Uphold Essential or Elite: what the card really costs, and who it is actually for

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you are reading this because a normal bank card is awkward for you — because you travel, because your

country’s banking is thin, because you hold money in crypto and want to spend it — then the Uphold card

deserves a real look rather than a headline. It is a genuine Visa card, it works in the places Visa works,

and it spends directly from a balance of more than 300 digital assets. That is a genuinely unusual

capability and no ordinary debit card has it.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Uphold works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

It is also a US-only product with a narrow eligibility rule, a fee structure that punishes everyday foreign

use unless you pay $99.99 a year, and a documented history of account freezes that has

drawn a large volume of public complaints. Those two halves are both true at once, and the review that

helps you is the one that keeps both on the table.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.8 out of 10, and the score is mostly about geography and fees

My score for the Uphold card is 5.8 out of 10. That is not a bad card. It is a competent card behind a

geography fence, aimed at a specific person, and the number reflects both.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Uphold payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Who it suits. You are a resident of a US state or Washington D.C. — and not Louisiana, New York, or any US

territory. You already hold, or plan to hold, a spread of crypto assets and want to spend them without

manually selling each time. You mostly spend in the United States, or you are willing to pay a fee when you

do not. You are comfortable holding XRP as a reward currency, because that is what the card pays in.

Who it does not suit. You live outside the United States and want the card in your own country. You need

to travel often and hate foreign transaction fees. You want to know exactly what your crypto conversion will

cost on every purchase and want that number small. Or you cannot tolerate the possibility that your account is

restricted for weeks while support explains nothing.

Let me show you how the score is built, because the shape of the number matters more than the number itself.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Residents of US states and Washington D.C. only; not in Louisiana, New York or US territories
Cost 6 / 10 Essential: $0 a year, $0 virtual, $4.99 plastic, 1.50% foreign fee, $2.95 ATM; Elite: $99.99 a year, 0% foreign fee; BTC/ETH conversion spread 2.05% to 2.2%
Top-up options 8 / 10 Spends 300+ digital assets and USD, stablecoins highlighted; funded by bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal or crypto; networks not named on the page
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Issuer Cross River Bank (Member FDIC), programme run by Uphold HQ Inc.; Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5 from 27,602 reviews, but account freezes reported lasting weeks and up to three months
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available”, ATM $2.95 on Essential and $0 on Elite

The total of those five is the 5.8. The two lowest numbers — eligibility and everyday use — pull in opposite

directions, and that is the whole story of this card in one line. On the day you are actually using it, it is

excellent. On the day you are trying to sign up, it may not exist for you at all.

Who will they give you the card to?

Straight answer: only people living in the United States, and not in every state.

The card page is for US residents in US states and Washington D.C. It is not available in Louisiana, New

York, or US territories. Eligibility is based on residence, not citizenship — so a non-US citizen living in,

say, Nevada is inside the rule, while a US citizen living in Paris is outside it.

That last point matters more than it first appears, because countries are not treated the same way in

financial screening. Nationality and country of birth are recorded and screened separately from address,

because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are applied to citizenship as well as to where you live.

The card page I read tells you about residence and does not spell out a citizenship rule; the card terms do

require an accurate real name, a valid US mailing address and a date of birth, and personal use only.

One thing the pages do not say: there is no list of KYC tiers and no stated processing time. I want to be plain

about what “not stated” means in this review — it means the card’s own public pages did not tell me, so I

cannot tell you either. Do not read the silence as an absence of checks. Identity verification is required by

law for regulated businesses, and in the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of

birth, address and an identification number. What I could not find is a published schedule.

How to get it

There is no credit check. That is the headline, and for someone without a US credit history it is the reason

to keep reading.

What you need: an Uphold wallet, which the company says sets up “under five minutes”. Beyond that, the pages

are silent on which documents are required, what proof of address looks like, or an age threshold.

Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults from 18, and some issuers set higher limits of

their own, but I did not find a Uphold-specific age statement.

The card itself is Visa. There are two tiers:

Delivery needs a US mailing address. Delivery time and shipping cost are not stated. Replacement is

straightforward but not free: $4.99 on Essential, $29.99 on Elite, with one free replacement per year on Elite.

Expedited replacement is not available.

Activate the card, then add it to your wallet if you want to pay by phone. The card terms are worth reading

before you start, because they set out personal use only, the requirement for accurate details, and the

liability rules for lost or stolen cards.

Fees: what it really costs you per payment

This is where the card is most misunderstood, and where your day-to-day experience lives. The number you

will feel is not the card’s fee — it is the spread on converting crypto to dollars.

The tier comparison first:

Fee or limit Essential Elite
Annual fee $0 $99.99
Virtual card $0 $0
Physical card $4.99 (plastic) $0 (metal)
Foreign transaction fee 1.50% 0%
ATM withdrawal $2.95 $0
Foreign ATM transaction fee $1.50 $0
Point-of-sale purchase $0 $0
Card replacement $4.99 $29.99
Closing the card $0 $0
Customer service $0 $0
XRP rewards 2%, cap up to $120 up to 4% crypto/metals spend, 3% fiat/stablecoin, cap up to $300
Upgrade Essential to Elite $0 fee
Maximum card balance $25,000 $25,000
Purchases and total withdrawals $2,500 a day, $10,000 a month $25,000 a day, $100,000 a month
ATM withdrawals $500 a day, $2,000 a month; 3 a day, 10 a month $2,000 a day, $10,000 a month; 3 a day, 30 a month
Bank-teller cash Same as ATM amounts Same as ATM amounts
ATM balance inquiry Not available Not available

Now three ordinary payments, and which fees actually bite.

Buying coffee in the United States with dollars already in your balance. Nothing happens. Point-of-sale

purchases are $0, and no conversion is involved because the money is already there. This is the card at its

best and the reason the everyday-use score is so high.

Buying coffee in a euro country. Two things hit. Visa converts the transaction into USD at the exchange

rate in effect on the processing day, and on top of that the card charges 1.50% on Essential or 0% on Elite.

The terms are explicit that the bank does not reimburse exchange-rate losses or foreign fees. In other words,

on Essential, the rate you get is the Visa rate minus 1.5%, and nobody makes it whole afterwards.

Buying something with BTC or ETH in your balance. Here the real cost appears. The card converts crypto to

USD at a spread: 2.05% to 2.2% for BTC and ETH. So a purchase funded from Bitcoin costs you more than the

cash price of the coffee, and noticeably more than a U.S. exchange spread would. The crypto conversion fee

is not separately stated on the card page; the spread is the mechanism. If you want to see the all-in price

before committing, the app has a “Preview Trade” screen that shows it.

A small but useful detail: converting USD into USD is listed at 0% — a 1:1 conversion, capped at $20,000 a

month per customer. Other stablecoins convert under 0.25%. Major foreign exchange pairs are 0.3%. Altcoins

are 2.85% to 3.8%, and precious metals 2.35% to 3.40%.

So which fee hurts you depends entirely on how you live. Dollars in the US: nothing. Stablecoins: very little.

Bitcoin: real. Eurozone travel on Essential: noticeable. If you travel a lot, the Elite tier’s 0% foreign fee

and $0 ATM is what the $99.99 buys — that is the honest version of the “is it worth it” question.

How to Top up the card

There is no separate card account to load in the ordinary sense. The card spends straight from your Uphold

wallet, and the wallet holds 300+ digital assets plus USD, with stablecoins highlighted as the straightforward

route.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Uphold starts with a transfer to the right network

The wallet is funded by bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal, or a crypto deposit. Per-method deposit fees

and minimums are not stated on the pages I read. The networks that crypto deposits travel over are also not

listed, and that omission is worth taking seriously rather than shrugging at.

Here is the practical warning that follows from how blockchain transfers work. A deposit sent on a network

the provider does not support, or sent to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need

manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Transfers are irreversible. Some networks charge a

small fee paid in their own token, which means a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot actually send on

Ethereum, because gas is paid only in ETH. If you are sending crypto in rather than dollars, confirm the

network in the app before you send, not after.

Two things about the money itself. Funds in the card account do not expire, and closing the card through

customer service costs $0. The bank may cancel the card at any time. Only the USD fiat account is

FDIC-insured — the crypto and metals are not, and that is not a small distinction, since most of what this

card is for lives outside that insurance.

Paying with it every day

Virtual and physical Visa, USD. Apple Pay and Google Pay work “when available” — the qualifier matters, as

availability depends on your country and your device. In the app the iOS version scored 4.7 out of 5 from

91K ratings when I read it, version 6.111.0 for iPhone. I did not read the Google Play rating.

Rewards are the most distinctive everyday feature, and they are paid in XRP. Elite pays 4% in XRP on

crypto- or metals-funded spending, or 3% in XRP on fiat and stablecoin spending, with a cap up to $300.

Essential pays 2% in XRP with a cap up to $120. The rewards currency is currently XRP, and the programme runs

for three months after activation for cards activated on or after 1 January 2026.

That structure deserves a second look rather than a quick read of “up to 4%”. On Elite, the higher rate applies

to crypto-funded spending — which is precisely the spending that also carries the 2.05% to 2.2% BTC/ETH

spread. The higher fiat rate, 3%, applies to the cheaper route. If you are spending stablecoins, 3% on a

sub-0.25% conversion is genuinely good. If you are spending Bitcoin, the reward is competing with a spread

several times its own size.

When something goes wrong, the dispute route runs through the Uphold platform. Report errors within 60

days; a phone report needs written confirmation within 10 business days. The bank decides within 10 business

days, though it may take up to 45 days, with provisional credit within 10 business days. New cards, point-of-sale

transactions, and foreign-initiated transactions can take up to 90 days. Unauthorized Visa transactions are

investigated in 5 business days, plus 5 more. Lost or stolen card liability is capped at $50 if you report

within 2 business days, and up to $500 after that. One thing to notice: the terms do not use the word

“chargeback” at all.

Visa’s zero liability policy does not cover ATM transactions outside the Visa and PLUS networks, so treat a

withdrawal abroad as your own risk even on Elite.

What can go wrong

This is the section I would read twice, and it is where the reliability score of 6 comes from.

Trustpilot, as of 20 October 2026, showed 4.6 out of 5 across 27,602 reviews — about 6,386 of them in the last

twelve months. Five-star reviews were 67% of the total and one-star 17%. No negative reviews had a reply.

That distribution matters: a large share of reviewers are satisfied, and the platform’s own responding rate

to criticism is zero.

The dominant complaint theme from September and October 2026 is account freezes and restrictions without

explanation, lasting from weeks up to three months. They often come after a first deposit, linking a card, a

withdrawal, or a location mismatch. Alongside that: slow, bot-driven support; identity-verification problems

including expired verification links and lockouts after a phone number change; and unexpected charges.

Third-party reporting is mixed and I want to label it as third-party. Unofficial and not confirmed by the

card: a Reddit user reported an account closed without explanation while holding over 9,000 USD. ComplaintsBoard

shows 1.9 out of 5 from 13 reviews. Trustpilot figures vary by source elsewhere — 2.4 out of 5 in a community

thread against 4.5 on an aggregator — so treat any single Trustpilot number with suspicion, including mine.

A UK Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-5127266, concerned a closed wallet and card issued by Optimus Cards

UK, a different programme.

On the official side, Uphold’s status page reported a Mastercard-related issue that froze some UK cards,

resolved on 19 May 2026. It was fixed, and it was fixed, which is the right ending.

Why freezes happen at all is not mysterious once you know the law. KYC rules require regulated businesses to

verify customers and assess risk, with ongoing transaction monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. If

due diligence cannot be completed, the rules require the institution to hold off — and where necessary, end

the relationship. A freeze pending documents is often the system working as designed. That explains the

mechanism; it does not excuse weeks of silence from a chatbot.

Who is actually behind the card matters here. The issuer is Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC institution, on

the Visa network. The programme manager is Uphold HQ Inc. USD balances are held at Cross River Bank, and

Uphold states it is not itself an FDIC-insured bank. The card issuer entity and Uphold’s own licences are not

stated on the page I read.

Security practices I can confirm: Uphold recommends enabling two-factor authentication, uses email

verification for unusual activity, and describes a Reservechain solvency proof. In-app card freeze, spending

controls and insurance are not stated on the security page.

One more structural risk, which belongs to the category rather than to this card: with a custodial wallet, the

provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. Transfers are irreversible and a stolen

private key has no recovery path, because the network cannot freeze or return funds. Custodial platforms have a

record — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin Network. And card programmes do close: WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in

Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes, and Visa terminated its agreements with FTX in November 2022.

Usually there is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw.

What to take instead

Uphold is not alone in this category, and if it fails you on geography, the honest answer is that another

card might be open to you. Three comparisons, using the same questions.

Uphold Bybit Card MEXC MSX
Score 5.8 / 10 6.0 / 10 5.6 / 10 6.4 / 10
Card regions US states and Washington D.C., excluding Louisiana, New York and territories Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand and others Not stated
Network and type Visa, virtual and physical Mastercard or Visa depending on region, virtual first then physical Virtual card only Not stated
Issuance $0 virtual, $4.99 plastic Virtual free; physical from none to 29.99 USD / 29.99 USDT by region 20 USD Not stated
FX / conversion 1.50% (Essential) or 0% (Elite); crypto spreads up to 2.85–3.8% on altcoins FX 2% on top of network rate in some regions, up to 7% in Argentina; crypto conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions Not stated on the page Not stated
Rewards XRP, 2% Essential / up to 4% Elite Cashback tiers from 2% up to 10%, crypto-funded spending only from 5 Oct 2026 Cashback 4% to 10% by M-Score tier Not stated

Bybit is the widest of the three geographically, and it is the one to look at if you are outside the US. But

read its restrictions before you get excited: the cards page says the product is not meant for European

Economic Area customers and that all EEA customer participation is strictly prohibited. Its fiat-service

restricted list — which covers deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card as such — includes

Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, with Russian users able to make only RUB

transactions in fiat. I found no card-specific statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens and no rule

distinguishing citizenship from residence, and the card currency depends on the country of your identity

verification. One detail that catches people out: from 5 October 2026, only crypto-funded transactions earn

points or cashback — fiat-funded spending earns nothing.

MEXC is virtual only, with physical cards not yet available, and a listed issuance fee of 20 USD shown

alongside a possibly discounted 0 USD price that the page itself renders unclearly. Its funding route is

specific: USDT transferred to the fiat account and then added on the card page.

MSX scores highest of the four at 6.4, and I want to be honest about why: on the official pages I could

read, eligibility, card details, costs, fees, funding and rewards are all not stated. That is not a better

card. It is a card I could not evaluate, and I would not advise anyone to sign up on the strength of a score

whose inputs are blank.

Two general points before you choose. Card payments involve several parties: the network routes the

messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often just a programme

manager and a front end. And merchants can look up the card’s issuer identification number — the 6 or 8 digit

prefix — to see which institution and country issued it. A card issued in one country can look foreign to a

shop in another, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign cards for exactly that reason. If you are

outside the US, that friction is part of your daily life with any of these cards, and it is worth a thought

before you pick.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to a US resident outside Louisiana and New York who holds several crypto assets,

spends mostly at home, and wants to use them without selling by hand each time. Add to that a person who

values stablecoin spending and the 3% fiat-funded reward on Elite, and who can justify $99.99 a year by

travelling in a way that would otherwise cost 1.5% plus ATM fees on every purchase. Those are the people the

card is genuinely built for, and for them it works well.

I would not recommend it to anyone living outside the United States — the eligibility rule ends that

conversation before the fees do. I would hesitate for someone whose income or savings are volatile, because a

freeze during a KYC review can last weeks and the balances outside USD are not insured. And I would think

twice for a person who plans to spend Bitcoin or Ethereum often: a 2.05% to 2.2% conversion spread is a

large, recurring, invisible cost.

If you are eligible, here is my order of checking. Read the card terms for the personal-use condition and the

lost-or-stolen liability rules. Work out which tier your travel actually justifies, because that decision is

worth more than any reward rate. Then find the Preview Trade screen in the app and look at the all-in price

on the asset you hold most, because that number, not the annual fee, is what your coffee will really cost.

One practical thing that also costs nothing: put the card in Apple Pay or Google Pay and use the virtual card

for online payments, so a lost physical card is not a lost card. Enable two-factor authentication before you

deposit anything. And keep a balance you can afford to have restricted, because the honest summary of this

card is that it is well built, competently priced for its niche, and subject to a support experience its own

reviews describe as slow and silent.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Uphold card?

It is a USD Visa card that spends directly from your Uphold wallet balance, which can hold more than 300

digital assets plus dollars. You get a virtual card immediately and a physical one in the plastic (Essential)

or metal (Elite) version. The card is issued by Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC bank, with Uphold HQ Inc. as

programme manager. When you pay, crypto in your balance is converted at a spread rather than you selling it

by hand beforehand.

Is Uphold a bank, and who owns Uphold?

No — Uphold states it is not itself an FDIC-insured bank. Your USD balance is held at Cross River Bank, a

Member FDIC institution, which is the card issuer. Uphold HQ Inc. runs the card programme. So the dollar

side sits with a regulated US bank; the crypto side does not sit with a bank at all and is not covered by

deposit insurance.

Who can get the Uphold card, and is it available in my country?

Only residents of US states and Washington D.C., and not in Louisiana, New York, or US territories. The rule

is based on residence, not citizenship. If you live outside the United States, this card is not available

to you at all, and no fee or tier changes that. Eligibility is decided by where you live, so reading about

tiers or rewards is only useful once you know the residence test is passed.

Does the Uphold card require KYC, and what documents do I need?

There is no credit check, which is why people without a US credit history can get one. Identity verification

is still required, because that is the law for regulated businesses. The card pages do not state which

documents are required, what proof of address looks like, or how long checks take. Terms require an accurate

real name, a valid US mailing address, a date of birth, and personal use only.

What does the Uphold card cost, and is it free?

Essential is free: $0 a year, $0 virtual, $4.99 for the plastic card. Elite costs $99.99 a year but includes

a metal card at $0, 0% foreign transaction fees, and $0 ATM withdrawals. The cost that catches people is not

the card fee but the conversion spread — 2.05% to 2.2% on Bitcoin and Ethereum, up to 2.85% to 3.8% on

altcoins — which applies on every crypto-funded purchase.

How do I top up the Uphold card, and which networks work?

You top up the wallet, not the card: by bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal, or a crypto deposit.

Deposits in dollars and USD stablecoins convert 1:1, and other stablecoins under 0.25%. The card’s public

pages do not list which blockchain networks crypto deposits use, so check inside the app before sending. A

transfer on the wrong network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.

Is the Uphold card safe, and are my funds insured?

Your USD balance is held at an FDIC-member bank and is insured. Your crypto and metals are not insured.

Custodial platforms carry counterparty and hack risk, and blockchain transfers cannot be reversed. Enable

two-factor authentication, keep spending within limits you could survive losing, and note that Visa’s zero

liability policy does not cover ATM transactions outside Visa and PLUS networks.

Why was my Uphold account frozen or restricted?

Reviews from September and October 2026 describe freezes lasting weeks to up to three months, often after a

first deposit, a card link, a withdrawal, or a location mismatch, plus identity-verification problems such

as expired links or lockouts after a phone change. Compliance rules require institutions to hold off when

due diligence cannot be completed, so freezing pending documents is often the rule working. Support speed

is the part users complain about most.

Can I use the Uphold card abroad and at Apple Pay?

Yes, with caveats. Visa converts foreign purchases to USD at the rate on the processing day, plus 1.50% on

Essential or 0% on Elite, and the bank does not reimburse exchange losses. Apple Pay and Google Pay work “when

available”, which depends on your country and device. Note that a foreign-issued-looking card can also be

declined by some merchants purely from its issuer identification number, independently of any fee.

Is the Uphold card worth the Elite fee?

Only if you travel or withdraw cash enough for 1.50% foreign fees and $2.95 ATM charges to outweigh $99.99 a

year, or if you spend stablecoins steadily and value the 3% fiat-funded XRP reward. If you spend in dollars

inside the US, Essential at $0 a year already gives you everything the card does, and Elite’s main additions

are zero foreign fees, a metal card, and higher limits.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team