Here, you register first, and only at identity verification does the platform check your address.

A second thing worth noting is the rule the platform applies. The published rule is by country of residence. Citizenship is not mentioned. That is friendlier than some cards that screen by passport as well, but it does mean the address on your identity document is what gets checked, and the platform reserves the right to refuse or close accounts that fall outside its supported regions at any time.

In practical terms, you should expect to be asked for a one-time identity verification before you can create a card. The site says you “verify once” and uses identity-verification partners named KycAid and Ondato, but it does not publish a list of accepted documents, the time the check takes, or the reasons a check can be rejected. The card terms go further: the issuer may re-verify your identity and ask for more documents at any time. If that happens, your account can be restricted until the new documents arrive, so keep your details current.

One useful framing: if you cannot open a basic bank account where you live, this card is not a guaranteed workaround. It is a regulated e-money product and is bound by the same anti-money-laundering and sanctions rules as a bank, including the issuer’s right to close the relationship if it cannot complete its checks.

How to get it

The signup flow on the card page is short: register, verify, create the card. The site also says a card can be created once your account is verified, so the steps line up with what most readers will already expect.

Identity verification is a one-off “quick identity verification” step, after which the account is treated as “verified once”. What the verification actually requires — passport, national ID, driving licence, proof of address, age floor — is not stated on the public pages. EU-style electronic-money products usually ask for a government-issued photo ID and a recent proof of address, but PayPilot does not confirm that in writing, so do not assume until you see the upload screen.

The card itself is a Visa. The card page does not say whether the first card you get is virtual or physical, but the card terms allow both: a virtual card usable immediately, and a physical card that needs activation and is sent by post. Issuance is 0 EUR on the public pricing, with postal costs included “per issuer pricing page” — the issuer pricing page is not linked from the public card page, so the practical delivery time and any local postage surcharge are not stated.

Once the card is in your hand (or on your phone), you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay from the app. The card terms do not describe a cardholder age floor or a minimum residency period, so assume the standard adult (18+) rule applies unless you are told otherwise.

A few practical tips before you start:

What it really costs — fees, limits and three everyday payments

The cost story is where PayPilot looks strongest, on the numbers it does publish. It is also where the absence of certain numbers matters most, so I want to walk through what is confirmed, what is not, and then run three everyday payments through the fee schedule to show what that means for you.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PayPilot payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is the cost table, with the values the public pages actually give.

Fee or limit Value
Card issuance 0 EUR
Monthly service 0 EUR
Payment from euro balance No commission
Crypto-to-euro conversion 0.4%
Foreign-exchange (FX) fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated
ATM allowance Not stated
Single-transaction limit Not stated
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated
Card tiers Not stated (single card)

The card spends from a euro balance. The wallet itself holds BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR. When you top up with crypto, the platform converts it to euros and loads the euro balance; the only fee on that path is the 0.4% conversion. When you spend in euros, no commission is added on top. When you spend in a currency other than euros, the card has to convert again — the card terms say exchange fees are specified in the payment account, based on Visa or Mastercard published rates at the time of exchange — but the percentage added on top of that rate is not stated. That is the single biggest unknown in the cost picture.

Daily, weekly and monthly maximum payment amounts are set by the issuer, but the values are not published. If you are a heavy spender, that is worth a support question before you load the card.

To make that concrete, let me run three everyday payments through the published fees.

Two things follow. First, for euro-on-euro spending the card is genuinely free at the point of sale, which is rare in the crypto-card space and the strongest part of the value proposition. Second, any non-euro spending depends on a fee number the public pages do not publish, so get that figure in writing before relying on the card abroad.

How to top up PayPilot

The funding model is the other half of the value story. PayPilot accepts BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR, and you can top up with crypto or with euros. The card then spends from the euro balance, and the only fee on that flow is 0.4%, applied only when crypto is being converted to euros. A euro top-up has no conversion fee, though the public page does not state any minimum top-up amount or any fee on a euro top-up itself.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PayPilot starts with a transfer to the right network

The FAQ names the four assets — BTC, ETH, USDT and EUR — but does not name the networks you can send them on. That matters more than it sounds, because crypto transfers are network-specific: sending USDT on the wrong chain to a deposit address built for another chain is, in practice, money lost or stuck in support. Until PayPilot publishes the supported networks for each token, the safe path is to send a small test amount first, confirm it lands, and only then send the full top-up.

The other constraint to know about is off-ramp, the reverse flow of getting money out. You can sell crypto for euros in the wallet and withdraw the euros to a bank account via IBAN, “subject to limits and compliance checks”. If the payment account is ever closed, the card becomes invalid; what happens to the balance on closure is not stated. So if you are relying on the card for spending, keep enough euros in the balance to cover the next few weeks, and treat the euro balance as a working balance rather than a store of value.

A short summary of the funding options:

Paying with PayPilot day to day

Day-to-day use is where PayPilot behaves like a normal Visa. The card works online and in stores, and the card terms allow both a virtual card, usable immediately, and a physical card sent by post that needs activation. Once you have a card number, you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the app is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play (org.paypilot.app). Store ratings could not be read at the time of review.

The card has a real ATM cash-withdrawal function, which a lot of crypto cards do not. The fee and the allowance are not published, so I would plan to withdraw a small amount the first time to see what the platform actually charges, and avoid relying on ATMs for large amounts until you have a confirmed fee.

There are a few day-to-day limits worth knowing. The card terms say single, daily and monthly maximum payment amounts are set by the issuer, but the actual values are not published. A hold of funds after a declined authorisation can sit on your balance for several days, which matters if your balance is small. There is no public list of blocked merchant categories, so the usual crypto-card restrictions (some gambling and high-risk MCCs) may or may not apply; treat the card as broadly usable until you hit a decline.

There is no cashback or rewards programme published. If you are choosing between two cards and rewards matter to you, that is a clear difference. If you do not care about rewards and you mainly want a clean euro balance, the absence of a rewards programme is, if anything, a quieter fee structure.

On disputes, the card terms take a strict line. A payment made with the card’s credentials is treated as authorised, and there is no refund unless the merchant agrees to refund. The card can be rejected if it is blocked or the account is restricted, and the chargeback procedure and time frames are not stated. This is consistent with most e-money Visa programmes, but it is worth keeping receipts and using 3-D Secure where it is offered, because once a card payment is in, getting it back is hard.

A short list of the everyday-use facts:

What can go wrong

Three kinds of risk matter here: the company and the licence behind the card, the security claims, and the limits of what a customer can do if something goes wrong.

On the company side, the card page footer says the platform is developed by Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o., with financial services provided by Nexora Fintech Limited “where applicable”, and the card terms point to Walletto UAB as the card issuer. The card terms, dated May 2024, name Walletto UAB (company code 304686884, Vilnius, Lithuania) as the Card Issuer, and state that Walletto UAB holds electronic-money institution licence No 33, issued by the Bank of Lithuania on 29 March 2018. The public site talks about “regulated partners” but does not display the licence number on the card page itself.

No PayPilot-specific complaints were found on Trustpilot, Reddit or in news searches at the time of review. That does not mean the card has had no problems — it means the public footprint is thin. Treat that as a “verify, do not assume” signal, especially if the user base is small.

On security, the site claims AES-256 encryption, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001, cold-wallet storage, two-factor authentication and an audit reserve. The card terms add a few operational details: you can ask for a card block at any time, the physical card is blocked after three wrong PIN attempts, and the issuer can block the card for suspected fraud. The custody model — whether customer crypto is fully segregated, partially, or pooled — is not stated, so the cold-storage claim is best read as a marketing line until the platform publishes a custody arrangement.

On customer recourse, the support channels are an email address ([email protected]), a “Write to us” form, and social profiles on X, Telegram, Instagram, Facebook and LinkedIn. Support hours are not stated. If you are the kind of person who needs a 24/7 phone line, that is not what this card offers. The dispute process is restrictive: payments made with card credentials are deemed authorised, and refunds need merchant agreement. Chargeback procedure and time frames are not stated, so a cardholder who has a problem with a purchase has fewer published guarantees than they would on a regulated bank debit card.

Finally, the regulatory horizon. The card is issued under a Lithuanian e-money licence, which is a payment-services licence, not a MiCA crypto-asset service provider authorisation. MiCA’s transitional rules let providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation. That does not directly affect a cardholder’s ability to spend euros, but it does mean the platform’s crypto side may change shape in the next year, and any change in the underlying crypto-asset service provider is the kind of event you want to know about in advance.

What to take instead

PayPilot is not the only euro-or-dollar Visa in this corner of the market, and the honest way to compare is on the same five criteria. Three alternatives offer a different trade-off.

Whop Cards scored 5.2 out of 10. The big difference is geography. Consumers are accepted in 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming), businesses in 41 states, and a long list of unsupported consumer countries that includes Belarus, China (mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The page says “no extra fees” and offers 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber, more planned), but the conversion and FX fee numbers are not stated, and the basis for the geographic rule (citizenship or residence) is not stated either. Whop is the alternative if you are a US creator in a supported state, want cashback at specific merchants, and are happy with an undisclosed fee schedule.

Stella scored 6.5 out of 10. Official site does not state the list of supported countries, but the terms bar users under economic-sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. The card is Visa, virtual and physical, accepted at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”. Fees are described in the user agreement and the app rather than on a public pricing page, so the conversion and FX numbers are not officially published. The card is funded by depositing crypto into the account, which automatically tops up the card. There is no cashback on the card itself; yield sits in a separate “Earn” product. Stella is the alternative if you want a custodial in-app wallet that auto-tops the card and you are comfortable with fees being in the agreement rather than on a public table.

UniFi Card scored 4.7 out of 10. Availability is not confirmed from official pages, but the App Store listing points to send-money routes in the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN), the eurozone (EUR), and recent release notes mention Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP). The card is a prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, denominated in US dollars, with Apple Pay support. Fees are not stated on the listing (“Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.”). Funding is by ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), or by getting paid to a USDC wallet. The listing claims “3% rewards on balances”, with card cashback not separately stated. UniFi is the alternative if you are a US-based freelancer or remitter who wants a USD card, a USDC pay-in, and is willing to chase the fee schedule on the website.

Card Score Strongest for Weakest for
PayPilot 7.4 / 10 Euro-area crypto users wanting a clean, no-fee euro balance Travellers and anyone outside the supported regions
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 US creators in supported states wanting cashback at specific merchants Anyone outside the supported US states, where acceptance is limited
Stella 6.5 / 10 Users wanting a custodial wallet that auto-tops a Visa Anyone needing published conversion and FX fees
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 US-based freelancers wanting a USD Visa and USDC pay-in European or non-US users needing euro spending

If you are a euro-area user topping up with crypto, PayPilot’s combination of a regulated e-money issuer and a 0.4% conversion fee is the cleanest of the four. If you are outside that profile, one of the alternatives will probably suit you better.

Who I would recommend it to

Putting it all together, the case for PayPilot is a narrow one, and a strong one within that narrow band.

The card makes sense if you live in a country that the platform supports, your main spending currency is the euro, you are happy to top up from BTC, ETH or USDT and let the platform convert to euros at 0.4%, you want Apple Pay or Google Pay as your everyday payment surface, and you do not need a published rewards programme. The regulated issuer (Walletto UAB, Bank of Lithuania e-money licence No 33) and the absence of public complaints are useful when you compare it to less transparent crypto cards in the same niche.

The card makes less sense if you travel often and need a transparent FX margin, if you live in a country whose support status is unclear, if you need a 24/7 phone support line, if you want a published ATM fee, or if you want cashback on everyday spending. In those cases, one of the alternatives above, or a different product entirely, will probably fit you better.

Two small things to do before you commit any meaningful amount: first, ask support, in writing, for the FX margin on non-euro spending, the ATM fee, and the list of supported countries, and read the answer against this review. Second, send a small crypto test top-up before sending a large one, because the supported networks are not published and a wrong-network transfer is hard to recover. Both are five-minute checks that can save real money.

Frequently asked questions

What is the PayPilot card?

The PayPilot card is a Visa that you can fund from a euro balance, where the euro balance is loaded either by sending euros directly or by sending BTC, ETH or USDT and having the platform convert the crypto to euros. It is offered by Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o. with card-issuing services handled by Walletto UAB under a Lithuanian e-money licence, and it can be used online, in stores, at ATMs, and through Apple Pay or Google Pay.

How does the PayPilot card work?

You register, complete a one-time identity verification, create a card, and load a euro balance by sending euros or crypto to the wallet. Crypto is converted to euros at 0.4% and credited to the card balance, and the card then spends that euro balance wherever Visa is accepted, including through Apple Pay or Google Pay.

Is PayPilot a bank?

No. PayPilot itself is a platform developed by Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o., and the card is issued by Walletto UAB, an electronic money institution licensed by the Bank of Lithuania. An electronic money institution can issue cards and hold customer funds in segregated accounts, but it is not a bank and its funds are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes in the same way as a bank deposit.

Who owns PayPilot?

The card page names Pilot Innovation Sp. z o.o. as the platform developer and says financial services are provided by Nexora Fintech Limited “where applicable”. The card terms name Walletto UAB as the Card Issuer, with company code 304686884 in Vilnius, Lithuania. The platform itself does not publish a corporate ownership structure on the public card page, so the issuer is the clearest legal counterparty you have.

Is the PayPilot card available in my country?

The card page says availability “depends on your country of residence and local regulations” and does not publish a list of supported regions. Citizenship is not mentioned, so the rule is by address. The only reliable way to find out is to register and start the identity verification, which is also the step at which the platform will tell you if your address is not in a supported region.

How do I get a PayPilot card?

You register on the platform, complete a one-time identity verification, and create a card from a verified account. The card terms allow a virtual card that you can use immediately and a physical card sent by post that needs activation. The public pricing shows 0 EUR for issuance, with postal costs described in the issuer pricing.

Does the PayPilot card require identity verification?

Yes. The platform requires a one-time “quick identity verification” before you can create a card, and the card terms say the issuer may re-verify your identity and ask for more documents at any time. The exact documents accepted, the time the check takes, and the reasons a check can be rejected are not published, so the only way to know is to start the flow and see what is asked.

How do I activate the PayPilot card?

The card terms distinguish a virtual card, which is usable immediately, from a physical card, which needs activation after it arrives by post. The exact activation steps are not described on the public card page, so the safest assumption is that activation is done in the app once the physical card has been delivered.

How do I add the PayPilot card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay from the PayPilot app, which is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play (org.paypilot.app). In practice, the in-app flow is the same as for any other Visa, and tokenisation happens on the device rather than on PayPilot’s servers.

How do I top up the PayPilot card?

You top up by sending BTC, ETH, USDT or EUR to the wallet, and the platform converts crypto to euros at 0.4% before crediting the card balance. The supported networks for each token are not published, so send a small test amount first. You can also send euros directly; minimum top-up amounts and any euro top-up fee are not stated.

How do I withdraw money from PayPilot?

You can sell crypto for euros in the wallet and withdraw euros to a bank account by IBAN, “subject to limits and compliance checks”. The card terms do not publish the limits, and closing the payment account invalidates the card, so plan ahead rather than treating the card as a long-term store of value.

Is the PayPilot card free?

Card issuance and monthly service are 0 EUR on the public pricing, payments from a euro balance carry no commission, and the only published conversion fee is 0.4% when crypto is converted to euros. Foreign-exchange, ATM and other fees exist but are not published, so “free” is true for euro-on-euro spending and not confirmed for everything else.

Where can I use the PayPilot card?

Anywhere Visa is accepted, including online, in physical stores, at ATMs that support Visa, and through Apple Pay or Google Pay. There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, so the card is broadly usable until a specific merchant category triggers a decline.

Is the PayPilot card safe?

The card is issued by a regulated electronic money institution in Lithuania, and the platform claims AES-256 encryption, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001, cold-wallet storage, two-factor authentication and an audit reserve. Safety is therefore a function of both the licence and the operational security, and the custody model for customer crypto is not stated, so the strongest claim is the licence, with the operational claims best treated as marketing until the platform publishes a custody arrangement.

How do I delete my PayPilot account?

The card page does not describe an account-deletion flow, and the card terms say that if the payment account is closed the card becomes invalid. The simplest route is to ask support by email or via the “Write to us” form, asking for account closure, and to withdraw any remaining balance first, because what happens to the balance on closure is not stated.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team