A prepaid euro Visa from Airfill and Wallester, designed for people who want to spend Bitcoin, Lightning and stablecoins in their day-to-day life

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Bitrefill card is a prepaid Visa tied to a euro balance that you fill from crypto, Lightning or a SEPA transfer. If you live in the EU and your main problem is that an ordinary bank account is hard to get, it is one of the more straightforward ways to turn Bitcoin or a stablecoin into a working card in your wallet. If you live outside the EU, want Apple Pay today, or expect a fully self-custody card where your keys stay yours until the moment of payment, you will hit limits fairly quickly. This review walks through who the card is built for, what it really costs, how you top it up, and where it falls short.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Bitrefill works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The Bitrefill card scores 6.8 out of 10 in this review. That is a solid middle-of-the-road result for a crypto card in 2026: it does what it says on the tin, in a narrow and well-defined set of situations, and stumbles where the EU regulatory net is tightening.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitrefill starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why it lands there
Who can get it 5 / 10 Issued to residents of 29 EU/EEA countries, 18+; US and Russian citizens excluded regardless of where they live
Cost 6 / 10 Card is free through the app; SEPA deposits cost 1.99% and FX is 0%; unofficial sources flag a EUR 10 monthly inactivity fee after 12 months and 2.49% at ATMs
Top-up options 7 / 10 Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon and SEPA all supported; USDT deposits ended 17 March 2025 and the minimum is EUR 15
Reliability and complaints 9 / 10 Card issued by Wallester AS in Estonia, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon; Trustpilot 4.5/5 across about 2,943 reviews, with most complaints about the gift-card shop rather than the card
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay works, Apple Pay is described as “coming soon”, cash withdrawals at any Visa ATM

The card suits an EU resident who already holds crypto or moves money over Lightning and wants a euro Visa to spend that balance in shops, online and at ATMs. The shape of the card is a prepaid one: you top up first, the balance is held in euros by the issuer, and you cannot overdraw. If that is your situation, the value is real. If you are outside the EU, want to keep your coins in your own wallet until the moment of payment, or are looking for a card that earns meaningful rewards, the picture is less favourable.

Who will they give you the card

The headline fact is geography. The card is available to residents of 29 countries, all of them in the EU, Norway or Iceland, and you have to be at least 18. The country list itself is not published on the public card page; what the terms say is that access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and that “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply”. From third-party help-centre reading, the 29 countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway and Iceland.

Citizenship is screened separately from residence, and that is where the harder exclusions sit. Citizens of the United States and Russia are turned away regardless of where they live. There is one carve-out: Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship are eligible. The screening list and the verification blocklist in the help centre also mention Japan, Ukraine and the United Arab Emirates, and the signup form rejects mobile numbers from Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan — practical frictions worth knowing before you start.

A useful way to read this is: the card is built for someone who has the right to live in an EU/EEA country and a clean, traceable identity. If your situation is shakier than that — a recent move, a residency permit in process, a passport from a country the issuer’s partners are cautious about — you may pass the country check and still fail the partner check further down the line. None of the documents the partner may ask for, the proof-of-address rules, or the source-of-funds rules are spelled out on the public card page. That is something to be ready for, not something you can plan around.

How to get it

The signup path runs through the Bitrefill app. You create an account, complete identity verification with the card partner, and then order a virtual card, a physical card, or both. The virtual card is usable as soon as it arrives in the app; the physical card has to be activated once it lands in the post. Ordering is free; a second card can be requested from the Cards page in the app, and a new one has to be ordered when the old one expires. Replacement cost and delivery time are not stated on the public pages.

Identity verification is the part that is least transparent. The card page does not describe it; the terms only say the card “may be restricted to Customers with at least 18 years of age”. In practice, the partner runs a KYC check before you can order a card, and the verification is split into two tiers. The first tier, called Starter, asks for a photo ID and a selfie liveness check, and may ask for proof of address. The Plus tier is reached by invitation after you hit the Starter deposit limit, and adds a proof of address and proof of source of funds. If you do not complete the upgrade inside 30 days, “your card will be suspended” — the language in the partner’s terms is direct about that. If you activate the card from outside the EU, proof of address is part of the package. The full document list, the processing time, and the reasons a verification might be rejected are not stated on the public pages, which is the one piece of the signup that anyone who has had a verification rejected elsewhere will want to be ready for.

A practical point: the card currency is the euro. Crypto deposits are converted to euros, the cashback is paid in euros, and the spending limits in the partner’s terms are denominated in euros. If you are paid in another currency and need a multi-currency card, that is not the product on offer here — multi-currency balances are not stated as a feature.

Fees: what it really costs

The published message is that the card itself is free through the app, and the unofficial layer underneath that message is where the everyday numbers sit. The cost of running a Bitrefill card falls into three buckets: getting it, putting money on it, and spending it.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitrefill payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Card issuance Free through the app (amount not stated on the public page)
Monthly fee None stated on the public page; UNOFFICIAL EUR 10/month after 12 months without spending or cash-out
SEPA deposit fee 1.99% (fixed)
Crypto deposit fee Spread on the crypto-to-euro conversion; percentage not stated on the public page, plus the variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate
Foreign exchange fee None stated; the Visa exchange rate applies to foreign-currency payments
ATM fee Not stated on the public page; UNOFFICIAL 2.49% for both Starter and Plus, plus any ATM operator charge
Contactless limit EUR 200 per transaction
Daily spend limit EUR 10,000
Monthly spend limit EUR 10,000 (Starter) / EUR 15,000 (Plus)
Lifetime crypto deposit cap EUR 15,000 (Starter); none (Plus)
Minimum deposit EUR 15 (smaller deposits are not added)
Inactivity Card deactivated once inactivity fees drain the balance to EUR 0
Replacement physical card Not stated; UNOFFICIAL EUR 10

Three everyday situations bring the table to life.

Paying for groceries with a SEPA top-up. You transfer euros from your bank to the card via SEPA. The fixed 1.99% deposit fee is the only Bitrefill-side charge. At the supermarket the card behaves like any prepaid Visa: contactless up to EUR 200 per tap, no foreign exchange fee if the merchant settles in euros. Inactivity does not apply because you are spending the balance. This is the cheapest path through the card.

Paying for a streaming subscription with a Bitcoin top-up. You send Bitcoin to the deposit address. There is no on-chain fee from Bitrefill — you pay the Bitcoin network fee — and Bitrefill applies its spread on the BTC-to-EUR conversion plus a variable exchange cost at the partner’s live rate. Neither percentage is published. The cashback on this deposit is 1% of the deposit, paid in euros, and the cashback on the subscription is another 1% of the spend, also in euros. The subscription itself is charged in euros so no FX fee is added.

Withdrawing EUR 200 from an ATM while travelling. If the ATM settles in euros, you pay the Bitrefill ATM fee plus whatever the ATM operator charges. Unofficial sources put the Bitrefill-side ATM fee at 2.49% on both Starter and Plus, with a daily cash limit of EUR 350 and a monthly cap of EUR 3,000. If the ATM offers a “conversion” prompt in your home currency (dynamic currency conversion), decline it and let the Visa network settle in euros — that is where the FX fee is hidden. ATM fees and the cash limits are not stated on the public card page, which is the clearest gap in the published cost story.

Two other numbers worth keeping in mind. The first is the EUR 15 minimum deposit: if you top up with EUR 14.99, the deposit is not added to the balance, and there is no published path to recover it. The second is the inactivity fee: if you do not spend or cash out for 12 months, an inactivity fee begins to apply. The exact amount is not on the public page; unofficial sources say EUR 10 a month, and the card is deactivated once the balance reaches zero. The published inactivity timeline is the only place where the public page and the unofficial layer agree on the structure of the charge, which is a small warning sign about how much of the cost story is on the page versus how much is in third-party reporting.

How to top it up

Topping up is the part of the card that is most clearly described, and the one where the regulatory weather is changing the fastest. The card’s “Buy with” list on the public page is broad: Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, BASE, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and MasterCard. That list is the page’s payment options, not strictly a funding list — USDT deposits on any network ended on 17 March 2025 — but the crypto funding paths that do work in 2026 are Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, BASE, Polygon and a SEPA transfer from a bank account. The store credit you earn from buying gift cards on Bitrefill is not transferable to the card balance.

Each top-up path has a slightly different cost shape. A SEPA pay-in from a bank account costs 1.99% of the amount. A crypto deposit costs the network fee (gas, bandwidth — paid to the blockchain, not to Bitrefill) plus a spread on the conversion plus a variable exchange cost at the partner’s live rate. The deposit is treated as a crypto-to-euro conversion at the moment it lands, not at the moment you spend, which means a swing in the price of Bitcoin or USDC between top-up and payment can move the effective cost of your purchase. Lightning is the cheapest crypto path because there is no on-chain fee to reach Bitrefill, but the channel has to be open and the recipient’s invoice has to arrive in time.

There is also a regulatory line you will see in the help centre from mid-2026. The EU’s Transfer of Funds Regulation, which took effect in July 2026, requires that deposits from wallets that are not your own or are not run by an EU-licensed virtual asset service provider and that exceed EUR 1,000 be declined. Strong customer authentication rules have also been tightened for deposits. In plain terms: if you intend to top up the card from a non-custodial wallet you control, or from an exchange that is not EU-licensed, transfers above EUR 1,000 will be rejected. The card page is not a how-to for getting around this; the practical reading is that the cleanest path is to fund from your own EU-licensed exchange or to keep crypto deposits under EUR 1,000 when the source wallet does not match the new rules.

A second regulatory note that has been in place longer: USDT deposits ended on 17 March 2025, on every network. USDC, on the networks Bitrefill supports, is the dollar stablecoin path that remains. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks including Ethereum, Solana, Base and Polygon PoS, which lines up with the card’s “Buy with” list. USDT-on-Tron and USDT-on-Ethereum, which were the two most common USDT routes, are no longer accepted.

Paying with it every day

The everyday experience is closer to a prepaid euro Visa than to a crypto product, which is the point. The card works in shops and online anywhere Visa is taken, contactless up to EUR 200 per tap, and online with 3-D Secure for the risky transactions. Google Pay is supported. Apple Pay is described by the partner as “not supported yet” and “will be available soon” — that “soon” has been the wording for a while, and it is the most common everyday-use frustration you will read about.

Cashback is the one number that is generous in print. The card pays 2% back in total, with no cap stated: 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase, paid in euros. The cashback is not a points scheme or a tier system — it is a flat credit on each leg. If a purchase is refunded or charged back, the cashback on that purchase can be debited from the balance, which is worth knowing if you dispute a transaction. The full reward terms say the rate is published on the website, but the page does not show a running total of cashback in the way some cards do.

The app, available on the App Store and Google Play, is where the card lives. You freeze the card with one tap, hide the balance, see transactions in real time, and raise a dispute from the help centre. The dispute path is the standard one: contact the merchant first, since most refunds are handled that way, and only escalate to the card partner if the merchant does not respond. Bitrefill is not liable for the merchant refusing the card, and time frames for dispute resolution are not stated.

A few everyday frictions worth knowing:

What can go wrong

The risks on a Bitrefill card are the risks of any prepaid euro card plus the risks of a custodial crypto product, and the second set is the one to think about carefully.

Custody. Your crypto and your euro balance sit with the partners. Bitrefill itself is operated by Airfill Prepaid AB, a Swedish company (559001-6035, Stockholm), and the card programme is held by Wallester AS, an Estonian electronic money institution licensed by Finantsinspektsioon. The crypto and virtual IBAN services sit with Lightspark Payments Europe AS, also Estonian, licensed by the Estonian Financial Intelligence Unit. Funds are safeguarded under e-money rules — segregated in dedicated accounts or insured — and those funds are not the same as bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes. If you want the card to behave like a self-custody product where the keys stay yours until the moment of payment, this is not that.

Programme risk. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. The most-cited example is the 2018 suspension of WaveCrest in Europe, which closed every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme overnight, and the November 2022 announcement that Visa had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” as the FTX US debit card was wound down. The pattern is the same in both cases: a notice period, then a stop on new spending and loading, then a window to withdraw the remaining balance. There is no public indication that any of this is on the horizon for Bitrefill in 2026, but it is the kind of risk that lives outside the card’s own pages.

Regulatory weather. Two rule changes are already shaping how the card works. The EU’s Transfer of Funds Regulation, in force from July 2026, declines deposits above EUR 1,000 from wallets that are not your own or are not run by an EU-licensed virtual asset service provider, and strong customer authentication has tightened the rules around deposit approvals. USDT deposits ended on 17 March 2025 on every network. None of these are problems the card has caused; they are rules the card is now operating under, and they will continue to be the source of the more visible changes to the funding flow.

Operational risk. Trustpilot shows about 2,943 reviews at 4.5/5 as of 20 October 2026, with 89% five-star and 5% one-star. Most negative reviews are about the gift-card shop — gift-card markup, Apple codes that did not work, an account frozen, a lookalike fake site — and Bitrefill replies to one- through three-star reviews. The card-specific complaints are thinner: a three-star review mentions the Visa card being declined in some cases, and there are scattered reports of wrong-network or wrong-token deposits where the refund process was slow. There are no official incidents and no Reddit threads of note. The pattern is a card that does what it says and a gift-card store that draws the loudest complaints, which is a useful signal when you are choosing which side of Bitrefill to lean on.

Personal security. Crypto transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network Bitrefill does not support, or to an address of a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery through support with no guarantee. Tether has frozen USDT in wallets on sanctions lists, and USDC has had to be redeemed 1:1 for dollars — “stablecoin” does not mean “outside anyone’s control”. The 3-D Secure and 2FA paths are the right ones to keep on, and the freeze-the-card-in-the-app button is worth knowing where it is before you need it.

What to take instead

The Bitrefill card is one answer in a small category. If it does not fit, three other options cover adjacent ground.

Cardex is the broadest in reach — “one crypto card, 200+ countries” — but the country list and the exclusions are not stated on the public site, and the App Store listing reads as Naira-focused. The card runs on the VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay networks, with virtual and physical versions. The site describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans exchanges at the moment of payment, with no fee percentage published. Cardex scores 5.6/10 in this review, and is worth a look if you live outside the EU and need reach more than polish.

TakeCard is the most geographically specific. The physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”, and the virtual card is documented for a short list of Latin American and European countries. The card is prepaid, issued in the United States, denominated in US dollars, and runs on Visa. The published pricing is USD 5 for the virtual card, USD 20 issuance and USD 20 shipping for the physical card in Bolivia, with one help-centre article citing USD 10 for the physical — the published numbers do not fully agree. The purchase commission is 1% and USD payments are 1:1 with no currency adjustment, which is the cleanest part of the product. TakeCard scores 5.5/10 in this review, and is worth considering if you live in Bolivia or one of the listed countries and need a US-dollar Visa.

OkiCard sits in the middle on both reach and pricing. The site claims “150+ countries” and “no geo-blocking based on your passport”, with a virtual card and a physical card mentioned in passing. The published pricing is USD 0 issuance, USD 0 monthly, USD 15 starting price for the virtual card, and a 3% load fee on a USDT-based funding flow — the public pages do not fully agree on the issuance story. Funding is USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron or Solana, with USDC described as “soon” and BTC and other coins as “coming soon”. OkiCard scores 6.0/10 in this review, and is the option to compare against if you are looking for a virtual-only card with a fixed load fee and you can live without cashback.

A few honest caveats for the comparison. Cardex, TakeCard and OkiCard were each reviewed in their own context and the marks above are this reviewer’s read of how they stack up against the Bitrefill card. The pricing pages of all three have small internal contradictions; the numbers used here are the ones the public pages lead with. None of the three is a drop-in replacement for the Bitrefill card’s euro denomination, its SEPA funding path, or its Lightning support.

Who I would recommend it to

The Bitrefill card is built for a specific person, and it does its job for that person without fuss. You are the right reader for this card if you live in one of the 29 EU/EEA countries, you hold Bitcoin, USDC, or you move money over Lightning, you want a euro Visa that you can top up from those balances, and you do not need a card that is part of a broader points or status programme. You will get a free card, a free SEPA cash-out within the partner’s limits, 2% cashback paid in euros, and a clean app that lets you freeze the card and hide the balance. If your crypto is in your own wallet and you only need to convert small amounts at a time, the EUR 1,000 deposit limit for non-EU-licensed source wallets will be the part of the new rules you feel the most.

You are the wrong reader for this card if you live outside the EU, hold a US or Russian passport, need Apple Pay today, expect a self-custody product where your keys never leave your wallet, or want a card that works as the centre of a multi-currency or travel-money setup. The right product for those situations is not a Bitrefill card — it is one of the alternatives above, or a different category of card entirely. As with any prepaid card, the gaps in the published cost story are the first thing to check before you commit: the inactivity fee, the ATM fee, the spread on crypto deposits, and the unstated replacement cost. The published card is free, and the running of it is not — but for the right reader, the running cost is honest and the value is real.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitrefill card?

The Bitrefill card is a prepaid Visa issued by Wallester AS in Estonia, in partnership with Airfill Prepaid AB in Sweden. It is denominated in euros, available as a virtual and a physical card, and designed to be topped up from Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon or a SEPA bank transfer. The card converts your crypto or bank transfer into a euro balance at the moment of deposit, and you spend that balance like a regular prepaid Visa.

How does the Bitrefill card work?

You create a Bitrefill account, complete identity verification with the card partner, order a virtual or physical card through the app, and top it up. Each top-up is converted into euros at the partner’s live rate, and the resulting balance is what the card spends. Cashback is paid as 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase, in euros, with no stated cap. The card is custodial, so the partner holds the balance and the underlying crypto until you spend or withdraw.

Is Bitrefill a bank?

No. Bitrefill is operated by Airfill Prepaid AB, a Swedish company, and the card is issued by Wallester AS, an Estonian electronic money institution licensed by Finantsinspektsioon. The crypto and virtual IBAN services are run by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, also Estonian, licensed by the Estonian Financial Intelligence Unit. None of these is a bank, and customer funds are safeguarded under e-money rules rather than covered by a bank deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns Bitrefill?

The site says it is “owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB (559001-6035)”, registered in Stockholm, Sweden. The card programme is held by Wallester AS in Estonia, and the crypto and virtual IBAN services are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, also in Estonia. The public card page does not name individual owners or investors, so the corporate ownership above is the most that the company’s own pages say.

Is the Bitrefill card available in my country?

The card is available to residents of 29 countries: all EU member states plus Norway and Iceland. The list itself is not on the public card page, but it is consistent across the help centre and the partner’s terms. Citizens of the United States and Russia are excluded regardless of where they live, with a carve-out for Russian citizens who also hold EU/EEA citizenship. The signup form also rejects mobile numbers from Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan, and the help centre flags Japan, Ukraine and the UAE on the verification blocklist.

How do I get the Bitrefill card?

You download the Bitrefill app, create an account, complete the KYC check with the card partner, and order a virtual or physical card from the Cards page. The virtual card is usable as soon as it appears in the app, and the physical card has to be activated once it arrives. Ordering is free; a replacement card and delivery times are not stated on the public pages.

Does the Bitrefill card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification is run by the card partner before you can order a card. The default Starter tier asks for a photo ID and a selfie liveness check, and may ask for proof of address. The Plus tier is reached by invitation and adds proof of address and proof of source of funds. The full document list, processing time, and reasons a verification can be rejected are not stated on the public card page.

How do I top up the Bitrefill card?

You can top up with Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon or a SEPA transfer from a bank account. USDT deposits ended on 17 March 2025 on every network. SEPA pay-ins cost a fixed 1.99% and crypto deposits cost the network fee plus a spread on the conversion plus a variable exchange cost at the partner’s live rate. The minimum deposit is EUR 15, and smaller amounts are not added to the balance.

Can I add the Bitrefill card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Google Pay is supported. Apple Pay is described by the partner as “not supported yet” and “will be available soon” — a wording that has been in place for a while. If Apple Pay is essential, this is the everyday-use limitation to be aware of before you order.

Is the Bitrefill card safe?

The card is custodial, the balance is held by the partner, and the funds are safeguarded under e-money rules rather than covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. The app lets you freeze the card and hide the balance, 3-D Secure is on for online payments, and the partner runs the KYC and source-of-funds checks. Trustpilot shows about 2,943 reviews at 4.5/5 as of October 2026, with the loudest complaints about the gift-card shop rather than the card. The card is a reasonable product for its scope, and the safety of the balance is the safety of the partners that hold it.

Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team