A Visa card you fund with USDC, with tidy fees and thin documentation
Avici is a Visa card that you top up with crypto and then spend like an ordinary payment card, with Apple Pay and Google Pay support and a choice of virtual or physical plastic. The headline numbers look good: the company advertises no transaction fee and a 0% forex markup, and the two tiers differ mostly in their cash-machine and decline charges. What I could not find, in the company’s own public pages, is a great deal of the detail you would want before you rely on a card for rent, groceries or anything else — no published conversion percentage, no statement of who licenses what, no named support channel, no chargeback process. That gap is the story of this review more than the fees are.

So this is not a verdict of “avoid”. It is a verdict of “understand exactly what you are holding”. The card suits a specific person: someone already holding USDC, resident in one of the countries on Avici’s list, who wants to spend that balance without wrestling with exchange interfaces. If you need a bank card with a phone number, a support desk and a chargeback process, this is the wrong tool, and the reasons are structural rather than fixable.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.1 out of 10
Avici scores 6.1 / 10 overall. The score is not close to the top because the everyday-use experience is genuinely strong and the paperwork behind it is thin; it is not near the bottom because nothing I found suggests the core promise — spend USDC from a Visa card for very low fees — is being misrepresented.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Issued to residents of 49 listed regions including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Japan, the UAE and the USA; 17 countries closed entirely |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Virtual Platinum $15 for the first card, physical Platinum $50, Signature $30 in year one and $20 a year after; $0 transaction fee and 0% FX markup advertised |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Top up in USDC through a Loan Escrow smart contract; other coins not officially offered |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Avici Inc. in San Francisco, partner Third National, licences not disclosed; Trustpilot 3.5 out of 5 from 5 reviews, one of them about a blocked €20,000 payment |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM: Platinum $1 + 0.65%, Signature $0 |
The audience that fits best, in my reading of who this is built for: residents of Latin America and the UAE who already hold USDC and want it spendable. That is a real need, and a well-served one on price.
Who it does not fit: anyone in the EU, Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan, because none of those appear on the eligibility list. Anyone who needs to choose from several coins at the point of top-up. Anyone who will be frightened by the phrase “the provider can only withdraw funds tied to spend charges”, or who needs a published chargeback route. And anyone whose financial life depends on a support desk answering within an hour.
Will they give you the card?
The card’s public pages do not state the eligibility criteria in one place, so most of what follows comes from the country lists the documentation does publish — and those are lists of residence, not citizenship. That distinction matters, and I want to be clear about it: if you are a citizen of one country and live in another, the residence list is what the documentation speaks to. How a dual national is screened is not something the public pages say.
There are two lists, and confusing them would be a mistake. One names 49 entries where residents may apply, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates, South Africa and the USA — the US entry is subject to a supported-states list of its own, which I have not seen. On that same list there are no EU countries, and no Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan.
The second list is the prohibition list: no accounts for residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam. Seventeen countries.
Then there is a third, quieter list — the one that will actually bite you in a shop. Spending is prohibited in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. That is a different rule from being refused an account: you can hold the card in some places and find that a merchant in another country simply cannot be paid with it. If you travel, that is the list to memorise.
One thing the documentation does not tell you: the document types accepted at verification, the grounds on which an application can be rejected, and the countries to which physical cards are shipped. Those are not stated on the public pages.
How to get it
The sign-up flow is meant to be fast, and the company’s own marketing says a card is ready in two minutes through the app. Treat that as a marketing figure rather than a promise; the verification steps below take longer in practice, and “two minutes” refers to the card being issued into the app, not to money being spendable.
What actually happens: you sign up with an email address and go through a single verification by Sumsub. That means personal details, identity documents and a liveness check — a selfie-style confirmation that you are the person on the document. Business accounts go through a separate verification of their own.
Three consequences of that setup, all of which you should sit with before you start:
- Your KYC data is shared with the card partners. You are not only giving it to Avici.
- Sumsub runs AML monitoring on users and on on-chain funds. That is the industry standard and it is also the reason accounts get reviewed.
- Proof of address is not mentioned anywhere in the flow. If you expected to submit one, that expectation may go unmet.
On the card itself: it is a Visa, described in secured credit-card language — which is a specific regulatory word with specific meaning, not a synonym for “safe”. You get virtual cards organised by category, with examples given of subscriptions, groceries and travel, and a physical card is delivered. The card currency is not stated.
| What | Detail |
|---|---|
| Network | Visa |
| Card form | Virtual, by category (subscriptions, groceries, travel); physical card also issued |
| Verification | Single Sumsub check: personal details, ID documents, liveness check |
| Stated timing | “About 2 minutes” / “no more than a few minutes” |
| Standard shipping | Free, untracked, 3–4 weeks |
| Priority shipping | $50 international, 1–2 weeks; $15 US, timing not stated |
| Shipped to | Not stated |
| Replacement cost | Not stated |
Read the shipping line twice. Standard delivery is free and untracked, which is fine for a card you will mainly add to a phone wallet, and poor news if a physical card is being posted to a country where the address is wrong or the parcel needs watching. Priority tracked delivery costs $50 internationally. I would plan on the card arriving untracked or not at all, and set up Apple Pay from the virtual card in the meantime — that costs nothing.
Fees: what it really costs
Avici advertises “No Hidden Fee” and “No Gas Fee, No Interchange Fee”. Those are real claims to take at face value, and I could not contradict them. What I could not do is find the underlying numbers for the two fees that actually decide what a card costs you: the crypto-to-fiat conversion, and the cross-border charge. The public pages give no percentages for either, and the card itself is not a number you can look up.

So read the fee table below as the part that is disclosed. The part that is not disclosed is the spread between the value of the USDC you deposit and the dollars that land on the card — and that is the number that will decide whether this card is cheap or expensive for you.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Virtual Platinum, first card | $15 |
| Virtual Platinum, each later card | $10 one-time |
| Physical Platinum | $50 one-time |
| Virtual Signature | $30 first year, then $20/year |
| Physical Signature | $75 plus $20/year from year two |
| Transaction fee | $0 |
| Forex markup | 0% (Visa may charge 0.4–1% on non-USD transactions) |
| Top-up fee | $0 |
| Withdrawal to wallet fee | $0 |
| ATM withdrawal | Platinum $1 + 0.65%; Signature $0 |
| Declined transaction fee | Platinum $0.60; Signature $0 |
| Balance inquiry fee | Platinum $0.60; Signature $0 |
| Per-transaction limit | $1,000 |
| Daily limit | $3,000 |
| Transactions per day | 3 |
| Card currency | USD |
| Conversion and FX percentages | Not stated |
Three everyday payments, with the fees that actually attach:
A $30 subscription. The transaction fee is $0, so the only possible charge is whatever conversion cost sits inside the USDC-to-USD step. Because no percentage is published, I cannot tell you whether this costs you thirty dollars or thirty-one-fifty. This is the case where the missing number hurts most, because subscriptions are small, frequent and impossible to see past.
A €40 dinner in Paris. You spend $0 in Visa markup — the 0% rate is advertised and is the card’s best feature. But Visa may add a cross-border fee of 0.4–1% on non-USD transactions, which on €40 is roughly forty cents. More importantly, some merchants decline foreign BINs: they look up the issuing institution from the card’s first six or eight digits and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. A US-issued Visa is exactly the profile that can trigger a decline or a request for ID at the table.
A $200 withdrawal from a cash machine. Platinum costs $1 + 0.65%, so about $2.30. Signature costs $0 and is the better tier for anyone who touches cash at all. Both tiers are subject to the same card limits — $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 a day, three transactions a day — and a third-party site reports a much lower daily ATM limit of $250. I could not confirm that figure anywhere official, so treat it as unverified, but if you plan on cash, raise it with support before you rely on it.
Two things about the limits that are worth your attention. First, the company says “no transaction limits” and also specifies $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 daily and three transactions a day. The reconciliation is that limits are “no transaction limits by default” with per-card limits you can set in settings — so the numbers above are the defaults, and they are low enough to matter. A $3,000 daily ceiling is a real constraint for anyone paying rent or a supplier. Second, a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for days, typically up to seven. A declined transaction that still costs you $0.60 on Platinum is a small thing; the same decline holding $200 for a week is not.
Top up: how the money gets in
This is the part of Avici that is genuinely unusual, and it is worth understanding rather than skimming.

Topping up is not a transfer to a company balance. You deposit USDC into a Loan Escrow smart contract, and that creates the USD credit balance the card spends. The contract is self-custodial: your own wallet owns it, and after your spends are deducted you can withdraw what remains. The company’s own documentation states that neither Third National, nor Avici, nor Visa controls the loan contract. Avici can only withdraw funds tied to spend charges.
The mechanics have a rhythm worth planning around: spent USDC is liquidated from the contract every one to two days, sometimes weekly. Your balance therefore updates on a delay rather than instantly. If you are watching a card balance closely, or paying something time-critical, that lag is the thing that will confuse you.
| Option | Detail |
|---|---|
| Official coin | USDC |
| Mechanism | Loan Escrow smart contract, self-custodial |
| Top-up fee | $0 |
| Withdrawal to wallet fee | $0 |
| Minimum top-up | None stated |
| Fiat top-up | Not stated |
| Liquidation of spent USDC | Every 1–2 days, sometimes weekly |
| Other coins | Not officially offered |
Two gaps: which networks your USDC should arrive on is not stated on the public pages, and there is no fiat top-up route described. Network choice is not a detail. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible by design. So before your first transfer, find out which networks are accepted, and send a small test amount.
A third-party source, not confirmed by the card, reports a $1 minimum top-up with funds arriving in 2–7 minutes, and describes a Relay auto-swap that would let you deposit other tokens across EVM layer-two networks or Solana. Unofficial is the operative word: the official description covers USDC only, and I would not send a non-USDC asset on the strength of a review site.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is the strong part of the card, and it is why the everyday-use mark is as high as it is.
Mobile wallets. Apple Pay and Google Pay tap-to-pay are supported. This matters more than it sounds: adding a virtual card to a phone wallet replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. It is the safest way to hold this card, and the sensible default.
Self-custody mechanics. Passkeys and account abstraction are named in the app.
Perks. The listed benefits are airline miles, rental car insurance, travel and restaurant perks, and trip protection, plus a reference to “Avenue to TradeFI rewards”. No cashback rate is stated anywhere. If you are choosing between cards on the strength of rewards, you cannot make that comparison from these pages — but note that the alternatives below mostly offer a reduced spend rate or referral tiers rather than cash back, either.
App. There is a “Download App” link on the homepage that goes through a shortlink; the platforms it supports and its App Store or Google Play ratings are not stated. The security controls in the app are documented and reasonable: freeze the card for a temporary stop on spending, cancel it permanently, set per-card spending limits, set a PIN, and show or hide card details.
Blocked categories. Not stated on the official pages. A third-party source reports that gambling, illegal drugs and financial institutions are blocked, with the last needing additional approval. Unverified, but unsurprising — issuers block gambling merchant categories as policy, and the specific list varies by issuer.
If something goes wrong with a payment. The only documented process is narrow: if you paid for the card and did not complete or pass verification, contact support in the app for a refund. The chargeback process for a disputed payment is not stated, and the security page does not cover it. That is a real hole, and I would not paper over it. Under general card rules a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — but what “the issuer” means here, and how you file, is exactly the part that is undocumented.
What can go wrong
The company and the licences. Avici Inc. is at 300 4th St, San Francisco, CA 94107. The documentation names Third National as a party to the loan contract structure and states that it does not control the contract. The issuer and BIN sponsor are not stated, and neither are any licences. Full issuer and licence details are not stated. A third-party source names Rain as the issuing partner, with KYC data shared with it — unofficial, not confirmed by the card. For a financial product, undisclosed licensing is the single largest gap here, and it is worth weighing before you deposit a sum you would miss.
The complaints. There is no official incident record. What exists is thin and unverified: a 31 March 2026 review describing a business-account user whose €20,000 incoming payment was credited and then blocked, with the account restricted, support silent and no refund; and a January 2026 review reporting a repeated login error at email or authenticator verification. Tiny sample, single voices. But the shape of the first complaint — money credited, then held, then silence — is the shape of the risk that matters, not whether it has happened twice.
Review scores. Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 from five reviews. Five reviews is not a signal in either direction; I mention it only so you do not mistake it for one.
Support. Not stated. The documentation names no support channel except in-app support for verification refunds. Hours and languages are not stated. If your card is blocked while money is on it, “contact support” without a published channel or a service level is a thin plan.
Documentation freshness. The prohibitions page was last updated 19 August 2025; Terms of Service – Avici Card on 23 June 2025; Business Program Terms on 16 October 2025. The docs index also lists Business Cards, Credit Line, Markets and Grow products, which tells you the roadmap is broader than the consumer card. These dates are a year to eighteen months old as of now, which for a card in a fast-moving corner of finance is worth keeping in mind.
Stability of the provider itself. Card programmes end. In November 2022 Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer; in 2018 Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. None of this predicts anything about Avici specifically. It is simply the base rate for this category, and the reason a self-custodial design like Avici’s is genuinely valuable: your USDC sits in a contract your own wallet owns.
A note on what self-custody does and does not do. It removes the counterparty from the balance. It does not remove the risks. Nobody can reverse a blockchain transfer, a stolen key has no recovery path, and the mistakes that cost people money are usually mundane — sending to the wrong network, or malware that silently swaps a copied address. Self-custody moves responsibility to you; it does not abolish it.
Prices on chains. If you deposit USDC, you may need a little of the network’s own token to pay the transfer fee, and that is charged by the blockchain, not by Avici. A wallet holding USDT with no gas token cannot send.
Tax. I am not going to advise you here, only flag it. In the US the tax authority treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. That can make each card payment a separate taxable event. What that means for you depends on where you live — take it to a professional.
What to take instead
Three cards came up repeatedly when I compared this one, and each trades something different away.
BloFin Wallet Card — 6.9 / 10, which scores above Avici. It is a Visa Platinum, and it does the thing Avici does quietly: activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees are each $0.00, and cancellation is free. Its spend fee is “1% or lower” by tier, from 1.00% at VIP 0 down to 0.00% at VIP 5 — so the top tier matches Avici’s $0 and the bottom tier is worse than Avici’s headline everywhere. It tops up with USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base, which is more choice than Avici offers officially, but less than a Relay auto-swap would. The country list is not published on the card page; the starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, the UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand, and citizenship versus residence is not stated. Physical versus virtual and the card currency are not stated. There is no cashback — the pitch is a lower spend rate instead. Take it if you want no card fee and already hold USDT as well as USDC.
Decaf — 6.2 / 10. A Visa, virtual or physical, with tracked delivery. Its fee story is the cleanest here: virtual card $5 worldwide, physical $10 in the US or $90 elsewhere, and no annual or monthly fee. On FX it adds nothing — “the FX is the one Visa offers”. Take it if physical card pricing matters to you and you live outside the US, because $90 is real money; the crypto conversion fee is not stated, and which coins and networks top up the card is not stated either. It runs on Solana and Stellar, and you can pay by card, bank transfer or USDC.
SafePal — 6.2 / 10. A virtual Mastercard debit, no physical card mentioned, with limits quoted in euros against a Swiss account. No account or management fees; top-up fee 0% on the standard route, a 1% Mastercard FX fee on non-USD settlement, refund processing of 1 USD/EUR/CHF or 7 CNH, and a spread baked into swaps that is not quantified. It takes crypto from more than 40 blockchains and converts to USDC by default, with transactions on Arbitrum. Take it if you hold a wide range of chains — that is its real advantage — and accept that the region list was empty when it was checked, so you cannot tell in advance whether you are eligible.
| Avici | BloFin | Decaf | SafePal | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.1 / 10 | 6.9 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 |
| Network | Visa | Visa Platinum | Visa | Mastercard |
| Card fee | $15–$75 depending on tier and form | $0.00 activation, annual, issuance | $5 virtual; $10 US physical; $90 physical elsewhere | None for account; issuance not stated |
| Spend cost | $0 transaction, 0% FX | 1.00% down to 0.00% by VIP tier | Visa’s own FX rate, no added fee | 0% top-up fee; 1% Mastercard FX on non-USD |
| Top-up assets | USDC | USDT, USDC on Arbitrum and Base | Card, bank transfer, USDC | 40+ blockchains, to USDC |
| Rewards | Miles, travel perks, trip protection; no cashback rate stated | No cashback, reduced spend rate | Not stated | No cashback; referral tiers |
Avici’s real edge over BloFin and Decaf is not price — Decaf is cheaper at the entry point and BloFin can be free — it is the self-custodial escrow. Nobody else on this list puts your funds in a contract your own wallet owns. That is worth something in the category, where custodial platforms have a real history: Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen in 2011–2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to you if all four of these are true: you live in one of the 49 listed regions and it is not on the prohibited list; you already hold USDC and are comfortable sending it on a specific network; you want the card mainly for online and mobile payments through Apple Pay or Google Pay; and you are comfortable that the balance is yours, that Visa may add 0.4–1% on cross-border payments, and that the company does not publish conversion percentages, licences or a chargeback route.
I would steer you away if you need a card to pay rent or a large invoice, because $3,000 a day is a low ceiling; if you are in the EU, Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan, because you are not on the list; if you plan to travel to Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine or Venezuela, because spending is prohibited there; if you expect to draw cash, and the ATM limit reported by a third party turns out to be the real one; or if you want cashback at a known rate.
My honest summary is this. The card is well made where it counts for daily use, the fees are genuinely low where they are disclosed, and the custody design is better than most of what is on offer. What it does not yet do is tell you the things that matter when something goes wrong — what the conversion spread is, who licenses it, how you reach a human, how you dispute a payment. You can proceed with that gap in view. Just do not proceed with it forgotten.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Avici card?
The Avici card is a Visa payment card funded with crypto. You deposit USDC into a self-custodial smart contract called Loan Escrow, and that deposit becomes a USD credit balance the card spends. Avici offers virtual cards organised by category — subscriptions, groceries, travel — and a physical card. It is presented as a secured credit card, with two tiers, Platinum and Signature, each available virtual or physical.
How does the Avici card work day to day?
You top up in USDC, then spend the resulting dollar balance through Apple Pay, Google Pay or the card itself. Spent USDC is liquidated from the escrow contract every one to two days, sometimes weekly, so your card balance updates with a lag rather than instantly. The app lets you freeze the card, cancel it permanently, set per-card spending limits and a PIN. Default limits are $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 a day, three transactions a day.
Is Avici a bank?
No, and the public pages do not describe it as one. It is Avici Inc., a company at 300 4th St, San Francisco. The documentation names Third National as a party to the loan contract structure and states it does not control the contract, alongside Avici and Visa. The issuer, the BIN sponsor and the licences behind the card are not stated on the public pages. A third-party source names Rain as the issuing partner, unconfirmed by the card.
Does the Avici card require KYC?
Yes. Sign-up runs through a single Sumsub verification covering personal details, identity documents and a liveness check, with a stated timing of about 2 minutes. Your KYC data is shared with the card partners, and Sumsub runs AML monitoring on users and on-chain funds. Proof of address is not mentioned, and the accepted document types and grounds for rejection are not listed. Business accounts are verified separately.
What does it cost to get the Avici card?
It depends on the tier and the form. A virtual Platinum is $15 for the first card and $10 for each later one; a physical Platinum is $50 one-time. A virtual Signature is $30 in the first year then $20 a year; a physical Signature is $75 plus $20 a year from year two. There is no annual or monthly fee on the Platinum. The transaction fee is $0 and the advertised forex markup is 0%, though Visa may add 0.4–1% on non-USD transactions.
How much are Avici’s transaction and cash-machine fees?
The transaction fee is $0 on both tiers, and there is no fee for topping up or withdrawing to your wallet. Cash machines cost $1 plus 0.65% on Platinum and nothing on Signature — which is the main practical difference between the two tiers. A declined transaction costs $0.60 on Platinum and $0 on Signature, as does a balance inquiry. Crypto conversion and FX percentages are not stated on the public pages, so that part of the cost is not knowable in advance.
How do I top up the Avici card?
You deposit USDC into the Loan Escrow smart contract, which creates the USD balance the card spends, and there is no top-up fee. The contract is self-custodial: your wallet owns it, you can withdraw what remains after spends are deducted, and the wallet withdrawal fee is $0. No minimum top-up is stated and no fiat top-up route is described. Which networks are supported is not stated either, so check before sending and test with a small amount first.
Is the Avici card safe?
Split the question in two. The custody design is stronger than most: your USDC sits in a contract your own wallet owns, and the company states it cannot withdraw it beyond funds tied to spend charges. What you take on is the ordinary risk of self-custody — irreversible transfers, key loss, phishing, malware that swaps a copied address — plus the provider risks that come with undisclosed licensing and no published support channel or chargeback process.
Can I add the Avici card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay and Google Pay tap-to-pay are both supported, and this is the practical way to use the virtual card. When a card is tokenised into a phone wallet, the card number is replaced by a device-specific number held in the phone’s secure hardware, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. The issuer can also restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic stripe, phone or website use — which is worth knowing if a card suddenly stops working in one place only.
Which countries can use the Avici card, and which cannot?
Avici lists residents of 49 regions, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, Thailand, the UAE, South Africa and the USA. Accounts are not issued to residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam. Spending is separately prohibited in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. No EU country is on the list.
Wallet card options – cryptocardoptions.com
Content created by the «cryptocardoptions.com» team
